Archive through November 16, 2020

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through November 16, 2020
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 01:04 am: Edit

F-15 really is that awesome, but for equipment and YIS, here's what the Master Fighter Chart in my copy of the G3 book says

F-14 Drones: 2xI, 2xVI. YIS: 171
F-15 Drones: 4xI, 4xVI. YIS: 172

F-14A Drones: 2xI, 2xVI, 2x Special. YIS: 177

F-14B Drones: 2xI, 2xVI, 4x Special. YIS: 183
F-15C Drones: 6xI, 2xVI (no special) YIS: 183

F-15D Drones: 6xI , 2xVI. YIS 185

F-14C Drones: 4xI, 4x Special. YIS 190

F-14D Drones: 4xI , 4x Special. YIS 195.


Just my opinion (of course), but it's my understanding that both the F-14 and F-15 were awesomely powerful weapons only available in relatively small numbers (compared with, say, F-16s and F-18s); F-14s only operated from a very few carriers (and perhaps capital starbases or stellar fortresses) and F-15s were normally only assigned to planets that were of critical importance. As to which was the better fighter? I think those discussions led to all too many pubs and bars being trashed by enthusiastic fighter pilots... :)

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 06:43 am: Edit

The data is correct as is.

By Benjamin Kidd (Bakidd) on Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 09:01 am: Edit

Thank you, SVC.

Jeff, your info matches what I reconstructed from my module J plus reading the R sections for both fighters.

It looks like the F-15 is clearly superior till Y177, and after that it's all about whether the special drones you get with the F-14 fit the situation. Are any type III drones regularly used on fighters besides the multi-warhead ones?

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 11:32 am: Edit

The more pertinent question isn't so much "Are F-15's or F-14's better in this situation" but "What's been assigned to this front/fleet/battle, a CVA or CVB?" Or, in patrol scenario terms, which carrier and escorts you can afford.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 11:42 am: Edit

Benjamin Kidd:

This is OPINION and not a rule.

Under (R1.F9) there is a statement that type-IIIs would be launched ahead of the strike. They have 25 turns endurance and can be told to "look for a target" (when launched outside of 35 hexes range there is no guidance, whether by ship or fighter). So they would only be carried if your strike planning said that you needed to use this diversion. Otherwise the only advantage of a "special" rail is that it can carry a multi-warhead drone, which can be a type-I drone frame.

By Benjamin Kidd (Bakidd) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 12:22 am: Edit

Another Fed fighter question. Are the photon reloads on an A-10 or A-20 megafighter interchangeable? That is, if I load an A-10M with one proximity fused photon and one standard photon, do I need to decide at the time of loading which one fires first, and which one fires second, or can I choose between both charges at the time of firing?

Concretely, say I loaded my A-10M with a prox and a standard charge, expecting to fire the proximity photon on approach and the standard charge when I close in, but stuff happens, and I end up with a vulnerable target inside range 8 . Can I fire my standard photon at it, or am I required to fire the prox charge first (possibly missing out on a closer range shot as my opponent has significant time to maneuver before I can fire the second photon)?

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 01:04 am: Edit

I'd have to doublecheck the rules, Benjamin, but I don't think Federation fighters are allowed to use proximity fused photon torpedoes.

Also, fighters do need to use ready racks designed for that particular fighter, so an A-10 can't be reloaded from a ready rack set up for an A-20 and vice versa. There are exceptions for drones, for fighters in foreign service (Lyrans and Seltorians operating Klingon fighters), and for sub-models of particular fighters (i.e.: an F-14D can have baseline drones reloaded from a ready rack meant for an F-14 no bloody A, B, C, or D), but the rules are clear that there aren't any other exceptions.

By Benjamin Kidd (Bakidd) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 09:33 am: Edit

Jeff, I mentioned the A-10 and A-20 together because they are the only photon using fighters I am aware of. J4.854 says fighters can use standard or proximity, but not overloaded, charges.

My phrasing was unclear-both megafighter versions of the Fed assault fighters have one additional shot for each weapon. A-10M has one photon with two weapons charges, the A-20M two photons with two weapons charges apiece. “Weapons charge”, not reload, is the actual term of art used in the rules, which I should have noticed as I’m asking a rules question.

By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 11:52 am: Edit


Quote:

I mentioned the A-10 and A-20 together because they are the only photon using fighters I am aware of.


Tholians also have photon-armed fighters, but only double-sized heavy fighters; the Spider-IVP and Spider-VP. They don't have a standard sized photon fighter like the A-10.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 01:19 pm: Edit

1,) Federation Assault Fighters (A-10, A-20) can use Proximity Photons (J4.854). The problem is that you have to decide on fusing when they are being prepared for the mission, as a proximity fuse can only be used at more than eight (8) hexes range, so a fighter armed with a proximity fuse cannot fire the photon except between 9 and 12 hexes range (as 12 hexes is the maximum range a photon can be fired from a fighter).

2.) Rule (J16.0) nowhere places a restriction on which weapon load has to be fired in what order. Rule (J16.242) only provides that one charge can be used per turn and not within a quarter turn of a charge being fired on a previous turn.

3.) An A-10 can be reloaded by an A-20 ready rack and vice versa, but the number of deck crew actions required is doubled (J4.892).

By Benjamin Kidd (Bakidd) on Friday, October 23, 2020 - 01:35 pm: Edit

SPP: Thank you, that fully answers my question.

Also, thank you for the note on possible other F-14 uses Type III drones. A long range distraction strike is nowhere near as exciting as firing a bunch of multi-warhead drones into an oncoming swarm of Klingon fighters, though.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, October 24, 2020 - 02:25 am: Edit

We must think beyond the six-pack ISC ship. Why not a nine-pack or a twelve-pack?

By Shawn Gordon (Avrolancaster) on Sunday, October 25, 2020 - 04:00 pm: Edit

The entries for the ISC version of the early ground-based Plasma-Fs and Plasma-Gs has this reference:


Quote:

See (Y13.012) for PPTs.




Is there a Y13.012? If so where is it? To my eye that isn't even the correct formatting for an early years rule.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, October 26, 2020 - 11:35 am: Edit

Shawn Gordon:

The entry should have been to (YR13.011). The "Y" meant Early Years, the "13" was missing the "R" but you in any case was the Empire number for the Inter-Stellar Concordium, and the 012 (which again, should have been 011) was the rule number in sequence.

Basically you were seeing a rule that applies specifically to the Inter-Stellar Concordium, an would look in the "R" section (which, again, was missing the "R" but was easy for me to realize what the problem was from the "Y13", i.e., that it should have been "YR13"). Once I got to that, the fact that it was talking about "PPTs" told me that the rule reference was further in error as the rule for Early Years PPTs for the Inter-Stellar Concordium is "YR13.011."

Sorry to be so long winded, but I was trying to explain all the errors (for which I take full responsibility being the guy who did almost all of the data entry for the Module Y2 books).

The rule is found on page #49 of the Module Y2 rulebook.

By Shawn Gordon (Avrolancaster) on Monday, October 26, 2020 - 01:53 pm: Edit

Awesome! Thank you very much.

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Saturday, November 07, 2020 - 02:18 am: Edit

Can a Monitor have an MRS shuttle?

I don't see anything specifically restricting it or allowing it. It's not Size class 4, but it's not a DN, CA or carrier.

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Saturday, November 07, 2020 - 11:28 am: Edit

I don't see anything specifically prohibiting a Monitor from having an MRS either, but as a (second rate at best) storyteller, I do see a complication.

We know that a CL, even one likely to be sent into action, is not on the list of ships to be allocated an MRS, so how probable is it that High Command would be willing to allow one to be (effectively) sidelined aboard a Monitor that, if it even sees action at all, is more likely to have to do little more than growl to discourage a raid?

That said, I'd suggest talk with your opponent; if they say "Yes," then why not... :)

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Saturday, November 07, 2020 - 05:46 pm: Edit

edit

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Saturday, November 07, 2020 - 05:52 pm: Edit

"Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, August 31, 2020 - 01:25 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

There is a note on the Monitor rules in the copy that it scheduled for update in the "General Units Master Starship Book" that says the Monitor cannot have an MRS".

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Saturday, November 07, 2020 - 07:18 pm: Edit

Wayne,

Thank you!

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 02:12 pm: Edit

(P2.545) Seeking weapons (drones, plasma torpedoes) move in an
atmosphere by (P2.85). Shuttle based seeking weapons (suicide
shuttles, scatter-packs) move in an atmosphere as non-seeking
shuttles.


Question: A suicide shuttle is used to attack a planet with an atmosphere. The rule specifically says that they still use the same procedures as a normal shuttle for atmospheric movement, which presumably means that the shuttle must move at a speed no greater than 1

However, the next turn a shuttle or ship is considering to be "descending" for a full turn before it can land. My opponent is arguing that the suicide shuttle is not trying to land, it's merely trying to impact that surface, and therefore doesn't need to spend the turn in atmospheric flight getting to the surface.

So, does the suicide shuttle have to spend the turn in atmospheric flight, or can it impact and do damage right away?

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 02:17 pm: Edit

Another atmosphere question:

(P2.8531) If the target is a ground unit (or a landed unit), the
seeking weapon will enter the unit’s hex on one turn and strike it
in Impulse #1 of the next turn.


So, let's say that a plasma G torpedo enters the hex of a planet with an atmosphere on turn 2, impulse 1.

Does it then impact on turn 3, impulse 1, even though the G-torp technically doesn't have a turn of endurance?

If it's a single atmosphere hex, do you just subtract the five hexes of endurance?

By Mike Dowd (Mike_Dowd) on Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 02:33 pm: Edit

Peter:

Just a gut feeling on the first question...

A Shuttle is not designed as a *ballistic* atmospheric re-entry vehicle, instead designed to operate within a much lower set of temperatures than say a kinetic impact weapon. (Space Shuttle vs ICBM warhead or 'Rod from God'.)

I'd be inclined to say that it needs to come in like a standard (manned) shuttle to preserve the warhead until it gets to the surface.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 05:26 pm: Edit

From what I understand of the rules. The Shuttle has to follow the normal landing rules even as a seeking shuttle so must spend a turn descending the atmosphere.

Yes the Plaasma has to wait till imp 1 of the next turn. Then looses 5 hexes of movement of the war head. Take it as the time distortion of warp speed.

By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Monday, November 16, 2020 - 08:48 pm: Edit

Ok...suppose I want to over a turn break...at low speed...6. Change to reverse. I know in 3.5 it says you have to pay a breaking cost. But for how long would you have to pay it? By that I mean....wait 8 impulses...and not pay it. 16? Such as when you have a breakdown and stop? Or if you ever during the turn try to change directions on imp 32 you have to pay the full breaking cost?

It would seem that waiting 8 impulses or 16 would be all that was required but I cannot find a rule other than 3.5 which says I have to pay the full cost period.

So? Is there a rule about not paying the cost and if so how long of a delay is required. You can go from speed 31 to 0 instantly. But going from 6 forward over the break to 6-10 backwards cannot be done without spending a lot of power? Anyway, anyone have a rule covering it?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation