By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 03:16 pm: Edit |
Yes, it does answer all my questions.
Thanks
Marcel
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 04:09 pm: Edit |
I have one more question regarding Deck crew.
In annex #6, it specifies that you can buy additonal 4 deck crews for carriers only.
Are all the Hydrans ships that have fighters can buy additional deck crews or is it limited to full fledge carriers (which needs escorts to be fielded)?
If not limited, does it means that WYN ships with some fighters, HDW's and escorts can buy additional deck crews?
(J4.816) says: Additional deck crews can be purchased under (S3.2) but only by true carriers. How do you diferenciate true carrier from other carriers.
While
(J4.623) says: Most Hydran ships carry at least some fighters; any Hydran ship carrying fighters is considered to be an “fully-capable” carrier unless specifically noted otherwise in its ship description. Carrier tugs and monitors equipped with fighter or SCS pallets are fully-capable carriers. There is some confusion between Star Fleet Battles and the companion strategic game Federation & Empire. F&E uses the term “true carrier” to refer to ships which carry full fighter squadrons, causing confusion because the term “true carrier” was sometimes used in SFB for what is now called a “fully capable” carrier.
How does that applies to buying additional deck crews?
Marcel
By A. David Merritt (Adm) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 04:29 pm: Edit |
Marcel
53 minutes. That did not take long.
Look in the MSC in the Annexes under notes. Fully capable carriers have a "V" disignator.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 04:32 pm: Edit |
Marcel,
I think for SFB in the master ship chart, if it has a "V" it is a true carrier, and can lend EW to it fighters.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 04:36 pm: Edit |
Yep, was writing at same time as A.David Merritt.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 04, 2019 - 06:35 pm: Edit |
The only restriction on "real carrier" for Hydran Hybrid ships is that they cannot operate "heavy fighters" and are not required to operate with escorts: See (R9.R4).
By Randy O. Green (Hollywood750) on Friday, March 08, 2019 - 08:43 pm: Edit |
Ugh, don't have my rules with me, writing Kzinti fiction. How many drone reloads do the ships carry? Specifically EY non-DB ships.
By A. David Merritt (Adm) on Friday, March 08, 2019 - 09:06 pm: Edit |
Single reloads.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Friday, March 08, 2019 - 09:06 pm: Edit |
Randy O Green - generally one, though some 'extra' may be bought with COI points …
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, March 09, 2019 - 02:12 am: Edit |
Randy O.Green:
Confirming, in the Alpha Octant drone racks come loaded and with a complete reload from the Early Years when they were invented until the Y175 refit. Unless you purchase extra reloads with Commander's Option Points, or a special scenario rule says otherwise, or the drone rack in question is a type-D or type-H rack. Prior to the invention of drone racks, this also applied to atomic missile racks in the sublight, and in some cases the early tactical warp period (see the Gorns).
By Randy O. Green (Hollywood750) on Saturday, March 09, 2019 - 06:37 am: Edit |
Thank you Adm, Stewart, SPP. The memory does funny things when you get older.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, March 09, 2019 - 05:45 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
I have a few questions regarding setup and WS. In the following example, defending ships is set within 3 hex of 1517 and the attacker in along the 42xx row
In which order does this happens?
Defender ship setup, attacker ship set up then WS roll, then imp 28 of turn 0 drones and/or fighters for all ships.
OR
WS roll, defender ships setup, defending ships imp 28 of turn 0 drones and/or fighters, attacking ships setup, attacking ships turn 0 imp 28 drones and/or fighters.
Another question, can one ship imp 28 of turn 0 drones launched can be targeted on another ship turn 0 imp 28 launched drones since lauch happens simultaneously?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, March 09, 2019 - 07:33 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan asked on Saturday, March 09, 2019:
I have a few questions regarding setup and Weapons Status. In the following example, defendind ship is set up within three hexes of hex 1517 and the attacker sets up along the 42xx hex column. In which order does this happens?
Defender ships setup, attacker ship setup, then Weapons Status roll, then Impulse #28 of Turn #0 drones and/or fighters for all ships.
OR
Weapons Status roll, defender ships setup, defending ships Impulse #28 of Turn #0 drones and/or fighters, attacking ships setup, attacking ships Turn #0 Impulse #28 drones and/or fighters.
ANSWER: If you are using (S4.13), you must first set up the ships, both attacker and defender. Neither will know what the weapon status is at that point, and you will have to both determine what your speeds on the previous turns were (unless you are playing a scenario where, while weapon status was not defined, initial speeds were). Nether can force the other to take a slow speed, so typically players will choose a Turn #0 speed of Speed 16 to allow maximum acceleration flexibility (or just say "Speed Max).
ANSWER CONTINUED: Once the ships are set up (the Defending player might feel aggressive an set up as close to the 42xx edge as allowed, or might decide to be as far from it as allowed, or choose some distance in between, as his turn mode is considered satisfied, it really does not matter where in the 42xx column the attacking ship is placed. Once both ships are placed, the two players each rolls his weapons status, and can decide what he wants to do with his weapon status (at WS-II have two fighters launched, or keep them on board his ship for example). If drones can be launched (WS-III), they can be placed on the map according to the rules.
ANOTHER QUESTION, can one ship on Impulse #28 of Turn #0 launched drones be targeted on another ship's Turn #0 Impulse #28 launched drones since lauch happens simultaneously?
ANSWER: Nope. Same reason you cannot launch a drone on Impulse #1 at a drone your opponent launched on that same impulse. The target may have appeared at the same time, but the fact is the target was not there at the time you launched, so you had no lock-on to it for your drone.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 08:07 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve
On August 19, 2018, you said:
Jarod Ikeda:
Hydran ships cover the full course.
Some Hydran ships are true carriers and can (among other things) operate heavy fighters and under (J4.816) are allowed to purchase extra deck crews. These ships are listed under (R9.R4). They are fully capable carriers and are also subject to the restrictions, i.e., they must have escorts, their fighters count against the total of three squadrons/PF flotillas a given battle force is allowed to have. Note that a newly added true carrier might not be listed in (R9.R4), but will say it is a true carrier in its ship description and be listed in an extract of (R9.R4) in the product where it is introduced. At the time of its release a complete listing of all extant Hydran true carriers was included under (R9.R4) in the Hydran Master Starship Book.
The Hydrans also have what can be considered "standard" warships, that is ships with no fighters at all, such as the Traveler light cruiser. They operate as any non-Hydran non-carrier ship except obviously with Hydran weapons.
Then we have a small number of "casual carriers," such as a Pegasus PF tender replacing one of its shuttles with a Stinger-F. While it has a fighter, and by rule some limited supplies to support it (reload chaff packs for example), it is not otherwise a carrier for any purpose. Except that its one fighter DOES count against the limit of 36 total fighters allowed in the battle force.
Lastly we have the hybrid ships. This is any Hydran ship that normally operates fighters, but is not designated a "true carrier" under (R9.R4). Whether the ship is a Paladin dreadnought (12 fighters) or a lowly Lancer destroyer (four fighters). These ships cannot operate heavy fighters or purchase deck crews, but they can lend their fighters electronic warfare as a squadron, and do have chaff packs and pods for their fighters. They have additional advantages in that they do not require escorts (caveat, dreadnoughts do require "consorts," they do not travel alone, but these can be any ship, not a specialized escort as required by a "true carrier"). Further, their fighters do not count against the limit of 36 fighters in a battle force.
And then, on March 4th, 2019, you said:
The only restriction on "real carrier" for Hydran Hybrid ships is that they cannot operate "heavy fighters" and are not required to operate with escorts: See (R9.R4).
Question, which one is right regarding purchasing additional deck crew with CO's
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 11, 2019 - 03:12 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trajan:
I do not know, at this time, where I came up with the "hybrid carriers cannot purchase deck crews" as I can find no rule prohibiting it at this time. My guess at this juncture is that, barring someone finding such a rule, Hydran hybrid carriers can purchase deck crews. It would seem odd to forbid them doing so since many of them carry as many fighters (or more) than your typical escort carrier.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, March 11, 2019 - 06:02 pm: Edit |
(J4.816) Additional deck crews can be purchased under (S3.2) but only by true carriers.
(carriers with escorts and that can operate heavy fighters)
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 11, 2019 - 07:19 pm: Edit |
Wayne Douglas Power:
Hydran Hybrid ships are "true carriers" except that they cannot operate heavy fighters and do not need escorts (R9.R4).
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, March 11, 2019 - 10:46 pm: Edit |
Steve Petrick:
So the "V" in the masters ship charts are fully capable carriers, can loan EW to fighters, have pods (if available) and fighter supplies (like most Hydran combat ships).
The Module C1 (R9.R4) still talks about a few Hydran ships being "true carriers" . (J4.816).
So are you saying the ""V" are fully capable carriers (including able to purchase additional deck crews, but the only distinction to true carriers is that they maynot operate heavy fighters).
(I bring up the question again with what Iam reading)
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 12:53 am: Edit |
Under (R9.R4) the only difference is may not operate heavy fighters AND do not require escorts.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 02:41 am: Edit |
Hi Steve
The rule regarding lowering the shield to a lower value then its maximum value to spread HB damage, is it part of the optional rules or it is part of the standard/advanced/commander level rules.
Is it only allowed under D17.0 or under raise/lower sheilds?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 01:15 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
Rule (D17.7) DECEPTION is marked as an "Optional Rule" and its introductory text specifically states that the sub rules should not be used unless you are using the Tactical Intelligence System. So you cannot use (D17.71) unless the rest of (D17.0) is in play.
By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 05:38 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
Just popped in to ask a question and saw your response to an older post of mine.
"Marcel Trajan:
I do not know, at this time, where I came up with the "hybrid carriers cannot purchase deck crews" as I can find no rule prohibiting it at this time. My guess at this juncture is that, barring someone finding such a rule, Hydran hybrid carriers can purchase deck crews. It would seem odd to forbid them doing so since many of them carry as many fighters (or more) than your typical escort carrier."
So can Hydran Hybrid ships purchase extra deck crews using CO's?
You said no before, now you are saying yes?
By Jarod Ikeda (Allanon) on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 05:49 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
Another question regarding disengagement.
Ship A tractors ship B and maintains tractor. Both ships are on the same side (friendly tractor beam)
If ship A meets requirements for disengaging by acceleration at end of turn and does so, what happens to ship B if ship A maintains tractor?
Is this even possible?
Disengagement by Evasion is not allowed if held in tractor.
It appears Disengagement by Separation is possible while held in friendly tractor beam.
The rules don't state anything about disengagement by acceleration, where ship tractors friendly ship and meets conditions?
Specifically, what happens to friendly ship being tractored?
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 06:38 pm: Edit |
Jarod:
(G7.28) When a ship disengages by acceleration, all tractor beams generated by it or attached to it are automatically broken.
(C7.1) Disengagement by acceleration,
(C7.12) Restrictions
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 07:18 pm: Edit |
Jarod:
Was reading this (J4.623)
? So if "fully capable" carrier means "true carrier", then they can purchase extra deck crews (J4.816).
In (R9.R4), My understanding was that the "V" meant "fully capable"" carrier, has supplies (EW pods, chaff packs), and can loan EW to fighters). That a "true carrier" was one that operated heavy fighters and has escorts and by (J4.816) these only could have extra deck crews.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |