Archive through July 22, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through July 22, 2017
By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Thursday, June 08, 2017 - 01:09 am: Edit

Hello, can you transport Drones in storage between ships using transporters? If so, how many spaces of drones per transporter?
I wasn't able to find anything in my master rulebook but realize there are a lot of other rules out there in the other products.

thanks

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, June 08, 2017 - 01:25 am: Edit

Jarod Ikeda,
(G25.3) Explosive Ordnance. Captains Advanced Missions Rulebook.
Also Annex #7K for spaces occupied by various items.

By Dennis Surdu (Aegis) on Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 08:29 pm: Edit

For a ship moving speed 24 and a plotted speed reduction on impulse 16 to speed 12 here is the question:

On impulse 5 an unplotted acceleration to speed 26 occurs. 8 impulses later (mandatory duration) the speed to dropped back to 24 (impulse 13 again at speed 24). Can the preplotted change to speed 12 still happen after impulse 16, or must the ship maintain speed 24 for a minimum of 8 impulses after the drop from speed 26?

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 09:03 pm: Edit

The plot would be changed from Impulse #5 with speed 26 until at least Impulse #13 (basically you're rewriting your speed plot to keep everything legal)...

By Dennis Surdu (Aegis) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 03:46 am: Edit

So I would need to maintain speed 24 for at least another 8 impulses after dropping from speed 26, correct? Or, can I maintain my original plot and drop to speed 12 on impulse 16?

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 06:12 pm: Edit

Your original plot is null and void, when I said rewrite your speed plot, I meant just that, all changes must remain legal (26 to 12 is NOT legal). You could go to speed 24 on Impulse #13 and then to speed 12 on Impulse #21 (each speed change is at least 8 impulses long).

By Dennis Surdu (Aegis) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 08:50 pm: Edit

OK, second part of question. If you look at the impulse chart for the 8 impulses while at speed 26, you will notice that no extra hexes of movement are gained, relative to speed 24. How much reserve warp must be expended to do this? I think it is 4 (as if speed 26 were carried for entire turn) but am not sure based on reading of the rules. The reason I think it is 4 points is because of the second unplotted acceleration maintaining speed 24 for longer than originally plotted. Thanks for help in clarifying this for me.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 09:08 pm: Edit

Well, for one thing, what is the move cost of your ship in this example?

By Dennis Surdu (Aegis) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 09:13 pm: Edit

Sorry, assumed it is 1 to keep the math simple relative to the hexes gained and reserve warp used.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 10:18 pm: Edit

If speed 26 was carried for the full turn instead of 24, it would then be two power not four.

This is not a complete answer, just addressing that one part.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 11:10 pm: Edit

Jarod, check out G25.3 re drone transporter rates.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, June 12, 2017 - 09:49 pm: Edit

Question on U6.212 (Captain's Log #30 update to Operation Unity). Would it be permissible to substitute a Sat Base or a core module for a mamba? This substitution is not listed, so I presume the answer is "no". However, it seemed reasonable to build a Sat Base instead of a Mamba, so thought I would ask.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, June 12, 2017 - 09:59 pm: Edit

Question on U6.231 (Operation Unity). Is it possible to assign an Andromedan mothership to a route sector that is not under attack, pick up the sat base that is currently deployed, and bring it back to the Desecrator starbase? The reason to do so is to put together more Sat Bases in order to more rapidly set up a larger Andromedan base (BS or BATS) further up the route.

Reference for consideration: In response to a prior question, it was ruled that an Andromedan mothership could be assigned to a route sector that is not under attack for the purpose of either upgrading said base with existing core modules and/or sat bases, to assign a mothership to a route to serve as a "monitor" (concretor, immobilater, etc.), or both. Thus, it seems logical that the Andromedan player could "harvest" Sat Bases not under attack and place them elsewhere further up the route on a subsequent player turn.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, June 16, 2017 - 10:12 am: Edit

Checking to see about answers about Operation Unity questions. Thanks!

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, June 16, 2017 - 03:06 pm: Edit

Ted Fay ased on Monday, 12 June 2017: Question on (U6.212). Would it be permissible to substitute a Sat Base or a core module for a mamba? This substitution is not listed, so I presume the answer is "no". However, it seemed reasonable to build a Sat Base instead of a Mamba, so thought I would ask.
ANSWER: Your assumption that the answer is "no" is correct in this case. Sorry.

Ted Fay ased on Monday, 12 June 2017: Question on (U6.231). Is it possible to assign an Andromedan mothership to a route sector that is not under attack, pick up the sat base that is currently deployed, and bring it back to the Desecrator starbase? The reason to do so is to put together more Sat Bases in order to more rapidly set up a larger Andromedan base (BS or BATS) further up the route.
ANSWER: The rule specifically notes that the Andromedans may deploy a maximum of two motherships to each route. You cannot (as was noted before) assign three ships with the third ship remaining at a base further up the chain to upgrade the base. The exception comes in the record keeping phase where (U6.282) essentially allows a third mothership to come down the chain to place a new base if the Andromedans hold an area (either taken from the Galactics as a result of an advance, or repelled a Galactic advance but the existing base was destroyed).
As was previously noted, there is no requirement that the Andromedans defend each station, and the ships sent down a particular route might choose to stop at a higher level to upgrade the base there [this actually has to be a recorded attempt under (D6.231), i.e., the Andromedans must have selected the base elements as in the hangar spaces]. But there is no provision the campaign to evacuate an existing base whether under fire or not.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 10:31 am: Edit

SPP, thank you for the answers.

By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Tuesday, July 04, 2017 - 11:50 am: Edit

Hello, Where can I find the rules surrounding the basic set scenario monsters? SM1.0 to SM4.0?
I've bought the Silver Master Rulebook 2012 and just about every module, but didn't buy basic set as I thought the master rulebook had everything.

By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Tuesday, July 04, 2017 - 12:08 pm: Edit

The Master Rule Book has the majority of the rules (A-Q, some R, X and Y).

The Master Starship Books have each Empire's Ship rules (The R sections). Not every Empire has been published yet.

A future book called the Master Scenario Book would have all the Scenarios (S, T and U).

The Annexes are in Module G3 and G3A.

At this point you need to buy the Basic Set Rulebook to get the Monster Scenarios SM1.0 to SM4.0. You could buy just the rulebook through the starfleetstore as a spare part or the pdf through Warehouse 23 or Wargamevault.

http://www.starfleetstore.com/rulebooks-c-1_3_4/basic-set-rulebook-p-2.html

http://www.warehouse23.com/products/ADB5501-2

http://www.wargamevault.com/product/153369/

By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Tuesday, July 04, 2017 - 02:57 pm: Edit

Thanks Shawn!

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 11:53 am: Edit

Test message

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 11:16 pm: Edit

Interesting event happened in our game.
My ship is speed 0 but tractored by a friendly ship moving 31, tractoring ship is now speed 16 and speed 0 ship is still speed 0.
Enemy ship is on spine 2 hexes away[ my ships in 2414D and enemy ship in 2516C ].
He fires all bearing phasers at my speed 0 tractored ship.

Question is , is the 48 damage applied to the #6 since the speed 0 ship is moving via tractor or is the damage split between shields 1 and 6 ?

Thanks.
Cheers
Frank

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 12:05 am: Edit

Francois Lemay:

I am not 100% certain, it looks like(D3.41) determine which ship is scheduled to move next, move it temporarily (for determination only) one hex directly forward. Judge the shield facings (not firing arcs) from this position.

If not then (D3.43) option 3.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 11:10 am: Edit

Also, I believe the tractored ship has a "pseudo speed" which is important to the D3.41 determination.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 05:00 pm: Edit

That's how we applied the rule Ted, assumed a pseudo speed of 16 and applied the damage to the #6.
We're not quite sure if its the correct way to go but its what we did !

Wayne, neither ship is scheduled to move as they are both speed 0 but the target ship does have a pseudo speed which may make a difference !
Just curious if we played it correctly ?

Thanks.
Cheers
Frank

By Andy Vancil (Andy) on Saturday, July 22, 2017 - 12:15 am: Edit

Francois Lemay asks: My ship is Speed 0 but tractored by a friendly ship moving Speed 31. The tractoring ship is now (pseudo) Speed 16 and the Speed 0 ship is still Speed 0. The enemy ship is on the hex spine 2 hexes away (my ship in 2414D and the enemy ship in 2516C). He fires all bearing phasers at my Speed 0 tractored ship. Is the 48 damage applied to my Shield #6, since the Speed 0 ship is moving via tractor, or is the damage split between Shields #1 and #6?

ANSWER: Damage is resolved by (D3.43-C) because both ships are at speed 0 on the hex spine. The fact that one ship is held in a tractor beam (and is going to be moved by its ally) is ignored for this purpose, per the last sentence of the second paragraph of (D3.41). Unless the players have agreed otherwise, use (D3.43-C3): Your ship chooses which shield takes the damage.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation