By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 09:32 pm: Edit |
All ships had full T Bombs to start.
So...that would not work as far as I can tell then John.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 09:45 pm: Edit |
My interpretation is that permissibility is determined by how many the ship has at the time of the potential transfer, not at the start of the scenario. So an SC3 ship that started with four but has already used two could accept two replacements.
By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 10:00 pm: Edit |
Interesting.
G25 has this to say
The cargo transfer rules are not intended to give you extra spare
fighters or T-bombs or chaff packs or anything else.
So....maybe?
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 10:31 pm: Edit |
If two SC3 ships each start with 4, I don't see a transfer between the two as creating "spares." It's just shifting the total allotment of eight between the two ships (assuming one ship is now below 4 and can accept the transfer). Instead, I read "spares" as referring to additional mines in storage that would take the two ships above the maximum of eight they can start with.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 10:40 pm: Edit |
Think of it this way. Suppose two Hydran ships each launch six fighters. While the fighters are operating independently, one of the ships is crippled and can no longer land fighters. The surviving ship can still land six fighters, even if some of its own six were destroyed during the mission. This didn't create "spares." It's just re-allocating the original allotment.
By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 10:51 pm: Edit |
I have no problem with it.
I am just wondering how it is going to be interpreted by Steve. Me personally. I agree with you. Which is why I said...it could be seen as not allowed. Which is why I want a ruling.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, June 11, 2021 - 01:53 pm: Edit |
Charles Carroll:
No ship can have more T-bombs at one time than it is allowed during a scenario. If it uses some of its allowed T-bombs, then it can receive replacement T-bombs from another ship during the scenario. As others have noted. It is technically possible for a ship of size class 3 to use 8, or 12, or 16, or etc. T-bombs by transferring the T-bombs of other ships to it as it uses its stock of T-bombs, but at no point can it have had more than its allowed 4 T-bombs. If it uses a T-bomb on Turn #1, then it is eligible to have a T-bomb transferred to it during Turn #2, but it cannot have more T-bombs at one time than it is allowed.
By Garth L. Getgen (Sgt_G) on Friday, June 11, 2021 - 05:42 pm: Edit |
What about ships that have Cargo boxes? Per Annex 7K, small mines (T-bombs) take 2 Cargo Points of storage space.
If a Fed POL, for example, uses it's two T-bombs, can it then transfer two more out of the Cargo Boxes, presuming it has some (costing 4 Commander's Option points each per Annex 6)??
I mean, if you can't do this, what good is the ability to purchase more T-bombs above the full load in the ready rack that the ship comes with???
Also, it appears that the only way to buy Dummy T-bombs is to buy real T-bombs, yes? There is no option to buy extra Dummy T-bombs, right?
So, two questions: 1) are you REQUIRED to take the Dummy T-bombs when you buy real ones? 2) How much cargo space do they take up? I presume 2 spaces just like real ones, no?
Garth L. Getgen
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, June 11, 2021 - 05:58 pm: Edit |
Garth Getgen:
See the second paragraph of the Introduction to the Rules Section. There is no intention to use this rule to provide extra items except where in it is specifically allowed [see (R2.R5), (G25.4), and (FD2.455) for examples, this is not a comprehensive list]. Dummy T-bombs come associated with T-bombs, and if you wanted to transfer those as cargo to another ship during a battle they could only be transferred if that ship had a space for it. See (M2.52), basically they are easier to destroy but otherwise are handled like the mine they simulate except they require transportation (by a transporter) to be activated and say "I am a T-bomb, Fear Me, Approach at Your Peril."
By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Friday, June 11, 2021 - 07:54 pm: Edit |
Thank you Steve Petrick.
As always it is appreciated.
Chuck
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 03:46 pm: Edit |
Question about WS 3 and an R torp ship.
A ship with an R torp starts a battle at WS 3. Could this ship downgrade the R torp to an S torp in its launcher thereby paying a holding cost of 2 points for the S torp.
Then if an opportunity presents itself, it just needs to spend 1 btty point to upgrade the held S torp to an R torp .
Is this possible and or legal ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 04:03 pm: Edit |
Well I have done just that and no one called me on it
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 07:05 pm: Edit |
Frank,
(FP1.221) Rolling Delay, (FP1.91) Rolling delay,
and (FP1.93) Accelerated Arming
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, June 13, 2021 - 09:55 pm: Edit |
Frank,
also (FP1.222), and (FP1.96) Reserve Power
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 03:20 pm: Edit |
Frank Lemay:
In short, it is legal.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Monday, June 14, 2021 - 05:33 pm: Edit |
SPP and all, thanks !
Cheers
Frank
By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 08:09 am: Edit |
Hi Steve,
I have 3 questions regarding Space Boars.
If the space boar moves in its target hex and the target moves out of that hex on the same impulse. Does the boar has time to use its tusks?
When the boar is following/seeking a target, when does it move? As a monster (before any units) or as a seeking weapon (after ships)?
When the space boar uses its tusks, when does it happen in the impulse activity order? Mouvement/seeking/direct fire?
Marcel
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 03:51 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan:
I am going to need a little time here, I am working on a project for SVC which is tying up the bulk of my time and I cannot research your question just now.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 21, 2021 - 12:49 pm: Edit |
Marcel Tahan:
All three questions in regards the Space Boar are essentially answered by (SM18.451), but was reinforced by the Article on Space Boars in Captain's Log #44.
Essentially a Space Boar entering your ship's hex by its normal movement will ignore your ship, i.e., it will not attack, whether your ship remains colocated through the movement segment or exits the hex bay moving after the Space Boar entered the hex. Even if your ship fired on the Space Boar it will pay it no attention.
If, on the other hand, the Space Boar has decided in its own mind to target your ship, it moves as a seeking weapon. That is to say your ship must move BEFORE the Space Boar moves, and the Space Boar can see what hex you moved into and choose its hex of movement as a seeking weapon (leading your ship) and if it enters your ship's hex, it will attack. The damage from the Space Boar's attack would logically come as part of the Damage During Movement Stage and (in keeping with the Seeking Weapons Motife) would be resolved with other seeking weapons in that stage (e.g., before asteroid damage).
If on the next impulse (as result of rolling again) it chooses to attack your ship again and your ship does not leave the hex, the Space Boar remains in the hex also and attacks again. If your ship left the hex, the Space Boar (if Speed 27 will move) also moves and attacks your ship again (and then rolls to see what it will do on the next impulse, which means things could repeat again, but this is unlikely, possible, but unlikely).
Hope this helps and sorry for the delay.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, June 21, 2021 - 02:14 pm: Edit |
Hi Steve,
Were you ever able to connect with SVC on the question about the timing of when a nebula impacts shields as you enter or when they return to normal when you exit?
Thanks,
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 21, 2021 - 03:15 pm: Edit |
John M. Williams:
We started to discuss it, but did not reach a resolution.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 21, 2021 - 03:43 pm: Edit |
Marcel Trahan asked on Tuesday, June 08, 2021: Another question regarding nebula.
If a ship inside a nebula pays for full shields and exit a nebula, at what point during the sequence of play does the shields go from minimum to full power for the ship that has just exited the nebula?
Is it in the ship mouvement segment, after the damage caused in the mouvement segment, raise shields segment or at the end of the turn?
ANSWER: You could raise full shields during the "operate shields step" of the "MARINES ACTIVITY STAGE (6B7)" of the Impulse you exited the Nebulae.
SVC cited the above on reviewing the situation.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, June 22, 2021 - 09:43 pm: Edit |
Question re mixing fighter types
A Fed CVS in Y173 loses 5 of its 12 F4's.
In Y174, could this Fed CVS get 5xF18s as replacement when resupplied and keep the 7 surviving F4's ?
In short, it will now have 7xF4 and 5xF18.
Or does it need to be supplied with a full squadron of F18s ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 01:15 pm: Edit |
Frank, I don't know if this is 100% applicable, but IIRC, there is a rule for organization different kinds of fighters on a CVA that, as its example, makes reference to a Fed CVA as being able to operate one squadron of 12 F-14 and one squadron of 12 A-10, or two squadrons of 6 of each type, or, or, or...
Unless I'm totally off, that would suggest that your CVS with a mixed squadron would be perfectly acceptable.
HOWEVER, even though I'm a know-nothing, grade 4-F "Civilian No-Class," I know there're two HUGE hurdles to having a squadron of the composition you mentioned. First of these is whether the pilots flying the new fighters (the F18s) are qualified in type and, if they are, which most likely means they're new/replacement pilots for the carrier, how squadron integrated are they?
I know that last element is not part of the SFB rules, but ask any fighter pilot how important squadron synergy is and you'll likely get a VERY long lecture on just how critical it is.
For this reason, I would think that, in all likelihood, instead of operating with the mixed squadron that you mentioned, the whole unit would be rotated to training, outfitted across the board with the new fighter type, and another squadron, if available, would deploy aboard the CVS.
That's just my know-nothing 0.002 Quatloos worth; please take it as such.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 01:17 pm: Edit |
Frank Lemay:
I cannot put my finger on a rule that specifically allows, or disallows this situation. However to discuss things.
One can easily see the situation coming up. Fighters from another carrier being picked up.
But after that you have maintenance issues and the fighter ready racks. And those maintenance issues and ready racks are not just on the carrier, they apply to the escorts as well. A CVS has not just the 12 ready racks on the carrier, but four ready racks on the escorts that have to be configured for fighters. Are you going to have one escort able to service F-4s and the other F-18s, or both with one rack for each type of fighter?
Note that we have not even touched on the spare fighters in storage or those provided by (R2.R5).
Basically, I am afraid that if a Federation CVS is changing configuration to F-18 fighters, it is at a base (there is nothing in the rules that allows a carrier to change the configuration of its ready racks while not at a base, the rules simply assume that the carrier was at a location between scenarios where this was possible), and given FCRs to supply the ship with replacement fighters while it is operating, I think that if it was in any case switching to F-18s, it would switch all of the fighters and turn in any remaining F-4s at that time.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |