Archive through August 03, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through August 03, 2021
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 10:17 am: Edit

Well it would be a great tactical advantage to be able to do so. You can use reserve power to operate a ESG.

You could not power the ESG. Instead put the power into overloads and/or speed. Move toward the enemy. Announce ESGs.. The Opponent reads EA and goes speed has to be low as power to ESGs... Turns off. A speed increase gets You within range 8 for overloads on a rear shield..

I am thinking should be legal.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 11:14 am: Edit

Sounds like a heck of a term paper.

SPP?

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 01:11 pm: Edit

I am not thinking about using reserve energy to power the ESG imp 16. What I am wondering is whether or not it can be turned on with zero power in it on imp 16. I am sure there would be the normal associated restrictions before it could be brought up again.

My guess is that the turn break thing is a one off and that my zero power imp 16 idea isn't how it actually works. The same thing can be accomplished with just 1 point of power in the cap. Worth asking about though!

By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 05:22 pm: Edit

What i was thinking was I could announce the empty ESG and if needed use BTTY power (reserve power) to activate it if i went the whole 4 impulses.

That would be the same as announcing on imp32 or 31 and not powering it and stop on imp2

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 05:44 pm: Edit

Can you turn on a tractor beam or fusion beam with zero power?

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 06:52 pm: Edit

No, but you can turn an ESG on imp 29-32 of a turn with zero power. And it will come up after 4 impulses (and then fall), still with zero power.

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 08:10 pm: Edit

Btw...I am not suggesting at all that it would/should be possible to add power to the ESG after the ESG is announced. I don't think it should. I am simply wondering if you can announce an always will be zero power ESG at times other then imp 29-32 assuming the ESG is cycled and able to be announced.

I suppose an extension of the same question is, could you announce a zero power ESG even if there is power in the ESG cap?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 09:29 pm: Edit

Jack, (not a 100% certain)

it looks like the ESG needs to have energy in it to be considered raised, it would need at least 1 point to form.
(G23.322) a zero strength ESG is considered to have been dropped.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 09:35 pm: Edit

Jack,

I believe you can do the ESG announcement (zero strength and not raise it on the 4th imp, by canceling it) , at other times during the turn out side of imps 29-32.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 09:50 pm: Edit

Gregory,

(G23.21) Energy is allocated to ESG during allocation phase

(G23.212) Reserve power (H7.2) can be added to the ESG generator (or capacitor); it cannot be added to an active ESG field to increase or restore its strength or to extend its active period.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, July 26, 2021 - 12:01 pm: Edit

Rule (G23.311) is pretty specific that you cannot activate an ESG field during a turn without knowing at the stat of the activation period what radius of the field you intend to raise AND THE POWER that is in it, since you have to record that information as part of the announcement.

Rule (G23.312) is pretty clear that if you are activating at the start of a turn it forms an exception to (G23.311), but it does not allow you to activate the field in mid-turn with no energy planning to add reserve power or no power before it comes up.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 11:58 am: Edit

G35.643 says that at weapon status II half the MWPs can be deployed. If there happen to be a odd number of MWPs, what happens to the odd MWP? Can it start deployed or does it start in the hanger?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 12:53 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:

See (A3.5). Round Fractions of 0.5 up, fractions less than 0.5 are rounded down. A half a ship is rounded up to one. So if you have three MWPs, two of them can be deployed.

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 01:31 pm: Edit

"A half a ship is rounded up to one"

Can I use this for ultimate Damage control if my ship has exactly half of its internals remaining?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 02:10 pm: Edit

Ginger McMurray:

I do not understand the question. But for calculations, the rule says to round up.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 03:42 pm: Edit

Thanks, SPP.

Two more questions on MWPs and the warp booster packs allowed by Module C3A.

1) Under normal circumstances, the Andromedan player allocates internal damage to the systems box of his choosing instead of using the normal PF damage allocation process. If the Andromedan player has to allocate a point of damage to the warp engines (presumably because that's all that's left), is a single box marked or do you follow the PF procedure and roll a die to determine the amount damage done to that warp engine/WBP combination?

2) The new Andromendan PFs are an exception to the normal rule that a newly launched ship is limited to a speed of 10 (PFs can launch at 15). Does have WBPs on an MWP make it "PF like" enough that it can now accelerate and launch at a speed of 15, or are they still limited to speed 10?

Thanks in advance.

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Friday, July 30, 2021 - 10:25 pm: Edit

I was being goofy. If I have exactly half of a ship I want to be able to "round it up" and have a whole ship again. ;)

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, July 31, 2021 - 04:38 pm: Edit

John M Williams:

Sorry, but it is all bad news on the Mobile Weapons Platforms in Module C3A. Yes, if the warp packs take a hit for any reason, there is a chance it will cause more damage, roll a die. But they cannot accelerate any faster than a standard Mobile Weapons Platform. Adder PFs can as is specifically mentioned in their rule.

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 08:46 pm: Edit

Good evening SPP, I have 2 plasma questions. I'll put the second one in the next post.

An R torpedo travels travels 26 hexes, meaning it's warhead is down to 10. It receives 15 points of phaser damage, which reduces the warhead by another 7 points. It enters the hex of its target and there is and ECM shift. The roll is 6, so the torpedo scores 50% damage.

Now, I am uncertain as to the order of this. Is it 50% of the base warhead (10), leaving 5 and then subtracting the phaser damage, which would make it zero.

Or is it a 3 point warhead reduced by 50% meaning it would score 2 points (1.5 rounded up to 2)?

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 08:49 pm: Edit

Second question:

An F-torp is launched on impulse 1. It moves until impulse 16 (it's 15th hex of movement).

On impulse 17, the target ship moves into the hex that the F torp was in. It has been asserted to me that the torp is still there even though it is 16 impulses from the launch, and that the target ship would then take 1 point of damage.

I was under the impression that the torpedo essentially vanished at the end of the 15th hex of movement and would not carry over until the next impulse.

Any clarification would be most appreciated.

By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 10:20 pm: Edit

Peter as far as the first question....there is something I was not considering. At what time does all the various damage that occurs to a Plasma Torp get added up and applied?

Is it when it occurs? As in you get shot on impulse 22 and all the damage applies then. Leaving some of the value left. Or...does it take effect at the time the torp impacts? If, as two people believe damage is applied as it is done. So it would be a 10 point as of now torp, takes 7 points of damage on impulse 22 and drops to 3 points. So when it impacts, you roll for EW adjustment and as happened, it takes only 50% damage, since all damage occurred the impulse before on imp 22 so 3 divided by 2 is 1.5 rounded up to 2. Torp hits on impulse 23.

However, if you apply damage to torp when it impacts which is not done any other time then it would be a 10 point torp which loses 50% at the time it hits dropping it to 5, and then a possible number of impulses later, you now consider any and all damage that was done of impulses in the past, so 7 is taken off and it is -2 so does no damage. I cannot see that as reasonable based on the sequence of play. The idea that damage that happened in the past is only applied when the torp finally hits is outside of the way damage is normally applied.

By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Monday, August 02, 2021 - 10:25 pm: Edit

Peter as for your last question, A torp does damage based on the hexes it has moved. Not based on the hexes it has existed. I see where the idea that on impulse move 16 an F torp would no longer be anything but gas dissipating into space.

However, since you moved into the hex the torp was in and the torp never moved on impulse 16. As the rule
(FP1.42) ENDURANCE: Plasma torpedoes have a maximum
endurance of 32 impulses, but, as their warhead strength steadily
decreases, they will reach zero strength before moving all 32 hexes.
If a unit that is a target of a plasma torpedo enters the hex of that
torpedo as part of its movement, the torpedo strikes the target and is
not regarded as having moved that impulse for purposes of warhead
reduction.

States....the torp is still at the strength it was when it moved into the hex last impulse. Only once it moves again, will it have the chance to reduce warhead strength.

By Peter DiMitri (Pdimitri) on Tuesday, August 03, 2021 - 09:27 am: Edit

SPP:

An addendum to the first plasma question:

If the phaser reduction is applied first and then that warhead is reduced by the EW shift, it results in lost phaser damage.

Example:
R-Torp has 50 point warhead. 20 points of phaser damage are done to it, resulting in 10 points of lost warhead, or 40 points. It impacts the target and with the EW shift gets a 50% damage result. The impact is 40*50%=20 points.

But if no phaser damage had been done, the impact would have been 50*50%=25 points.

In other words, even though 20 points of phaser damage had been applied, which would normally result in a 10 point loss, it only results in a 5 point loss. This phaser damage is simply lost because of the sequence? This is the reason why I am confused by the assertion that the phaser damage is applied before warhead reduction.

Again, any help is appreciated.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, August 03, 2021 - 04:14 pm: Edit

Peter DiMitri asked on Monday, August 02, 2021: An R torpedo travels travels 26 hexes, meaning it's warhead is down to 10. It receives 15 points of phaser damage, which reduces the warhead by another 7 points. It enters the hex of its target and there is and ECM shift. The roll is 6, so the torpedo scores 50% damage.

Now, I am uncertain as to the order of this. Is it 50% of the base warhead (10), leaving 5 and then subtracting the phaser damage, which would make it zero.

Or is it a 3 point warhead reduced by 50% meaning it would score 2 points (1.5 rounded up to 2)?

ANSWER: Phaser damage is going to occur the impulse BEFORE the warhead strikes. Phaser damage occurs during direct fire, and if it was scored at most the impulse before the plasma torpedo impacts its target. So the warhead reduction is applied and the strength of the warhead when it impacts (or the target moved first and entered the torpedo's hex) is already reduced to three. The EW shift will result in 50% of the warhead, and rule (A3.5) will round 1.5 to two points of damage.

Second question: An F-torp is launched on Impulse #1. It moves until Impulse #16 (it's 15th hex of movement).

On Impulse #17, the target ship moves into the hex that the F torp was in. It has been asserted to me that the torp is still there even though it is 16 impulses from the launch, and that the target ship would then take one point of damage.

I was under the impression that the torpedo essentially vanished at the end of the 15th hex of movement and would not carry over until the next impulse.

Any clarification would be most appreciated.

ANSWER: At the end of the movement segment of Impulse #16 the torpedo is removed from the board. All movement has concluded, and the torpedo has no strength on Impulse #17. Note, the end of the Movement Segment as it is always possible that the torpedo could hit what it was targeted on by the target entering its hex during that movement segment after the torpedo itself had moved.

An addendum to the first plasma question:

If the phaser reduction is applied first and then that warhead is reduced by the EW shift, it results in lost phaser damage.

Example:
R-Torp has 50 point warhead. 20 points of phaser damage are done to it, resulting in 10 points of lost warhead, or 40 points. It impacts the target and with the EW shift gets a 50% damage result. The impact is 40*50%=20 points.

But if no phaser damage had been done, the impact would have been 50*50%=25 points.

In other words, even though 20 points of phaser damage had been applied, which would normally result in a 10 point loss, it only results in a 5 point loss. This phaser damage is simply lost because of the sequence? This is the reason why I am confused by the assertion that the phaser damage is applied before warhead reduction.

ANSWER: "(FP1.612) Record damage points made on a plasma torpedo during its movement, and adjust the strength of the weapon accordingly on impact or when asked for current warhead strength." Phaaser (or other) damage is not reduced and is applied to the warhead. If the reduction for range and for phaser damage results in the warhead being destroyed it is removed at that time. But you do not lose phaser damage points. If ten points of phaser damage were scored, the plasma-R torpedo would disappear at the end of its 25th impulse of movement.

By Charles Carroll (Nosferatu) on Tuesday, August 03, 2021 - 05:09 pm: Edit

Steve Petrick

Ok so....even though the rule states that if you move into the hex. You hit the torp as IF it had not moved and was at the strength it was at the impulse before...we ignore that on the last impulse of movement.

Only if a torpedo has additional hexes it can move does the damage stay the same. Such as the strength is 10 on impulse 15. On impulse 16 as the torp moves the strength drops to 5. So if I slam into the torp without it moving I take 10? Reasonable.

But then the same should apply on the last impulse of movement or not at all. If on impulse of movement 15....the torp is 1 point. Then when I move on impulse 16 and slam into the torp. It should be 1 point. Just as it is still 10 points rather than 5.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation