By Bill Phillips (Praetor) on Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 10:02 am: Edit |
Thank you guys very much.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 17, 2019 - 03:40 pm: Edit |
I had a suspicion, been a long time since I played under the rule, but it was niggling at my brain which is why I kept referring to "normal weapon status." I have checked now, and can confirm that if a ship is "surprised," then under (D18.19) it cannot fire, or even arm, its disruptors until it is "activated." It is otherwise at Weapon Status Zero with some other additional restrictions. But, otherwise, as noted, a disruptor can be fired at any normal (not-surprised and inactive) weapon status.
See (D18.0) for surprise, and note that it represents a situation much worse than the normal Weapon Status Zero condition.
But again, normally at Weapon Status Zero you just arm and fire the disruptors normally.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Monday, June 17, 2019 - 05:32 pm: Edit |
yup one of the good things about Disrupters
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 17, 2019 - 05:57 pm: Edit |
Gregory S. Flusche:
I believe I specifically covered that in my original response doctor.
"This is but one of the reasons good Klingons love disruptors."
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, June 17, 2019 - 08:09 pm: Edit |
Advanced technology ships do expand this capability to other weapons, sometimes improving such ships a bit more than one might note at first.
***
I think Web Casters are usable at WS- I think this is also the case for light rail guns, but I don't remember the arming cycle of the heavier ones.
By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:08 am: Edit |
IIRC, at Pearl Harbor, U.S.S. Nevada was able to get underway, but was sent to the bottom (temporarily) before she could slip out.
If I remembered it correctly, would she be considered an example of the difference between WS-0 and (D18.0) surprise?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:14 am: Edit |
uSS Nevada was able to get underway because she had more of her boilers online. Technically she was otherwise as surprised as any other ship, but the fact that she had enough steam to get underway is an exception.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 09:25 am: Edit |
I would consider the USS Nevada being able to get underway as being released from Surprise under (SH2.46).
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 12:49 pm: Edit |
Thomas Mathews:
Not quite.
She was still undermanned, and her "Command" devolved down to a junior officer, Lt. Commander F. J. Thomas.
Hrm. A search says that Lt. Commander F. J. Thomas was senior officer aboard, but his duty station was damage control, and he remained there and passed command to a non-bridge qualified signals officer who actually conned the ship.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 03:22 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve
In a case of four ships from the same player in the same hex with the same facing (C8B, D6D, D5F) moving at speed 30 and a (BTK) moving at speed 29. All four ships moved foward from a previous hex. The D6D gets blownup and the explosion strength is 18. On which shields of the three remaining ships is the damage from the D6D applied?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 03:52 pm: Edit |
The following is an answer to a similar question asked about a flotilla of fast patrol ships all traveling together in the same hex:
ANSWER: This has been previously ruled to be an ambiguous situation, which would be resolved under (D3.43C-3) (player’s choice) unless the players have agreed to use another method. This means that the player owning the fast patrol ships can choose which shield on each fast patrol ship is hit by the explosion. It could be any shield, not just the #1 or #4, and could be different for each fast patrol ship.
Note that, at any point during the impulse, the other player could ask what are the relative facings of the fast patrol ships, and those facings would apply for the remainder of the impulse. He could then use that information to decide which fast patrol ship to fire at.
With the above noted, there is a difference here in that the D6D and D5F have the same turn mode (B) which is better than the C8's (D) which is better than the battle tug's (E). Under (C1.313) the ship with the better turn mode moves last. So the Battle Tug would move first (both because it is the slowest unit and because it has the worst turn mode) followed by the dreadnought (second worst turn mode) and then the D6D and D5F (both have the same best turn mode). The explosion of the D6D would hit the #4 shields of the Battle Tug and the Dreadnought, this is defined under (D3.42) because you can determine the order in which the ships entered the hex under (C1.313). The D5F would be resolved as in the response to the PF flotilla above (player's choice unless some other method had been ordained before hand).
Note that a player might establish the relative facings of the ships in the hex (announcing this) and that would remain (for the two with "B" turn modes) until they were no longer in the hex or he announced a change. Players seldom do this (there is no requirement to do so) as nearly the only time there is a benefit is when there is an explosion in the hex, which is a relatively rare event.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 07:39 am: Edit |
I have a question regarding special sensors. When you power a sensor during EA, do you have to announce that it is powered at the start of the turn or is it known to be powered the first time it is used?
I know that special sensors can only be powered during EA, it cannot be done with reserve power.
Marcel
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 11:29 am: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
(G24.36) Whenever a special sensor box performs a scout function, the owning player must identify which box on which unit is performing that function. This applies whether or not tactical intelligence (D17.0) is being used.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 12:03 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
There is no requirement to announce that a special sensor has been powered, any more than there is a requirement to announce that photon torpedoes have been armed, or energy applied to tractors, or etc.
Your opponent learns that a special sensor was powered when it does something, and it is possible that it will never do something and he will not know, during the game, that a given sensor was powered on a given turn. He should, however, check your Energy Allocation Form at the end of the game and verify that on Turn #$ when you used a special sensor to attract his ECM drone off of his ship that you did indeed have a point of power allocated to it.
By Michael Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 12:32 pm: Edit |
Tac Intel?
By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 01:19 pm: Edit |
Question re ECM drone movement.
T1.31, Kzinti CC tracs BC, pseudo speed is 10 each.
T1.32, CC moves forward, BC delays its move to T2.1
ECM drones move on 1.32.
On T2.1, BC conducts its move, do the ECM drones also follow or are they left behind ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Kenneth Humpherys (Pmthecat) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 06:29 pm: Edit |
If the speed of ECM Drones in question are Fast, then I would say they would move.
However, if they are only Medium, the drone(s) are moving under thier own power and are not eligible to move.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, June 24, 2019 - 06:31 pm: Edit |
Francois Lemay:
edit: unless the drone is speed 32
(I removed my earlier answer, as it was wrong)
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 04:50 pm: Edit |
i have aquestion regarding MRS ECM/ECCM lending to its home ship.
When do the decision on the two swing point is made when an MRS is launched?
Does it have to be set at the start of the turn even if not launched yet ,like all other EW lending?
Does it has to be set at the time of launch even if not active for 8 impulses?
or
Is it set as soon as when the MRS can lend?
Does the same rule applies for EW fighters lending as well?
By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 05:33 pm: Edit |
Good questions, Marcel.
Stuck my nose in the books and, while what I see might be a little off, it kind of looks like there's going to be an eight impulse delay, as per rule (J1.343).
As far as when you have to decide with the two swing points, it looks to me like the last segment of letter B in rule (D6.315) says that the assigment of the swing points can't be changed in turn.
With regards to EW fighters lending EW to a ship, I can't find any rules prohibiting it, but my gut tells me that it might be one of those things that MRS are able to do but fighters are not.
Again, though, while these are the decisions I'd make IF I were a judge at an event, they are nothing more than the opinions of one player, NOT the official word from ADB, Inc., and are most likely just more evidence as to WHY I'm not an authorized judge.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 11:02 am: Edit |
Hi Steve
I have a question regarding Klingon D7D and DDW.
are they considered drone variant or standard variants since it does not replace all heavy weapons as per S8.47.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Thursday, June 27, 2019 - 05:52 pm: Edit |
An MRS would announce its EW lending during launch as it might have a choice between its home ship [within 5 hexes (J8.41)] or its assigned squadron [within 3 hexes (J4.921)] though the actual EW must wait for the launch restrictions of (J1.343) …
An EWF can only lend to its squadron by (J4.93) …
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Monday, July 01, 2019 - 08:15 pm: Edit |
I am sure this has been covered before.
A ship with speed changes approaches a planet and goes to speed 1. On impulse 32 enters the planet hex. This would be step 2 of the landing procedure. Next turn it could then be descending and be landed on imp32.
Is this correct?
By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Tuesday, July 02, 2019 - 07:00 pm: Edit |
Covered before or not, if you're not sure, Vandor, it's a good question.
Rule (P2.4) covers the subject well, and I could be reading things VERY wrong (I usually do ), but it looks like, if you reach the hex next to a planet on Turn #N, Step #2 takes ALL of Turn #N+1, Step 3 takes all of turn #N+2, and you don't actually land until Impulse #32 of Turn #N+2.
By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Wednesday, July 03, 2019 - 06:09 am: Edit |
Jeff's interpretation is how I've always played it. Would be great to get an official answer, however.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |