By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 05:31 pm: Edit |
Steve, to make sure that i understand clearly what you are saying.
You can announce ESG's with or without capacitors and with or without power in them on imp 29-32, without having to specify radius or strength of the ESG and during EA, specify the strength and radius of the ESG that will open on imp 1-4 following EA even if it contradict G23.311 and G23.3121.
This makes an impulse 29-32 announcement way more flexible then a announcement during any other impulses of the turn.
I thought that the intent of G23.312 was to allow to announce an empty ESG on impulse 29-32 not knowing how much energy you will put in it and G23.3121 was to force you to used the announced ESG with whatever power you have in it if you did not add any during EA.
Marcel Trahan
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 05:34 pm: Edit |
and to clarify as well, you announce an ESG with 4 power (current level of the power in the ESG) and a radius of 3 on impulse 29, you could change it during EA to a strength 2 and a radius of 1 during EA for imp 1 of the following turn?
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 05:50 pm: Edit |
You do not announce the radius and power of an ESG until it actually goes up, you merely record it secretly and reveal it only after the four impulse delay.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 06:55 pm: Edit |
Hmmm....as I look the rule over....it is not my math but my understanding that seems lacking.
I was seeing it as when you shoot it. It does more damage. But as I keep reading it and looking at it. And trying to figure it out. It appear to be that everything but phasers need even more damage to harm them. So to do 2 damage...an asteroid needs to do 3 damage?
I was seeing instead that damage was applied as 2 damage done is 3 damage to the QWT since we were talking about QWTs. But it appears or might be that Asteroids and the other things mentioned other than phasers need even more damage to hurt this thing. So when you shoot a phaser at a QWT and it does 6 damage. How much actual damage hits the QWT. 3? As in half because that is what it takes vs a plasma. Or 6....or 9?
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 08:52 pm: Edit |
It's simple. Just add up the damage you do.
Six points done remove the splash element. Eleven more remove the central element.
Don't increase or reduce the damage done. Just count it up.
By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 08:59 pm: Edit |
Ok so it is not like plasma which cuts it in half. Ok. Thanks.
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 09:31 pm: Edit |
It's a confusingly worded rule.
All you need to know is
Y-Quantum torp is 4 damage and 7 damage (11 total).
Non Y Quantum torp is 6 damage and 11 damage (17 total).
Don't overthink it.
:-)
By William L Phillips (Praetor) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 10:39 pm: Edit |
Under Weapon Status II, is turn 1 the second or third turn of arming for plasma torpedoes ??
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Saturday, June 13, 2020 - 11:29 pm: Edit |
Good question, William. As I read the rules (S4.12), Bullet Point #2 says, "Prior turns arming (but not the last turn) for multi-turn arming weapons may be assumed to have been completed on turns prior to the start of the scenario."
As I read that, the hypothetical Turn #0 is prohibited only from being the final turn of arming and, as such, can be assumed to be the SECOND turn of arming for Plasma Torpedoes.
If I've read it right, then Turn #1 at Weapon Status II can be the final turn of arming plasma torpedoes (assuming energy is allocated for it) and you may launch your torpedoes (or bolt them) any time during Turn #1.
By William L Phillips (Praetor) on Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 07:25 am: Edit |
I read it that way also....but the group I play with INSISTS that it takes 2 turns to arm plasma (only 1 turn of arming on turn #0) they somehow connect status II with turn #2. It's nice to know I am correct, but still have to play their rules until they can be convinced otherwise. but since they also apply this logic? to photons it almost makes sense. Thanks, Jeff
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 09:54 am: Edit |
You're welcome, William.
Two other thoughts come to mind. First of these is the special exception for Plasma-F torpedoes (FP1.23). The rules state, "EXCEPTION: Plasma-F torpedoes, held in stasis boxes, can be held almost indefinitely and are always ready at the start of a scenario, except when the ship is 'surprised' (D18.12)."
You can at least have those available.
There's also "Accelerated Arming" (FP1.93), also called the "Two-Turn-Eff." If your ship has sufficient reserve power, you can have those torpedoes ready for firing even with the restrictions your group is placing on plasma armed ships.
(Too bad I don't know emojis well enough to do the "Smiley face with fangs;" it would be MOST appropriate right now... )
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 03:55 pm: Edit |
William just point them to this board. Have them Ask the Steves. They will then set them straight. WS-II plasma has 2+2 final amount is 3,4,5 depending on size of torps. Photons have 2+ this turn arming. So both can be fired on turn 1. WS-3 all weapons armed and held.. and with Federation photons some overload energy.
So Plasma S WS-2 You need to put 4 power last turn of arming. WS-3 Plasma S can be held for 2.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 08:49 pm: Edit |
Question re scout pods.
I know the Paravian RMS can have 2 P-PBs and a scout pod.
Question is, does this scout pod count towards scout limits in the fleet ?
Lets say the Paravian fleet is as follow,
RMS with 2 P-PBs and a P-SC,
9 other ships and finally a scout and a SR.
Is this a legal Paravian fleet ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 10:17 pm: Edit |
Yes, S8.0 Patrol legal (S8.351) the battle force has 8 or more actual ships it can field the second regular scout.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 15, 2020 - 02:38 pm: Edit |
William J. Philips:
At weapon status II all of the arming of multi-turn arming weapons but the final turn are completed. A plasma-G, or plasma-S, or plasma-R or plasma-M torpedo has completed two turns of arming. The player who controls such plasma torpedos then has to decide, during energy allocation of the first turn, if a given torpedo will be rolling delayed, completed as an enveloping torpedo, completed as a shotgun load, completed as a lesser warhead (which may involve completing it as a lesser shotgun or enveloping warhead). This is not as esoteric as it sounds as the ship's commander has to make decisions as to how fast he wants to move that first turn on the board, and may not have the energy to both move and to complete loading of his torpedoes to the level he desires, and none of the torpedoes can be held for reduced cost (rolling delay is not really holding).
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 15, 2020 - 02:46 pm: Edit |
Frank LeMay:
Wayne Douglas Power was confused by the question.
To be clear, you are allowed two (2) scouts (short drone bombardment ships). If you have nine or more ships, the second scout could be a real scout as opposed to a PFT or survey ship. The Raid Mothership is a scout with the scout pod, and after accounting for it, you an have a Scout, or an SR, but not both.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Monday, June 15, 2020 - 03:39 pm: Edit |
Thanks SPP.
Cheers
Frank
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, June 16, 2020 - 09:04 pm: Edit |
All good
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, June 16, 2020 - 11:33 pm: Edit |
SPP,
Did you see my ? re the ISC ship CAT YIS date in the Questions on Ships thread ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Saturday, June 20, 2020 - 11:29 pm: Edit |
Moray EEL of space. It will move as a seeking weapon toward the planet. Staying on the 22XX hex row unless it moves to attack a ship. If I place a Mine in the 22XX row in front of the monster. Will it simply run over the mine taking damage? Or will it evade the mine by turning out of the 22XX hex row? Even using a HET to evade said mine.
As I read it no... am I right?
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, June 21, 2020 - 04:40 am: Edit |
I believe you are right Gregory
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Monday, June 22, 2020 - 09:28 am: Edit |
Question regarding cloak target and QWT's.
When using table G13.37 for QWT's, does the roll fire adjustment work that way?
1-2 QWT does full damage
3-4 QWT loses left spalsh
5-6 QWT lose left and right splash
7+ QWT has no effect
or
1-2 QWT does full damage
3-4 QWT loses all splash elements
5-6 QWT has no effect
or
1-2 QWT does full damage
3-4 QWT does 50% (taking half of the WH and removing the splash first) ex: a 4 moves OL QWT would lose 6 of its warhead (50% of 12 = 6) taking out the 2 splash and 4 for the central part
5-6 QWT does 25% (same principle as above) ex a 15 moves QWT would do only 1 damage from its central core?
Rules in (FQ1.563) is not clear about hit
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Monday, June 22, 2020 - 09:35 am: Edit |
Another question reagrdinf scenario SM18.0) BOAR HUNT.
On impulse 10 and 26, we roll for the boar behavior. results are as follow:
1 Move in a straight line at speed 27. Do not turn.
2 Move at speed 16, turning to the left every two hexes.
3 Select one ship in the FA arc (roll a die to pick between possible candidates) and attack it. [If there is no ship within 6 hexes in the FA arc, select the nearest ship as the target] Pursue the ship as a seeking weapon at speed 27 with a turn mode of two. Once in the ship's hex, see (SM18.452) for attack rules.
4-6 Same as previous decision. Select a new target ship.
For the result 4-6 it says Same as previous decision. Select a new target ship.
Does that mean that what ever the boar was doing before, it keeps on doing it (either going straight or turning in round) and if it was attacking a ship, it will change target OR that a new target is selected whatever it was doing?
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, June 27, 2020 - 09:00 am: Edit |
Question regarding EM.
If a ship announce EM on step 6A4 on impulse 32 of turn 1 to become effective for impulse 1 of turn 2, does it have to have allocated energy (or reserve power) for EM during turn 1 to be able to announce EM or the Turn 2 EA allocation is sufficient to do EM?
In other words, does a ship has to have allocated power (or reserve power) for EM on a turn if the EM is to be announced on impulse 32?
Marcel
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, June 27, 2020 - 09:03 am: Edit |
What is the YIS of the ISC CAT?
Is it Y168 like specified in G3?
If so, does it comes with 3 Pl-G in Y168 that will be upgraded to Pl-S in Y170 and Rear Pl-F in Y179?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |