Archive through May 20, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through May 20, 2021
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, May 07, 2021 - 05:13 pm: Edit

I suspect the reversed plasma arcs came about because the plasma torpedoes could not actually use the RP and LP arcs due to the presence of the tug (as I noted). It might've had LP RP in '84 and a correction was given for LPR and RPR because you cannot launch a plasma torpedo through an object (The Tug).

By John L Stiff (Tarkin22180) on Friday, May 07, 2021 - 07:48 pm: Edit

Ah, a correction was made then...

It does make sense that the front saucer and wings would in the way of torps launching from the Battle Pod of the Tug.

I do not have a Gorn Monitor Pod handy (maybe it is really a pallet). I do not know.

Anyway, the Gorn Monitor already has 4 plasma S torps with the FP arc and 2 plasma F torps with LS, RS arcs.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 07:32 am: Edit

Question regarding drones being launched at a small ground base.

R1.14C2 specifies that small ground bases cannot be target beyond range 5. I a ship launches drones at range 5 and while still controlling them moves further away than range 5 before the drones hit the ground base, do the drones lose their tracking and are remove from play?

For drones with ATG or ballistic targeting is not an issue because their either have their own lockon or don't require lockon. My question is regarding drones controlled by a unit.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 07:45 am: Edit

Question regarding a moving ship being tractored by a base with positional stabilizer or a moving ship tractoring a base with positional stabilizer.

Since the base has an infinite Mouvement cost, the ship will have a pseudo speed of 0.

G7.251 specifies that the ship has a pseudo speed of 0 while it is considered still ''moving''.

Does that means that when it would have been called to move (at its original speed) it can collect mouvement toward satisfying a turn mode, and once enough mouvement point have been accumulated, it can turn to change its facing?

Does the same principle apply for a third ship mandatory set at a pseudo speed 0 by the rule of the third ship in a multi ship tractors could accumulate mouvement point toward satiffying a turn mode?

Marcel

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 08:26 am: Edit

Question regarding ECCM lent to a fighter squadron.

For a scout to lend ECCM to a ship, it has to have lockon to both the ship receiving the ECCM and to the target ship to be efective;

(G24.218) LOCK-ON: Scouts cannot lend ECM to a unit unless they have a lock-on (D6.11) to that unit. Scouts cannot lend ECCM to a unit unless they have a lock-on to that unit, and this ECCM does not count unless the scout also has a lock-on to the target. Self-protection (G24.28) does not require the scout to have a general lock-on.

Does that rule also apply to a carrier lending ECCM to its fighter squadron? Is the carrier treated like a scout in those cases?

There is no clarification in the J section regarding that.

Second question:

For a unit attacking a ground base from range 5 or less that receives ECCM, does the lending unit has to have lockon and also be within 5 hexes of the targeted unit for the lent ECCM to be used or the lending ship can be at any distance from the base while still within 15 hexes of the receiving ship?

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 01:43 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on Saturday, May 08, 2021: Question regarding drones being launched at a small ground base.

Rule (R1.14C2) specifies that small ground bases cannot be targeted beyond Range 5. If a ship launches drones at Range 5 and while still controlling them moves further away than Range 5 before the drones hit the ground base, do the drones lose their tracking and are remove from play?

For drones with ATG or ballistic targeting it is not an issue because they either have their own lock-on or don't require lock-on. My question is regarding drones controlled by a unit.

RESPONSE: In simple, there is no difference between the normal procedure of moving beyond 36 hexes true range of a target in space, or moving beyond five hexes true range of a small ground base. The seeking weapons would lose tracking (unless another unit meeting the conditions to guide it could assume control) and go inert. However, the unit could (assuming it was able to and within Range 5, be released to its own guidance.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 02:00 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on Saturday, May 08, 2021: Question regarding a moving ship being tractored by a base with positional stabilizer or a moving ship tractoring a base with positional stabilizer.

Since the base has an infinite Mouvement cost, the ship will have a pseudo speed of 0.

Rule (G7.251) specifies that the ship has a pseudo speed of zero while it is considered still ''moving''.

Does that means that when it would have been called to move (at its original speed) it can collect mouvement toward satisfying a turn mode, and once enough mouvement points have been accumulated, it can turn to change its facing?

Does the same principle apply for a third ship mandatory set at a pseudo speed zero by the rule of the third ship in a multi ship tractors could accumulate movement points toward satisfying a turn mode?

ANSWER: The ship effectively is at Speed Zero for generating movement points towards its turn mode. A ship tractor by another ship, even if it is the third or fourth ship in the combination, still has a pseudo speed greater than zero and can turn when eligible at its pseudo speed even if it does not generate any movement.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 03:24 pm: Edit

Could a ship tractor a plant/ moon/ asteroid to have a "pseudo speed" of zero? So I launch at range 5, tractor the planet and stay at range 5 until my drone hit?

If yes, I call dibs on the term paper...

(away from my books again. Trapped in Chicago. Darn Philippine quarantine)

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 03:36 pm: Edit

Mike Grafton asked on Saturday, May 08, 2021: Could a ship tractor a plant/ moon/ asteroid to have a "pseudo speed" of zero? So I launch at range 5, tractor the planet and stay at range 5 until my drone hit?

ANSWER: Rule (G7.241) prohibits tractoring a planet, UNLESS your ship is moving at Speed Zero.

By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 03:55 pm: Edit

Well besides what Steve Petrick said...there is also the minor issue of using a tractor at range 5.

By Randy Green (Hollywood750) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 04:06 pm: Edit

"MOAR! MOAR power to the tractor!"

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 04:19 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on Saturday, May 08, 2021: Question regarding ECCM lent to a fighter squadron.

For a scout to lend ECCM to a ship, it has to have lock-on to both the ship receiving the ECCM and to the target ship to be efective;

(G24.218) LOCK-ON: Scouts cannot lend ECM to a unit unless they have a lock-on (D6.11) to that unit. Scouts cannot lend ECCM to a unit unless they have a lock-on to that unit, and this ECCM does not count unless the scout also has a lock-on to the target. Self-protection (G24.28) does not require the scout to have a general lock-on.

Does that rule also apply to a carrier lending ECCM to its fighter squadron? Is the carrier treated like a scout in those cases?

There is no clarification in the J section regarding that.

ANSWER: The only requirements are that the fighter be from the carrier (part of a squadron operating from the carrier), be within 10 hexes of the carrier, neither the fighter or the carrier are using erratic maneuvers (the fighter cannot be in a dogfight). There is no requirement for the fighter or the carrier to have a lock-on (the fighter must have a lock-on and be within three hexes of an EWF or MRS or SWAC Shuttle, but not a carrier).


Second question:

For a unit attacking a ground base from range 5 or less that receives ECCM, does the lending unit has to have lock-on and also be within five hexes of the targeted unit for the lent ECCM to be used or the lending ship can be at any distance from the base while still within 15 hexes of the receiving ship?

ANSWER: Rule (G24.218) requires the scout to have a lock-on to the target to loan EW. If the ground base is large enough (orbit base on a planet) then there is a lock-on, but small ground bases cannot be locked onto outside of five hexes, so small ground base cannot be affected by scouts lending them Offensive ECM or friendly units ECCM to fire at them if it does to have a lock-on, it CAN lend ECM to ships being fired on by the ground base even if the scout does not have a lock-on to such a ground base.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 04:26 pm: Edit

Charles Carroll:

Well, Bolosco Warp Integrated Tractors have a maximum range of six (6) hexes.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Saturday, May 08, 2021 - 06:04 pm: Edit

Question regarding M2.6 Secret Placement.

Rule M2.6 says:

(M2.62) TRIGGERING: Whenever a unit moves into a hex adjacent to a mine hex, the player controlling the mine announces this fact and
the hex that the mine is in. [Possible exception: (M7.34).] The possibility of triggering is resolved by (M2.40). In such a case, the written record of the mine’s location must be exposed to verify its location.

If a TB is dropped and set for SC 6 and 7 with a detection range of 1. Further along on the turn, an enemy SC 4 ship move within range 1 of the TB but cannot trigger it because of SC restriction.

Does the TB has to be revealed at that time or it remains hidden until a SC 6 or 7 could trigger it by moving within its detection range?

Is the same same thing happen with skip count?

By ''unit'', does it means anything (Like Plasma torpedoes even if they cannot trigger a TB or monsters) or only ship/shuttle/drones etc.

Marcel

By Randy Green (Hollywood750) on Sunday, May 09, 2021 - 08:49 am: Edit

and Andromedan tractors have a particular firi...er, operating mode, that allows them to operate at a much longer range. :)

By John L Stiff (Tarkin22180) on Sunday, May 09, 2021 - 08:49 am: Edit

The mine remains hidden. The skip count remains unchanged. "Unit" really means size class. Plasma torpedoes do not trigger mines.

(My answers are not official.)

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Sunday, May 09, 2021 - 02:34 pm: Edit

SPP. Can the ship tractor a asteroid? Because that would be both totally cool and a neat tactic...

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, May 09, 2021 - 08:19 pm: Edit

(G7.24) Terrain

(a large Meteor could be tractor (SH3.0).

there are exceptions (some of which require the ship to be at speed zero), (P2.432), (P2.44), (P2.712), (.G7.252).

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 10, 2021 - 01:24 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked on Saturday, May 08, 2021: Question regarding (M2.6) Secret Placement.

Rule (M2.6) says:

(M2.62) TRIGGERING: Whenever a unit moves into a hex adjacent to a mine hex, the player controlling the mine announces this fact and the hex that the mine is in. [Possible exception: (M7.34).] The possibility of triggering is resolved by (M2.40). In such a case, the written record of the mine’s location must be exposed to verify its location.

If a TB is dropped and set for SC 6 and 7 with a detection range of 1. Further along on the turn, an enemy SC 4 ship move within Range 1 of the TB but cannot trigger it because of SC restriction.

Does the TB has to be revealed at that time or it remains hidden until a SC 6 or 7 could trigger it by moving within its detection range?

Is the same same thing happen with skip count?

By ''unit'', does it means anything (Like Plasma torpedoes even if they cannot trigger a TB or monsters) or only ship/shuttle/drones etc.

ANSWER: Rule (M2.63) says in part "they are detected whenever the ship moves adjacent to them". Essentially the fact that a seeking weapon or a fighter has moved next to a mine not set to trigger on them will not reveal the presence of a mine. But a ship moving next to a mine (which includes T-bombs rolled out a hatch) can detect the mine even if they cannot trigger the mine (not set for that size class or not the right number of ship to close on the mine).

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 10, 2021 - 01:30 pm: Edit

Mike Grafton asked on Sunday, May 09, 2021: Can the ship tractor a asteroid? Because that would be both totally cool and a neat tactic...

ANSWER: Wayne Douglas Power cited the correct rule (G7.24), it says you can tractor an asteroid, and there are even rules for docking to one [not in (G7.24)] but there is little reason to do so when someone is shooting at you.

By John L Stiff (Tarkin22180) on Tuesday, May 11, 2021 - 08:57 am: Edit

Oooh, I have been playing that incorrectly (i.e. a "ship" can detect a mine even though it did not trigger it!).

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Tuesday, May 11, 2021 - 05:53 pm: Edit

A thing to remember in the campaigns we are using hidden mines.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 06:39 am: Edit

Question regarding ECM drones following their target ship.

If a ship that is escorted by a ECM drone makes a HET on an impulse when it is not moving, does the escorting ECM drone does a HET as well?

A ship going direction A that is escorted by a ECM drone going direction A gets tractored by another ship going direction D. The ECM drone will slow down to the effective speed of its target ship as per FD9.1153.

What happen to the ECM drone going direction A if the ship going direction D is called to move and moves direction D. Is it moved with ship A or does it has to try to follow ship A and ship A looses the ECM coverage of the drone until it gets back in the same hex as its target ship?

What happen in the case of a delayed move? Will the ECM drone moves with the delayed move even if not called to move or will it remain where it was and the ship will lose ECM coverage?

Does a ECM drone mimic its target ship movement or remains bound to its speed (max speed or target ship s

Marcel

By Kenneth Humpherys (Pmthecat) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 07:51 am: Edit

ECM drones have station keeping plots, and would usually have the same facing as their target ship. If the target ship performed a HET, the drone will move using the seeking weapon movement rules at its original speed to get back to their target.
Anytime the target ship leaves the hex of the ECM drone it will automatically move at it's original speed to get back to its target.

By Steven Hecker (Sjhecker) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 11:00 am: Edit

I am attempting to learn the LDR and we were looking to play the LDR Campaign, T9.0 (in Scenario Book #2). Question we have is about repairs between the 5 scenarios. T9.0 states repairs are are limited to G17.132, which in turn doesn't mention shields directly. I am concerned my shields are NOT repaired between scenarios.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation