Archive through March 05, 2020

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through March 05, 2020
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Friday, February 14, 2020 - 10:04 pm: Edit

Think about a Lyran with ESGs coming at You and turning it away,,, :)

By Majead Farsi (Devil) on Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 06:10 am: Edit

Thank you all but also wanted to know if the ship that had been hit by the Heel Nipper on the following impulse if he wanted to HET would have to do that before the Heel Nipper forced turn?

PS knowing which Warp engine was hit will give you the knowledge which direction you are turning into and the use of the HET correctly will counteract the Heel Nipper's effect so that you end up facing the same way as you were before if the answer to the question above is YES! :)

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 12:32 pm: Edit

Majead Farsi:

(YE24.315) As heel nippers do not block High Energy Turns, a unit struck by a heel nipper being forced to turn or not turn normally can use an allocated or reserve High Energy Turn to overcome this on the subsequent impulse.

The above rule seems pretty clear to me that the Heel Nipper player says you must turn, or move straight, and you can then say (before actually moving) "no" and employ your high energy turn. You cannot use your HET to counter it if you do not know what you need to counter, which makes "overcome" the key word.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 06:17 pm: Edit

This makes paired heel nippers more scary too...

By Majead Farsi (Devil) on Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 05:05 am: Edit

Thank you all!

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 08:36 am: Edit

Hi Steve,

I have a question regarding fighters ready rack and megafighters.

If an Hydran St-2 is improved to a megafighter St-2M, does the fusion ready rack is increase to 12 fusion charges or remain at 8 fusion charges? In the same line, for a St-HM, does the ready rack can hold 2 HB charges or only 1?

For drone using megafighters, are the ready racks increased by the amount of the additional drones the fighter carries?

Marcel

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 11:19 am: Edit

Excellent question, Marcel. I read somewhere that megafighters have their own ready racks, but I can't remember exactly where. :(

The general gist of what I remember is that the ready racks for a given type of megafighter, let's use the example of a F-18CM, can service the base fighter (in this case, a standard F-18C) perfectly well. Also, ready racks set up for the base fighter (standard F-18C) can be used for loading the megafighter, with the exception of the additional weapons (i.e.: in this case it can't be used to load up the final two Type-I drones on the F-18CM).

With regards to what ships have the ready racks, it seems a no-brainer (to me) that the REMF would have the appropriate ready racks on a carrier that operates megafighters. It also seems sensible for the escorts for that carrier to have the appropriate ready racks as well.

(On the other hand, a hastily assigned escort MIGHT not, but I suspect that'd be something in a historical scenario [?])

In either case, the extra drones would still be loadable using the Kzinti Weightlifting Team rule.

As far as the Hydrans go, it also makes sense (to me) for their ready racks to have the additional charges, but I vaguely recall reading that, while the Hellbore armed megafighter ready racks have the second charge, the ones for fusion armed fighters do not. As I remember (probably incorrectly), the fact that because there are enough charge spaces available to fully recharge even a megafighter (six charges of eight on the rack), there weren't any added for the megafighter ready rack.

HOWEVER, my memory is often faulty, so PLEASEPLEASEPLEASE don't take this as a ruling!! (Besides, I'm not authorized to make them? :))

By Eddie E Crutchfield (Librarian101) on Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 01:39 pm: Edit

See J16.111

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 08:43 pm: Edit

What J16.111 suggests works well for the ready racks for drone armed fighters, Eddie, but I think Marcel was wondering more about the Hydran fighters.

Still, it IS a good place to start.

From it, I find it reasonable to assume that the ready racks for fighters armed with Plasma-F torpedoes (such as the Gorn G-10) would, if set up as ready racks for the megafighter version, also be set up to load (and charge) the Plasma-Ds that the G-10M (in this case) would have.

However, that still doesn't answer the question about the total number of charges for fusion beams. As I posted earlier, I (vaguely) recall reading that the ready racks for fusion armed megaStingers don't hold any additional charges BECAUSE it can already hold enough charges to fully rearm a Stinger-2M.

It's what I recall, but I admit the recollection is vague, so it may* not be accurate.

(* Not may. Probably. -The peanut gallery...)

By Eddie E Crutchfield (Librarian101) on Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 09:38 pm: Edit

Note the last line of the rule the ready rack is also upgraded in the cost. Check J.4.89 Ready Racks.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 09:15 pm: Edit

I have a question regarding Cloak and tractors.

A friendly ship is tractoring a second ship. The second ships cloak, after the full fade in is done, rule G13.433 specifies the following: A cloaked ship held in a tractor by a friendly unit has its cloak voided and can be locked onto. If the tractoring ship drops it tractor after the fade period is done, does the claok ship becomes instantenouly cloaked?

Marcel

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 06:58 am: Edit

When a scout is using one of its special sensor to detect mines (G24.26), can it detect TB's dropped by the shuttle bay that are set as hidden?

If yes, what are the requirement that the scout must be fullfilling to do so?

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 01:56 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on Tuesday, 25 Feb 20: A friendly ship is tractoring a second ship. The second ship cloaks, after the full fade in is done, rule (G13.433) specifies the following: A cloaked ship held in a tractor by a friendly unit has its cloak voided and can be locked onto. If the tractoring ship drops it tractor after the fade period is done, does the cloaked ship become instantenouly cloaked?

ANSWER: The cloak is no longer voided when the tractor is released, just as the cloak is no longer voided from the flash cube effect of an explosion on the subsequent impulse. If fade out was completed, the cloak is fully in effect, and enemy ships can roll to retain lock-on to the cloaked ship.

Marcel Trahan asked on Wednesday, 26 Feb 20: When a scout is using one of its special sensors to detect mines (G24.26), can it detect T-bombs dropped out of the shuttle bay that are using hidden placement (M2.61)?

ANSWER: Rule (M7.0) is about detecting the individual mines of a minefield (M6.1). Mines laid during a scenario (M2.0) are not assigned "detection numbers" even when using hidden placement (M2.61), mines in minefields laid before a scenario are assigned detection numbers (M6.1). To clarify, rule (G24.26) simply allows a scout to use a special sensor to scan a minefield from further away to locate the individual mines of that minefield for purposes of finding a path (or planning to sweep a path to breach it). It does not allow a scout to use a scout sensor to detect a mine laid by hidden placement (M2.61) during a scenario.

By Joe Carlson (Jrc) on Friday, February 28, 2020 - 10:55 pm: Edit

The product description for the Shapeways Federation CVA states "The Federation, seeking ways to improve fighter deployment, built several of these heavy carriers on dreadnought hulls. Each carried 12 F-14 superiority fighters (later replaced by six F-101C heavy fighters) and 12 A-10 assault fighters (later replaced by six A-20 heavy assault fighters)...".

Is the federation CVA allowed to carry two squadrons of heavy fighter?

The product description for the Klingon C8VK has a similar statement on fighters "...while gaining 12 Z-Y Superiority Fighters and 12 Z-D (originally Z-1) Assault Fighters; this was later changed to 18 Z-Ys and only six Z-Ds, or 24 Z-Ys. At the end of the General War these ships carried 12 Z-H or Z-K Heavy Fighters instead of the 24 single-space fighters originally embarked. " Same question, is the Klingon C8VK allowed to carry two squadrons of heavy fighters.

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 02:07 am: Edit

While I can't speak for shapeways, Joe, nor may I speak for ADB, Inc., I am fairly certain of this. Shapeways is a great company for printing products for fans, but I don't think they're quite as knowledgeable about certain aspects outside of what they're contracted to do (namely print the 3-D models).

To the best of my knowledge (and if I'm wrong, someone PLEASE correct me), no carrier may carry two squadrons of heavy fighters. Likewise, to the best of my knowledge, the C-8V carried, at MOST, a half squadron of Z-D assault fighters.

Again, I can NOT speak for either ADB, Inc. nor Shapeways, but I'm reasonably certain that, in this circumstance, the product description is in error.

By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 09:16 am: Edit

Descriptions on Shapeways do not override SFB or any other SFU rules.

By Joe Carlson (Jrc) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 10:57 am: Edit

Thank you Jean and Jeff.

By Will McCammon (Djdood) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 04:34 pm: Edit

To clarify something, the descriptions on Shapeways are written by ADB, but they are not "rules" and the intent is description and marketing.

Shapeways provides the storefront infrastructure and the printing fulfillment, but ADB decides what goes on the store and how it is written up.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 08:21 pm: Edit

WHY would anyone trade 12 F14 for 6 F101?

Don't see it as a plus. Except maybe availability

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 11:16 pm: Edit

Given the choice, Mike, I sure wouldn't want to either.

HOWEVER, there's an old saying, "You don't go to war with the military you want, you go to war with the military you have."

If you ain't got F-14s, but you DO have F-101s, you use F-101s...

(... As I've had my ears pinned back for on many an occasion... :))

By Garth L. Getgen (Sgt_G) on Sunday, March 01, 2020 - 04:17 pm: Edit

The game only has to give players choices. It doesn't have to make all the choices good.


Garth L. Getgen

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Sunday, March 01, 2020 - 06:16 pm: Edit

I know. But I would ASSUME that the CVAs were absolutely first in line for F14s. Before the Starbases and everyone else.

Just like the CVBs got the F15s...

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Monday, March 02, 2020 - 12:56 am: Edit

It's an option that some players may wish to take. If you don't want to, you don't have to.

I sure wouldn't. :)

Similarly, players flying Orion (or WYN) ships are perfectly welcome to mount Hellbore Cannons in some option mounts and ESGs in others. Just because doing so is almost as dumb as I am doesn't mean it can't be done.

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 01:55 pm: Edit

Apologies if this has been addressed at some point already, but here goes:

If an Andromedan dissection beam is fired at a Juggernaut Empire warship's electostatic armour, is the Juggernaut ship able to replenish it afterwards, or is it "lost" the way that regular armour would be?

By way of comparison, I recall an Omega errata note to the effect that a Ryn warship may still use its transporter-collector beams to replenish its ceramic-composite armour, even after it had been sliced away by a dissection beam. Now, the underlying mechanics of Ryn and Juggernaut armour are quite different; though if the Juggernaut ship was also somehow "reconstituting" its electrostatic armour rather than "repairing" it, that might potentially enable it to be replenished in a similar manner.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 02:29 pm: Edit

Gary Carney:

While it has a fancy name, and some operational differences (can be repaired if, essentially, deactivated as a result of normal damage) it is still just armor and dissection damage means it is no longer there to be repaired as shield boxes can be repaired.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation