Archive through July 24, 2018

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through July 24, 2018
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Wednesday, July 04, 2018 - 07:51 am: Edit

Well you capture the station. Then have to reprogram all of the replicators to make klingon parts instead of Federation are kzinti parts. Deleting soft ware and adding your own. How long will that take? With encryption codes to remove and rewrite. Also hidden safeguards viruses and what not. Could take days and weeks to get the equipment reprogrammed.

I am sure there are orders to destroy sabotage just such equipment in case the base is captured.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, July 05, 2018 - 06:55 pm: Edit

There are clearly security systems in place given that a captured ship's weapons cannot be used (except by a legendary weapons officer, and he requires an uninterrupted turn to accomplish the task for just one weapon), and power systems largely remain operational.

But, ultimately the means of keeping the enemy from making use of the computer systems and what all is the access to self-destruction.

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Thursday, July 05, 2018 - 06:57 pm: Edit

(XD6.34) eMRB - This rule lists a legendary gunner but there are no G22.0 legendary gunners. Is this supposed to be a legendary weapons officer or a new legendary officer? Also, SL264.0 lists a legendary gunner. - Ken Kazinski, 05 Jul 2018.

By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Friday, July 06, 2018 - 04:18 pm: Edit

Moved.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, July 06, 2018 - 05:07 pm: Edit

Ken Kazinski:

While definitely a case of sloppy, the intention is clear that a Legendary Gunner is just another name for the Legendary Weapons Officer.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 06:43 pm: Edit

Randy Blair asked on Monday, 9 Jul 18: A Klingon F5C with two ground assault shuttles, 20 boarding parties, and two heavy weapons squads begins a scenario on Turn #1 in the same hex as a large asteroid owned by the Klingon player, with one ground combat location containing one boarding party. (There are three ground defense stations per command station - the extra is purchased with Commander’s Options).

1. If the F5C chooses to dock with the large asteroid, and does what it takes to do so, it will be considered docked at the end of Turn #1, correct?

ANSWER: Rule (P3.42) requires that the ship end its turn in the hex of the asteroid, and "lands" on the next turn using the procedures of (C13.9). Rule (C13.911) says that the docking takes place in the "Final Activity Phase." Since your ship begins the scenario in the asteroid’s hex, even if it had a presumed speed of max on the previous turn (Turn #0, i.e., scenarios generally define the speed of a ship before a scenario begins) it can be defined as at Speed Zero and thus able to land/dock. Note that (C13.17) requires that you announce your intention to dock, and (C13.91) requires that the F5C employ a tractor beam for the purpose which (P3.42) reinforces, i.e., the ship will only remain docked to the asteroid as long as it has a tractor link.

2. During Turn #1, if it launches its ground assault shuttles, are they available for combat on that ground combat location on Turn #1, or must they also "land" on the asteroid?

ANSWER: There is no restriction on shuttles announcing they are landing on launch, provided only that the ship they are launching from is in a position where it is possible, but they do have to land to be in the ground combat location (D15.43). A ship in the same hex as an asteroid on which the shuttles wish to land is a fairly obvious example. Even though the ship itself has not landed during Turn #1 (it is in the process), the shuttles can on launch announce that they are landing, and will land during the Voluntary Movement Stage of Impulse #32 of the turn. As to their availability for ground combat, there is no restriction, not even the normal quarter turn delay applies for ground combat, the shuttles can participate in ground combat on the same turn that they land in the ground combat location.

3. When the F5C is docked to the asteroid, can it launch its ground assault shuttles and have them participate in combat on that turn?

ANSWER: Yes. Not any different than a base on the planet launching its own shuttles into the surrounding ground combat location.

4. The turn after the F5C is docked, it can transfer boarding parties at the rate of two every other impulse beginning at impulse #8, correct? Does that mean one every impulse, or two every other impulse? Or is it two per impulse? [Reference (C13.951) and (D15.533).]

ANSWER: Rule (D15.533) is the applicable rule. Your ground troops are not fighting their way through the docking ports of an opposing ship under (C13.951), they are debouching into the relatively open areas of the asteroid from the confines of your own ship. There is no quarter turn delay from the landing at the end of Turn #1 to the start of troops marching forth, so two boarding parties (or heavy weapons squads, or one militia squad) can exit the ship on Impulse #1. Two more (or one militia squad) on Impulse #2, continuing until there are no more troops to exit, i.e., up to 64 boarding parties could exit the ship on Turn #2.

5. If an enemy ship chooses to dock on that same asteroid, while the F5C is still docked, is the enemy ship considered unfriendly, per (C13.96)? What if the F5C is not still docked?

ANSWER: Rule (P3.4) uses the term "units" when referring to docking to the asteroid. You would have to work out the facing and which shield arcs are blocked, but whether the F5C is present or not another unit can dock to it. This could (obviously) if the players wanted to press the issue quickly get ridiculous. That is to say that two 13 ship battle fleets each including a flotilla of fast patrol ships might all attempt to dock to a single asteroid for some purpose (38 individual "docked" units). Generally, however, the tactical situation would make such an occurrence extremely unlikely.

6. Can the F5C be fired upon while it is docked to the asteroid?

ANSWER: Yes under (P3.43) and (D15.532). Note that if ground forces of the opposing side are assaulting the ship it cannot be fired on [also covered by (D15.532)].

7. Can the F5C participate in Ground Combat while docked to the asteroid?

ANSWER: Under the provisions of (D15.531) which refers to (P2.751) they can, in Star Fleet Battles, participate only as targets of an assault by the opposing player’s ground forces.

7a. If it can, can enemy ships fire upon it?

ANSWER: As noted previously the ship can be fired on as long as it is NOT under assault by enemy ground forces (D15.532).

Example: F5C begins docking procedure by attaching a tractor beam on Turn #1.1. It transports two boarding parties to the other two control stations (because there is only one boarding party in the ground combat location, and one is required for each control station).
On Turn #1.24, the enemy player transports four boarding parties to the surface.
Turn #2.1, the F5C is docked, and launches one of its two ground assault shuttles with two boarding parties inside, it also transports the two heavy weapons squads to the ground combat location.
On Turn #2.3, it launches its other ground assault shuttle with two boarding parties inside.
Turn #2.8, the F5C begins kicking out boarding parties, but it is a combat situation (assume some of the four enemy boarding parties lived from the previous turn’s combat) so two boarding parties can come out on Impulses #8, #12, #16, #20, #24, #28, and #32. (If there were no enemy units on the ground combat location, then it would be two boarding parties every even impulse starting at the eighth.)
On Turn #2.32, the F5C is destroyed by weapons fire from enemies in space, even though it intended to participate in the ground combat location on that turn.

Can that example happen? What effect would an F5C exploding on a ground combat location on a large asteroid have?

There is no provision under (D15.533) limiting the disembarking of personnel from a ship simply because it is under attack by enemy ground forces. There is no rule that I am aware of that places an eight impulse delay between the ship landing at the end of a turn and beginning the disembarking of troops on the following turn. While it is a gross simplification, explosions have no effect on units on the surface of the asteroid under (P2.5475). This was a game mechanic decision made a long time ago, as the only other option was that it wipes out everyone on both sides. So the combat forces "on the ground" (which includes shuttles that have "landed" to participate in ground combat) are unharmed, but units that are not on the ground (such as shuttles in flight) are affected normally, i.e., take the full blast damage of the explosion. Note that such shuttles might be in the "shadow" of the asteroid (basically on the other side of it from the ship under (P3.431)] and would be undamaged.

By Matt Koukol (Delphidex) on Sunday, July 15, 2018 - 12:21 pm: Edit

I have the Captain's Master Rulebook 2012. In my copy of the materials, FD7.12 has some imaging error that has made it unreadable. Can someone give me the text of that paragraph so I can add it to my copy.
Thanks!

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 09:36 pm: Edit

I saw a comment on SFB in FB. Where a statement was made that his two fusions fighters in a tourney fired 4 over loaded fusions. I cannot find the rule which I remember...which said fighters cannot fire overloads...something to do with cannot withstand the shock or something like that. Anyone know where the rule is?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 10:50 pm: Edit

I am pretty sure it is in the ship description of Hydran fighters. See (R9.F0) (I think that is it) in Module C1 or the Hydran Master Starship Book.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 11:59 pm: Edit

Thanks Steve...I was looking in the silver anniversary edition. But I knew it had to be somewhere. I will try and find it.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 12:11 am: Edit

As far as I know no fighter can fire overloaded weapons.
The Hydran fighters fusion rule is in (R9.F1) Module C1.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 12:28 am: Edit

Charles Carroll:

The rule is in the Captains basic rule book.

(J4.885) No fighter can use, and no storage facility can hold, an overloaded weapon.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 02:38 am: Edit

I think the thing to look at is (R9.F0), which is where you will find the rules that limit the range of fighter fusions to two years in one charge, and allow you to combine the two charges of one fighter fusions beam to fire out to Range 10. I think it is the ability to combine two charges in a given fighter fusions beam, which is unique to that fighter weapon that creates the confusion.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 02:38 am: Edit

I think the thing to look at is (R9.F0), which is where you will find the rules that limit the range of fighter fusions to two years in one charge, and allow you to combine the two charges of one fighter fusions beam to fire out to Range 10. I think it is the ability to combine two charges in a given fighter fusions beam, which is unique to that fighter weapon that creates the confusion.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 02:03 pm: Edit

Thank you Steve...I cannot seem to find my C1 right now. Could you possibly post the relevant rule. And as I understand it...range 0,1,2 is one charge...3-10 is 2. Now on a slightly separate question. Normal fusions are an every other turn weapon. So if I fire at range 0-2...can I fire 8 impulses later as the fusion charge cycles into the weapon. Or does it like regular fusions require waiting for a turn before being able to fire again?

By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 08:31 am: Edit

Charles, it's in the write-up for the Stinger-I (R9.F1), which details both the double-charge use for extended range (it can fire only out to range 3 with a single shot) and the ability to fire the two charges over consecutive turns (but not within 1/4 turn).

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 09:58 am: Edit

Jessica...I know I have seen it...its in a book I have....somewhere lol. I just cannot find the dang thing. The policy of taking the R section out of the comprehensive rules manuals is annoying lol. I have no idea what I have done with my C1. Or where ever else it might be.

By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 12:54 pm: Edit

It is indeed in Module C1's R-section for the Hydrans. Which unfortunately doesn't help when you can't find it. :(

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, July 23, 2018 - 01:03 pm: Edit

(R9.FW1) FUSION WEAPON: Many Hydran fighters and bombers have fusion beams. Each such weapon usually has two charges (i.e., each can fire twice). A fighter with multiple fusion beams can fire them at the same or different times; each can fire one charge per turn (or use a double shot, see below) and can fire its two charges on consecutive turns (but not within 1/4 turn). The weapons cannot use each other’s charges (e.g., a double-shot from one fusion on Turn #1 and a single-shot from both on Turn #2 would be impossible). The range of the fusion beam is limited to three hexes, but if two charges are used for one shot, the beam can fire to a maximum range of 10 hexes (this does not produce increased dam-age). The fighter can "double shot" both fusions at the same time. The carrier reloads these fusion beams by the procedure in (J4.83). Note that mega-packs (J16.0) frequently add an additional charge to each fusion beam on a fighter, allowing for a long-range shot on one turn and a short-range shot on the next (or vice versa).

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 01:30 am: Edit

Thanks Steve. I appreciate that. I knew it existed. Now on a separate note dealing with this. I went out and got the PDF version of the rule book for C1. And guess what...the rule you posted is not in it lol.

So at the end of R9 is after R9.F1-F6 is this comment.

NOTE: Rules for Heavy and electronic warfare fighters are in Module J. The fighters are listed here for player convenience after acquiring those products.
END OF (R9.0) MODULE C1

Except I have Module J and no Hydran Fighters of any kind are listed in it(1991 version). Is that where the FW1 rule is? Or is it in yet another book...which brings up the question lol. Why is there not a comprehensive book for all of the R section? Or do we have to buy what I guess is the new Master Race books that are coming out? For something that used to be included in the standard rule books.

By Marc Michalik (Kavik_Kang) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 02:03 am: Edit

The R section is, notoriously, the most confusing section of the rulebook. It was necessarily done in the order things were introduced too the game, which has no relation to the order that would make sense. That is why they are doing the MSSB's, to clear up the most confusing section of the SFB rulebook.

Those of us who grew up with it and the evolution of the game are kind of used to it, have it "half-memorized" in a way... but I would imagine that the R-section is extremely confusing to someone who didn't evolve along with it over decades.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 02:08 am: Edit

If you have the updated Module C1, check the fusion beam rules.

Module J does not have specific Hydran fighters, but it does have (R1.F7), which is the specific rule for converting a given fighter into an electronic warfare variant, and (R1.F8), which is the rule for heavy fighter use of electronic warfare.

By Norman Dizon (Normandizon) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 02:21 pm: Edit

Marc, Respectfully, I have to Disagree with Three of your Statements:

1) "The R section is, notoriously, the most confusing section of the rulebook."

Confusing for some, maybe, but not for others. I have never been confused by the R-Sections. I found them pleasantly refreshing, even in relation to the rulebook.

2) "It was necessarily done in the order things were introduced too the game, which has no relation to the order that would make sense."

Determining the order that would make sense is subjective. Make sense to whom? I thought the idea was that Expansions were Modular, pieces to be added onto the Basic and Advanced Set. Not everyone needs to have these Modular Components, you should be able to play without them. So given this Modular Nature, how are the R-Sections for an empire such as the Hydrans (A New World Empire not in the Basic/Advanced Sets) supposed to be introduced? The way it was handled in the C-Modules was perfect to me.

Now the whole Hydran Fighter/Fusion Beam issue regarding Module J (yet another Modular Component not everyone has), is a completely separate matter...

3) "That is why they are doing the MSSB's, to clear up the most confusing section of the SFB rulebook."

I highly doubt that is the reason for the Master Starship Books. And you are assuming that the R-Sections are confusing for everyone (which they are not, because I was not confused). I'm sure there are other, more positive, reasons why the line of Master Starship Books is being developed.

4) As for Charles' Reference to a "Master Race", there is One and Only One. It starts with an S, ends in a P, and has P in the middle.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 03:06 pm: Edit

Some clarifications of errors on my part.

The rules for Hydran fighter fusions were originally included in the ship description of the Hydran Stinger-1 (R9.F1).

This is still where they are found (apparently I was remembering a discussion about moving them to (E7.0), but this has not been done, probably because we thought it would confuse existing players) in Module C1. And as that is where they are found, they were not incorporated into the fusion rules in the Master Rulebook.

When the Hydran Master Starship Book was done, the rule was extracted from (R9.F1) and expanded to make it clear that it applied to later units (the original text did not include bombers) and later rules (Megapacks). It was then assigned the (R9.FW1) rule number (for "Hydran.Fighter Weapon Rule #1").

So if you are looking for it in Module C1, it is still incorporated with the Stinger-1 (R9.F1).

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 09:46 pm: Edit

Someone mentioned that no fighters may fire overloads, but this is not entirely true. Hiver fighters may fire sting torpedoes as overloads. Hiver fighters are unusual in more ways than that, however.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation