By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 08:44 pm: Edit |
Do PFs pay 1bpv per F torp for plasma Sabot or 1 per rack? As in 1 bpv per PF?
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, October 31, 2019 - 11:17 pm: Edit |
Gregory,
(FP11.11) Refit:
Plasma-K or D or F or G 1 point per rack (are plasma F on PFs racks?)
(FP11.12) Installation: The Plasma Sabot refit can be installed on any plasma-armed ship. All plasma tubes and racks (including fighter ready racks) on a given ship must be refitted at the same time.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, November 01, 2019 - 11:41 am: Edit |
Another applicable rule for the suicide shuttle discussion, (F1.1) "Suicide shuttles and scatterpacks, except where noted, use the “drone” rules."
(FD1.8) They are treated as drones with the following exceptions: Seeking shuttles are launched during the Shuttle Launch Step. - Reading those together you could make the point that the targeting would happen at the same time as a drone, but the exception is they are launched in the Shuttle Launch Step, making it a delay in launch but whereas the launch should have happened during the drone launch (and targeting) step.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, November 01, 2019 - 06:18 pm: Edit |
I can agree with Ken Kazinski about the suicide shuttle treated as drones (FD1.8) and targeted during (6B6) , with the exception it is launched in the shuttle step (6B8).
I can also see the ruling being understood that the shuttle is targeted and launched in the shuttle step (6B8).
By Mike Dowd (Mike_Dowd) on Saturday, November 02, 2019 - 12:18 pm: Edit |
However Ken, (F1.222) does state "Shuttles used as seeking weapons are launched when other shuttles are launched...", (F2.233) states that "Each seeking weapon has one target, which is assigned at launch."
(F1.24) also states "The target of a seeking weapon must be in that seeking weapon's FA arc when the weapon is placed on the board." The other rules references listed after do not impact this argument.
To me, this indicates that targeting of a suicide shuttle can be on drones or deathbolts launched on the same impulse, as it is done later in the sequence of play, but not on another shuttle, wild weasel, scatterpack or suicide shuttle launched on the same impulse, as those are launched at the same point (6B8) simultaneously.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Saturday, November 02, 2019 - 04:40 pm: Edit |
Ok remember ensign Rolph. If the other ship launches drones be prepared to launch the SS at the drones. You will only have a split second to do the targeting.
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, November 05, 2019 - 04:41 pm: Edit |
Can Orion option mount costs come from Commander's Options or only base combat BPV?
By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Tuesday, November 05, 2019 - 06:01 pm: Edit |
I'm not sure I understand your question, Ginger, but I'll take a guess with what you're trying to ask.
The BPV for Commander's Options is (mostly?) separate from the BPV cost for an Orion Option Mount Cost.
Perhaps an explaination?
Let's take a look at a Plasma armed Orion CA. The base hull as a BPV of 127 points. Let's assume it has all the bells and whistles on the list. That adds...
+ 25 BPV for the Cloak
+ 8 for the additional shield boxes (the "Plus Refit"
+15 for OAKDISC (so you can fire more than three drones/plasma.
Your ship now is valued at 179 BPV.
Now, let's add the cost for the option mounts according to chart/Annex #8B...
Nose mounts: Plasma-S Torpedo on FP Swivel: +7
Wing mounts: Plasma-F torpedoes on Swivels: +1 each for a +2 cost
Your ship now has a BPV of 188. For this ship, outfitted the way she is, you have 20% of 188 BPV, or 37.6 (round up to 38) points available for Commander's Options for things like T-bombs, casual fighters, extra Boarding Parties (including Commandoes and/or a "Crime Team" for hit-and-run raids).
You need not use all those points; in fact, you need not use ANY of them. The only limits are what the mutual BPV limit for the scenario you and your opponent have agreed to, and however many you use, they'll go to determine your point value for victory conditions.
(And on another note, this is just how I think it is, and if I'm wrong, as I freqently am, I'm sure SPP will be MORE than happy to ream me a new one on the subject... )
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, November 05, 2019 - 07:03 pm: Edit |
That's what I figured, but a girl can dream. Right? ;-)
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Thursday, November 07, 2019 - 06:15 pm: Edit |
Mike Dowd- Hope you win the good fight!
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Saturday, November 09, 2019 - 11:49 pm: Edit |
Imp12 Andromadian announces displacement and displaces.
4 impulses latter Fire control is up. Would it be 16 are 17?
As Displacement happens after fire. would it not be up until after fire on imp16?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, November 10, 2019 - 11:36 pm: Edit |
Disrupted Fire Control covers from Imp #12-Imp #16 - 6D5
Fire Control is up on Imp#17 - 6B1
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Monday, November 11, 2019 - 04:55 pm: Edit |
cool thank you
By Jayme Webster (Wildstarsreach) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 01:07 am: Edit |
We had a game this past Saturday. It came up that a player wanted to tractor an asteroid to bring his speed to 0 so he wouldn't have to have to enter the asteroid field at a speed of 19. It says you can't tractor a Base or a planet except in the case of a gravity landing system. Or SH3, which an asteroid can be moved one hex if the ship spends 16 impulses next to tractoring right or left. I said no, Opinions?
By A. David Merritt (Adm) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 06:51 am: Edit |
Creative, unofficial answer, I would likely allow it, with a Break Down roll for the sudden "stop", using the rules for break downs on speed loss from hitting Web.
By Jeffrey George Anderson (Jeff) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 11:29 am: Edit |
VERY clever, IMO, but I'm afraid I'd have to disallow it.
Even with the presence of the asteroids, it looks to me to be a "New and Improved" Emergency Deceleration; it appears that the ship conducting the maneuver is trying to do the classic maneuver but in a way that eliminates the penalties.
Besides, there are already other options within the game rules for people in that situation.
By Jon Murdock (Xenocide) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 11:46 am: Edit |
Unless there is a "large asteroid" with special rules like SH3 I would not allow. If allowed it gives every ship in an asteroid field fight a pseudo-positron flywheel that lets them stop indefinitely on any impulse for one point of power. I have used this with bases with stabilizers to give ships the ability to accelerate when I am ready while not moving but that works in the rules.
You would also invent other possible uses. Can I grab a smaller asteroid that has a specific movement cost to slow myself by a set amount so I enter the next hex slower but can release it afterwards into a clear hex?
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandor) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 05:44 pm: Edit |
WOW a big can of worms.. some were there must be a rule..
By Michael Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 05:59 pm: Edit |
I would allow it. BUT, you have all the penalties that an emergency acceleration includes, PLUS roll for breakdown...
This definitely needs a SPP/ SVC level ruling...
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 15, 2019 - 06:13 pm: Edit |
Jayme Webster:
Asteroid hexes are generally not full of the large asteroids that would be difficult to move:
(P3.4): Most asteroid hexes are filled with dust, small pebbles, a few large rocks, and the occasional boulder. A relatively few "large asteroids" (up to a mile in diameter) exist. Only one small or medium ground base can be placed on any given large asteroid, no bases may be placed on small asteroids. Special scenario rules might define an exception for a really large asteroid.
Large asteroids of the type you would need to try to tractor are generally found near the middle of the asteroid cluster, i.e., where the asteroid counter actually is.
(P3.41) LOCATION: Generally, one such large asteroid will be in the same hex as the asteroid counter (P3.1) or in the center hex of each cluster on the Asteroid Field map in Module B (for example in hexes 3304, 3207, 3311, 3905, 3908, 3607, and 3714 on Panel C) if you have that out of print module available. Alternatively, these may be specified by the scenario rules.
If you did not agree in advance that there were such large asteroids, and their location, you are basically grabbing one of the smaller rocks that will have no effect on your movement:
(G7.242) Asteroid counters cannot be towed by tractor beam (they represent fields of hundreds of asteroids; you could not, within the time of a scenario, move enough of them to create a new asteroid hex or clear out an existing one).
By Jayme Webster (Wildstarsreach) on Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 12:56 am: Edit |
So The answer was correct at no. Thx SPP
By Majead Farsi (Devil) on Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 10:46 pm: Edit |
FP13.5 with regards to Plasma K's clearly states that they can not be distracted by WW. But I've been told that no they can be? on the impulse of Launch if the target launches a WW, it can distract the Warp seeker.
If this is correct then the wording in FP13.5 for Plk's is not clear enough and needs to be corrected.
By Majead Farsi (Devil) on Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 10:57 pm: Edit |
The range of the Pl k's from target on impulse of launch was 6 hexes. in case some one asked
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 11:29 pm: Edit |
I suspect that if the wild weasel is active before the PL-K is launched, the PL-K acquires the wild weasel, similarly to a dogfight drone.
Could be wrong.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Sunday, November 17, 2019 - 08:00 am: Edit |
To complete Majead question,
Pl-K were launched in impulse 8, during the launch plasma torpedoes. At the time of launch, the torpedoes are under the control of the launching units (fighters). In the following segment of the same impulse (imp 8), during the shutlle step, ships that were the target of those Pl-K launched WW's. Since the Pl-K were still being controlled by the launching unit, they had to accept the WW since they have not been release to thier own control.
Volontary transfer or release of seeking weapons happens before launch in the order of precedence, thus, on the impulse of launch, Pl-K are controlled by the launching unit. Involontary release can happen at multiple time. On the follwing impulse, the launching units were destroyed during movement by a TB, thus, involontary transfer or release of weapons happened, but too late, since they already have aquired the WW as a target.
Both WW's were destroyed in the following impulses, imp 9 and 10, but the ships did not start raising their FC until after the Pl-K hit the destroyed WW's so that they would not revert to their intital targets. Pl-k's hit the residual gaz bubble of the WW on imp 15 and then, after that, ships started raising their FC.
Marcel
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |