Archive through October 20, 2021

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through October 20, 2021
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 12:04 pm: Edit

SPP,
Thanks.
2 more questions.

1- The planning of changing the software can be done at the same time as it is getting repaired ? Nothing extra special to account for ?

2- Can the LB operate a squadron of 4 or more fighters even though it has only 3 to start with ?

Thanks again.

Cheers
Frank

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 12:17 pm: Edit

SPP,
One more quick question.
If the LB lands a fighter from the HR on imp 32, is this considered a game turn for the purpose of changing the software ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 01:53 pm: Edit

The requirements are one full turn. You cannot land on Impulse #32 and claim it has transferred squadrons. It can spend the next turn changing squadrons, but it must spend one full turn in the shuttle bay, and one deck crew action (having two deck crews work on the fighter does. not reduce the time, it still takes one full turn). You can have one deck crew changing the software, and another deck crew repairing the fighter or rearming it. But only two deck crews can work on a fighter (size 1). The rules are not clear other than a single squadron can have as many as 12 fighters and each must either start on the given carrier, or must land on the carrier and remain on the carrier for one full turn.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 02:04 pm: Edit

SPP,
Thanks again.
You have been a great help !

Cheers
Frank

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 04:48 pm: Edit

Question regarding (XD13.0) AEGIS FIRE CONTROL:

XD13.0 specifies the following:

All X-ships have a special version of Limited Aegis (two shots), which can engage seeking weapons, shuttles, and PFs; this is known as X-Aegis. Note that the successive volleys will quickly wreck PFs, one of the reasons that X-ships put PFs out of business.

Does it mean that 2 sets of phasers fired in the same impulse under X-Aegis that do internals will be treated as 2 separate volleys?

Marcel

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 05:04 pm: Edit

Question re ESG damage application.
Lyran CA has 2 R2 ESGs up and in 1010A.
Hydran LB[TM of C] and HR[TM of B] are in 1007D.
There is also a Hydran ST 2 in 1007D.

The 3 ships are scheduled to move next imp and since the Lyran CA is moving faster, the Hydran ships move 1st, the fighter does not move at this time.
Due to movement restrictions, the Hydran ships must move forward.

As I understand G23.571, the Hydran LB has to move 1st due to SOP [and worse TM] so would this ship take the full brunt of the 2 ESGs ?

Or do both Hydran ships move thus crossing the ESG field, the Lyran CA then moves forward thus getting to R1 of the Hydran ships and now hitting the hex where the Stinger is as well.
In this case, do all the Hydran units take damage ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 05:27 pm: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

The principle difference between aegis and X-aegis is that it can be used against PFs (and be used out to 15 hexes range). When you are firing, you can allocate some of the weapons to a target, or targets, fire them. judge the results (essentially a volley for PFs, as shuttles and seeking weapons are usually killed or crippled by the shots)) and then allocate different (previously unfired) weapons in the second firing step.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 05:56 pm: Edit

Frank Lemay:

See (G23.52). Basically the two Hydran ships will split the ESG damage (both moved simultaneously but neither moves completely through the ESG field under Priority #1, they only enter it at the same time despite having different Turn Modes. Priorities #2-#4 do not apply. So under priority #5 both are damaged, and the Stinger is undamaged as the fields are dropped by the damage to the two ships before the Lyran ship can move and cause the ESG field to enter the hex of the Stinger, which did not move with the two ships.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 09:27 pm: Edit

Thank you for your quick replies SPP !
Much appreciated.

Cheers
Frank

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 10:32 pm: Edit

Hi Steve,

For the X-Aegis, my question was that if internal are scored in the first Aegis step, then additional damage is done in the second Aegis step, are those internals treated as 2 separate volleys on the PF DAC (Including warp pack additional damage) or they are combined in a single volley?

XD13.0 specifies ''Note that the successive volleys will quickly wreck PFs, one of the reasons that X-ships put PFs out of business''

If i read well, Aegis fire doing internals are treated as seperate volley (even if not mentionned in D13.0) or in the G3 ANNEX #2 SEQUENCE OF PLAY.

If they are combined in a single volley, then the sentense in XD13.0 has no meaning.

Marcel

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, October 15, 2021 - 11:58 am: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

Sorry, I thought the reference was clear. Each aegis pulse is a separate valley. I did leave something out because I thought it obvious. Each volley is going to rip into the engines if the PF has its warp booster packs.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Friday, October 15, 2021 - 01:01 pm: Edit

Thank you Steve,

Have a nice day.

Marcel

By Jeff Conrad (Ledlogic) on Saturday, October 16, 2021 - 02:32 pm: Edit

Hi Steve Patrick, you mentioned that the large freighter needs to have it's cargo boxes destroyed beforehand before it explodes. Maybe you can help, I am trying to find a way for that to occur. When I run through the DAC for the freighter after five runs I got at most to 44% cargo destroyed. I don't see any substitutions for freighters ( is there an alt rule in an expansion or somewhere that says hull hits count as cargo too?). Here's a link to five separate 100pt salvoes;

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/16JtkrCOdA-O_l8RIn1WyQc-bEprJNfmSFqb7kzqWwTA/edit?usp=drivesdk

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Saturday, October 16, 2021 - 03:32 pm: Edit

Jeff Conrad:

See (D4.36) and (D4.40) in Basoc Set. Basically, you can choose to take an excess damage hit on a cargo box, but if all you have left is cargo boxes (or repair boxes, or mine rack boxes) you have to score excess damage hits on those boxes and have no choice. Basically when you hit damage column M on the Damage Allocation Chart you are going to hit that huge padding of cargo boxes and have to go through them to destroy the ship, because there are no "bold" cargo results, they can always take a hit when called for. So a small freighter (as an example) is not going to blow up until it has taken the equivalent of 26 excess damage or cargo hits, in addition to the 18, other damage points (e.g., 4 forward hull, 1 bridge, 1 emergence bridge, 1 phaser-3, 1 shuttle, 2 right warp, 2 left warp, one impulse, 1 battery, 1 transporter, 1 damage control, 1 sensor, and 1 scanner), which may not be hit before the final excess damage hit shows up (snake eyes and box cars being fairly rare results). Note that if it was taking all this damage in separate turns that a small freighter might get two more damage points (repaired boxes) before it went up.

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Sunday, October 17, 2021 - 07:53 am: Edit

Hi Steve,

I have another question regarding X-Aegis and PF.

When firing under X-Aegis on PF are trated as 2 different volley on the DAC, Do you allocate damage from the first volley and then decide if you do a second firing OR do you fire your two volleys and then allocate damage after firing.

When firing at seeking weapons or shuttles with X-Aegis, you do your fire, see the result and then decide if you do a second firing in the second step. Does the same principle applies to X-Aegis against PF? Do the first firing, see what type of damage is done by the DAC and then decide if you fire on the second Aegis step OR do the first firing, see how much internals are done (if any) and then decide if a second firing is needed and then, do both volleys as per the DAC.


The order of sequence specifies that damage is recorded and once all firing is done, damage is then allocated.

How should PF be treated regarding X-Aegis? Like a seeking weapon/shuttle (Do first step, allocate damage and if needed do the second step and allocate damage)or like a ship (do first step, mark shield damage and record internals, do second step and then allocate the two volleys)

By Jeff Conrad (Ledlogic) on Sunday, October 17, 2021 - 11:19 am: Edit

Thanks, Steve for the rule reference, it's obvious now.

By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Sunday, October 17, 2021 - 10:32 pm: Edit

Under D7.21 the last two boarding parties on a ship cannot be killed by internal damage but could be (irreversibly) converted into a crew unit under G9.431 if the ship is reduced "to or below" minimum crew.

1. If the ship falls "to or below" minimum crew but still has more than 2 boarding parties remaining can I still convert 2 boarding parties into a crew unit or do I have to wait until my boarding parties are reduced to 2 (which could happen due to casaulties or some of the boarding parties leaving the ship)?

2. I convert my last two boarding parties into a crew unit under G9.431. Later two additional friendly boarding parties are brought on board. These might either boarding parties returning to the ship or reinforcements sent from a friendly ship. Are these additional boarding parties now eligible to be treated as the ship's "last two boarding parties"? Are they exempt from being taken as casaulties due to internal damage as in D7.21? Can they be converted into a crew unit if the ship is still at or below a minimum crew as in G9.431?

By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Monday, October 18, 2021 - 01:51 am: Edit

Sorry, misspelled "casualties" but I hope the question is otherwise clear.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, October 18, 2021 - 11:41 am: Edit

Macel Trahan:

Sorry I was unclear. You fire in the first firing step, ALL FIRING in the first firing step has to be resolved, including the DAC. Once you have resolved the first firing step, you can allocate any remaining weapons linked to Aegis to fire, and again all the results of that firing must be resolved before moving on to the third firing step (if a base is present with full aegis or a carrier escort with full aegis is present).

Douglas Saldana:

First question is yes, you can convert the two boarding parties, the rule says so and speaks of more boarding parties being on the ship when the two are converted.

The second question is no, you can only convert boarding parties once, and once the two have been converted you cannot convert any more.

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Monday, October 18, 2021 - 10:35 pm: Edit

Does this properly sum up the procedure for calculating pseudo-speeds between two moving units?

1) Find total movement cost.
2) Determine the speed ship 1 would have at the current cost, dropping all fractions.
3) Determine the speed ship 2 would have at the current cost, dropping all fractions.
4) Ignore one ship's impulse power if necessary.
a) If neither used impulse, speeds remain the same.
b) If only the smaller used impulse, speeds remain the same.
c) If only the larger used impulse, speeds remain the same.
d) If both used it and their size class is different, subtract one from the smaller unit's speed.
e) If both used it and their size class is the same, determine if one is allowed to use theirs.
i) If yes, subtract one from the smaller unit's speed to account for it not being able to use impulse power.
ii) If no, subtract one from both units' speed to account for neither being able to use impulse power.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 02:01 pm: Edit

Ginger McMurray:

See (C2.43). You determine the combined movement cost and speed based on WARP power. An E3 moving a combination of itself and an Federation NCL would spend that was moving speed 10 plus one point of impulse (Speed 11) would move the combination at speed 3 (1/3 plus 2/3 =1 for 10/3 or Speed 3, dropping the final 1/3). If the Federation NCL is using impulse to move, the E3's impulse is ignored, it he NCL was not using impulse power, the E3's impulse is added so that it is moving the whole four hexes (oner the course of a turn) and is pseudo speed 4 (otherwise it is pseuco speed 3 and will move the combination three hex over the coursee of a turn..

By Marcel Trahan (Devilish6996) on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 09:23 am: Edit

I have a question regarding Pl-F DefSat's on automatic mode.

R1.15D1 specifies ''If armed with seeking weapons, each defense satellite will launch one per turn at the first legal opportunity if it has ammunition available and the target is within 50% of the weapon’s one-turn movement range.''

Does it mean that it will fire its Pl-F at range 16 (1/2 of the Pl-F speed 32) or it will launch at range 7, which is 1/2 of its maximum range of 15?

Marcel

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 10:50 am: Edit

Steve:

How does the E3 apply impulse power? C7.36 B says that impulse power from the smaller ship is ignored. It only applies if:

1. It was used by the larger ship*, or
2. It was by only one ship when both are the same size*, or
3. It was used by both ships and both parties agree to allow it.

"However, the impulse power of the smaller ship is ignored. (If the two ships are the same size class, the one with the higher movement cost is considered larger, if both have the same movement cost, ignore all impulse power unless the two ships agree for one of them to use its impulse
power. If only one ship applies impulse power, that power is used by that ship.)"

* In this case "larger" is defined by size class if one is lower and movement cost when size classes are the same.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 11:19 am: Edit

Marcel Trahan:

half of its one turn movement range, i.e, 7.

Ginger McMurray:

I am sure you meant (G7.36B).

The rule is telling you if BOTH ships are using. impulse power, you do not use the Impulse power of the SMALLER ship, the E3. If, however, the larger ship is not using impulse power, the smaller ship's impulse power is used by the combination.Impulse power can only be used to move one hex in a given turn, and cannot be used to move fractional hexes, e.g., an E3 using one point of impulse power can move one (1) hex, not three hexes which is its movement cost if a point of warp power is moved. Further, the hex the impulse power moves the ship, whether a B10 Battleship or a G1 Gunboat is on Impulse #32 of the turn. Note that it is unlikely the E3 would be using impulse power to move because it is inefficient for such a small ship, but that a C8 would almost always use impulse for movement, and ships with a movement cost of 1 will generally use it depending on the situation. But if the E3 used a point of impulse to move, and the ship it was tractored to or by was not using impulse, its impulse would be used to move both ships on Impulse #32.

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 08:30 pm: Edit

Thank you, and sorry for plugging away at this. Pseudo-speeds have always confused me and I want to make sure I get it right. They've come up in almost every game we've played and my tactics will be better if I can calculate them myself instead of relying on the veterans. :-)

My confusion here stems from the sentence saying to ignore impulse but apparently not meaning "always ignore impulse."

I agree it's unlikely to matter with a NCL vs E3 but could come up in other situations with size disparities. Such as a C8 with engine damage vs a Fed CC whose warp is otherwise engaged in recharging photons. Or any number of other situations. Once I'm confident in my knowledge I'll even try to use it to my advantage if I can find a way. Probably not, but it never hurts to try.

Can you point me to the rule which specifies impulse power movement is always on impulse 32?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation