By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, May 27, 2021 - 01:12 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
Question regarding SM7.0 Space Dragon.
SM7.45 specifies that a dragon cannot take any action while ravaging (moving or attacking).
Does it include the use of the tail to defend itself from seeking weapons?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, May 27, 2021 - 03:17 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
That question does not seem to have been asked before, and I have spent some time thinking about it, and I think the answer has to be "no, it cannot use the tail to defend itself while ravaging." You get into the question of just what is "attacking" and what is "defending." The tail can be used to "defend" against seeking weapons before they hit, but it can also be used to attack a shuttle that is too close (Range 0). So why could. not the Space Dragon use its eye-beams to attack such a drone before it enters its hex? Or attack a Stinger fighter before it fires? The dragon is intelligent, and can calculate whether or not an opposing force is a danger to it before it commits to ravaging a planet, and can decide to not ravage a planet until the opposing force is destroyed for driven off.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Friday, May 28, 2021 - 10:11 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
I have a question regarding LRG range on Jindarian bombers:
E18.63 specifies:
* The LRGs on frigates, fighters. and PFs are limited to a range of ten
hexes.
The bomber SSD shows the LRG table good to range 15.
Which one is the max range, 10 or 15?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, May 29, 2021 - 01:16 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
It it 10. Sorry about the error.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 02:56 pm: Edit |
SPP,
Quick question re DEFSATs, do they get the small target modifier just like drones ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 04:53 pm: Edit |
Rules question about Ballistically targeting bases on the ground.
You can target a base on the ground ballistically. But...since ballistic targeting does not seem to require an actual lock on to the hex. Could you target a base. On a side of a moon. Like you are on the F side at range 4. But target a base on the C side? Launching direction C...so it steps forward and off direct line to the moon. Then runs down the line to arrive at the moon...but one south in direction D. At this point it turns to the moon and comes in from side D. and then strikes the base on side C? There appears to be no requirement that when ballistically targeting you have a line of sight to the hex side targeted nor actual lockon to the hex targeted.
Though you would have lock on to the hex the moon is in. The line of site in this case does not exist to the hex side. So could the base in C be targeted by ballistic targeting even though there is no line of site. The base will be able to shoot the drone coming in. So at time of entry. There is line of site to the base. Which is in hex side C. While the drone enters from hex side D then strikes a target in hex side C.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, May 30, 2021 - 11:10 pm: Edit |
Charles
If a drone has ATG and can gain a lock on after reaching the target hex. Then I would think yes. I am wondering if you could do that with plasma uhmm?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 31, 2021 - 11:58 am: Edit |
Charles Lemay:
The rule states that they are considered to be drone sized targets and specifically references (E1.7) which is the small target modifier rule. Of course it also says they cannot be fired on unless they fire. So, yes, I would have to say they get the small target modifier as drones do [0-9 (0), 10-19 (+2), 20+ (+4)].
Charles Carroll:
Rule (P2.713) includes "Weapons cannot be fired for ballistic bombardment under passive fire control (D19.0) as target tracking is inadequate." That requires a lock on to the target, and a target on the opposite side of a planet or moon is blocked from lock-on by that planet or moon. You do not have "adequate target tracking" to ballistically launch the seeking weapons. Ballistic weapons do not have tracking and move in a straight line from launch to impact, see introduction to (F4.0). If launched on a ballistic trajectory, the weapon has. no tracking and cannot "Turn" to face a new direction. If launched facing direction A (or B, or C, or etc.) it must continuously move in direction A (or B, or C, or etc.). It can adopt a regular pattern of sideslips, but it will move in the plotted direction even if an enemy tractors it and drags it to a new trajectory, it will continue to move in the direction it was launched until it runs out of fuel.
Gregory S. Flusche:
You should read (P2.713) for ballistic targeting, and (R1.14C2) for launching at small ground bases, and (F4.0).
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, May 31, 2021 - 05:28 pm: Edit |
Note that a "regular pattern of sideslips" is "move in direction A, sideslip in direction B, move in direction A, sideslip in direction B" or "move two (or three or four or etc.) hexes in direction A, sideslip in direction B, move two (or three or four or etc.) hexes in direction A, sideslip in direction B." Essentially because of the map grid, you may have to adopt such a course to "move in a straight line to the target." You canNOT Turn, e.g., move 20 hexes in direction A, turn to direction B and move 20 hexes. A "move in direction A, then a sideslip in direction B, move in direction A, then sideslip in direction F" while a regular pattern of sideslips, would obviously violate (F2.21) and it should be obvious that by having been launched on such a trajectory (ballistic) the seeking weapon essentially forgoes the ability to use an HET.
Not that this applies to the use of (P2.713), but does apply to (F4.0), and can apply to (D19.22).
By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 - 01:39 am: Edit |
I launch a type IV multiwarhead drone on a ballistic course. I set it for random release on size class 3 units within 8 hexes. I am a size class 3 unit. The following impulse does the drone release submunitions at me (assuming there are no other size class 3 targets within 8)?
Are there any options for a MW drone targeted ballistically on a hex to release against a primary target or must they release only on random targets within a designated size class and range?
If a MW drone is ballistic and releases randomly at a target within 8 must the submunitions be guided at release? If no unit is able to provide guidance at release are they immediately inert?
Fighters able to fire four III-MW drones at once often have insufficient channels to guide 12 submunitions. If they must be guided at release is the idea here that they will set them to release one at a time and immediately hand off guidance to the VI drones (or get help from carriers/escorts/SWACs, EW fighters, etc)?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 - 03:12 pm: Edit |
David Jannke Asked on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 I launch a type IV multi-warhead drone on a ballistic course. I set it for random release on size class 3 units within eight hexes. I am a size class 3 unit. The following impulse does the drone release submunitions at me (assuming there are no other size class 3 targets within eight hexes)?
REPLY: Why they are used defensively by ships and bases against drones, and offensively or defensively by fighters.
David Jannke Asked on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 Are there any options for a MW drone targeted ballistically on a hex to release against a primary target or must they release only on random targets within a designated size class and range?
REPLY: Rule (FD8.22) says their targeting is set by (FD7.3). It will under (F4.411) move in a straight line (ballistic) and will only release if its targeting instructions indicate. Note that under (FD7.3) you can set the minimal release range from the target, and the target is obviously not your ship.
David Jannke Asked on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 If a MW drone is ballistic and releases randomly at a target within eight hexes must the submunitions be guided at release? If no unit is able to provide guidance at release are they immediately inert?
Fighters able to launch four type-III-MW drones at once often have insufficient channels to guide 12 submunitions. If they must be guided at release is the idea here that they will set them to release one at a time and immediately hand off guidance to the VI drones (or get help from carriers/escorts/SWACs, EW fighters, etc.)?
REPLY: See (F4.42) which notes that (FD7.37) is an exception to guidance being provided for type-VI drones and that this also applies to Multi-warhead drones. See also (FD7.3751).
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 - 04:25 pm: Edit |
Davic Jannke:
To be Clear, you launch the weapon with instructions under (FD7.3) that it is targeted on a hex or a unit that is more than the release range (you also set under (FD7.3). If your own ship (or other units) meets the targeting crtieria under (FD7.3), then you are going to be targeted. But there is no reason a MW drone is going to release on a size class because you are that size class and just launched it. If you told the drone not to release until it was within Range 4 of an enemy ship (or a hex in space that happens to be near something that meets the targeting criteria) it will not realize simply because your ship met the conditions (except for the range) when it launched it.
By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Wednesday, June 02, 2021 - 10:11 pm: Edit |
Ok, thanks. I appreciate your help and think I understand most of those.
From your reply it sounds like a ballistic (and I am only thinking about ballistic here) MW has a target hex and a range to that hex (the minimal release range) at which point it is eligible to release on targets that meet its criteria. Being within the designated range of the hex does not make it release but does make it eligible to release.
Do I have that right?
Does this mean that a ballistic hex targeted MW drone is not allowed to have a ship primary target and so must release on the random setting (at a set range/size + range to the hex)?
Am I correct that any ship launching a MW drone with a primary target must have lockon to that target (and presumably that the MW drone cannot be ballistic)?
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Thursday, June 03, 2021 - 01:32 pm: Edit |
Question on (R1.F7) electronic warfare fighters. Do fighters that carry RALADs count a drone fighters or would they be other?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, June 03, 2021 - 04:04 pm: Edit |
David Jannke:
Your basic understanding is correct. However, a ballistic MW Drone uses the (FD7.3) targeting instructions, and under (FD8.222) this can be a ship and the submunitions will seek targets under (FD7.34) and (FD7.371).
As to your second query, no a ship can launch an MW drone ballistically under the rules, it simply lacks the sensor to use the Wild Boar targeting so it cannot use that longer range (unless it was a scout).
Ken Kazinski:
I am old and may not remember things as well as when I was younger (I am not kidding with this), but I do not recall any fighter, whether normal or EWF, that is listed as having RALADS as its munition. RALADs replace drones, they are a substitute if I recall correctly. You have a fighter armed with drones, and choose to arm it with RALADs on one or more rails in place of the drones. Just as if you chose to arm a type-I drone rail with a type-VI drone. It is still technically a drone armed fighter. I may not be understanding your question.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Thursday, June 03, 2021 - 07:16 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
That answers my question.
Thanks.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Friday, June 04, 2021 - 09:12 am: Edit |
Hi Steve,
Do Pl-F DefSat have PPT's for their plasmas?
Can Gorn Pl-F Defsat use the carronade?
SSD seems to indicate no in both cases but it is not specified in the R1.15 section.
Marcel Trahan
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, June 04, 2021 - 11:57 am: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
I think that (R1.15B) is a pretty clear indication of "no" to both questions.
"Drone racks (and plasma racks) can’t be reloaded during the scenario. All drones are type-I (no special warheads) of the historically current speed (no limited or restricted speeds). Disruptors fire every turn, hellbore and photons every second turn, plasmas every third turn. Plasma-D racks use offensive mode only.
All weapons have a 360° firing arc. The ph-3/G will only fire at seeking weapons or fighters within two hexes. No weapons can be overloaded"
And of course the lack of a carronade table on the SSD or PPT check off boxes for any of the Plasma-Fs on a DefSat.
Basically the weapons on a DefSat are very simple as presented in (R1.15C). The weapons cannot be overloaded, cannot have special drones. As the introduction says they have the characteristics of Captor Mines, rule (M4.413) can be used and is pretty definitive that the answer is no.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Friday, June 04, 2021 - 10:00 pm: Edit |
Thank you Steve.
That was just for clarification
Marcel
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 04:42 pm: Edit |
Question regarding Nebula:
P6.2 specifies that a unit within a nebula has 9 points of ECM provided by it.
Does it mean that a unit inside a nebula that fires at a unit outside a nebula does have to counter 9 ECM since the targeted unit (which is the unit in that case) is not in a nebula?
Or,
Does it mean that the nebula provides 9 natural ECM as long as either or both units are in the nebula?
If we literally follow P6.2, only units inside a nebula have 9 ECM but unit outside don't and nowhere it is specified that a unit outside a nebula fired on by a unit inside a nebula has the 9 ECM wich would make sense since nebula degrade firing ship sensors.
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 04:53 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
Nebulaes are very large (more than one mapsheet), but the rules allow you to play along the edge. If you are playing along the edge, the ECM applies to a unit inside the nebulae, but has been interpreted as applying to any unit outside of the nebulae if a unit within the nebulae fires at it. So if a Ship inside the nebulae fires at a ship outside of the nebulae, or vice versa, the target ship benefits in either case.
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 04:58 pm: Edit |
Another question regarding nebula.
If a ship inside a nebula pays for full shields and exit a nebula, at what point during the sequence of play does the shields go from minimum to full power for the ship that has just exited the nebula?
Is it in the ship mouvement segment, after the damage caused in the mouvement segment, raise shields segment or at the end of the turn?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 08, 2021 - 06:32 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
Near as I can make, in over 40 years that question has never come up. There are two parts to it, as the question is also when do the shields lose full status on entering the nebula. I am going to have to consult with SVC on this.
By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 08:39 pm: Edit |
Strange question was asked lol. A crippled ship...part of a fleet...wanted to transfer some of its T bombs by transporter to a ship better able to use them.
G25 appears to say this is not allowed. My belief is that is what it says anyway. But...the idea of using one transporter and moving a T bomb that you could transport. Just do not activate...would seem like it could work. Anyway...can it be done or not? Obviously this would come up...really rarely.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 09:11 pm: Edit |
It's permissible. The example in G25.3 specifically refers to t-bombs being transferred by transporter. However, there is a limitation in that t-bomb transfers cannot be used to exceed a ship's maximum number of t-bombs. So a size class 3 ship that already had four could not accept one, but a size class 3 ship that didn't have any could accept up to four. Also, once transferred, there's a delay before it can be activated. As mentioned in the same example, a t-bomb transferred on turn 3 could be used no sooner than turn 5.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |