Archive through November 30, 2020

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through November 30, 2020
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Monday, November 16, 2020 - 09:00 pm: Edit

You plot speed 0 with a mid turn speed change to 1-10 in reverse. After 8 impulses. Were the rules are I am not sure.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Monday, November 16, 2020 - 09:06 pm: Edit

Knock down the FS (small freighter) shields and sends in the 4BPs and 1 crew unit. The FS has no BPs. At end of turn Boarding party combat commences.

Is the FS captured with no need to roll as it has no BPs? Or does the attacker roll and must capture the two Control spaces? (4 casualty points)

By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 12:13 am: Edit

Greg that was what I remembered. But...I cannot find it anywhere lol. 8 impulses sounds right. But is it? Or was that kind of like a house rule someone used and it stuck?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 12:44 pm: Edit

Braking Energy (C3.52)
Reversing Direction (C12.37)

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 12:56 pm: Edit

Greg, you need to capture the control rooms

(D7.5) How to Capture, (D7.501)

By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 01:56 pm: Edit

Wayne lol....yeah that is obvious. But...there was a rule Greg and I remember...somewhere other than there....about 1/4 turn and not needing breaking energy or something to that effect when done over a turn break.

By Charles H Carroll (Carroll) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 02:01 pm: Edit

Found it.

(C12.37) REVERSING DIRECTION: Ships (but not shuttles) can
reverse direction during a turn through braking (C3.5). As an
alternative to that method, a ship could switch from forward to reverse
movement (or vice-versa) without paying a braking cost by plotting a
speed change to Speed Zero (within the rules) followed (eight
impulses later) by a speed change to some other speed (within the
acceleration limits) in reverse.
NOTE: See (C11.28) in the case of nimble ships, which can
accelerate after only six impulses. This creates a minor technical
exception to many of the following rules.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 05:39 pm: Edit

Wayne

I know I have to capture the control spaces. My question is more on the line of. If there is no BPs defending the ship. Then is the capture of the control spaces automatic? Control spaces have no combat ability other then being given up instead of taking casualties.

By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 05:48 pm: Edit

No, you still have to generate "casualties" through the normal BP combat procedure. As your opponent has no BPs (or militia) on which to take these casualties, they have to give up the requisite number of control spaces. Once all control spaces are in your control, you have captured the ship.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, November 19, 2020 - 10:46 am: Edit

Question on (R6.91) (the Gorn DDW). This rule indicates that the DDW rolls for shock "if three torpedoes are fired in any sixteen consecutive torpedoes." Here are my questions.

1) Are pseudo torpedoes included in this total?

2) Follow up to Q1: If not, can one make a "pretend shock" roll which is removed from the shock total upon reveal of the fake status of the torp?

3) If a fourth torpedo is fired in the same sixteen impulse period, is another shock roll required?

Thank you!

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, November 19, 2020 - 05:20 pm: Edit

I do not have the info on Gorn DDW.

(D23.12) Over Gunned Ships suffer shock effects when they fire certain weapons or combinations of weapons; these are fully described in the ship description for each ship.

Question 1) and 2) (D23.225)

Question 3) I think is answered in (D23.22) Procedure and (D23.23) Frequency.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, November 19, 2020 - 11:39 pm: Edit

Ted, see D23.225 on page 114 of MRB.
There is your answer.

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 20, 2020 - 01:22 pm: Edit

Gregory S. Flusche:

Wayne Douglas Power is correct. Basically the crew is trying to keep your marines out.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Friday, November 20, 2020 - 04:50 pm: Edit

Thank You SPP. Was wondering about it as i was thinking about capturing a freighter or two. it might still take a turn or two. Might have to kill some of the crew as an example.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 20, 2020 - 05:03 pm: Edit

Gregory S. Flusche:

Killing the crew when they are resisting you but not otherwise killing you (when you are bashing down the door to get into the Bridge, Emergency Bridge, or Auxiliary Control) is bad form and likely to call lots of unwanted attention on your particular "blood thirsty gang" of Pirates.

Now, if it was "the old days" and I owned the merchant ship, the gang of bully boys on the merchant ship to defend it might pique your ire. And we cannot forget the even older days when Merchant ships were "ships" and all "ships" could purchase T-bombs, and even Nuclear Space Mines, and pirates learned not to "pursue" the merchant ships, or if paralleling the course, not to turn across the Merchant ship's course when he turned off.

Ah, memories. The good old days and pirates learned to fear an honest merchant even when it was not a Q-ship. When pirates had respect.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 20, 2020 - 05:05 pm: Edit

Gregory S. Flusche:

Killing the crew when they are resisting you but not otherwise killing you (when you are bashing down the door to get into the Bridge, emergency Bridge, or Auxiliary Control) is bad form and likely to call lots of unwanted attention on your particular "blood thirsty gang" of Pirates.

Now, if it was "the old days" and I owned the merchant ship, the gang of bully boys on the merchant ship to defend it might pique your ire. And we cannot forget the even older days when Merchant ships were "ships" and all "ships" could purchase T-bombs, and even Nuclear Space Mines, and pirates learned not to "pursue" the merchant ships, or if paralleling the course, not to turn across the Merchant ships course when he turned off.

Ah, memories. The good old days and pirates learned to fear an honest merchant even when it was not a Q-ship. When pirates had respect.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Saturday, November 21, 2020 - 08:48 am: Edit

How true Sir.. better to be lenient to them so the next time you board a ship. They may decide just to surrender.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, November 23, 2020 - 03:21 pm: Edit

Thanks to the learned players who have given me relevant rules (which I genuinely appreciate!). However, I'd like SPP to weigh in on my interpretation of the last question.

Here's my questions again which, as I've noted, are partially resolved by the quoted rules.

Question on (R6.91) (the Gorn DDW). This rule indicates that the DDW rolls for shock "if three torpedoes are fired in any sixteen consecutive torpedoes." Here are my questions.

1) Are pseudo torpedoes included in this total? [A: RESOLVED: NO. SEE D23.225)

2) Follow up to Q1: If not, can one make a "pretend shock" roll which is removed from the shock total upon reveal of the fake status of the torp? [A: RESOLVED: SEE PROCEDURES UNDER D23.225]

3) If a fourth torpedo is fired in the same sixteen impulse period, is another shock roll required? [MAYBE UNRESOLVED?]

I *think* what it means under D23.23 is that you track how many torpedoes the ship has fired/launched in the last 16 impulses. Every single time that you fire even one torpedo within a 16 impulse period which included two prior launches, you roll another 1D6 and add it to the shock total. Thus, for example, if you launch two torpedoes on impulse #1, and 1 torpedo on impulse #15, then you would roll 1D6 for shock. If you waited again until impulse #31 and then you launched another two torpedoes, then you would also roll 1D6 for shock. The reason is that you launched 1 on impulse #15 and, within 16 impulses (15+16=31) you launched another two - resulting in 3 or more within 16 impulses.

However, if you had launched those other two torpedoes on impulse #32, then there would be no shock roll (but you would track those launches for further launches on the next turn).

If you had launched those other two torpedoes on Impulse #16, then you would roll *2D6* for shock - one for each torpedo, because you had already launched 2 torpedoes on impulse #1.

Steven Petrick: Kindly advise if my understanding of the rules is correct. Everyone else, thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Thanks!
Ted

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 23, 2020 - 03:43 pm: Edit

Correct.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Saturday, November 28, 2020 - 11:53 pm: Edit

Played ISC vs Hydrans tonight. I know 100% for sure that there is a special rule for Fighter Fusion beams.

1) if they use TWO charges per shot they can fire to range 10. I remember that crystal clear.
2) And if they use ONE charge they can fire from range 0 to 3. Or is it 0 to 2?

We couldn't find it in a quick scan, so we just played as if it was 1 charge works only to range 2 (disadvantage me).

Where the heck is that rule?

I really think my opponent underestimates the power of escorts. A hydran DWA can dish out 5 PG, Plus some P2s at range 1 which burns out a lot of plasma.

And in battles when the BPV climbs enough that you can have something loaning tons of EW but not having to do much else, it is a big deal if they don't have a scout.

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Sunday, November 29, 2020 - 12:19 am: Edit

I looked and looked too, Mike.

Finally found it in the description of the Stinger-1 fighter; rule (R9.F1) in Module C1.

It says, in part, "The range of the fusion beam is limited to three hexes, but if two charges are used for one shot, the beam can fire to a maximum range of 10 hexes (this does not produced increased damage)."

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, November 30, 2020 - 11:23 am: Edit

Hi,

I'm trying to determine how several rules interact.

G24.22 (Breaking Lock-Ons) says that all references to "drones" in that section includes seeking shuttles, and FD1.8 (Seeking Shuttles) concurs by saying that seeking shuttles are subject to having lock-ons broken by scouts. However, G24.225 then adds that ballistic drones are not affected by this procedure.

Question: Does this mean that launching a scatter-pack shuttle on a ballistic course protects it from having its lock-on broken by a scout?

If yes, then a related question: Since Step 1 of FD7.31 says a SP on a ballistic course has a specific hex as its primary target, and Step 4 asks whether the drones will be targeted on the prime target (in this case a hex) or at random targets, does this mean that a ballistic SP can only use random targeting?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 30, 2020 - 02:44 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:

I think your questions are answered by the rules on Ballistic Targeting in (F4.0). Basically the scatter pack shuttle is in fact immune, but the seeking weapons once released must have guidance provided or they go inert (except for type-VI dogfight drones which can seek their own targets).

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, November 30, 2020 - 03:25 pm: Edit

Thanks for the clarification on scout functions.

Is there any downside to launching a SP in ballistic mode rather than targeting a ship? If there isn't, then it seems the obvious approach is to simply launch all SP's ballisticly when the opposing fleet includes a scout.

I understand that the drones would require guidance (or ATG, etc.) either way.

Thanks again.

And feel free to call me "Jay."

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 30, 2020 - 04:09 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:

The downside is that you have to program the scatter pack to release its drones pretty early.

Ships maneuver, and may not go where you thought they were going to go, resulting in your ballistic scatter pack never reaching the range at which you wanted it to release the submunitions.

Consider the type-VI drones. They can be released up to eight hexes from the target (that is the maximum range at which they can gain their own lock on), but if the target never comes within eight hexes, your shuttle will just keep on moving in a straight line until it exits the map. You cannot stop it.

If you had it loaded with type-I drones with a 12 hex release distance, if it never comes within 12 hexes of it, it will never release.

You can program it to stop when it reaches its target hex, but you cannot program it to release its munitions other than by the range (and other targeting data) to the target.

A controlled seeking scatter pack at least pursues the target ship and forces the target ship to consider: Is the shuttle manned? Is the Shuttle a Suicide shuttle? Is the Shuttle a Scatter Pack/ Is the shuttle a dummy?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation