By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Sunday, November 13, 2022 - 11:37 am: Edit |
They can't fire after chaff buy that's not disrupted fire control. EM doesn't prevent fire. It imposes the ECM penalty.
We have a scenario today with lots of ways to disrupt fire control and I'll be flying fighters. The more I read, the more the answer is that they can't. There are a lot of things which prevent them from firing but nothing which specifically disrupts fire control.
By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 07:46 am: Edit |
I was thinking about fire control for drone guidance
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 08:45 am: Edit |
That's also a side effect of EM and not related to fire control. We played a different scenario so it didn't matter but I'm still interested in the answer.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 01:11 pm: Edit |
Ginger McMurray: While not plainly stated, anything that will disupt the fire control (and drone/plasma/seeking weapons guidance of a ship will disrupt the fire control of a fighter/shuttle.
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 01:51 pm: Edit |
Thanks
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 09:25 pm: Edit |
If a ship has a fully armed suicide shuttle or fully loaded scatter pack on board and then takes damage sufficient to destroy the shuttle box holding the shuttle, is there any additional damage done to the ship as a result of the shuttle being destroyed with its shuttle box?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Monday, November 14, 2022 - 10:37 pm: Edit |
(D12.11), with (D12.12) defining an armed shuttle/fighter ...
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - 09:03 am: Edit |
Yes. When an armed shuttle is hit it explodes, taking out one more shuttle box and causing a separate volley of one internal. You can have a chain reaction in a bay and end up totally mangling a ship. You really done want to leave all of your fighters in board a carrier.
The sections Stewart pointed to go into much more detail and include some good examples.
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - 09:53 am: Edit |
Thank you! I was looking in the wrong place: the sections on suicide shuttles and scatter-packs. I didn't think to look at D12.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 08:52 am: Edit |
Where are the SFB rules for the Federation Third Way found?
I thought they'd be in the updated S8 rules, but that doesn't appear to be the case.
Thanks!
By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 09:42 am: Edit |
Mike, they are in (S8.0). See (S8.283) for carrier battle groups and (S8.327) for the increased fighter limit while using a CVBG.
By Mike West (Mjwest) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 11:16 am: Edit |
Gotcha! Thanks!
Not sure how I missed that.
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 11:42 am: Edit |
Quote:(S8.3285) In all cases, players may make a wider use of
megapacks in a given battle only if both (or all) players agree to
do so. See the limits on the use of Megapacks in campaigns in
the various campaign updates published in Captain’s Log.
By Alex Chobot (Alendrel) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 12:52 pm: Edit |
Mike, it looks like the version on the site here is out of date, from 2007, so if you were checking there those hadn't been added yet. I referenced my Master Rulebook PDF (2012).
Ginger, there isn't a singular "Here's how to apply megapacks to campaigns in general", but rather they have be covered in updates to the various (U0.0) campaigns. See the "Update" entry in the CL Index here: http://www.starfleetgames.com/documents/Captains%20Log%20Index/INDEX_OF_CAPTAIN's_Log.pdf
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 01:09 pm: Edit |
Thanks. I think we'll probably come up with a rule on our own rather than buying 6 CLs. I plan on getting new CLs as they come out but catching up on the old ones is too expensive.
By Fred Werenich (Phredator) on Sunday, November 20, 2022 - 02:23 pm: Edit |
Tractors and speed.
Let's say a unit was going 16 for part of a turn but then accellerated to 30. Total warp expended for the turn is 24. (ship is movement cost 1 and has 30 warp). Let's also say that the ship has 5 batteries fully loaded with reserve warp (enough to HET).
While travelling at 30, the ship tractors another unit (also movement cost 1) and slows to 15 as a result of the tractor.
Can the unit, now travelling at 15, HET from reserve warp?
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Sunday, November 20, 2022 - 03:07 pm: Edit |
The limit is on how much power you can apply at one time. It's not based on your pseudo speed. It cannot be more than you have warp engines at the start of the turn. You cannot HET since you are currently applying 30 points from your 30 warp engines.
Quote:(C12.38) WARP RESTRICTION: A ship cannot, at any given point in time, use more warp engine power for movement than it had available at the start of the turn. This restriction is in addition to the basic restrictions on total movement points expended in (C2.112).
EXAMPLE: A ship (with 30 warp engine boxes, four impulse boxes, and a movement cost of one) cannot use a High Energy Turn or Erratic Maneuvering while moving at a speed of 31, even if the
ship is plotted to move at a lower speed during a different part of the turn (expending fewer than 31 total movement points).
By exponry on Monday, November 21, 2022 - 09:01 am: Edit |
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, December 26, 2022 - 03:38 pm: Edit |
Can a single ship have more than one suicide shuttle armed at a time?
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Monday, December 26, 2022 - 03:42 pm: Edit |
Quote:Can a single ship have more than one suicide shuttle armed at a time?
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Tuesday, January 03, 2023 - 06:01 pm: Edit |
Can you have a D6D and a D6S in the same attack force?
A D6D has special sensors, as does the D6S. Is that legal assuming command limits and other requirements are met?
By John M. Williams (Jay) on Tuesday, January 03, 2023 - 07:11 pm: Edit |
Yes, it's legal. Per Rule S8.354, drone bombardment ships with special sensors are not treated as "scouts" for purposes of S8.35 (the rule which generally limits fleets to a single free scout). However, the owner of that drone bombardment ship can voluntarily treat that ship as a scout if desired.
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Friday, January 06, 2023 - 06:39 pm: Edit |
I have a "standard" mine field package. I've set its "belt" at a specific radius around my base, and I've purchased additional mines (not mine fields). Do those individual purchases have to go in the mine field(s) already established or can they be place anywhere?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 05:07 pm: Edit |
Joseph Jackson:
I dimly remember a rule for mines deployed outside of a minefield. But I cannot remember it exactly. Sigh. Damage to my brain. Sorry. I will try to find it.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 05:22 pm: Edit |
Found what I remembered. Basically it is a "do it yourself" note at the start of the minefields rule introduction.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |