Archive through July 25, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through July 25, 2021
By John Smith (Johnsmith) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 04:01 pm: Edit

Is there a chart for pod weights? If not, where do I find them?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 04:17 pm: Edit

Frank Lemay:

To try to be a little clearer. A Federation CVS is not just the 12 operable fighters in its hangar. It is 20 fighters. The CVS carries four spare fighters of its own and has a Destroyer Escort in its escort group that under (R2.R5) has another four spare fighters. If you assume the CVS was operating F-4 fighters then the spare fighters and probably the fighters picked as cargo on the DE are also F-4s, and it picked up the F-18s from another carrier (or perhaps a base, or a PDU) that were orphaned (when the other carrier, or the base, or the PDU was destroyed) and five of its F-4s were lost. You could choose to operate the F-18s, or to "strike them below decks" and replace them with the fighters in storage. But if you operate the F-18s you will do so with the "Kzinti Weight-lifting Team" rule, because your ready racks are not configured for them. As such, I do not think the fleet will continue to provide you with replacement F-18s (any such would have to be operated by the Kzinti weight lifting team rule) until you came in to dock, and when you did that, I think they flat would swap you out entirely for F-18s rather than just recoonfigure five of your ready racks for F-18s, and record that your carrier is "special" and further confuse the resupply situation with FCRs bringing forward F-4s and F-18s to your carrier.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 04:22 pm: Edit

John Smith:

See Annex #3A in Module G3. The tugs are listed in the first half, but if you continue reading the rest of the annex is given over (after the notes for the tugs) to "POD Weights" by empire.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 05:23 pm: Edit

SPP,
It is a campaign related question.
I think I will keep it simple and have all fighters the same.

Thanks for your time & clarifying.

Cheers
Frank

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 07:19 pm: Edit

(J4.46) SQUADRON ORGANIZATION:

Frank I think You would have problems with Squadron organization. ending up with two different squadrons and that would suck when lending EW and other things to the fighters.

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 07:59 pm: Edit

Gregory, (J4.461) specifically says there is no requirement for a given squadron to be of the same type of fighter. (J4.463) limits a squadron to one EWF. (J4.921) says a fighter may receive lent EW from an EWF in its squadron (uncrippled, within 3 hexes, has lock-on).

(J4.46) does say squadron organization is done "before the scenario" and (J4.466) says fighters from one carrier can land aboard another carrier of the same empire and be added to a squadron during a scenario as long as they are a type the carrier already operates.

Thus, a CVS that starts the scenario with 12 F-4s cannot add them during a scenario. But between scenarios, if the CVS had lost fighters and for whatever reason only 5 F-18s were available as replacements for whatever reason (campaign features very specific spare/replacement fighter accounting, SH historical scenario background, etc) with any other losses filled out by F-4s, then it would start the next scenario with a single squadron of 7 F-4s and 5 F-18s - and could accept mid-scenario replacements of either (though until it is able to put in at base, however that is defined within the campaign or background) it would have the mismatch ready racks issue.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 - 09:02 pm: Edit

Alex did You read this part? I am not sure if it matters but it is in there
(SH196.0). A Federation CVA operating F-14s
and A-10s cannot incorporate F-8s, F-4s, F-15s, F-16s, F-20s, or any
other fighter type into its squadrons, but could mix the F-14s and A-10s

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 02:13 am: Edit

Yes I did, and that doesn’t contradict any of what I said. That section of (J4.461) you quote is accounting for (J4.466). A Fed CVA with F-14s and A-10s in a scenario with a Fed starbase that is operating F-18s, F-14s, and A-10s. The CVA has to form its fighters into the minimum number of squadrons possible (J4.461) which as it has 24 fighters and the maximum squadron size is 12 (J4.462), will be two. It can mix F-14s and and A-20s in any way it likes, save that each squadron can only have one EWF (J4.463).

During a scenario, it can switch a fighter from one squadron to the other which takes a full turn and a deck crew action. Since (J4.462) must be observed, this can only be done if the receiving squadron is below 12 fighters, i.e has suffered casualties. (Now if fighter can be switched from squadron A to squadron B while another fighter at the same time is being switched from squadron B to squadron A while both squadrons are at full strength is another question.)

(J4.466) allows an F-14 or an A-10 from the starbase to land aboard the CVA and spend a turn under (J4.465) to be added to one of the CVA’s squadrons with room to receive it, but not the F-18s (or the F-15s from the planet’s ground bases or the F-20s from that AuxCV or what have you).

By John Smith (Johnsmith) on Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 03:45 am: Edit

SPP: Thanks. I thought I had looked thru my copy of G2, but I missed the page between the MSC and the PF chart.

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 05:58 pm: Edit

Ok was just curious is all. Not all that up on the Rules and was just wondering is all.

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 06:50 pm: Edit

No worries, fighter squadrons can be trickier than they look!

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Monday, July 19, 2021 - 07:53 pm: Edit

Question re Romulan leader ships.

The KE, KRC/KRL are leader ships.
Can the KE lead a squadron of KR's or does it need to lead a squadron of WE's ?

Can the KRC/KRL lead a squadron of WE's ?

Thanks.

Cheers
frank

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 12:46 am: Edit

Frank,

in the Captains Advanced Missions (R4.39) King Eagle at last line text,

" They were then found to be extremely useful , and more were produced for general combat purposes allowing squadrons of three King Eagles to be formed"

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 01:01 am: Edit

Frank,

in the (S8.368) Romulans can mix squadrons of KR, Hawk, and Eagle series ships.

By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 01:08 am: Edit

For what it's worth, in Federation and Empire, King Eagles regularly command fleets consisting of older eagles/snipes, KR Klingon converted ships, modern Sparrow/Skyhawks, as well as everything in between. In F&E there is no limitation on what KEs can command.

Similarly, KR Klingon converted ships can also command any other fleet of Romulan ships.

--Mike

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 04:21 pm: Edit

Frank Lemay:

All of the answers given above are indeed correct. A King Eagle can command a force composed of KRs, Hawks, and Eagles, or can be the only Eagle ship in a force otherwise composed of KRs (or Hawks) but is itself the leader, or can be one of three King Eagles in a squadron. There is no rule saying that specific ships can only be leaders for specific ships, whether Romulans, or fo example a Ranger (Command Rating of eight) leading a force composed of Travelers and Kights.

NOTE: There is a rule about Command ships from allied powers.

By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 06:35 pm: Edit

On the other hand, you should consider the operating characteristics of the ships when selecting your force. For example, King Eagles and War Eagles can cloak efficiently, whereas KR ships will find cloaking very energy intensive. A mixed squadron comprising both types of ships will have to deal with that in its tactical considerations.

By Garth L. Getgen (Sgt_G) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 10:09 pm: Edit

Just because you CAN do it doesn't mean you SHOULD do it.


Garth L. Getgen

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 10:18 pm: Edit

Thanks all !

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 02:35 pm: Edit

Extract from an E-Mail from Ramon Snir:

This is a simple question but we are having some trouble agreeing on an interpretation.

Fed DD starts the turn with a fully charged phaser capacitor. Its #2 shield is down from a previous turn. On impulse #10 it fires its LS phasers at a target, and at the same time a different ship fires through the #2 shield and destroys the RS phasers. How much energy is in the phaser capacitors?

One option is 4.5, because 2.5 were used for firing and there are 4.5 energy-worth of phasers not destroyed.
Another option is 2, because at the moment the RS phasers were destroyed the LS phasers were active so their capacitors couldn't "take" the spare energy from the RS phasers.

I can't find any rule that would back up the second option, so I believe the answer is the first option with 4.5, but my opponent is fairly confident it's 2. My opponent agrees that if the damage would have occured on impulse #11 or later it would have been 4.5, but the concurrency of the situation voids this statement from (H6.3).

ANSWER: While the described damage is happening on the same impulse and in the same direct-fire weapons fire stage (at the same point in the sequence of play), (H6.3) is the rule. In essence, the capacitors were empty because the power was withdrawn from them to fire the phasers. See the Sequence of Play in which damage is applied after weapons are fired. So the Capacitors that remain have a capacity (in your example) of 4.5 points of energy, and if the capacitors were holding 7 points of energy, or 4.5 points of energy because 2.5 points were fired on the same impulse that two capacitors were destroyed (in your example) the remaining capacitors would still be holding 4.5 points of energy

Note that this only comes up in the resolution of damage from direct-fire. Damage during movement (seeking weapons, asteroid collisions) and hit-and-run raids could destroy the capacitors and the power would be lost.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 05:08 pm: Edit

Note,
on the damage allocation chart (DAC), Phaser hits should be in arc Phasers first (unless any phaser), and then move to next column in (DAC) for no Phaser in arc hit from internals.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 05:12 pm: Edit

Wayne Douglas Power:

I am not sure what you are getting at. The Right Side Phasers can fire through the #2 shield, and were destroyed by fire through that shield, so the DAC was properly used even it it was not mentioned.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 06:26 am: Edit

Apologies, I made a mistake (I thought it was right arc) and did not check the SSD.
(I think my mind thoughts wondered into the SFB Campaign games I am involved in when I was posting that one)

all good

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 11:20 am: Edit

Wayne Douglas Power:

No worries, just making sure I did not miss something.

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 10:04 am: Edit

ESG question:

The rules seem pretty clear that an ESG could be announced on imp 32 of a turn even though there was no energy in it at the point of announcement. It is also pretty clear that if no energy were added during allocation, the ESG would continue to turn on or could be cancelled by impulse 4.

My question is whether or not an ESG (assuming it is properly cycled) could be announced even though there is no energy in the capacitor at other times during the turn? In other words, could an ESG be announced with zero energy in it on imp 16?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation