By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 11:23 pm: Edit |
Gregory S Flusche:
I think you pick one to use (the cloak modification or the EW).
By Richard Wells (Rwwells) on Thursday, May 30, 2019 - 11:46 pm: Edit |
Gregory S Flusche
Check out rule (G34.315) which allows a ship without drones from a drone using fleet to have a drone drogue. The rule also applies to plasma-D drogues. It explains how to buy additional drones or plasma D/Ks. So Gorns, Romulans, and ISC could have a plasma drogue with any ship.
If a ship can have a drone or plasma drogue, it could have the heavy drone or plasma f drogue instead.
Orions seem to be the only ones that require a drone or plasma rack to install the matching drogue.
By A. David Merritt (Adm) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 12:34 am: Edit |
How about the WYN?
By Richard Wells (Rwwells) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 01:17 am: Edit |
(G34.31) certainly indicates that WYN ships with drone racks can use drogues. I don't know if WYN count as a drone using race to meet the (G34.315) requirements for a drone drogue on a ship without drones. The Orions are explicitly listed; the WYN only get mentioned as being excluded from having Hydran phaser drogues.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 05:15 am: Edit |
The use either or is when fading in and out of cloak. Not sure if it would apply in this case? As the ship is fully cloaked and not fading.
By Kenneth Humpherys (Pmthecat) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 12:25 pm: Edit |
Two notes about OEW on a cloaked ship:
Note 1: (G13.442) says no loaning of EW to cloaked ships.
Note 2: OEW against a cloaked ship is pointless because they can't fire weapons and are under passive fire control already.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 05:25 pm: Edit |
Gregory,
(G13.303) Damage Adjustment:
EW penalties for firing at a cloaked ship (D6.35) and (D 6.36) are ignored, the chart in (G13.37) effectively IS the EW shift.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 05:55 pm: Edit |
Kenneth Humpherys
not putting OEW on the cloaked ship. putting it on the ship that will be firing at the cloaked ship.
Wayne That is what i was thinking was G13.303
Was curious about the effect as i have not used OEW very much. Always must look for that edge
I do wonder what the big boss thinks.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 07:54 pm: Edit |
Gregory S. Flusche:
If I am grasping what you are asking correctly, see (G13.372) "This table is used in place of, NOT in addition to the effects of any ECM shift. Cloaking is a very gross effect which effectively destroys the basis on which the ECM shifts are calculated. The cloak is the maximum possible effect. ECM helps insure that the cloak will work (G13.331), but cannot increase the effect."
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, May 31, 2019 - 08:05 pm: Edit |
Ok Thank You SPP. All good was what i thought and confirmed.
By Kenneth Humpherys (Pmthecat) on Saturday, June 01, 2019 - 12:33 pm: Edit |
OK that use of OEW makes sense.
The effects of using OEW in this situation is so you can force a negative EW level shift for the purpose of causing a roll for the loss of lock-on or preventing a roll to regain lock-on. All other OEW effects towards the cloaked ship are ignored.
By Patrick H. Dillman (Patrick) on Tuesday, June 04, 2019 - 09:19 pm: Edit |
Re: (S2.23)
Just need some clarification, if the two shuttles mentioned in the example had not launched, No BPV would have been deducted from the ships BPV and the shuttles would not be counted on the separate shuttle chart even if the shuttle boxes are destroyed?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 05, 2019 - 01:58 pm: Edit |
Patrick H. Dillman:
Correct.
By Patrick H. Dillman (Patrick) on Wednesday, June 05, 2019 - 03:09 pm: Edit |
Thank You, SPP.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, June 07, 2019 - 12:54 am: Edit |
Question on R1.F7 electronic warfare fighters. Using the Tholian SP-I fighter.
As this fighter has no Type-I drones, plasma-Ds, or non-phaser weapons. This fighter would fall under the OTHER fighters category. Meaning no change to the weapons carried.
Is this correct?
The ALL section applies to all EW fighters, not just OTHER category fighters. Is that correct?
By Richard Wells (Rwwells) on Friday, June 07, 2019 - 01:28 am: Edit |
Note the Note at the end of (R1.F7) that Tholians only have the special S-E as an EWF for normal sized fighters. Also, see (R7.F1) which says there is no EWF S-I.
The ALL section applies to every EWF.
By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Friday, June 07, 2019 - 05:44 am: Edit |
Question re tractoring.
Imp 14, 2 friendly CAs are moving speed 30 and tractored to each other, pseudo speed is now 15, no imp is used.
Imp 15, CA 1 moves, CA 2 delays its movement until imp 16.
Imp 15, both CA have a speed change to 29, pseudo speeds are now 14 each.
Imp 16, CA 2 completes its delayed move from imp 15.
Since both CAs are speed 14 now, they each get a delayed move for imps 17 and imp 18 as their intent is to escape the menacing wad of QWTs on their tail, 2 impulses when speed 14 does not move.
Is this correct ?
If so, do these moves have to be declared for both imps or just the next imp?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, June 08, 2019 - 02:55 pm: Edit |
Francois Lemay:
The Example of Delayed Movement at the end of (G7.36) and just before (G7.37) says the gained hexes are moved in the subsequent impulses. I would say from reading the text that, yes the moves have to be declared at the time.
By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Saturday, June 08, 2019 - 03:48 pm: Edit |
Thanks SPP. Its the way we played it but want to confirm.
Cheers
Frank
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 01:40 am: Edit |
At Weapon Status I, are disruptors available/fireable on turn 2 ??
and do you have to go through the weapon statuses or is the WS merely a list of items available/not available??
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 02:14 am: Edit |
Bill Phillips:
Disruptor bolts (E3.0) are single turn arming, yes disruptors are available in WS I, and from turn one (in normal scenario set ups).
WS is in (S4.0) for WS 0 - WS III, I hope this helps.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 02:47 am: Edit |
Bill phillips:
Disruptors are available at any normal weapon status. They only require that power be provided.
Thus at weapon status III, two points of power is provided and a standard disruptor shot can be fired. If four points are provided, it can be an overloaded shot.
The same applies at weapon status II, I, or Zero.
If special scenario rules provide that the scenario is starting in mid-turn with no power previously allocated to any weapons, you can still fire at least some disruptors with available battery power.
This is but one of the reasons good Klingons love disruptors.
Note, fusion beams are similar, they can be immediately fired at almost any weapon status, including battery power in mid-turn.
By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 02:52 am: Edit |
Ok, just for clarity...Disruptors are the same as phasers in WS-0 (except no warm-up energy)...or are they treated as torpedos, either way they should be avaiable on turn 2, like phasers?
By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 03:19 am: Edit |
Bill,
Disruptors are available on Turn 1 at WS 0
So can fire on Turn 2 also at WS 0
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 08:05 am: Edit |
Bill Phillips:
Disruptors are available on Turn #1 at any normal weapon status.
Phasers are not available at weapon status Zero because you have to energize the capacitors.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |