Archive through October 08, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through October 08, 2021
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, August 31, 2021 - 12:54 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:

In regards to Sabot Torpedoes, the designers notes were not phrased well. But rule (FP11.315) is not negated as a result.

Marcel Trahan:

See (D6.397) which says "EW has no effect on monsters unless the special rules for a given monster say otherwise." which I think pretty much answers all three questions.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Sunday, September 12, 2021 - 09:50 am: Edit

I have a question regarding DefSats.

The SSD specifies that disruptors are range 15, Photons are range 30, HB's are range 40, Ph-2 are range 50 and Ph-3 are range 15 are range 40.


R1.15 specifies that ''They have many of the characteristics of captor mines.''.

R1.15B specifies ''The ph-3/G will only fire at seeking weapons or fighters within two hexes.''

R1.15D specifies ''If there is a player to control the DefSats, they are treated as command mines''

R1.15D2 specifies '' Each DefSat will fire its phaser-2s and heavy direct-fire weapons at any size-6 or larger target that comes within five hexes true range''

(M4.424) specifies: ''Unless otherwise noted, the maximum range of all direct fire weapons mounted on captor mines is fifteen hexes (effective range).

(M4.43) specifies ''TRIGGERING: Captor mines fire automatically (M5.112) at any target that enters any hex within their detection zone, which has a radius of up to six hexes (this must be set by the owning player before the scenario begins).

My questions are as follow:

For a controlled DefSat, what is the range of heavy weapons (other than Disruptors, DC's and PC's) and Ph-2. Range 15 or the range shown on the SSD?

If controlled, can Ph-3/G fire at any units at range 15 or less or they are limited to size class 6 and 7 within 2 hexes?

Rules are unclear.

Marcel Trahan

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 12:09 pm: Edit

Hi Steve,

I previously asked the following question but i haven't have an answer.

I have a question regarding DefSats.

The SSD specifies that disruptors are range 15, Photons are range 30, HB's are range 40, Ph-2 are range 50 and Ph-3 are range 15.


R1.15B specifies ''The ph-3/G will only fire at seeking weapons or fighters within two hexes.''

R1.15D specifies ''If there is a player to control the DefSats, they are treated as command mines''

R1.15D2 specifies '' Each DefSat will fire its phaser-2s and heavy direct-fire weapons at any size-6 or larger target that comes within five hexes true range''

(M4.424) specifies: ''Unless otherwise noted, the maximum range of all direct fire weapons mounted on captor mines is fifteen hexes (effective range).

(M4.43) specifies ''TRIGGERING: Captor mines fire automatically (M5.112) at any target that enters any hex within their detection zone, which has a radius of up to six hexes (this must be set by the owning player before the scenario begins).

My questions are as follow:

For a controlled DefSat, what is the range of heavy weapons (other than Disruptors, DC's and PC's) and Ph-2. Range 15 or the range shown on the SSD?

If controlled, can Ph-3/G fire at any units at range 15 or less or they are limited to size class 6 and 7 within 2 hexes?

Rules are unclear.

Marcel Trahan

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 12:39 pm: Edit

A few questions about Andromedan operations.

As I read D10.42, an Andromedan ship (assuming it does not or cannot have an energy module aboard) can voluntarily drop its PA panels, and any energy contained therein could be transferred to the ship's batteries, assuming the batteries have the capacity to hold it. For example, a Python has 25 points of energy in its PA panels and only 4 points of power in its batteries. If it drops both front and back PA panels, the energy cannot use steps 1, 2 or 3 of D10.424, and then step 4 allows the 25 points to go to the ship's batteries. After the 8 impulse delay required by D10.25, the Python raises its PA panels again. At this point, the PA panels would be empty, and the batteries would hold 29 points of power. Is this maneuver allowed or am I missing something? Obviously, the Python in my example would want to be sure that it can't be fired upon during the 8 impulses that the PA panels are down before it would do this.

Assuming the above is correct, I have a second example I want to verify. I know that degradation and leak points would apply, but I am omitting those steps to simplify the example. A mothership is carrying a Terminator mauler. On impulse 3, it launches the Terminator. On impulse 8, the Terminator fires its mauler, completely draining the batteries. On impulse 10, Andromedan ships fire phasors at the Terminator and add 25 points to its PA panels. On impulse 11, the mothership can recover the Terminator and does so. On impulse 12, the Terminator drops its PA panels, and the 25 points are transferred to its batteries. On impulse 20, the Terminator raises its panels. On impulse 21, the Terminator is launched again. On impulse 24, the Andromedans use phasors to add 20 points to the Terminator's PA panels. On impulse 25, the Terminator can now fire a 45 point shot (25 from batteries and 20 from PA panels). Is this example permitted? As I read G19.443, a satellite ship cannot be launched or recovered within 8 impulses of the other action, but there is no limit on the number of times that this can occur. Similarly, E8.323 says that batteries cannot be used to fire a mauler within 1/4 turn, and only presumes that this would occur on consecutive turns. However, my example is a scenario where they could potentially be used twice on the same turn.

By MarkSHoyle (Bolo) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 01:34 pm: Edit

Andromedan ships fire phasors at the Terminator and add 25 points to its PA panels.

Unless there is a change I missed...
You can't fire on your own/allied ships...

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 02:02 pm: Edit

Hi Mark,

There is a specific exception for Andromedan maulers. See D1.57.

I've also used this rule to "extend" the range of the P-2s on Andromendan ships. E.g., launch a Terminator mauler three hexes from Andromedan ships. Fire phasors at the Terminator to score about 20 points of damage. The Terminator can then fire these 20 points to a range of five hexes, which would be 8 hexes from the mothership (assuming none of the ships move in the interim for simplicity). In effect, the 20 points of phasor damage were extended out to a range of 8 (or 13 if you're willing to accept half damage). This works really well for long-range sniping of scatter packs.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 02:31 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan asked: I have a question regarding DefSats.

The SSD specifies that disruptors are range 15, Photons are range 30, HB's are range 40, Ph-2 are range 50 and Ph-3 are range 15.

ANSWER: The ranges shown on the SSD are not the ranges of the weapons, those are provided by the rules for DEF SATs as noted by yourself below. The tables on the SSDs are simply the standard tables.

R1.15B specifies ''The ph-3/G will only fire at seeking weapons or fighters within two hexes.''

ANSWER: This is for a DEF SAT that is automatically controlled for solitaire scenarios.

R1.15D specifies ''If there is a player to control the DefSats, they are treated as command mines''

ANSWER: Which frees the DEF SATs from some of the limitations and places decisions on when to fire in the hands of a player running the defenses as opposed to their only being automatically controlled in a solitaire scenario.

R1.15D2 specifies '' Each DefSat will fire its phaser-2s and heavy direct-fire weapons at any size-6 or larger target that comes within five hexes true range''

ANSWER: Which is the limitation of a DEF SAT in a solitaire scenario.

(M4.424) specifies: ''Unless otherwise noted, the maximum range of all direct fire weapons mounted on captor mines is fifteen hexes (effective range).

ANSWER: Which applies to DEF SATs controlled by a player. You cannot fire a DEF SATs photons out to 30 hexes.

(M4.43) specifies ''TRIGGERING: Captor mines fire automatically (M5.112) at any target that enters any hex within their detection zone, which has a radius of up to six hexes (this must be set by the owning player before the scenario begins).

ANSWER: See Sensor Mines and Command Controlled mines (and DEF SATs which cannot be controlled by sensor mines).

My questions are as follow:

For a controlled DefSat, what is the range of heavy weapons (other than Disruptors, DC's and PC's) and Ph-2. Range 15 or the range shown on the SSD?

ANSWER if controlled, maximum range is 15 hexes, if not controlled but on automatic, it is five hexes as per (R1.15D2) unless the DEF SAT is fired on and the unit does not come within 5 hexes range, in which case the DefSat can fire to its maximum range (15 hexes) at that target at the end of the turn as per (R1.15D3).

If controlled, can Ph-3/G fire at any units at range 15 or less or they are limited to size class 6 and 7 within 2 hexes?

ANSWER: If controlled by a player the decision to fire the smaller weapons and not reserve them for defense is up to the controlling player.

Mark S. Hoyle asked: Andromedan ships fire phasers at the Terminator and add 25 points to its PA panels. Unless there is a change I missed... You can't fire on your own/allied ships...

ANSWER: See Rule (D1.57).

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 02:54 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:

I have always thought that a satellite ship could be launched ONE TIME in a turn and recovered ONE TIME. But reading the text now I can see where you would come up with your view, and as I cannot refute it (or confirm it) based on the text, I have no choice but to refer this matter to higher authority, and SVC is currently out of town.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 03:15 pm: Edit

Hi Steve,

No worries. We can confirm that piece when he gets back.

While that part is pending, let me change the example so that the Terminator starts the turn already launched (and thus is recovered once on impulse 11 and launched once on impulse 21). Everything else stays the same. Is the amended scenario legal?

Thanks,

Jay

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, September 22, 2021 - 03:49 pm: Edit

Question re NWO use.
In particular, the Hydran LNH.
The LNH has 4 NWO and wants to make them fighter capable. Is there a cost to do so and if so, how much ?

This same LNH wants to convert 2 of the 4 APR* it has [keeping 2 APR*] into fighter ability.
Is there a cost to do this ?

How many bays would this LNH have if this is ok as it will now have 12 fighters after this is done ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, September 22, 2021 - 05:50 pm: Edit

Hi Frank

If APR* are converted to something else, all of them have to converted.

(G33.22) ALTERNATIVES: APR options on HDWs can be converted to cargo, barracks, repair, battery, or shuttle, but all four must be the
same type.

The cost of ready racks have to be paid as per annex 8H

(G33.23) COST: There is no cost for changing the APRs to any of the other allowed systems. If converted to shuttle boxes, they can be
fitted with fighter ready racks for the additional cost provided in Annex #8H.

Ship description specifies that the LNH has 1 bay.

This ship has one bay, even if fighters are carried in the non-weapon options boxes, holding six fighters and three admin shuttles. More fighters might be added by converting
the option boxes to fighters; all such converted boxes will be part of the existing bay. The bay includes four launch tubes
(J1.54) and is a tunnel deck (J1.58) with three hatches.

Marcel

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 03:38 pm: Edit

Thanks Marcel.

Cheers
Frank

By Fred Werenich (Phredator) on Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 01:14 am: Edit

Either way, this is hard on the shuttle.

Let's say a mine (set to trigger on shuttles only) is in hex 1711. A ship enters that hex going speed 20. Ship launches a shuttle in 1711. Ship then tractors shuttle. Ship then moves to 1712. Ships movement does not trigger mine. Tractored shuttle moving speed 20 towards 1712 would certainly trigger mine. But a ship doing speed 20 tractoring an admin shuttle will surely death drag the shuttle.
Does the shuttle die before it triggers the mine? Or does the movement detonate the mine making the drag moot? or simultaneous?? where in the sequence of play does the death drag occur?
And what happens in the above situation?

By MarkSHoyle (Bolo) on Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 09:33 am: Edit

Only question arises for me...

Why is the player "WASTING" a shuttle.....

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 10:00 am: Edit

(G7.541) The shuttle is not destroyed simply by being held. When the
ship moves (and by doing so attempts to drag the shuttle along), the
shuttle is destroyed in the hex where it was before the movement.

(M2.40) PROCEDURE: If any unit acceptable to the mine’s
instructions (M2.14) moves into a hex of the detection zone (M2.35)
of an armed mine, there is a chance that the mine will trigger.

The shuttle never moves into a triggering hex and thus cannot cause the mine to explode.
of an armed mine, there is a chance that the mine will trigger. To

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 27, 2021 - 12:07 pm: Edit

Hi,

Just following up on my questions from Sept. 16 @ 12:29pm to see if an Andromedan can:

1) voluntarily turn off PA panels to transfer power from its panels to its batteries,
2) get launched more than once a turn, or
3) have a Terminator (or other mauler) use its batteries twice on the same turn after recharging them per the method in my example.

Thanks,

Jay

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Monday, September 27, 2021 - 02:02 pm: Edit

John,

Pending SPP's answer, I'm not seeing anything that would prevent the operation you describe from a rules standpoint - but from a practical standpoint, I'd say if an Andro player can pull it off, then they probably have the scenario well in hand and are showboating :)

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 27, 2021 - 02:19 pm: Edit

It's not necessarily something you would try every day, but I find that the Andromedans provide abundant opportunities for creative strategies. Now whether you can actually pull them off....

By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Monday, September 27, 2021 - 02:58 pm: Edit

All of the things you've outlined are known and documented tactics in general (panel dumping is one of the most basic "How to Andro 101", SatShips safely panel dumping while in hangar, firing at their own maulers, etc) - the fancy part is combining it all in as tight a tight frame as possible as you have.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 27, 2021 - 03:28 pm: Edit

Agreed. There's not necessarily anything new about the component elements; it's the attempt to combine them into such a rapid fire attack that I found intriguing.

However, before seeing whether I could actually pull it off in a game, I wanted to be sure I wasn't inadvertently violating a rule. I didn't think so, but wanted to be sure.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, October 08, 2021 - 01:14 pm: Edit

Just seeing if I can treat Alex's reply as definitive that I can attempt my proposed timeframes without violating any rules.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, October 08, 2021 - 01:25 pm: Edit

I also have an unrelated question. I recently played a base assault that lasted long enough that the Type-D drone racks used all their ammunition. Are the cargo boxes on a base a potential source of spare drones or must spare drones for the base be purchased via commander's options? As a potential second option, if the base has a hanger bay module, can drones be transferred from the module to the base to reload the D rack or are the two separate enough that transfers between the two are not possible?

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Friday, October 08, 2021 - 01:44 pm: Edit

They have to be paid for unless specifically mentioned in the unit's description. See G25.4 for base limitations and FD2.445.

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Friday, October 08, 2021 - 01:45 pm: Edit

See also FD3.44. There are no reloads for Type-D drones as they're carried in the separate magazines.

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Friday, October 08, 2021 - 02:00 pm: Edit

But IIRC you CAN move drones from fighter reload storage. racks to load up the D

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation