By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 07:38 pm: Edit |
Garth,
Only 1 ship can tractor another ship or object/unit.
Therefore your 3-4 FTs could not combine their power to tractor the 'BadGuy'.
Part 2, Correct, any number of ships can send BPs to attempt capture limited only to the transporters available on the same imp or subsequent imps when other ships get their transporters in arc. BP combat is then conducted at end of current turn, 1 round that is.
Be sure the target shield is down though !
Cheers
Frank
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 09:45 pm: Edit |
Also with transporting BPs you want to be certain that the enemy has no General reinforcement available for shields.
By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 09:48 pm: Edit |
That is so true Wayne !
By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Friday, December 29, 2017 - 12:50 pm: Edit |
Huh. A sudden thought. Can a ship with 2 pts of battery respond to transporter action to prevent such action on the same impulse? No access to sequence of events, just an unexpected question on my part.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, December 29, 2017 - 01:09 pm: Edit |
Glenn Hoepfner:
Yes. Using reserve power in this way is specifically mentioned in (G8.23).
By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Friday, December 29, 2017 - 01:43 pm: Edit |
Thanks
By Garth L. Getgen (Sgt_G) on Friday, December 29, 2017 - 11:48 pm: Edit |
Thanks, Francois. I figured that's what the answer was going to be.
Garth L. Getgen
By Patrick H. Dillman (Patrick) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 10:33 pm: Edit |
Over on a facebook group, William Z. Cohen asks:
Quote:Ok SFB veterans, please help me out with this rule. This concerns the HET.
The question is this:
Can a ship make a HET on impulse 1??? If not, why not?
Here are the rules that are in conflict.
C6.1 states this: High Energy Turns may be made during the Movement Segment of any impulse, regardless of whether or not the ship is scheduled to move, within the restrictions of (C6.3), and subject to a possible breakdown (C6.5). and
(C6.11) states this: FREE MOVEMENT: If using free movement (C1.31), the player can use an HET at any point during the turn so long as power is available (C6.22). A ship that allocates energy for an HET (when using free movement) is not required to expend it. Any unused energy is lost.
HOWEVER it states in (C6.37) HET NOT ALLOWED: No unit may make an HET on the first impulse of the turn, while docked (C13.924), while docking (C13.16), while undocking (C13.23), or while part of a pinwheel (C14.12), or if uncontrolled (G2.212). Exception (F2.135).
Please clarify when a ship can or cannot perform a HET specifically on the 1st impulse of the game. The conflict is that there are various places that state it can be whenever and then there is a rule on restrictions. After reading this over and over again and consulting with my updated english grammar book (I have a minor in English and just realized that I erred in translating this properly). Please assist on this.
By Nick Samaras (Koogie) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 10:49 pm: Edit |
(C6.37) HET NOT ALLOWED: No unit may make an HET on the first impulse of the turn, while docked (C13.924), while docking (C13.16), while undocking (C13.23), or while part of a pinwheel (C14.12), or if uncontrolled (G2.212). Exception (F2.135).
Specific rule overrides a general rule.
By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:04 pm: Edit |
No HET on the first impulse. Outside of special cases the only things moving on Impulse 1 are speed 32 seeking weapons.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:14 pm: Edit |
William Z. Cohen:
A ship cannot make a HET on impulse one, (C6.37).
By Patrick H. Dillman (Patrick) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:15 pm: Edit |
So, Speed 32 seeking weapons could HET Imp1?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:39 pm: Edit |
The only time I think a ship could HET on Imp #1 would be for it be in a tractor on Imp #32, be the second ship to move on Imp #32, have the tractor link maintained over the turn break, then it could HET on Imp #1 (as that would be its Imp #32 movement)...otherwise (C6.37) is the rule...
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:44 pm: Edit |
Patrick H. Dillman:
Yes (F2.135) Seeking weapons cannot use their HET during the impulse of launch but can use it during the impulse after launch (which is the first movement impulse for the weapon). A seeking weapon could make an HET during impulse #1.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, January 07, 2018 - 11:56 pm: Edit |
Stewart Frazier:
(G7.36)C 3,
If two ships are tractored on impulse #32, both perform any HET maneuvers during impulse #32 even if the ship in question is the one that will not conduct its movement until impulse #1 of the next turn.
By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Monday, January 08, 2018 - 02:13 pm: Edit |
Patrick for William.
"No unit may make an HET on the first impulse of the turn, while docked (C13.924), while docking (C13.16), while undocking (C13.23), or while part of a pinwheel (C14.12), or if uncontrolled (G2.212). Exception (F2.135)."
If there was no first comma, then your interpretation is correct. However, the first implies a separate condition. I'm not an English major but I write a lot.
Hope this helps
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, January 08, 2018 - 06:34 pm: Edit |
Wayne - thanks...
By Samuel Davis (Tancapkzin) on Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 07:22 am: Edit |
1. can Borak PH M mauler alternate firing arcs be used with free movement ? 2. when using free movement after enough turn mode points have been accumulated can you fire with out announcing the intention to fire on previous impulse ?
By Samuel Davis (Tancapkzin) on Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 09:28 am: Edit |
the other player argument to for mentioned question
1) Can the Borak Megaphasers use the standard mauler arc AND the alternate arc at the same time in a game or is it only one or the other the entire game? In other words can they switch at will between the standard and alternate arcs at will?
2) Do they use the alternate arc only when NOT using Free movement ( that is while using Pre-plotted movement)? ~~~I am assuming it is choice but fixed for entire game and that for non-borak and non-maulers it is NOT used in a free movement game.
3) Please confirm that C3.8 Directed turn modes is NOT used in the free movement system except by a mauler only if it elects to do so forgoing free movement in regards to turn modes.
Up to this point in the game Borak has been using standard arcs but is now in a Tractor at Range 2 in a position where the megaphasers can not arc and Borak now wants to switch to the alternate arc in order to fire. The question has devolved into a misunderstanding of directed turn mode use, that is a Mauler is always using directed turn modes for the ENTIRE GAME, or it is NOT using the directed turn modes for the entire game(unless there is some Borak exception to this).
By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 09:56 am: Edit |
Free movement is the default method of playing the game. Directed turn modes are not used unless agreed by all players. Maulers are the only ships that gain an advantage from it and might want to use it.
I do not know enough about the Borak to know what the standard and alternate arcs are but if they are mauler arcs you can use both the standard forward arc and the slightly twisty arc in the same game if you use directed turn modes.
If a player has not been using directed turn modes the whole game I would say they could not decide to use it now.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, January 13, 2018 - 02:08 pm: Edit |
Cam Debic asked: Can maulers use alternate firing arcs with free movement if enough turn mode moves have been acumilated for a turn in direction of alternate firing arc?
REPLY: Yes, the rule is intended very much for "free movement," to use it with "plotted movement" you would be required to "plot" when the ship would begin accumulating the turn mode points. The rule as written (E8.27) states "When the ship is accumulating left turn mode points, it MUST use he left arc" and so on. So if your mauler ship is moving Speed 20, and on Impulse #11 you announce [as provide in (C3.81)] that you are now "accumulating left turn mode accumulation points" you would not (NOT) be able to use the left firing arc because you did not move on that impulse (even though you made the declaration on that impulse) because you have not actually accumulated a turn mode point yet. The reason you might make the declaration on an impulse where you do not move would, obviously, be an effort to influence the movement of enemy ships that do move on that impulse. On Impulse #12 your ship will move and, provided you did not cancel your intention to begin accumulating left turn mode points by announcing a neutral (C3.82) (see the comment about having made the previous announcement in an effort to influence the movement of you opponent's ships at that time), you will accumulate the first of your left turn mode points, and during direct fire of that impulse if you wanted to fire the mauler it could only use the left alternate firing arc diagram. If you continue to accumulate left turn mode points, then when the ship accumulates the fourth one (assuming a D6M which has a Turn Mode of "B") the ship must turn to the left, at which point it can no longer use the alternate left firing arc and returns to the normal mauler firing arc until you again begin accumulating turn mode points. Note that the ship could extend its use (under free movement) of the left (or right) firing arc by using "neutral" turn mode, which does not reduce any accumulated left turn mode point, you would have to apply right turn mode points to first cancel any left turn points before you could start using right (or normal) firing arcs. See (C3.84).
I hope that helps.
By Paul Young (Pyoung) on Thursday, February 08, 2018 - 12:19 pm: Edit |
If a ship is crippled in combat and later self-destructs (say to avoid capture), would the opposing ships get crew experience points for crippling or destroying the ship?
By Glenn Hoepfner (Ikabar) on Thursday, February 08, 2018 - 02:55 pm: Edit |
I'd say destroying. There were, after all, the ones who set things in motion that resulted in its destruction.
By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Thursday, February 08, 2018 - 05:04 pm: Edit |
I would give it to them.
By Paul Young (Pyoung) on Friday, February 09, 2018 - 09:16 am: Edit |
Thanks, I'll go with that.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |