Archive through May 26, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through May 26, 2021
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 02:36 pm: Edit

Your shields ARE repaired between scenarios.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 03:53 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

This seems to be clearly spelled out by (FD9.182). If the ECM drone is moving its maximum speed, it can HET (so long as it has. not HET before in that turn, it can still only HET once in any turn), and must then lose a hex of movement because it did a HET and so would be left behind. If the ship was moving slower than the top speed of the drone(Speed 19 versus a drone top speed of 20), the drone can stay with the ship (its movement is covered by its slower speed).

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 06:09 pm: Edit

Shields are NOT automatically repaired between scenarios.

There are three types of between scenario repairs:
- Tactical Repairs (G17.132): The ship in question has no access to repair facilities or repair ships.
- Operational Repairs (G17.133): The ship in question does have access to repair facilities or repair ships.
- Strategic Repairs (G17.134): The ship is rebuilt at a shipyard. We can ignore this one for this discussion.

(G17.133) Operational Repairs makes a direct reference to (D9.4). In (D9.41) this procedure completely restores the ship's shields. So, if access to Operational Repairs is available, all shields are restored.

However, the (T9.0) campaign makes specific reference to (G17.132), which is the Tactical Repairs rules. That rule explicitly does NOT list anything about the ship's shields in any way. So, if a ship is limited to only the rules in (G17.132), their shields are NOT repaired at all.

This seems kinda odd, as (G17.1311) in (G17.131) Combat Repairs allows unlimited, but slow shield repairs during a scenario (though at the cost of power usage) with (D9.2). As this type of repairs has no limit whatsoever, it would seem that even in a Tactical Repairs situation a ship would be able to spend some designated number of turns spending power to repair at least some shield boxes. But, apparently not.

So, if you are indeed restricted to (G17.132), then you get zero shields repaired between scenarios. If you are winning, I suggest stretching scenarios out to allow for at least some (G17.1311) shield repairs prior to the official end of the scenario.

EDIT: My copy of the rules are not spring-fresh, so maybe there was an update made after mine were printed. Also, there is a ton of cross-references in here, so I could have missed something.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 07:15 pm: Edit

Hi Steve,

In the following example, what would happen to the ECM drones?

Kzinti BC doing speed 16, in 1717, facing A, turn mode satisfied escorted by a T-I-ECM-M and a Fed CC speed 16, in 1716, facing D, turn mode satisfied escorted by a T-I-ECM-M.

We are on impulse 15, after mouvement. On impulse 15, the Kzinti tractors the CA. Pseudo speed becomes 8 for both ships and both ECM drones slow down to speed 8. On impulse 16, both ship are called to be moved. Kzinti BC slips right, Fed CC slip left. This result into a 2 hexes mouvement which is illegal. Random roll define that the Kzinti BC moves first and the Fed CC is delayed.

On impulse 16, Kzinti BC slips right, Kzinti ECM drones slips right since it is called to move as well. Fed CC slips back left and its ECM drone can either try to turn left or HET and go up to speed 20 since it is trying to catch up with the CC. In both cases, the CC loses its ECM coverage.

On impulse 17, Fed CC delayed slip to the left happens, Fed CC drone does not move since it is at speed 20, not the Kzinti drone since it is at speed 8 but will increase its speed to 20 to catch up with the Kzinti BC. The BC loses its ECM coverage.

Is that the proper way to handle ECM drones while tractoring?

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 08:32 pm: Edit

Mike West, I suggest you run that by SPP. I think you are mistaken

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 10:42 pm: Edit

Marcel,
The Fed CC will actually move 1st since its TM is a 'D' compared to the Kzinti BC TM of 'C'.
So if the Fed CC slips left, the Kzinti BC's move is delayed if it still wants to slip right.
The ECM drones will follow each ship.
However, on the next imp when the BC moves, the Fed drone will be behind the CC [off the #2] so it has to decide if it HETs or move normally trying to get as close as possible to the Fed CC.

Cheers
Frank

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 10:44 pm: Edit

Marcel,
WAIT !
The Kzinti ECM drone will actually be behind the Kzinti BC if the BC wants to slip right so it must HET or move normally.
My bad.

Cheers
Frank

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 01:14 am: Edit

Mike Grafton, I posted my response in a topic where he is the final authority. The very act of my posting means I am running it by SPP.

Until then, show me where I got the rules wrong. It's entirely possible, and I am more than happy to be shown my reading is wrong. I have shown my work; show yours.

By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 03:56 am: Edit

Mike (West),

My interpretation would be as follows:

(G17.1321) explicitly states "Repairs under this level use the (D9.7) repair system but can repair a total number of systems equal to three times the limitation of (D9.76)." And since repairs under (D9.7) can be conducted simultaneously with shield repairs under (D9.2), ships undergoing Tactical Repairs under (G17.132) would simultaneously be repairing their shields under (D9.2).

The limiting factors for shield repair are power, damage control rating, and time. There is no limit on the total number of shield boxes you can repair. Hypothetically, if a scenario ran long enough, a ship could repair every shield box it had several times over.

So the question is how long the interval between scenarios actually lasts. I would argue that it is plausible to assume that unless specifed otherwise by special rules, the interval is long enough to complete all (D9.2) repairs.

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 08:09 am: Edit

Alan, I agree that is how it should work. But it doesn't say that. And since it is explicitly called out in the rules above and below it, but not stated in that rule, it can only be assumed. It isn't outright stated. Without something to enable it, you can't do it.

By Steven Hecker (Sjhecker) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 09:35 am: Edit

Alan, I'd like to agree with you, but 9.7 (and 9.2) is during a scenario. If I leave the scenario first with shield damage (First instance, my opponent is sniping at the small freighter, so I grab it and leave), can it be assumed, before I reach the next scenario, I stop/slow down and repair shields? Can I repair shields as I travel to the next scenario since I only need power to do so? I have some time as I can repair up to 6 systems (minus what I repaired under 9.7), but do I have enough time to repair all my shields while in flight? I am hoping for a yes, but not seeing a rule stating yes.

By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 12:04 pm: Edit

Tactical repairs allow you to break out the spare shuttles between scenarios. Since that is stated (in the shuttle rules) to take 100 turns that would seem to be more than enough time to repair the shields.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 04:28 pm: Edit

Mike WestL:

Nothing in (G17.132) limits or restricts repairs under (G17.131). You can continue shield repairs and if enough time if available (defined basically by the campaign, since there is no time limit expressed, it can be assumed the LDR ship has enough time to repair its shields).

Marcel Trahan:

Sequence of play, the drones will. move after the ships move. Since the ships must move before the drones, the drones will make their movement decisions after the ships, not at the same time as the ships. Other Than the correction on which ship moves first that Frank Lemay cited, it seems you had the situation correct.

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Friday, May 21, 2021 - 05:52 pm: Edit

Cool. Glad I was wrong.

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 10:45 am: Edit

(S1.2) states "CAMPAIGNS in section (U0.0) are collections of related scenarios. Mini-campaigns (T0.0) are shorter campaigns, often without time for repairs between scenarios."

This leads me to believe that there may not be time to do all the repairs for the T9.0 scenarios.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 12:10 pm: Edit

Ken Kazinski:

And what, in the introduction to the Campaign as "The career of the typical Lyran Democratic Republic Defense Force Captain" leaves you to believe the scenarios of the campaign all occur during one significantly short period of time? While repairs are limited by (G17.132), each scenario is distinct and the ship is allowed to purchase commander's options to either replace expended stores, or to get stores that are useful in the specific scenario depending on the opponent. The ship may not have visited a repair facility, but clearly visited some logistics asset between battles.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 03:33 pm: Edit

Another thing is the campaign requires the Captain to engage each of the enemies of the LDR that existed in Y167. You could manage I suppose to say that four of the five of them could be on a very narrow stretch (the Orions and the Monster show up on the Corner of LDR space that bisects the Klingon and Lyran frontiers, or the Hydran and Lyran Frontiers, or the Hydran and Klingon Frontiers), but that still leaves you with travel time to encounter the last foe (whether Hydran, Klingon, or Lyran). But, again, this is not just one really busy day in the life of an LDR captain. These are encounters over his career while commanding this ship. In theory, it is things done during one four or five year period in his life, and not all the things he did while in this particular command.

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, May 23, 2021 - 01:35 pm: Edit

Steve - just pointing out that in mini-campaigns (T-series rules) that repairs may not be possible. The type and quantity of repairs would be governed by the specific scenario (Tx.x) rules. Supporting rules listed below:

(S1.2) "CAMPAIGNS in section (U0.0) are collections of related scenarios. Mini-campaigns (T0.0) are shorter campaigns, often without time for repairs between scenarios."

(T1.0) "... Mini-campaigns are usually, but not always, fought in rapid succession that repairs are not always possible between scenarios."

Where (U1.0) is clear that repairs are performed.

(U1.0) "... Between scenarios, ships are presumed to stop at a starbase or other facility for repairs and replacements." The rest of section (U1.x) discuss the repairs and replacements.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 24, 2021 - 12:55 pm: Edit

Ken Kazinski:

I do not understand the point you think you are making. Campaign (T9.0) allows the players to use (U1.4) one time for an overhaul. Again, the five scenarios are not Back to Back to Back, they represent separate events in one captain's tour, and looking at it again, they events all occur in a single year (Y167). You could change the year and toss in an encounter with an Andromedan and an encounter with the ISC (Y195 is the end dater for the LDR).

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - 08:39 am: Edit

Hi Steve,

I have a question regarding C7.1: Disengagement by acceleration.

If a ship trying to disengage by acceleration and has remaining impulse power after house keeping, is it required to use 1 point of impulse power to go to its maximum speed or only available warp power is required?

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - 03:43 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

The available examples in the rule make it plain that if it is available, i.e., not used for housekeeping, a point of impulse power must be used. There is an example in the rule where a Klingon D7 must move Speed 29, and it is noted that it cannot move Speed 31 because it has lost two engines. So it if is available, it must be used and counted for the disengagement speed.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - 05:11 pm: Edit

SPP, can you use ALL your available impulse for housekeeping just to wseasel around the rule?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - 06:27 pm: Edit

Mike Grafton:

You cannot pour more power into something than it can use. But if your ship requires 4 points of power for housekeeping, you can use four points of impulse, provided you do not have any APRs.

Take the D7. 39 points of power generation. 30 of it warp, four of it impulse, one of emergency impulse, and four APRs. So disengagement speed is 31 and you cannot. get round it.

But if the ship is shot up and has no APRs and four points of impulse remaining, you CAN use all four points of Impulse to pay for housekeeping.

Lets say your ship has exactly 15 points of warp power and no other power. All your weapons are gone, so you do not. need to pay for fire control. All your shields are down, so you do not need to pay for shields, and your opponent will gut you because you can (for acceleration purposes) only accelerate to Speed 11 trying to disengage. So, you can disengage, because there is no reason not to pay for housekeeping, which takes four of the 15 points, meaning your ship can move its maximum possible speed of 11 with 15 points of warp power.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, May 26, 2021 - 02:33 pm: Edit

Hi Steve,

Question regarding damage to small ground base.

R1.14A2 specifies that they don't use the DAC. Does it mean that damage can be applied to sensor, scanner, DC and excess damage before all other internal are gone?

R1.14C2 specifies that small ground bases cannot be targeted from further away then 5 hexes. Is that rule valid when a small ground base is going lowered or raised from a planet, or when being towed in space by another ship?

G14.746 specifies that bases carried for deployment are treated as cargo. They are damage as cargo bu the DAC. Does that include excess damage (or are the base(s) excess damage added to the TUG/carrying unit)?

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, May 26, 2021 - 03:49 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

1. Yes, but remember they are not excluded from the effects of those hits (Hit on sensor, bas cannot lock on, hit on scanner, increase range, etc.).

2. No. It only applies if the base is on a planet, moon, or asteroid. Not if it is being lowered or raised from such surfaces, and not if it is cargo in transit In which case is absorbed cargo hit the transiting unit takes as any other cargo pod.

3. The bases as cargo do not combine any of their systems with the tug (or freighter), and as they are inactive the systems cannot be used by the tug (or freighter). They are simply a collection of cargo damage points that are scored on cargo hits on the towing unit. They cannot be targeted independently from the tug. They are for all intents and purposes a cargo pod when in transit, and yes the excess damage box of the base can be hit as one of the cargo hits, but has no effect on the tug or freighter that was hauling it.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation