By Joe Carlson (Jrc) on Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 03:09 pm: Edit |
SPP,
If I buy a PDF version of the Master Rule book will such rule changes show up as they are made (and added to the PDF)?
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 09:32 am: Edit |
Understood,
Now, when the dragon leaves the planet after having stopped in the atmosphere, is it limited to speed 10 (acceleration limit) on the impulses following the impulse of leaving the planet because it was at speed 0 while ravaging?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 01:52 pm: Edit |
Joe Carlson:
If there are any updates, they will be done in a new rule book, but so far there are no updates to the 2012 rulebook.
Marcel Trahan:
Yes. Their acceleration rate is limited to ten.
Note that the acceleration rate and deceleration rate are identical, and a dragon must slow to speed 10 for eight impulses before entering the planets hex. Even though it enters the hex in mid turn, it is going to spend the rest of that turn in the atmosphere hex before it can begin ravaging as noted previously. Ravaging is from beginning of turn to end of turn. So if you you begin a turn at speed 12. and slow to speed 2 eight impulses later, you are going to have to slow again to enter atmosphere, and do not get to count ravaging until you are in the atmosphere at the start of a turn, and must remain in the atmosphere for an entire turn to ravage.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 02:53 pm: Edit |
Steve,
Following your logic, a dragon can enter atmosphere on any impulse as long as it has been going to speed 10 or less for at least 8 impulses to be able to decelerate to a speed 0 on the impulse that it enters the atmosphere? So, does it means that a dragon going faster then speed 1 will not crash if it enters an atmosphere?
Would it make more sense that the dragon can only enter the atmosphere on imp 32 if going speed 1 like any other units?
In your first example ''The rule implies that the dragon simply ends the turn, or any part of the turn, in the planets hex.'' and:
In your last example ''So if you you begin a turn at speed 12. and slow to speed 2 eight impulses later, you are going to have to slow again to enter atmosphere'', the only way you can slow down further then speed 2 is going speed 1, which moves only on imp 32.
Both statements seems to contradict each other.
Something does not add up if you can enter the atmosphere on any other impulse then imp 32 at speed 1.
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 03:18 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
The dragon has control of its movement above that of a ship.
It can decide to accelerate by up to ten movement points, and can go from zero to 30 in a turn (0, 10, 20, 30), or from 30 to zero in a turn (30, 20, 10, 0), as long as there is an eight impulse delay between changes of speed (and as long as it can go 30, the typical dragon maxes out at speed 25).
So, yes, the dragon has to be moving at speed zero or one.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 06:45 am: Edit |
Steve Petrick:
I have used your first example before in an scenario for the Dragon, it mentions in (SM7.45) that the Dragon does not have to land by the procedure in (P2.4), However I see now your second example is the one I should of used, the speed changes are noted in (SM7.464).
All good
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 04:02 pm: Edit |
Question rgarding the following rule:
(G18.61) MULTIPLE DEVICES: No more than one displacement device can be used on (i.e. fired at) a single object in a single impulse, or within four impulses (1/8 turn), whether it was successful or not. No more than one displacement device can be used to displace a single Andromedan unit within 32 impulses, but if an attempt to displace an Andromedan unit fails completely (i.e. no change in hex location), a second attempt with another device can be made after four impulses have passed.
Does that rule include self displacement?
ie. Can an andro ship be displaced by another andro ship and then, use its own Displacement Devise on itself within the same 32 impulses?
Marcel Trahan
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 04:43 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
If a displacement device is used on an Andromedan unit whether on an the Andromedan unit or not, the Andromedan unit has been fired on.
The Andromedan unit can be displaced within four impulses by another displacement device if the attempt FAILS, but otherwise you will have to wait 32 impulses.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Friday, May 01, 2020 - 12:04 pm: Edit |
Question regarding Tholian webs:
Let's say a Klingon ship gets stuck in a cast web. The ship is moving but does not generate enough movement points to escape the web before the webs falls. The web falls and the Klingon ship moves the next impulse. Can the Klingon ship slip now that the web is down? Or is it just able to go straight or turn?
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Friday, May 01, 2020 - 12:04 pm: Edit |
Do Tholian snares in a tournament game start charged and held?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, May 01, 2020 - 04:52 pm: Edit |
Tholian snares are armed and have their full one point of energy loaded in them, just as the web caster has its full five points of energy allocated.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 09:09 am: Edit |
Steve,
Based on the answer from April 24 at 12:44, will G3A be updated to include the changes from J10.111?
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 11:36 am: Edit |
Question regarding Tholian webs:
Let's say a Klingon ship gets stuck in a cast web. The ship is moving but does not generate enough movement points to escape the web before the webs falls. The web falls and the Klingon ship moves the next impulse. Can the Klingon ship slip now that the web is down? Or is it just able to go straight or turn?
In addition:
I found this section of rules but it isn't clear about slip mode if the web falls and then the ship moves:
(G10.57) MANEUVERS BY TRAPPED SHIPS: A ship or shuttle
trapped in web cannot use Erratic Maneuvers (C10.24). It can use
emergency deceleration (C8.0), High Energy Turns (C6.0), and
Tactical Maneuvers (C5.0). It can turn in accordance with the Turn
Mode for its practical speed (C2.411), even though it is not actually
moving. A Tholian ship that has not forgone its ability to move
through web (G10.533) is never trapped in a web hex or under these
penalties. The sideslip mode is reset to zero when the unit leaves the
web.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 01:57 pm: Edit |
Question about drone tracking and losing tracking involving cloak.
A ship with drones tracking a Romulan in a fleet of say two ships. Normally, when ever you wish you can change which ship maintains tracking. But the question comes to mind.
Ship 1 is in control of the drones and tracking the Rom. Rom cloaks. Ship 1 loses tracking. At this point the drones being controlled by ship 1 should become inert. While I understand that both ships were tracking the Rom and ship 2 still has lock. The only ship controlling the drones lost its control as it lost tracking. How can you say that tracking becomes taken up by a ship that does not have control of the drones when tracking is lost? Or is tracking lost? Since at the time of loss. No ship which had control of the drones. Had tracking of the ship? Its hard to transfer control of a drone when you do not have control of the drone anymore.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 05:43 pm: Edit |
I have played Roms a lot. In all cases were a seeking weapon was being guided by a ship that lost tracking. The seeking weapon was then picked up by a ship that has tracking or if that not possible gain its own lock if it can. I am not sure of the rule or rules to that effect. That is how I have always played the loss of tracking.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 08:09 pm: Edit |
Yeah I know lol. But reason says...you cannot transfer that which you do not have hehe. If everyone has tracking...and all have control. Then at all times the best control as in ECCM should apply. But it does not. So...just saying...losing tracking on the ship with control should mean...its gone.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Saturday, May 02, 2020 - 11:33 pm: Edit |
Self=guiding drones do get to make their own lock-on attempt (G13.334) if their controlling un ship fails their lock-on roll …
During the fade-out period, one can transfer control to ship with better position and/or EW (including scout support) and take your chances on the rolls …
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, May 03, 2020 - 09:31 pm: Edit |
Does (G10.43) set a maximum time limit for finishing the laying of new globular web? (G10.125) says globular web cannot be reinforced until completed. What if a damaged Tholian unit can complete the laying of a globular web, but due to damage cannot do so within 7 turns of completing the first web hex?
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 04:47 pm: Edit |
Stewart Frazier
If we were using ATG drones or self guiding drones yes. But just standard ship controlled drones...can you switch who controls them after the ship that does control them loses tracking? It is one thing to see a ship entering say a planet shadow. You know the ship will lose tracking so switch. But when all ships are having to roll to see if anyone maintains tracking at all...as in cloak. How does another ship have the drone transferred to its control, when the ship that had control could have maintained it...and the ship it handed off to might have lost it? Doesnt make any sense.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 04:52 pm: Edit |
Second question on a different matter.
Ok I know when a TB becomes active after two impulses you have to announce it.
Does a bomb dropped from a hatch have to be announced. The reason is, it has different activation ranges that are in effect. So having a detection range of one means it is not active with me next to it. Having a range of 0 means it activated the imp I left its hex. But...if I have to announce that...then the secret as to if it is range 1 or range 0 is required to be announced. And that is not supposed to be known.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 05:05 pm: Edit |
Jack Taylor asked on Friday, 1 May 20: Question regarding Tholian webs: Let's say a Klingon ship gets stuck in a cast web. The ship is moving but does not generate enough movement points to escape the web before the webs falls. The web falls and the Klingon ship moves the next impulse. Can the Klingon ship slip now that the web is down? Or is it just able to go straight or turn?
ANSWER:Rule (G10.57) last like says "The sideslip mode is reset to zero when the unit leaves the web." Wether you left the web of your own volition, or the web dissolved makes no difference.
Ken Kazinski asked on Saturday, 2 May 20: Based on the answer from April 24 at 12:44, will G3A be updated to include the changes from J10.111?
ANSWER: Module G3A would be update the same time as Module G3, At that time it will include whatever new scenarios were published since G3 was done (in the Scenario Index), whatever new fighters were published will be included in the various carriers, whatever new escorts were published for the various empires. For the nonce, you can get updated carrier data in the Master Starship Books as they are published.
Charles Hl Carroll asked on Saturday, 2 May 20: Question about drone tracking and losing tracking involving cloak. A ship with drones tracking a Romulan in a fleet of say two ships. Normally, when ever you wish you can change which ship maintains tracking. But the question comes to mind. Ship 1 is in control of the drones and tracking the Rom. Rom cloaks. Ship 1 loses tracking. At this point the drones being controlled by ship 1 should become inert. While I understand that both ships were tracking the Rom and ship 2 still has lock. The only ship controlling the drones lost its control as it lost tracking. How can you say that tracking becomes taken up by a ship that does not have control of the drones when tracking is lost? Or is tracking lost? Since at the time of loss. No ship which had control of the drones. Had tracking of the ship? Its hard to transfer control of a drone when you do not have control of the drone anymore.
ANSWER: If I understand your query correctly, this is answered by the following rule: "(F3.54) CLOAKED TARGET: Control of a weapon targeted on a cloaked unit cannot be transferred, even if the cloak is voided, due to the weak target signature." Basically if the seeking weapons are capable of self guidance, they can roll to retain their own lock on, but if they are not, they go inert are are removed from the board.
Gregory S. Flusche: See above. If your Gorn has lock on, and Romulan cloaks our, you cannot transfer the seeking weapons to the Fed.
John Christiansen asked on Sunday, 3 May 20: Does (G10.43) set a maximum time limit for finishing the laying of new globular web? (G10.125) says globular web cannot be reinforced until completed. What if a damaged Tholian unit can complete the laying of a globular web, but due to damage cannot do so within 7 turns of completing the first web hex?
ANSWER: Then the web will dissolve bit by bit. Note that as the anchor point is the first hex to dissolve. the web may be unanchored and collapse completely.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 06:10 pm: Edit |
Thanks Steve Petrick for the loss of tracking explanation.
Did you see the announcement requirement for bombs? I am of the believe that you ever have to announce they have become active. Otherwise the range requirements would be revealed.
While as stated, T bombs become active after 2 imps. So that could? be announced since everyone knows that. Having to announce the range of a dropped bomb as far as I can tell is not in the rules. And If when I get to range one of a bomb set to 0 range...I have to announce it. That would make range always known for only dropped bombs which is pretty absurd.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 06:30 pm: Edit |
Charles H. Carroll:
Mines are dropped openly as per the standard rules. However, in my experience, most players use the (M2.6) Secret Placement rules, that is a mine laid out a hatch is not announced. The information is recorded and exposed when an enemy runs into it. If you are not using Secret Placement, then yes you would not benefit from it (said with a lopsided grin).
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 06:46 pm: Edit |
That is not the problem Steve. The problem is....I drop a mine...and move one hex away. If it is a range 0 mine. As in it goes off only if someone steps ON it. Then at the time I move one hex off. If is now able to blow up. And according to the guy I am playing. I have to ANNOUNCE....to everyone that it became active when I moved one hex off. Other wise as I get out of range...at range two...then I announce it became active.
I think he believes that announcing is required because of the place in the order of events which says after two impulses t bombs placed by transporter become active or at this time mines dropped from a hatch could become active.
So according to him you have to announce that it is now active. I am not aware of any rule requiring an announcement. It just deals with the fact that t bombs are now active. And bombs dropped become active when ever they do in this part of the turn.
So is it a requirement to make an announcement when a mine becomes active which would invalidate the secrecy of what range it was set to. Or as is obvious to me, you have no idea of range it is set to, and it becomes active the second it leaves the hatch. It just will not blow up till you get outside what ever range you have set for it.
By Randy Green (Hollywood750) on Monday, May 04, 2020 - 07:38 pm: Edit |
If you're using secret placement, I don't see in the rules where an "announcement" is required.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |