Archive through November 28, 2018

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through November 28, 2018
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 12:24 pm: Edit

something to consider then when playing them in a campaign game. What you Hanger bays are set up for.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 08:22 pm: Edit

Now I also have a question regarding Ravaging by Dragons I do not have the new Scenario books. Last one I have is the Captains edition dealing with dragons. The reason I am concerned is that it makes a reference to victory conditions based on SM4.761. There is an obvious issue. There is no 4.761. However, if we go with the idea that this was a reversed typo. Then it refers instead to SM7.461. Which makes more sense in that it refers you to the dragon stat chart. Which included ravaging damage. So...was this ever fixed? And if so what is the actual rule being referred to? Otherwise it appears to be referring to the Sun Snake and a rule that does not exist.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 16, 2018 - 01:35 pm: Edit

Charles Carroll:

Yes, that is a typo in (SM7.5), it should have read (SM7.461). I am not sure how the numbers got transposed, but they did.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 01:03 pm: Edit

Thank you as always Steve and now for another Dragon question. Regarding their tail and it's use as a close in defense system. It says something that may be wrong? In that it states...that when using the tail it can kill "Any" seeker at range 0 on a 5/6. Any? As in it destroys an R Plasma Torp? That is a seeker.

And also they do not use the E 6.0 rule correct? And have no range 3 abilities for destroying seekers other than maybe using their eyes.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 05:52 pm: Edit

Lol and yet another question as the Campaign I am in continues to bring in unusual things. Dealing with Orions and Self Destruct and when can they be shot at by other Orions trying to stop them from being captured. It says about SD that they can decide when to self destruct without having to worry about anyone boarding them...or being the last ship if we are reading it right. It is a simple choice. It seems like it might also say that they can do this when they want to. So...I am guessing though...that they still have to wait till the start of a turn. So can other Orions shoot at them if needed without meeting the usual requirements. And when can they self Destruct...as in at will..or if something like BPs on board. And of course that they can only SD if marked at the beginning of the turn. And being Orion and using a Bomb...to cause self Destruct. Does that change the rolls for preventing SD in any way?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 11:25 pm: Edit

My understanding is that an Orion ship will self destruct before capture.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 12:45 am: Edit

Well yes and no....it will certainly try to. The question is when can it? The rule does say it can be captured. So I am assuming that first off...no cannot do a self Destruct applies. And that may be all there is. So like run into the middle of a group of ships....and start of next turn go boom. But it seems you can stop them So I just want a little more clarification on when you can do a self destruct. As in you do have to wait till the start of a turn and allocate it. Or because it is a Mine on your ship...and you are setting it off. You can just do that any time. I am thinking...it is not that way though.

By Nick Blank (Nickgb) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 08:05 am: Edit

You have to plan it, you cannot just do it in the middle of a turn. The suicide bomb just means the explosion strength is higher than normal for a ship of their size.

By Marc Michalik (Kavik_Kang) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 10:33 am: Edit

My SFB books are in storage so I can't look at the specifics of this, but I am pretty sure the answer too your question is in the Sequence of Play. If I remember right (It's been a LONG time since I played a game of SFB) there is a Self Destruct declaration step at the beginning of the turn. Then, most likely there is an 8-16 impulse delay to SD, or maybe it is a step at the end of the turn where you actually detonate. It's been a long time since I played, but it will be something along these lines and you will find the answer in the SoP.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 03:47 pm: Edit

I am at home, so I will confirm this until the morrow. I am fairly certain that there are only two differences in the self-destruct rules for Orions.

One of course is the suicide bomb giving them a bigger bang.

The other is that they must self-destruct if there is any chance of capture.

They do however remain as vulnerable as anyone else to having the attempt to self-destruct be blocked by enemy boarders.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 04:23 pm: Edit

(D5.0) Self-Destruction

It is declared at the start of the turn. It takes place in the self-destruction Phase (#3) of the sequence of play, see (D7.7) for the possibility that enemy marines on board could prevent self-destruction.

(G15.11) Avoid capture, an Orion ship will never surrender (although it could be captured by boarding parties).

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 04:40 pm: Edit

Ok thought so but wanted to be sure.

Steve Cole. Can I also get a ruling on the Dragons Defensive Tail strike? It says will kill a seeker on 1-5 and miss on a six. But...since torps are seekers. Does that mean it kills torps? They are definitely seekers.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 09:31 pm: Edit

Charles Carroll:

Yes, it will kill a plasma torpedo, whether a lowly type-K, or a type-R.

To suggest that a plasma-R is somehow immune would require that the rule provided some existing distinction between the sizes of warheads at all.

There is no distinction, whether a lowly type-K or the mighty type-R, the tail kills it.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, November 19, 2018 - 02:04 pm: Edit

I was wondering more about the rule being wrong because only phaser fire can damage a Plasma normally. Which would make the tail unable to hurt it.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 19, 2018 - 05:12 pm: Edit

Dragon tails are not phasers. The rule is specific to dragon tails, i.e., the dragon tail destroys the target, it does not degrade it like a phaser would.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, November 19, 2018 - 05:15 pm: Edit

Thanks...Steve as always.

By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 11:54 pm: Edit

Question for you on the P-CC - Civilian Cargo Pod.

A campaign scenario has an unattached pod floating in space. I have a tug that can stop and attach it.

How about towing via tractor?
I believe it is treated as a "ship" for this purpose correct?
If so what is its movement cost for calculation of pseudo speed? I see it listed as 0.25 movement cost on Annex 7L. Do I assume that the 0.25 MC applies to calculating pseudo speed when tractored?

Also I understand that an unattached pod can be targeted by an ECM drone and be loaned ECM, is that correct?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, November 25, 2018 - 01:02 am: Edit

Jared Ikeda:

If a movement cost 1.00 unit tractors the pod the combination calculates its energy cost as 1.25 warp engine power points per hex moved.

Same as if the movement cost 1.00 ship tractored a movement cost 0.25 Snipe frigate.

By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Monday, November 26, 2018 - 12:26 am: Edit

Thanks Steve. Its also considered a
"ship" for EW purposes so can be targeted by ECM drone and loaned ECM by a scout?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 26, 2018 - 01:26 am: Edit

I will have to check to be certain when I get to the office later today, but provisionally, yes.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, November 26, 2018 - 05:47 am: Edit

Yes I am annoying lol. But I have a question yet again. Is there an Appendix or something that lists all of the Kzinti ships that have Double Drone control. Also does the 175 refit grant ships Double Drone control or just specific ones?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 26, 2018 - 07:13 am: Edit

Charles Carroll:

There is no annex listing seeking weapons control ratings.

The Y175 refit does not increase the control rating of any ship of any empire I can think of.

The Federation gains an increase in seeking weapon control with its "plus refit" because a lot of ships with no seeking weapons (except suicide shuttles) gain a drone rack.

But even though most Kzinti ships gain the ability to launch six drones a turn (two from the B racks and up to four from the C racks) and could in addition launch seeking shuttle(s) during that turn, they can still only control six seeking weapons at a time.

Basically you have to look at the given SSD, and if it says the ship (or other unit) can control seeking weapons equal to double its sensor rating it can. Otherwise, if it has seeking weapons it can control a number of seeking weapons equal to its sensor rating. And of course if it has no seeking weapons it can control a number of seeking weapons equal to half its sensor rating. And if it is a unit with no fire control it cannot control any seeking weapons at all.

Note that some pods add seeking weapon control rating to the tug to which they are attached.

Fighters are a whole different kettle of fish.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 26, 2018 - 12:59 pm: Edit

Jared Ikeda:

Nothing in (G14.0) or (FD9.0) or (G24.0) or (D6.3) prevents the lending of electronic warfare to a pod.

By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 02:05 am: Edit

Thank you Steven.
Another question please.
What is the drone fire rate per turn of Fraxian Demon III-C fighter?

I have an old rulebook and see something about 1 drone per turn + 1 ish drone (now type VI) drone per turn if they are fired same impulse at same target. Does that apply to the Demon IIIC?
Seems strange that the darn thing can't empty its racks for 4 turns.

Thank you. I apologize for the question. I bought module C4, but lost the rulebook portion and now sadly only have the SSD book.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 04:01 am: Edit

The Demon-3C is in the same class as the Kzinti TAAS and the Klingon Z-Y. (J4.24) drone firing rates, (J4.241) and (J4.242).

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation