Archive through November 21, 2017

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through November 21, 2017
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, September 11, 2017 - 07:51 pm: Edit

Just watch as they may HET if their ship went 'backwards' due to the tractor movement...

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, September 11, 2017 - 08:28 pm: Edit

Also with ECM drones (FD9.181), the ECM drone will not loan to a unit that is moving faster than the maximum speed of the ECM drone.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 09:42 pm: Edit

Many carrier escorts (and some other ships) have ready
racks and deck crews, but have no fighters; see (J4.62). These racks
are used to reload fighters from carriers within that fleet. The player
designates each rack as to its type before the scenario/campaign
begins. These racks cannot rearm heavy energy-based weapons
such as disruptors. These “casual carriers” have supplies for fighters
defined in (J4.62), based on the number of racks (as they have no
actual fighters). See (R2.R5) for Federation escorts.

With Non drone using empires such as Hydran and Paravian ships. Does this mean that they can not reload there carriers fighters that they are escorting. Same again for other races that use heavy weapons for there fighters only?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 10:14 pm: Edit

I think they have stasis boxes for plasma-Fs, and ready racks for carrier fighters. Hydrans have fusion charges or helbore ( = + ).
This may help, (J4.88) general rearming procedures, (J4.89) ready racks.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 04:58 pm: Edit

I agree but we are talking Escorts. not the carriers. Now i know that a lot of hydran ships are casual carriers as are the Jindarian asteroid ships. So i am thinking that the escorts can arm the heavy energy weapons of the fighters.

That really is my question can the escorts load the Fusion charges are the heavy energy weapons used by there fighters? Since if i read the above rule.. they can not.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 05:10 pm: Edit

Pretty sure Hydran ships with ready racks (such as fusion and escort ships) can rearm fusion beam charges for fighters; they cannot, however, rearm hellbore charges for fighters.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 07:10 pm: Edit

Plasma escorts have plas-D and/or Plas-K for their fighters, not Plas-F (no freezers)...

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 08:57 pm: Edit

Klingon and Kzinti escorts can reload drone armed fighters. They do not have freezers for the Disrupter armed fighters?

Hydran escorts the larger ones carry fighters. The FFE based on the hunter does have a ready rack but no fighters.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, September 22, 2017 - 09:25 pm: Edit

Generally, escorts can't rearm heavy weapons unless there is a stated exception.

No disruptors, photon torpedoes, hellbores, plasma-Fs.

By Andy Vancil (Andy) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 02:01 am: Edit

Gregory Flusche asks: (J4.897) says, [Ready racks on carrier escorts] cannot rearm heavy energy-based weapons such as disruptors. Does this mean that non-drone using empires such as the Hydrans and Paravians cannot reload the carrier's fighters that they are escorting? What about other races that use only heavy weapons for their fighters?

ANSWER: This general rule is overridden by specific rules governing the carrier escorts for the empires in question. Note that the Hydran escorts are generally "fully-capable" carriers under (J4.62), and their ready racks can rearm whatever fighters they are configured for. In general, escorts have only "=" ready racks, not "+" ready racks, and so cannot rearm "+" ready rack weapons (such as disruptors), but can rearm "=" weapons. For Hydrans, that means they can rearm fusion charges, but not hellbore charges. For races that use plasma torpedo fighters, that generally means plasma-D (or plasma-K) fighters, but not plasma-F fighters.

For the (conjectural General War) Paravians, I don't have data. The only materials I have show "+" ready racks for the fighters, and "=" ready racks on the escorts, but all the fighters have QWTs, so this doesn't make sense.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 05:13 am: Edit

MY SSDs for the Paravians show = boxes in both the escorts and carriers. The Peladine show + fo the plasma witch is correct and = for the drone. The Escorts only have = ready racks. So now i am getting a understanding. Thank you that above does make sense.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 08:05 am: Edit

Repeat question,
*************************
Question re ECM drones.
2 CAs are speed 16 with ECM drones following them.
One CA tracs the other on imp 15, pseudo speed is now 8 [ no imp used ] and ECM drones change speed to 8 as well.
Imp 16, CA moves forward along with ECM drones and 2nd CA declares to move forward next imp which is 17.
On imp 17, 2nd CA moves both ships forward.

Question is this,
Do the ECM drones also move on imp 17 even though they are speed 8 ?

I seem to recall a long while back they did but want to make sure my recollection is correct ?
Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Andy Vancil (Andy) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 05:01 pm: Edit

Francois Lemay asks: Two heavy cruisers are Speed 16 with ECM drones following them. One CA tractors the other on Impulse 15, resulting in a a pseudo speed of 8 for both ships. The ECM drones change speed to 8 as well. On Impulse 16, one CA moves forward along with the ECM drones. The second CA declares to move forward as well; its move is delayed until Impulse 17. Do the ECM drones also move on Impulse 17, even though they are speed 8?

ANSWER: Actually, the ECM drones will adopt whatever speed is necessary to stay with the tractored combo. Since the tractored ship has a Net Effective Vector of 16, Medium or Fast ECM drones can keep up with it, per (FD9.1156). The drones will move on Impulse 17 with the two ships.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 06:05 pm: Edit

Francois Lemay,

(FD9.1) Ship Escorts, (FD9.111) Station Keeping.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 08:29 pm: Edit

Andy, don't forget than with a tractor, ships may move in reverse and the ECM drone may be force to HET to regain tracking (if in the drone's RA arc)...

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 09:15 pm: Edit

Thanks Andy.

Stewart, AFAIK, drones are not forced to use their 1 HET per turn, if the ship did a HET, the drone can turn to keep target ship in FX arc.

Cheers
Frank

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 05:45 pm: Edit

Looking at Carnivons and Death bolts. Focused Burst mode for the Death Bolts. Is that like a phaser blast energy weapon. If so would it effect plasma torps and such as a Phaser would?

The Rules say nothing about that.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 06:14 pm: Edit

If a QWT has its splash elements removed by phaser are other means. Then Hits a unit/ship with 4 ecm and gets a reduction of 25%. Does it do nothing as the rules say the splash element is removed or does it then remove 25% of the main elements damage?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 06:16 pm: Edit

Gregory S. Flusche:

You would need a specific statement that it did for it to do so. Lack of such a statement means it does not. Just as there is nothing that says whether or not a Nova Cannon (YE7.0) damages plasma torpedoes. The default is that if there is no specific statement that a given weapon interacts with a plasma warhead, then it does not.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 07:50 pm: Edit

Was what i thought. Just wanted to check... What about the QWT - a splash element and ecm?

By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Wednesday, November 08, 2017 - 12:55 pm: Edit

How are Banshees effected by dogfight drone impacts? They are listed as having 51 points of ECM against "all seeking weapons" but dogfight drones are listed as ignoring EW. This would imply they do full damage.

Full damage for monsters is listed as 2 points but at the time of original publication the monsters were size class 1 (ok, not sure on the date, dragons might have been out and smaller but there were no SC6). Are banshees treated like all normal monsters and so take 2 points or as their size class (6) and so take 8?

By Russ Simkins (Madcowak) on Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 11:37 pm: Edit

From MODULE K dated 1991 page 56: (SM13.4533) Banshees are acceptable aegis targets. They are size class 6. They count as a fighter for purposes of crew ratings [(K8.0) or (J6.0)].

From G3 MASTER ANNEX FILE dated 4/13/09 page 171 ANNEX#12 MONSTER DATA TABLE: lists SM13 BANSHEE as size class 5

From MRB 2012 page 164: (FD2.54) LIMITED DAMAGE: Dogfight drones score two points of damage on size class 4 and larger targets (ships, bases, monsters, asteroids, planets). This is because the tiny warhead is designed to score a direct hit on a fighter engine instead of damaging the shields of a ship.
Dogfight drones score four points of damage on size class 5 targets (PFs, interceptors, GBDPs, size-5 ground bases).
Dogfight drones score eight points of damage on size class 6 and size class 7 targets (shuttles, large shuttles, defense satellites, mines).
page 167: (FD5.131) Dogfight drones that have gained their own lock-ons (even if still under control of another unit) cannot be distracted by electronic warfare (D6.3), ...
page 66: (D6.38) SYSTEMS NOT AFFECTED: The following systems are not affected by electronic warfare: anti-drones, labs identifying drones, type-VI (dogfight) drones, ...

So IMO, G3 being more recent trumps Module K with Banshees being size class 5 take 4 points of damage. As far as specifically listing monsters as 2 points of damage, I read the word "monsters" as examples of size 4 and larger, not a specific ruling for monsters.
A question I too would love to see officially answered. What say you SPP?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, November 17, 2017 - 01:04 am: Edit

Yes, what is in G3 is the correct rule. (I would think)

By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 11:31 pm: Edit

Nice summary Russ, appreciate it. I hope SPP will rule formally as well.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 04:25 pm: Edit

I thought Freighters only have three (3) control rating even if armed with seekers.

In Captains basic rulebook, rule (F3.211) ships not armed with drones or plasma torpedoes can control weapons equal to one-half of their sensor rating (usually 3).

(so then a small drone-armed freighter can control 6 drones, it has sensor rating 6)

However in module R11 (R1.68T) self defence skid type-1: Even a large freighter with two of these skids can still only control three seeking weapons at one time.

(so the skid itself does not improve the control rating)

Does a drone-armed freighter have its full sensor rating to control drones?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation