By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Monday, January 10, 2022 - 06:51 am: Edit |
Ken,
The value for the Frax CWS is 130/110.
I asked this a while back and SPP confirmed it as 130/110.
It is indeed a typo.
Cheers
Frank
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Monday, January 10, 2022 - 10:24 pm: Edit |
Thanks - that is what I thought but I could not find any errata.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, January 15, 2022 - 11:33 am: Edit |
The Kzinti MSSB (MSSB-R5), page 80, shows the Drone Needle Leader to have a rule of (R5.PF4L), but annex G2 shows the rule to be (R1.PF6). (R5.PF4L) would be different from convention. I believe it should have been (R1.PF6) for PF leaders.
Which is correct so I know which topic to put the errata note in?
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 10:07 am: Edit |
When a megafighter pack (J16.0) is added to a fighter, are those drones able to be paired to carry a two-space drone? If this is the case all the megafighter listings in Annex #4 would need to have the "" symbol for the extra 2 standard drone rails, if not then should the listing be split out for those that have the symbol to show which drones cannot be paired (eg. 6xI would be 4xI , 2xI)?
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 02:58 pm: Edit |
As far as I can tell, the Megapack adds two standard Type-I rails. The lack of the symbol in the Annex would seem to confirm this conclusion. If there is a Megafighter in Annex #4 with the appropriate symbol, you could perform the swap. Otherwise, you're limited to adding 2 Type-I drones.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 05:35 pm: Edit |
Jamie - if a megafighter pack can pair two Type-I drones, why wouldn't all megapacks be listed that way? If they cannot be paired, then there are a several fighters that should have their drone listings changed to show that only the non-added drones are pairable, hence the reason for the question.
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 05:47 pm: Edit |
Ken, it's not the mega-package that has the pairing ability but the fighter itself ...
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 07:50 pm: Edit |
Steward, wouldn't that be because the hard points are close enough to mount the two-space drone (in-between the hard points).
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Friday, March 25, 2022 - 09:22 pm: Edit |
Right, any fighter (including a mega version) would specifically say if they could combine rails that way. Basically, it's not possible, except in a few cases where you can. Megapacks have no mention or note of that, meaning that they cannot. A megapack doesn't _take away_ the ability of a fighter that can, within it's normal limits, nor does a fighter that can do that magically get to also do that with its megapack. Drone armed fighters legal drone loadouts _do not change_ when a megapack is added, except to add exactly two Type-I drones to whatever that fighter could normally carry.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, March 26, 2022 - 10:05 am: Edit |
Jamey - that is what I believe, which would mean fighters like the F-101M should have a listing of "4xI double arrow, 2xI, 1xADD-6" and not "6xI double arrow, 1xADD-6"
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Sunday, March 27, 2022 - 03:14 am: Edit |
Ken-
AH! Now I see what you mean, and I know where the confusion comes from.
The double arrow symbol does not _necessarily_ mean that all Type-I drones can be swapped out in pairs for Type-IV. From the Annex:
"↔ Some drone rails on this fighter can be paired to carry a
two-space drone; see fighter description."
So all that double arrow means is that one (or more) swaps can be done, and you have to look at the fighter description to see. A fighter with 4 Type-I drones where both pairs can be swapped out for Type-IV, and a different fighter with 4 Type-I drones where you're only allowed to swap one pair for a Type-IV, would be "noted" in the annex the same way.
The F-101M has 6 Type-I drone rails, but only a maximum of two swaps of one pair for a Type-IV can be done, because _only_ the innermost rail on each wing can mount a Type-IV drone, and if you do this the second from innermost rail must be left empty, per the description.
Hope that helps!
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Sunday, March 27, 2022 - 03:14 am: Edit |
<Duplicate>
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, March 27, 2022 - 11:08 am: Edit |
It does, personally I would like to see it in Annex 4 so that the annex reflects the data in the description. This avoids confusion, especially if you do not have a Master Starship Book (MSSB) for an empire to refer to. Maybe when G4 comes out.
By Jamey Johnston (Totino) on Sunday, March 27, 2022 - 12:52 pm: Edit |
I think the problem there is that each fighter (that can do that) is described by text as to exactly how it works. Same goes for a lot of ships that just have special rules or whatever, it's hard to put that into a table. IOW, the "R" rule section isn't really an annex in that sense, and I think no matter how many annexes they make there's still going to be some stuff you just have to break open the "R" section to see.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 04:59 pm: Edit |
Question re the drone F rack.
These were the racks on some Klingon ships with the D7/D6 being one of them.
The F rack description in FD3.6 states the F rack replaced a shuttle.
Does this mean the D7/D6 which have 2 shuttles now have 1 shuttle along with the F rack until the B refit ?
When the B refit kicks in, these ships then get 2 shuttles along with 2 A racks.
The F5 and E4 would then actually have no shuttle as they too have a F rack until the B refit.
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 06:59 pm: Edit |
Frank,
the Klingon ships affected are in (FD4.3), C9, C8, D7, D6. I see no loss of shuttle, and in notes, the F5 and E4 also have F rack early, but because they have only one rack, there is no restriction. (I think the drone launch counts against the shuttle launch rate FD3.6).
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 07:18 pm: Edit |
Frank,
Let's look at the D6 as an example. With no drone racks, the ship would have four shuttles. (See the KR as a point of comparison.) When it got the F-racks, it exchanged two of its shuttles for drone racks. This is the configuration seen on the ship's SSD.
Before the B-refit, those drone racks were under the F-rack firing restrictions, both the rate and how they affected the remaining shuttles. After the B-refit, the drone racks were replace with full type-A drone racks which removed the various restrictions.
So, the rule you reference explains how the D6 came to look as it does. It is not a further modification of the ship.
Does that help?
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 07:33 pm: Edit |
Thanks Mike, it sure does !!
Cheers
Frank
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - 09:59 pm: Edit |
Question on Tholian and Hydran fighter control channels. This could also apply to other fighters that do not have drones. Per (J4.25) each fighter has a minimum of two drone control channels, which could equate to number of control channels a fighter would have.
Per (J4.221) "Tholian and Hydran heavy fighters cannot control seeking weapons."
What is the number of seeking weapon control channels a non-drone carrying fighter has? Also, is there a reference?
By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 07:31 am: Edit |
specific overrides general.
I would guess this also includes the Vudar.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 04:27 pm: Edit |
Mike, not sure how that answers the question. (J4.221) states heavy fighters and (J4.25) is for drone control.
Should (J4.221) state "Tholian and Hydran fighters and heavy fighters cannot control seeking weapons." or is there some other rule that defines the number of seeking weapon control channels?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 06:16 pm: Edit |
Hmmm, thought it was the number of seeking weapons they normally carry (Type-I/Plas-D and larger) plus there's a fighter pods that can expand the control limit ... [rules currently buried, so no look up]
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 06:18 pm: Edit |
(J4.25) Drone Control covers fighters ...
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Friday, May 20, 2022 - 05:59 pm: Edit |
The reference I found is (F3.22) FIGHTERS AND SHUTTLES: Fighters can control their own seeking weapons (i.e., those they launched) or transfer (F3.5) this control to another unit. The launch and control rates of fighters may differ; see also (J4.24) and (J4.25).
While it is clear they can control their own seeking weapons, it does not specifically state they have control channels for all their seeking weapons. Meaning does a fighter 2xPL-Fs have one control channel per PL-F? Or does that mean if they can only launch one per turn, they have a single control channel. Is it based on the number of seeking weapons carried or based on the number that can be launched per turn?
I don't want to make an assumption one way or the other.
By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Friday, May 20, 2022 - 06:09 pm: Edit |
The relevant bits:
(J4.25) DRONE CONTROL: Any fighter can control a number of drones equal to the number of non-DFDs (non-dogfight drones, i.e., drones other than type-VI) in its nominal load exclusive of variants, if any (or two drones, whichever is greater).
For plasma fighters, (J4.27) states that F-torps "...are subject to all of the above restrictions although, since standard fighters can only carry one and since plasma torpedoes are self-guiding, this is greatly simplified," and (J4.28) states that type-D and type-K torps "...are generally treated as type-I drones for purposes of the above rules although, because they are self-guiding, the procedures are simplified."
Since the plasma fighter rules say that they're subject to the above restrictions (with (J4.25) being an "above restriction"), one can assume that they have a nominal control capability to launch a number of plasmas equal to the total number in its nominal load exclusive of variants, or two, whichever is greater (since you *do* need control at point of launch, even though the plasma is self-guiding thereafter).
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |