By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Tuesday, April 12, 2022 - 05:40 pm: Edit |
Ken,
(J11.13) Stockpile, carriers receive these pods for free.
(J11.131) Fully-capable carriers have (J4.752) 2x EW, 1x Combat, 1x cargo and 1x Auxiliary. additional pods can be purchased as commanders options (unless description prohibits extra purchases).
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Wednesday, April 13, 2022 - 11:01 pm: Edit |
Thanks Wayne.
I missed (J11.131), that would mean that the initial load outs do not have a cost.
By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Friday, April 15, 2022 - 08:31 pm: Edit |
I am playing in a campaign and have a question on Warp Booster Packs available.
I have Interceptor available in 179 and the PF are not available until 182. K3.61 (below) says booster packs are available "second pre PF turn of interceptor deployment". Assuming two turns pre year, I argue this is the second turn of 179. My opponent says this two turn prior to the PF deployment in 182 (thus Spring of 181). This there been any clarification to this effect?
Thanks!
(K3.6) WARP BOOSTER PACKS
(K3.61) USE: Most interceptors were power deficient and quickly adopted the use of booster packs. (This would be on the second prePF turn of interceptor deployment.) These operate exactly as those
on PFs, except (of course) that they are smaller.
By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Sunday, April 17, 2022 - 10:51 am: Edit |
Are Paravian escorts subject to this restriction (not being able to reload) for Quantum Wave Torpedoes. This weapon is a universal for the Paravian fighters and does not have special rack restrictions (+).
(J4.897) Many carrier escorts (and some other ships) have ready racks and deck crews, but have no fighters; see (J4.62). These racks are used to reload fighters from carriers within that fleet. The player designates each rack as to its type before the scenario/campaign begins. These racks cannot rearm heavy energy-based weapons such as disruptors. These “casual carriers” have supplies for fighters defined in (J4.62), based on the number of racks (as they have no actual fighters). See (R2.R5) for Federation escorts.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Sunday, April 17, 2022 - 11:29 am: Edit |
I have read all of the above and checked the R section for the Paravian escorts. It says they have deck crews to service the fleets fighters. Just like fusions are used on Hydrian ships I am going with yes, they have the proper racks to reload the Q-torps.
There is no other fighter type to reload.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, April 17, 2022 - 05:19 pm: Edit |
David Hanson,
I would agree with Greg. Reading C6 Module, page 39 (R18.25) CWE escort,
This ship has two ready racks (J4.89) and deck crews (J4.81) to support the fighters from the carrier it is escorting.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 01:33 pm: Edit |
Question re the G racks.
I know that a G rack loaded up with 8 ADD will have 16 ADD in storage.
If this rack is loaded up with 4 type IM drones, does storage now have 24 ADD [16 reload plus 8 unassigned ] or is it still 16 or is it any ADD since there were no ADD in the initial load ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 01:43 pm: Edit |
Frank,
By default, *one* set of reloads is ADDs; the remaining sets are identical to whatever was loaded in the rack itself (FD3.72). So if the rack is loaded with 4 type-IM drones, storage would have eight ADD rounds, with the balance in type-IM drones (four until the Y175 refit, eight thereafter).
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 02:35 pm: Edit |
Thanks Jessica.
Follow up question, a MRS with 6 ADD's, does it have 2 sets of reloads as per E5.71 or none ?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 04:37 pm: Edit |
Good question, Frank.
Rule (J8.53) does say, "... it is assumed to have an appropriate ready rack for its weapons, twelve reload ADDs (if the MRS has an ADD system), four extra chaff packs, and twenty spaces of drone storage..."
(The next rule, (J8.531), goes on to detail what the twenty drone storage spaces consist of, but that's irrelevant to what you're asking. )
Anyhootch, the direct answer is that the MRS with 6 ADDs will have two sets of reloads.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 - 07:04 pm: Edit |
Thanks Jeff.
I did not see J8.53.
Cheers
Frank
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Friday, April 22, 2022 - 04:49 pm: Edit |
G18.12 states that displacement devices are destroyed on flag bridge hits. However, a Dominator also has two flag bridge boxes. So how do you allocate a flag bridge hit on a Dominator?
The "Multiple Weapons" damage allocation in D4.322 doesn't mention DisDev's, but seems to have a general rule that the third hit must be on the best type of the weapon.
Does this mean you can apply the hit(s) to the two flag bridge boxes before to have to destroy a DisDev?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, April 22, 2022 - 05:38 pm: Edit |
John, that's what it looks like, besides even if there was a priority similar to the special sensors, it would still take a third hit to force the issue ...
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, April 22, 2022 - 06:45 pm: Edit |
To add another reference, Flag Bridges are not subject to the damage priority rule (D4.322), see Annex 7E. Annex 7E does list the displacement device.
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Friday, April 22, 2022 - 07:55 pm: Edit |
While Flag Bridge is not listed under damage priority, the fact that displacement device is at least suggests to me that you would have to include one in any three hits, so on a theoretical ship with 3+ Flag Bridge boxes and a dis dev, I would think you'd have to hit the dis dev on the third hit, but could definitely take the first two on Flag Bridge.
By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, April 22, 2022 - 08:50 pm: Edit |
Basically, a DOM that repaired a Flag Bridge would still have to take the third hit on a Dis Dev, I think.
Not likely to come up very often really.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, April 23, 2022 - 08:57 am: Edit |
Can you provide a reference to why you would have to hit the displacement device on third hit? I don't see anything in (D4.3) or (G18.12) that states you have to take the third hit on the displacement device.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Saturday, April 23, 2022 - 12:34 pm: Edit |
D4.3 doesn't mention displacement devices, but it does seem to create guidance that when multiple weapons are covered by the same "hit", that the third hit has to be applied against the best type of that weapon. Applying that same logic to DisDev's, you could apply the first two hits to flag bridge boxes and then the third would have to go against the DisDev. A Dominator only has two flag boxes so it's a moot point, but a Devastator has three flag bridge boxes so it would go flag, flag, DisDev, flag.
On the other hand, you could also argue that NOT mentioning DisDev's in the priority rules was intentional, and that therefore the priority rules do not apply.
Either way, it appears the answer to my question is that the Dominator has two "free" flag bridge hits before it has to destroy a DisDev box.
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Saturday, April 23, 2022 - 05:08 pm: Edit |
D4.3 doesn't mention DisDev because it's not a "weapon," i.e. it is not hit on Phaser, Torpedo, or Drone hits. So on further review, I don't think there are _any_ restrictions on taking DisDev hits. The "every three hits must include one best weapon" rule appears to only apply to systems struck by Phaser, Torpedo, or Drone hits. So pretty sure you could take a Flag Bridge hits all day before taking a DisDev hit.
By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Monday, April 25, 2022 - 08:06 am: Edit |
I wish SPP would return to answer these kinds of questions!
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Monday, April 25, 2022 - 09:25 am: Edit |
G2.26 indicates that out of control ships cannot use displacement devices. This indicates that flag bridges can be destroyed before DisDevs as otherwise there's no way to become out of control while still having active DisDevs.
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Monday, April 25, 2022 - 11:37 am: Edit |
Mike, I think we all will be VERY happy when SPP comes back
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Monday, April 25, 2022 - 12:39 pm: Edit |
In case anyone knows the answer to this:
What are the deployment restrictions on the conjectural Andromedan PFs published in C3A?
The rules are very sparse and make reference to default to both the rules for MWPs and general PFs. So, with PFs, you are limited to a standard of six PFs in a flotilla. But, with MWPs you can have up to twelve combat MWPs operate together. Which takes precedent? (I assume it is the "six PFs in a flotilla", but want to make sure.)
The reason I ask is because an Intruder can carry 12 "hangar spaces" of units. It would be pretty cool if it could just say, "Screw it!" and carry twelve PFs.
Also, the PF rules say that PFs can actually be deployed in groups ranging in size from 4 to 8. If only 4 are present, then no PFL or PFS can be used. If 7 or 8 are used, then the PFS can only cover five of them, plus itself. (In effect if there are eight PFs, it is a six PF flotilla, plus two casual PFs. There are additional restrictions on going above six, too.)
The reason for this is getting back to that Intruder. Assuming it can't just carry 12 PFs, it can carry either 6 PFs plus two Vipers or 6 PFs plus one Mamba. But, if it is carrying a Cobra, it has room for 8 PFs. It'd be really cool to be able to have all 8 of those PFs, even if two are effectively just casual PFs.
I am hoping that this was answered before and someone can just point it out. Otherwise it can wait as long as it needs to.
By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Monday, April 25, 2022 - 04:45 pm: Edit |
VERY interesting ponder-point, Mike! Thanks for bringing it up.
Maybe it's just because of the way I game, but I've always held that, unless specifically mentioned otherwise (cases in point include the Kzinti SCS and SSCS and the Gorn and Lyran Space Patrol Ships), any ship operating a pack of supplemental craft designated as "PFs" can only operate a single flotilla of six units.
For this reason, the thought of operating anything more than six Andromedan PFs never crossed my mind.
HOWEVER, since it's brought up, were I to be asked for a ruling (something NO sane gamer would ever ask ), I would declare that, if (as you used for the example) an Intruder were to operate Adders, it would be able to carry one standard full flotilla of six under rule (K2.13) but any further ones would be treated as operating under the rules for Casual PFTs (K2.114), even if that meant having six casual gunboats attached to a single ship.
One other thing I kinda feel I have to point out is what might happen with an Infestor operating these bad-boys; theoretically, that monster can carry as many as twenty four gunboats! That's something that, otherwise, only the Seltorian Hive Ship can do...
BUT these are just my thoughts and aren't even worth 0.002 Quatloos...
By Majead Farsi (Devil) on Tuesday, April 26, 2022 - 11:27 am: Edit |
Is there a difference when considering lock on, between a Large Moon as stated in the rules and a Small Moon. Do they both block lock on 50% of the time?
Just wondering as a Small Moon could be the size on a Large Asteroid I would guess.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |