Archive through October 28, 2019

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through October 28, 2019
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 11:56 am: Edit

Charles Carroll asked on October 15, 2019: One last thought on that....does the bonus to het for first het still apply? Just to be sure here lol. I assume it does.
ANSWER: Your assumption is correct, although it is not explicitly stated in the rules.

Francois Lemay asked on October 15, 2019: Couple of follow up questions re Marcel's questions.
Re the tractoring ship breaking down, it applies the break down penalties and then additional damage due to the tractor link and failed HET attempt.
Is this 2 volleys or one?
ANSWER: It is all a single volley, the damage from the failed tractor is simply "in addition" to the damage. From the Sequence of Play (Annex #2), (6A3) Damage During Movement Stage: "Resolve Breakdowns (C6.54), (C3.61), (G7.3222)."

Francois Lemay asked on October 15, 2019: Re DERFACS, do Frax ships get DERFACS in Y166?
ANSWER: The FRAX are a simulator empire and as such lack a formal history for when a lot of things can become available. You can assume, for example, that DERFACS was installed in Y164 when the Klingons were developing the program and running simulations to determine if it was worthwhile. Or you could set a simulation in Y177 to assume that a disruptor using foe had been encountered who did not have DERFACS. But as the FRAX are a simulation developed by the Klingons, it can generally be assumed that DERFACS is installed in Y166 across the FRAX fleet.
Do Frax disruptor ground bases [ or any non Klingon disruptor ground base] get DERFACS in Y166?
ANSWER: I fear this would simply be a repeat of the previous answer.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 12:55 pm: Edit

Thanks SPP !

Cheers
Frank

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 10:51 pm: Edit

Hi Steve, i have a question regarding self-destruction in a multi ships combat.

In a case of 2 ships (CC and CW) vs 3 enemy ships (CC, CL and DD). Both ships are crippled (CC has only 2 excess damage remaining and no other internals and DW has 2 warps, 2 Ph-3 and Excess Damage remaining but no control remaining). The enemy ships are damaged but none are crippled.

Can the 2 ships attemps self-destruct or are they bound by D5.5 especialy D5.1?

Marcel

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 11:45 pm: Edit

Hi Steve

Small question regarding the B10 SSD. It shows in the small boxes the B10 YIS at Y168, B10B at Y174, B10K at Y175 and B10A at Y195. But under the ships data table, it shows the B-Refit (B10B) in Y165.

Which is the correct YIS for the B10B, Y168(5) or Y174?

Marcel

By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 03:05 am: Edit

Marcel, I'm (DEFINITELY) not SPP and, as such, am NOT an expert on these things, but my copy of Module G3 lists the YIS for the basic B-10 as Y195 BUT with the following caveat; "See B10 rules section for data on the possibility that these units could have been in service two decades earlier than they were."

My 1991 Advanced Mission rules for the B10 Battleship (R3.17) opens with "In Y169 the Klingons began construction of the largest ship ever built. While it was originally estimated that it would take four to five years to complete, the Klingons had not finished it by the end of the General War in Y185."

Based on that, I think that Y174 is likely the earliest the B10 might be called on to crush the Alliance.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 05:02 pm: Edit

I know this has been asked and answered before. A ship drops cloak on imp1 it is fully uncloaked on imp 5 after the cloaking device stage or on imp 6 on the cloaking device step?

My feelings and i have always played it as imp 5 at the Cloaking device step.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 05:49 pm: Edit

G13.15 EXAMPLE: The ship dropped its cloak on Impulse #10; it could not fire/launch weapons until Impulse #15.

So therefore...drop on 1....up on 6 assuming you brought up FC.

By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Friday, October 18, 2019 - 12:03 am: Edit

Was thinking about something today; a situation for a D5.

The set-up has a D5 in hex 2115, heading in direction A. It's fighting a Kzinti CM, on that impulse, it's in hex 2315, heading F. The ships exchange simultaneous fire with full heavy weapons; the D5 fires all four disruptors at the CM, the CM fires all three disruptors at the D5.

As I read rule (D3.41), if the D5 is scheduled to move before the CM, she should be taking the hit in her #3 shield, BUT if the D5 is taking the damage on that shield, then shouldn't the relative location of the CM be far enough back that disruptors A and B would have their fire blocked by the starboard engine structure?

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Monday, October 21, 2019 - 07:29 pm: Edit

I am sure this has been asked before but would appreciate some clarification. A Lyran ship has an ESG completely up and running set to radius 0. The Lyran ship is going speed 9. That Lyran ship then launches a speed 6 shuttle. Both the ship and the shuttle move next impulse and they both move into the same hex. Does the shuttle take damage from the ESG when they move? Thanks

By John Stiff (Tarkin22180) on Monday, October 21, 2019 - 10:28 pm: Edit

No. In my opinion the shuttle maintained its position inside the range 0 ESG.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 09:19 pm: Edit

Good day SPP

I posted that question earlier and i am reposting it in case you missed it.

Question is regarding D5.0 Self-Destruction.

In a single ship battle, you can always self-destruct you ship since there is no prior limitation but in a multi-ship scenario, rule D5.51, there is restriction reagrding self-destruction.

The current situation is as follow: A Frax CC and a Frax DW where battling a Kzinti CC, CL and DD.

At the end of the turn, the Frax CC has no internals left and only 2 Excess Damage boxes remaining and the DW has 2 warps, 2 Ph-3 and all its excess damage remaining but no other internals. The Frax DW is being held in tractor by the Kzinti DD.
On the Kzinti side, the CC is crippled, the CL has internals and the DD is intact. No enemy BP are inside the Frax ships.

In a single ship battle, any ship could self-destruct a any time but in a multi ship battle, rule D5.51 specifies that as long as there is another ship, the CC or DW cannot SD even if both ships will be captured.

Can the CC and DW Self-destruct or they are not allowed even if the situation is hopeless for both ships?

If not, why can a single ship could do it in the same situation.

It seems that this rule was written to prevent a player of using a ship as a mobile nsm in a fleet battle but does not handle a hopeless situation.

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, October 25, 2019 - 04:50 pm: Edit

Guys:

I promise this will be my #1 priority on the morrow, but I am trying to get through another project just now that keeps producing "surprises" that have to be dealt with. So much so that I think the people I am supposed to be working with are reaching terminal frustration.

But I will do this topic as the first thing tomorrow, barring SVC needing something from me.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, October 25, 2019 - 10:24 pm: Edit

(D5.0) Self Destruction (Advanced)

In dire circumstances, the captains of star ships may deem it necessary to destroy their own ships to prevent their capture. Players should take special care in using this procedure to avoid abuse. Self-destruction is a desperate move designed to avoid capture, not a tactic to be used in attacking an enemy fleet.

(D5.51) Crew Units: In multi-ship scenarios, a ship may not self-destruct unless all but two (or fewer) of its crew units have been killed or evacuated, including (D21.21). This restriction is ignored if there are more enemy than friendly boarding parties (including militia) on board or if there are no other friendly ships remaining in play. This restriction cannot be violated simply for the purpose of destroying nearby enemy units in the resulting explosion or for any other purpose.

Marcel,
Depending on the scenario/campaign. Their is also (D21.0) Catastrophic Damage (Commanders Level- Optional), (D21.2) when CD can be declared.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 03:37 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on 16 October 19: Hi Steve, i have a question regarding self-destruction in a multi ships combat.
In a case of two ships (command cruiser and war destroyer) versus three enemy ships (command cruiser, light cruiser and destroyer). Both ships are crippled (command cruiser has only two excess damage remaining and no other internals and war destroyer has two warp, two phaser-3s and Excess Damage remaining but no control remaining). The enemy ships are damaged but none are crippled.
Can the two ships attempt self-destruct or are they bound by (D5.5) especially (D5.1)?
ANSWER: Under the rule, no, you cannot self-destruct. You are ship commanders, not PF commanders. You are supposed to try to save your crews, or at least make the enemy do the killing. Basically, at this juncture, if either or both of your ships have any continuous damage repair remaining, get to work repairing an impulse engine. You are not separated booms or saucers which have prescribed limits on what must remain, so fix an impulse box, blow the warp engines, and attempt to disengage by sublight. If either ship succeeds, then, yes, the one that did not succeed would be eligible to self-destruct. Beyond that, if you are boarded, and meet its criteria, you can attempt self-destruct then. If your ships were PFs, you could self-destruct under "(K1.312) The crew must evacuate before it can self-destruct the ship. This supersedes (D5.51). If no other friendly ships remain in play (all others have disengaged, been destroyed, or are also incapable of escaping) the crew can self-destruct the ship and attempt to escape in the PF’s survival pod (K1.9)."


Marcel Trahan asked on 16 October 19: Hi Steve
Small question regarding the B10 SSD. It shows in the small boxes the B10 year in service at Y168, B10B at Y174, B10K at Y175 and B10A at Y195. But under the ship’s data table, it shows the B-Refit (B10B) in Y165.
Which is the correct year in service for the B10B, Y168(5) or Y174?
ANSWER: The B-10s have a long history with four being under construction and only two completed, neither in time to serve in the General War (although Insatiable might have been if the Klingons had not decided to again tear out a lot of completed work to turn the B10V into a B10S). There is thus when the refits were installed as part of construction, and when they might have been installed had the B10s been finished when planned. Historically, the B10 Invulnerable might have incorporated the B refit in Y165, but did not formally include it until Y174, but was still something of a "hangar queen" as she did not enter service until after Y185.

Gregory S. Flusche asked on 17 October 19: I know this has been asked and answered before. A ship drops cloak on Impulse #1 it is fully uncloaked on Impulse #5 after the cloaking device stage or on Impulse #6 on the cloaking device step?
My feelings and i have always played it as Impulse #5 at the Cloaking device step.
ANSWER: This was correctly answered by Charles Carroll: (G13.15) EXAMPLE: The ship dropped its cloak on Impulse #10; it could not fire/launch weapons until Impulse #15.
So therefore...drop on Impulse #1 ... up on Impulse #6 assuming you brought up FC.

Jeffrey George Anderson asked on 18 October 19: Was thinking about something today; a situation for a D5.
The set-up has a D5 in hex 2115, heading in direction A. Its fighting a Kzinti CM, on that impulse, it is in hex 2315, heading F. The ships exchange simultaneous fire with full heavy weapons; the D5 fires all four disruptors at the CM, the CM fires all three disruptors at the D5.
As I read rule (D3.41), if the D5 is scheduled to move before the CM, she should be taking the hit in her #3 shield, BUT if the D5 is taking the damage on that shield, then should not the relative location of the CM be far enough back that disruptors A and B would have their fire blocked by the starboard engine structure?
ANSWER: All I can say is that you have to remember that the game is reflecting continuous movement in start and stop fits as counters are moved. There was a brief moment as the two ships moved when the disruptors bore, and were fired.

Jack Taylor asked on 21 October 19: I am sure this has been asked before but would appreciate some clarification. A Lyran ship has an ESG completely up and running set to radius 0. The Lyran ship is going Speed 9. That Lyran ship then launches a Speed 6 shuttle. Both the ship and the shuttle move next impulse and they both move into the same hex. Does the shuttle take damage from the ESG when they move? Thanks
ANSWER: John Stiff is correct. As long as the shuttle moves on the same impulse as the ship, it remains inside the ESG bubble. As the shuttle is slower, it will eventually be caught by the bubble and destroyed (if the bubble is not dropped beforehand).

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 01:49 am: Edit

Ok new question for Steve lol.

You have two deathbolts launched at a ship at range 0 on IMP 31. Then the ship targeted launches 2 SS 1 each at a deathbolt.

Now is where it gets a little questionable? The DBs were coming in from Dir C because of their ship entering the hex last. The SSs were launched in Direction F since that is where the launching ship is.

Next imp...32 everything should move. The ship that the DBs are targeted on will move in direction e or d because it would go straight to E or Sideslip to D.

So the ships move....

Now the DBs having just launched are going Direction C and so will have to turn later to follow the ship they are targeted on. Or....since the DBs are passing the SSs as the SSs are targeted on them do they intersect in the hex.

On a side note lol...the ship that launched the DBs tried to hit with a Heel nipper and missed. Which would have allowed the DBs to hit the ship. Other than the SSs killing the DBs.

So...the question is...since the DBs were going straight...and the SSs are going straight...do they actually pass in the night or does being targeted on the DBs make them hit as they pass?

It appears they pass each other?

Also assuming the HN had hit...and the ship was stopped. The SSs would have killed the DBs or should have?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 03:49 am: Edit

Charles Carroll:

You cannot launch a seeking weapon at a seeking weapon, not even a suicide shuttle, at another seeking weapon on the same impulse the targeted seeking weapon was launched. This is off the top of my head and I will check on Monday to be certain.

By Francois Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 11:37 am: Edit

SPP,
To further clarify Chuck's question.
2 Death Bolts were launched on 2.31, target Paravian ship.
The Paravians then launched 2 SS targeted on the death bolts, 1 per DB.
All in same hex, the DBs, SS shuttles and 4 ships.

I fired a Heel Nipper at one of the Paravians ships and missed.
If I had hit, the ship would have lost its next scheduled move so stays in same hex after dealing with making it turn.

Question now I have is what happens to the 2 SS shuttles targeted on the Death Bolts ?
The Death Bolts will now hit the motionless ship or do they ?

Does the speed 6 Suicide Shuttles hit their speed 12 Death Bolts before the DB impact the ship ?

Do all [ 2 DBs and 2 SS ] now hit the ship as per mutual impact ?

Thanks
Cheers
Frank

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 12:54 pm: Edit

Frank seems the SS could not be launched at the DBs at all. According to Steve's point above yours.

So not sure where that is mentioned in the rules. But I suppose it is somewhere.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 06:57 pm: Edit

Lunch Sequence

Standard game:
(F1.221)
In a given impulse, all seeking weapons of a given type are launched simultaneously. See segment 6B6 for the order in which different types are launched. This may require written orders (B2.4) in complex situations.

(F1.222) Shuttles used as seeking weapons are launched when other shuttles are launched, not when seeking weapons are launched, as otherwise this would give away their identity.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 08:04 pm: Edit

(F2.3) Seeking Weapon Impact, (F2.32) Same Hex Launch.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 08:31 pm: Edit

Assuming Steve is right...off the top of his head lol. The way the description is written leaves a lot to be desired. All seeking weapons..."Of a given type" are launched simo. Which implies that other seeking weapons like shuttles which have later launch times, could target the launched seeking weapons that came before.

F1.222 almost clears this up by implying that maybe shuttles were assigned targets at the seeking weapon sort of phase that is scattered about because of different units involved. But does not actually state that they had to lock on to the target when all other seekers are launched.

I was always under the impression that drones all launched together as a "type" then at a later time shuttles all launched together as a type. SS and Scatterpacks. So that the later launched units could target earlier launched units. Just as a direct fire weapon can fire on a just launched seeker.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 09:14 pm: Edit

SOP (sequence of play), yes.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 11:11 pm: Edit

SOP - 6B6 (seeking weapons), 6B8 (shuttles)

So a seeking shuttle can be launched at seeking weapons on the same impulse.

On Imp#32, the ships would move first, then the DBs, then the SS.

But for a same hex launching and the SSs will be between the DBs and the ship so the SSs should hit the DBs (F2.53)!

By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Monday, October 28, 2019 - 12:29 am: Edit

I think you will need to specify relative facings and direction of launch before this can be resolved. This is complicated. See the discussion in (F2.32). Also see the rule on mutual impact (F2.5).

P.S. Also see the rules on order of precedence (C1.313). In general, ships move first, then shuttles, then seeking weapons. But there is a specific exception for a shuttle targeted on a seeking weapon, which permits (but does not require!) the shuttle to move AFTER its target.

By Charles Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, October 28, 2019 - 03:07 pm: Edit

Ok facings are easy....Paravian ship enters hex facing D.

Carnivon ship enters facing C.

Carnivon launches DBs at Paravian....so toward Paravian's #3 shield.

So shuttles launch toward Carnivon and his DBs which is direction F. And the DBs were launched toward Paravian's shield #3 in direction C.

So all parties and Seekers are at range 0.

All of Carnivon's stuff is sitting coming in from Direction F to the Paravian.

All seekers from Carnivon are facing C but sitting close to the F side of the hex.

All seekers targeting the seekers from Carnivon are facing F but sitting more middle of the hex.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation