Archive through March 23, 2018

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through March 23, 2018
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 03:14 pm: Edit

G3A (Master Annex) has a complete fighter annex, with all variants of all fighters, including EW fighters.

As for rules, while you are correct that there isn't a PDF of the R2 rules, I might suggest considering the Electronic Master Rulebook. Most of the rules you would need to properly field the SCS from R2 are actually in module J/J2, which is part of the PDF master rulebook.

Of course you would not have the "R" rules section nor would you have proper counters.

By Les LeBlanc (Lessss) on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 03:22 pm: Edit

From reading Y module

When was guidance range extended to R35 from R25?

F torps developed same time as G torps Y122?

Downloading (F torp from a G tube) invented in Y122? (this is really 2 questions. Invention of downloading, and if the Y122 G torps can download to F.)

Plasma Bolts extended to R10? Y105? Y122? Other??

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 04:45 pm: Edit

To be honest here, Module G3 has all but one the annexes. (Module G3A has escort data tables and, as noted, extracts of the goofs from Annex #4 and #3B, there are not a lot of Annexes in it, it has one entire annex that would not fit into Module G3's allocated page count, but it is not an annex that gets referenced very often, particularly not during game play).

We have not run out of printed Module R2 rulebooks. Rulebooks get updated and uploaded as PDFs when they run out of stock and have to be re-printed. Thus we ran out the Module R3 rulebook, and the Module R4 rulebook, and the Module C1 rulebook, and the Module C2 rulebook, all were updated for reprinting and made available as PDFs.

And as a futher note of honesty, sometimes you do need to refer to a ship (or fighter) description to use it fully. For example, the Annexes will not tell you that the phaser-2 on a Klingon Z-1 has a maximum range of 15 hexes, or that the disruptors on a Klingon DAS has two shots and a maximum range of 10 hexes. That data is in the ship descriptions.

And a lot of people think any fighter can launch every drone it has in a single turn, or a single impulse, and this is not usually the case. An F-8 for example can only launch one drone a turn despite having two drones. But if one of the type-Is was replaced by a type-VI, then both drones could be launched in a turn. Players running drone-armed fighters need to peruse (J4.24) carefully and be aware of it.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 19, 2018 - 05:02 pm: Edit

Leslie LeBlanc asked on 19 Mar 18:

When was guidance range increased from Range 25 to Range 35?

Answer: Under (Y0.0) Early Years Rules see "Effective Dates." Essentially ships built from Y120 on can control seeking weapons out to Range 35.

F torps developed same time as G torps Y122?

Answer: Under (YFP2.0) type-G, type-F (no stasis boxes), and type-R were available in the early years. Stasis boxes for plasma-F torpedoes used on ships were developed in Y120, prior to that date you have to roll or hold your plasma-Fs just as any other plasma torpedo.

Downloading (F torp from a G tube) invented in Y122? (this is really 2 questions. Invention of downloading, and if the Y122 G torps can download to F.)

Answer: Again under (YFP2.0) "... these could download some of the other types." There is no restriction keeping you from launching an F torp from an R or G launcher, or a G torp from an R launcher.

Plasma Bolts extended to R10? Y105? Y122? Other??

Answer: Under (YFP8.0) the Romulans can only fire plasma torpedoes in "bolt mode" until Y88. From Y89 they can launch seeking plasma normally and use the normal (FP8.0), i.e., non early years restricted, rules for plasma bolts. The Gorns remain under the early years restrictions on bolting plasma torpedoes until Y104. From Y104 the Gorns are released from the "bolt only" plasma restriction (can launch seeking plasma) and use the normal bolt rules.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 10:23 pm: Edit

Question re OEW .
A scout lends an enemy CA 6 OEW giving it -6 for shooting. CA currently has no ECCM working.
Does this -6 OEW [ +2 shift in short ] also force the CA to do a lock on roll when it is attempting a tractor on a friendly ship or even if trying to use transporters ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 10:43 pm: Edit

One more question re ECM, natural ecm that is.
2 friendly ships are within 10 hexes of a BH and according to P4.24, they each get 2 ECM for the proximity.
Lets say one of the ships wants to tractor the other but has no ECCM working, does the attempting ship need to roll for a lock on [+1 to roll ] due to the natural effects of the ECM each ship is receiving ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 10:47 pm: Edit

Ok, I found the answers to my questions, D6.3146 was pointed out to me.
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 11:32 pm: Edit

Ok...this came up because Frank and I had...shall we say a discussion about it. The rules specifically address this only in the example in the scout section on lending OEW. As in all references say specifically...The enemy ship that lent the OEW and all enemy ships of its fleet...will have ECM as far as the Ship that was lent the OEW is concerned. Which is reasonable. But Frank says that the entire universe has ECM as far as the ship that received the OEW is concerned. Hexes in space...cant be assumed to have a lock on and must roll. Other allied ships now have ECM as if they were enemy ships. My own shuttles have ECM against me. And it all boils down to D6.3146 Which in my opinion....supported by the examples...is simply saying that you cannot ignore the OEW. And as the examples expressly said...it applies to all enemy ships, enemy shuttles and enemy drones. No where does it say this rule applies to my Sensors being degraded from 6 to 4. And that is the effect Frank seems to believe happens.

Chuck

By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 12:40 am: Edit

Your sensors do not degrade to 4. You do not lose lock on due to ECM. Fire control does not work that way. See D6.112.

There are only a few ways to lose lock on such as sensor damage, something between the two objects (black hole, planet, etc.), coming out of the WYN Radiation Zone, Cloaking Devices, going to passive fire control, and probably a few things I have forgotten but they are rare. You do have a lock on to your own ships and enemy ships.

You cannot have a lock on to a hex so that does not matter.

You do have a shift in all operations whether aimed at friendly or hostile targets from OEW (see D6.3146 showing you usually ignore ECM for friendly targets except for natural ECM from terrain and OEW).

For example if you were to try to tractor a friendly shuttle you would have to make the roll under D6.37. So, unless you had ECCM you would have a +2 shift and have to roll a 4 or less on a d6 to attach the tractor.

If you were to fire weapons at a friendly or enemy ship the OEW would also apply. Note though that generally you are not allowed to fire on a friendly ship in any case.

The OEW would also apply to attempts to interact with neutral objects. For example tractoring a large asteroid or using transporters to move cargo or crew down to a planet would both require a roll.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 07:57 am: Edit

A ship with -6 OEW that wants to transport TBs into a particular hex[es] must roll [+2 to roll ]for lock on to that hex[es].
Any failed lock on rolls does consider that transporter as being used for that turn.
This is what Charles is referring to re the universe situation.
Cheers
Frank

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 09:04 am: Edit

Jon I understand the interpretation someone....somewhere came up with for this. All because "(D6.3146) FRIENDLY UNITS ignore (D6.3141), (D6.3142), and (D6.3144), but not (D6.3143) or (D6.3145)" So therefore someone decided this means it is just like an ion storm in space which does actually effectively degrade sensors because all of that area it encompasses creates a static like effect. My point was and still is...there were specific uses that stated what it worked with in every example. All of them dealt with nothing more than enemy fleets. Also under G24.219 O-EW applied by one scout against another scout has no effect on the second scout’s ability to use its scout functions. So this all encompassing ECM does not actually encompass everything. Scouts ignore it when lending to someone. Breaking lock-ons and the rest. But a scout cannot ignore the natural ECM because that does act like a degradation of sensors. So getting back to my point. What should have been the obvious meaning of D6.3146 should be that friendly units cannot ignore the OEW being applied to them in relation to enemy fleets. If scouts ignore it with their channels...then it is not like natural ECM which scouts cannot ignore.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 11:22 am: Edit

I doubt the analogies are entirely accurate, but I'm pretty sure that the *effect* of OEW that Frank is advocating for is correct. If a ship subject to an OEW or natural ECM shift tries to use systems that require a lock-on, there is a chance the system will fail to work due to the lack of lock-on. I think the analogy to "degraded sensors" is not strictly correct, but I'm pretty sure the *effect* is correct.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 11:47 am: Edit

The relevant rule:

(D6.37) OTHER SYSTEMS AFFECTED (Standard): Certain nonweapons
systems also require a positive lock-on, and certain
weapons do not operate in a manner that is suitable for (D6.35) or
(D6.36). Note that after a tractor beam is attached, a lock-on (by the
tractoring and to the tractored unit) is automatic (G7.412). See also
(D6.62).
(D6.371) This procedure is used for the following systems:
displacement devices, tractor beams, transporters, and stasis field
generators. See Annex #7P for an updated list.
(D6.372) PROCEDURE: For each individual action (i.e., for each of
three transporters used on the same impulse), roll a single die and
add the net ECM shift to the result. If the total is more than six, the
lock-on is not strong enough and the system cannot be used. If an
unsuccessful attempt is made, another attempt with that same
specific system box cannot be made on the same turn or within eight
impulses (i.e., the standard rate of operations rule for most systems).
Thus, you could make as many transporter attempts as you have
transporters, assuming all were powered, but each could only make
one attempt. Any energy allocated to a failed attempt is lost, and that
item cannot be operated again on that turn (as per rules).

By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 11:50 am: Edit

Charles Carroll:

You seem to be trying to interpret D6.3146 to mean the opposite of what it says. Friendly units DO NOT ignore offensive EW. I disagree that your "obvious meaning" is logical. The rule would be meaningless if your interpretation is correct.

Electronic Warfare never affects a scout's ability to use channels and that cannot be generalized to other systems. No one claimed OEW is all-encompassing. Electronic Warfare has specific effects on specific kinds of actions listed in the rules.

If I misunderstood I apologize. I am not entirely sure though that I am following you correctly. Can you give a gameplay example of what you are suggesting the rule means?

Frank and Ted:

Sort of. The problem is I would change the wording to avoid confusion. Having lock on to another ship has a specific meaning in the game so saying that the transporter attempt failed due to lack of lock on implies the ship loses or never had lock on which can be confusing. Better to say the ECM jams the attempt or something like that.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 07:01 pm: Edit

@Jon - sure. And, in fact, that is effectively what D6.37 et seq. says (thanks Richard, for quoting the rule).

Not sure how to make that OEW effect more clear.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 12:34 pm: Edit

The way to make it more clear would have been to say it is a jamming effect that degrades your ability to maintain lock on. Which is what I feel it is.

Now we all seem to agree that natural effects just are. But this applies to all ships in the area. My main issue is that supposedly D6.3146 apples to everything in the universe and not just to the enemy ships which every example says it does.

One example Frank used was dealing with the transporter...trying to transport a T-bomb into a gigantic sector of space that we show as a hex...and saying you have to roll in order to make this happen? Really...You cant manage to put a t-bomb...into a square parsec of space because you could not lock on to it? Every example used in the book deals with trying to do this to an enemy ship. Since every enemy ship now has this ECM applied when targeting the ship by the ship with OEW applied to it. This makes perfect sense. But it doesn't for my ships or every thing in space. UNLESS...it is jamming that degrades my entire sensor package.

Now I have no problem with that being the case. My problem is that the way this has been played is not reflected in a single example. And everyone referring back to the words Friendly units...as proof that this effects even vast sections of space is absurd for an EW effect but not a degradation effect.

So with this said. No the rule is not clear in some instances. Very clear when dealing with ship to enemy ship actions. And pretty murky with friendly ships to friendly ships actions. And not at all clear with the t-bomb example that Frank used. Unless it is a jamming degradation effect. But if so. You should be rolling for lock on each turn. Or as soon as you have OEW applied unless it is intermittent. Which would require a lock on roll for every time you use it.

Hope this explains things better.

By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 01:21 pm: Edit

OEW is jamming that degrades your entire sensor system. Basically the enemy scout is flooding you with targeted electronic interference and is jamming you up and is playing Space Invaders with your detection gear.

It is pretty clear with friendly on friendly interactions. By D6.3146 you can ignore generated, built-in, and regular EW lending when dealing with a friendly target but you do not ignore OEW or natural EW.

Now, the T-bomb example is a little different because the target is not friendly or enemy. I would class it as friendly because it is not hostile (assume the best). You do have a lock on to the target hex (assuming fire control is active, sensors undamaged, etc.) The OEW applies. You have to roll to place the T-bomb.

You are not rolling for "lock on". You are rolling to see if you can get through the ECM jamming you to operate a specific system. If you were to power five transporters and place five T-bombs you would roll five times, once for each.

My understanding is of course subject to being overruled by the game designers or someone with a better understanding but seems clear to me.

Best solution: Shoot the scout.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 04:11 pm: Edit

Charles,
Look at it this way.
You drive down the same road every day, need to make an upcoming right and do so flawlessly, don't turn too soon thus curbing the tires or too late ending up in the other lane, you always end up in the center of the lane you want !

One day you are drunk [ OEW ], very drunk [ lots of OEW ], will you be making that same turn flawlessly while OEW impaired ?
Not sure so a die roll is required to see if you do make that turn [ ie. place TB in exact spot in space desired ].

Its not the lock on in space that is the issue, its the transporter requiring a lock on to that particular spot to transport the TBs but since its not functioning perfectly due to the OEW, a roll is required.

As I said in our discussion and Ted likewise above, not sure how else to explain OEW to you !?

Cheers
Frank

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 04:12 pm: Edit

Jon,
Love that solution !
:>)

By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 04:33 pm: Edit

One thing to add. I am not saying you are using the scout incorrectly but I know I made this mistake when I was first playing.

When a scout powers a channel it does not come with EW to lend (either lent to a friendly ship or offensively against the enemy). You have to pay energy for that as well. To throw 6 points of OEW up costs 7 points of power (1 for the channel and 1 for each point of OEW for a total of 7).

Scouts can seem incredibly powerful and they can be if used well but they are also usually very power starved.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 05:02 pm: Edit

Also, a scout needs to allocate power to its sensors during EA. It cannot use btty to power up a channel during the turn but can use its bttys to increase OEW or lending to friendly units.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 11:47 pm: Edit

A question about shield arcs has come up during a platinum hat game tonight.

Question D3.0 et seq. "If tractored ships lie on a split shield, how do you evaluate which shield applies?"

Here is the specific situation so that the rules judge can answer the question specifically for this platinum hat game.

A Kzinti TCC has tractor an Orion TBR at a range of 2. The Kzinti TCC is in hex 1715 facing F, speed 0 (being dragged by the Orion). The Orion TBR is in hex 1515 facing E, pseudo-speed 11 (speed prior to tractoring was 26, no impulse (I think)). Therefore, a hex spine separates the two ships.

Without the tractor, the shield situation is clear: because the Orion is moving and the Zin is not, the Kzinti is facing the #4 shield of the Orion and the Orion is facing the #6 shield of the Kzinti. With the tractor, we're not so sure. Maybe the defender gets to pick under D3.43(C) because the tractor fixes the positions of the ships with respect to each other. If the answer is black and white in the rules, we didn't see it. We seek rules enlightenment.

The answer may result in victory for the Kzinti, because the #4 shield of the Orion is down, the Orion has already taken 20 or so internals, and the Orion cannot turn or HET again before the Kzinti's phasers cycle...

Otherwise, the battle rages on!

Thank you for your consideration.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Friday, March 23, 2018 - 12:58 am: Edit

Jon you are assuming that the comment...Friendly units cannot ignore...applies to friendly on friendly interactions. Does it? Or is that just what people have assumed. It could just as easily be if I use OEW on you...that you cannot ignore it. Which is actually stated in another part of this. That you cannot ignore it. Maybe it is just reinforcing that stipulation. You also and everyone else who replies ignores the fact that there are no examples at all covering what you think is required. Also there is no stipulation about Something other than friendly or enemy as in neutral, such as the open space t bomb usage.

Now since the consensus is that this is not EW actually but is some form of extremely powerful jamming that effects your systems so badly that everything in the universe now has ECM. I can accept this as the way we will play. I do not however accept this as a fact. Since it lacks clear definition.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Friday, March 23, 2018 - 01:04 am: Edit

Ted my belief about this is simple...is there any movement or can there be? The answer, so long as a tractor is in effect, is there is no actual movement between the two ships. There is spacial movement. But both ship maintain the exact spatial positioning. So its as if to each other, they are going speed zero and therefore, it becomes players choice as to shield.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, March 23, 2018 - 04:37 am: Edit

Ted Fay:

(C2.413) pseudo speed is used for purposes of (G7.36) and (C2.46) says the pseudo speed is used for purposes of determining when each ship will move the combination.

The firing ship is speed 0, the effective speed of the target ship is used in (D3.41).

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation