By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 10:12 am: Edit |
I have always played that at a 1-1 cost.
The only time it's 2-1 is if you accelerate "temporarily" using reserve. IE plot 20 1-32..use reserve to bump to "some higher speed" for 8 impulses to get a hex or 2 at a crucial moment...
Or.. my life is a lie.. Like Andy.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 10:15 am: Edit |
duplicate
By Graham Cridland (Grahamcridland) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 11:07 am: Edit |
I thought it was 1-1 too.
I have not yet made contact with my opponent, and now am getting ready for some travel which will put a crimp in operations. If WDP would like to play, I am going to offer my spot.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 11:18 am: Edit |
It is always 1:1 if you go the new speed for the rest of the turn. So if you are, say, plotted 21 all turn, and on impulse 17 accelerate to 24 for the rest of the turn, you are gaining 2 hexes, and as you are moving the new speed (24) for the rest of the turn, you spend 1:1.
If you gain hexes at a new speed that you *aren't* going for the rest of the turn, it costs 2:1.
For example:
If you have plotted speed 16 all turn, and then unplotted accelerate to 24 from impulse 9 till impulse 16, and then dropping back down to 16 from 17 on, that is gaining you 2 hexes, but costs you 4 reserve power, 'cause 2:1.
In my specific instance, I had plotted 21 till impulse 8, 30 till impulse 24, 15 till the end of the turn. I wanted to accelerate to 30 a few impulses earlier (on 5 for 6, so I gained that 1 hex of movement). As I wasn't moving speed 30 for the rest of the turn (as I had plotted a slow down to 15 on impulse 24), I was compelled to pay 2:1.
As far as I understand the (admittedly complex) unplotted speed change rules.
By Norman Dizon (Ichaborn) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 01:16 pm: Edit |
1984 HIGH SCHOOL SCHEDULE AND ITINERARY
* ADDENDUM TO PREVIOUS DOT-MATRIX PRINTOUT *
5TH PERIOD - ADVANCED SPACIAL DYNAMIC ALGEBRA WITH INSTRUCTOR PETRICK
* NOTE: BRING YOUR 3-INCH COMMANDER'S RULEBOOK EVERY DAY TO CLASS. WRITE YOUR FULL NAME IN PENCIL ON THE INSIDE COVER IN CASE IT GETS MISPLACED OR LOST. DO NOT WRITE IN PEN!
By Andy Koch (Droid) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 03:41 pm: Edit |
I rarely increase speed whole cloth, I.E. plot 16 and use reserve to gain a hex for 8 impulses then go back to 16, just to avoid the double cost...
But MANY times I've either accelerated a couple impulses early or extended it a couple impulses before decelling again, and paid 1/1. IE plot 16/31/16 and use reserve to extend the 31 segment before decelling back to 16... Blissfully unaware that I am cheating
Another question: does the client know this? because nowadays I just plug in the speed change and pay what it tells me to...
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 03:50 pm: Edit |
I'm almost completely certain that my understanding of that rule is correct; i.e. that if you have a slow, fast, slow speed plot, use reserve power to either make the fast part come earlier, or go a little longer, but still drop to slow, you pay 2:1. As you didn't move the new speed for the rest of the turn.
It isn't impossible that I am incorrect. But give the wording of the rule, it seems like it is correct.
I dunno if the client always handles it correctly; in this particular instance (i.e. 21/30/15, use reserve warp to increase to speed 30 a few impulses earlier, gaining one hex of movement, but then still slowing down to 15 by the end of the turn), the client *did* specifically get it correct. I gained 1 hex of movement, at 2/3 move cost, and the client charged me 1.333 power. Which I specifically remember, as I can never figure out 2/3 move costs conversion to decimals :-)
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, August 04, 2021 - 06:35 pm: Edit |
Peter's description is my understanding as well.
By Geoffrey Clark (Spartan) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 11:12 am: Edit |
Wow, I'm kinda shocked by this. For a long time I played with the assumption that ANY un-plotted speed change would cost 2-1.
I think it was a post by Peter in Sapphire-7 (similar to the one above) that clued me in that everybody else is generally paying 1-1, especially when the change is good through the end of the turn.
This is pretty important for flexibility, un-plotted speed changes can really make a difference in determining shield boundaries just before fire, for example, as MadJack schooled me on recently!
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 12:26 pm: Edit |
Heh, yeah, originally, unplotted speed changes were always 2:1, so if you (I/we) learned these rules in the 80's or 90's, the 2:1 is gonna be stuck in your head. Or at least they were practically always 2:1. But I think there was a confusing sentence in there that, in 1999 or so, got clarified into the current rule, which is you pay 1:1 if you move that whole speed for the rest of the turn, and only pay 2:1 if you are gaining some hexes in the middle of the turn, but then slowing back down again later.
This had a huge impact on the game, most notably in the "plot speed 4 all turn, and then suddenly be moving 14 in the middle of the turn off of batteries if it turns out that your opponent is just leaving to avoid tangling with you at speed 4". And generally means that plotting a consistent speed for the later half of the turn is more optimal than not (as you can just bump up at 1:1 with a great deal of lattitude); conversely, it is also really easy to do a Fast/Slow plot, and then use batteries just to turn it into a Fast/Fast plot if needed.
By Ronald J. Brimeyer (Captainron) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 01:36 pm: Edit |
A while back I had speed change/shield facing come up in a game with Paul Scott. He claimed that you must use your current speed and not the announced speed when deciding shield facing during direct fire. The logic being that you do not start moving your new speed until the beginning of the next imps. So you can not change speed after movement to change shield facing.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 01:51 pm: Edit |
I agree with you Ron- I think it works that way. I think I got Geof by using a speed change to move onto a down shield. Then rolled 6 sixes on six dice. Bet no one else has done that! Maybe ever!
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 02:41 pm: Edit |
I'm pretty certain that is correct; your new speed from a speed change doesn't take effect until the next impulse (checks SOP...).
Yeah, (C12.36) specifically states that you announce a new speed during step (6A4) and execute it the next impulse during step (6A2), and it specifically indicates the 1 impulse delay and that you are considered your original speed until step (6A2) of the next impulse.
So if you are moving speed 16 on impulse 8, and declare a speed change to 27 effective impulse 9, you are still speed 16 for all purposes on impulse 8 (such as determining relative shield facing).
By Jason Gray (The_Hood) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 06:04 pm: Edit |
"got clarified into the current rule, which is you pay 1:1 if you move that whole speed for the rest of the turn"
I think everyone agrees this is the case, which makes it a shame that the 2012 Master Rule Book still has an Example that totally contradicts the clarification.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, August 05, 2021 - 11:34 pm: Edit |
Steve Petrick, take a look at the above situation.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, August 06, 2021 - 01:40 am: Edit |
(C12.24) ,
the power allocated must generate a number of movement points equal to double the number of hexes of movement gained, but not more than if the increase had been for the entire turn, and not less than one hex of movement energy.
in examples ,
the cost cannot exceed the cost of the speed increase for an entire turn
By Jason Gray (The_Hood) on Friday, August 06, 2021 - 05:41 am: Edit |
Page 37, second paragraph.
"If the ship had a plotted increase to Speed 20 on Impulse #23, and made an unplotted increase to Speed 20 on Impulse #16, it would gain two movement points (and pay the cost of four movement points)."
By Andy Koch (Droid) on Friday, August 06, 2021 - 10:13 am: Edit |
I still don't know what C12.24 means.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Saturday, August 07, 2021 - 11:24 am: Edit |
Captain Ron (Vudar) over MadJack (Fed+G)
I fired at Range 8 turn 1 as I wasn't going to get any closer then range 5 where his Cannons hit better then my photons. I shot his #1 (which is what I wanted) and then figured I would get some mizia shots with unfired P1's before he could close the range. Ron's plan was to fire at range 5, as expected, and he plotted a partial HET so that he could get that shot and ensure I could not get range 4.
My photons were 3,6,6,6. I would have missed with 3 at range 2. I rolled good with phasers but did not knock the shield down. I could have forced him have to take a range 6-8 shot too but then he might not shoot at all and just run me over t2 so I kind of allowed the range 5 shot. As it turns out it didn't matter where he shot from as he rolled 3,5,5,7 with the Ion Cannons and 6, 2, 3, 1, 5 with 5 p1's for a total of 66. That's ALOT of damage at range 5. It would have been too much damage even at range 8. And he has another phaser to fire.
Obviously I was dead and Ron moves on! Good luck Ron!
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, August 07, 2021 - 11:52 am: Edit |
Well, that's the end of the Vudar run.
And all the ICs hit at R5. Unprecidented!
By Andy Koch (Droid) on Monday, August 09, 2021 - 10:22 am: Edit |
NERF THE VUDAR
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Monday, August 09, 2021 - 10:56 am: Edit |
I think the odds of rolling 3 or less 4 times in a row on one die are 6.25% percent.
Anyone know the odds of rolling 7 or less on 2 dice 4 times in a row? I guess the odds must be better.
I tried finding an answer online, no luck.
Stats hurts my brain.
By F Michael Miller (Fmm) on Monday, August 09, 2021 - 12:54 pm: Edit |
I calculate that to be 11.58%
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Monday, August 09, 2021 - 02:04 pm: Edit |
Awesome, thank you.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 12:04 pm: Edit |
Hey! Where we at, everyone?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |