Archive through February 13, 2023

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through February 13, 2023
By Guillaume Williams (Uioor1) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 09:43 pm: Edit

Dumb question, but I can't locate where the rule is in the rulebook. When a ship has a split BPV, like a Small Freighter's 26/12, which one is the Economic Point Value and which is the Combat Point Value?

By A David Merritt (Adm) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 09:48 pm: Edit

(S2.12) William Williams(Uioor1).

By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 10:20 pm: Edit

Excellent. Thank you Steve P. It is hinted at in several places as you say. In further study I also found Rule (M6.332). The last sentence of that rule states:
"Any additional individual mines can be placed without restriction."
Of course previous restrictions and rules covered throughout Section (M6.0) are worth reading.
The section is about a page and a half. I photocopied it, and put it in my campaign binder with some other critical reference material for my current game.
Victory will be - wait for it - MINE!

By Mike Erickson (Mike_Erickson) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 10:45 pm: Edit

>> MINE

!!!!

--Mike

By Jeff Anderson (Jga) on Monday, January 09, 2023 - 10:46 pm: Edit

Honest question, Guillaume; I've had it myself. Took me a while to get it, but here's how I figured it all out.

Small freighters can't fight worth diddly, but still cost a pretty penny to build and maintain. The 26 is the economic value, based as much on production cost as the value the ship has, contributing to its empire's economy, and the lower value, the 12, is how little it's worth in a fight.

Same is true for Survey Cruisers; the cost and ability to contribute to its empire's economy is shown by the higher "Economic BPV" (that's listed first) and its ability in a slobberknocker (usually less than a regular warship on the same sized hull) is shown by the second, usually lower number.

With Gunboats, it's different. Those things are "Sledgehammers on Eggshells" that're relatively inexpensive to produce, yet pack a nasty punch. For them, the lower number is first; that's the economic BPV, while the higher number, what they're worth in a fight (the combat BPV) is second.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, January 10, 2023 - 12:45 pm: Edit

The BPV of freighters accounts for their cargo. It is not specific (a freighter full of dilithim ore is one thing, the same freighter hauling rocks (it can happen) is worth something far less. Rather than vary the cost (as your Orion is raiding the convoy) all freighters cost the same.

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Thursday, January 12, 2023 - 11:27 am: Edit

Rule (FP14.0) says that "[a carronade] is fired in the same manner and under the same restrictions as a plasma bolt".

Rule (K1.543) says that "PFs cannot bolt more than one plasma torpedo per turn."

Putting these together, that means a PF may only fire one of its Pl-F as a carronade per turn. Is that a correct understanding?

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Thursday, January 12, 2023 - 12:26 pm: Edit

Yes

By Tim Longacre (Timl) on Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 04:58 pm: Edit

Would anyone please point me to the rule that allows defsats to act as transporter relays for the planet/moon that they orbit? I seem to recall that it was mentioned by SVC at some point in the past.

By A David Merritt (Adm) on Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 05:36 pm: Edit

DefSats are R1.15

By James Everett (Jetedguy) on Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 05:44 pm: Edit

(R1.15H) Transporter Repeater in Advanced Missions.

By Tim Longacre (Timl) on Wednesday, February 01, 2023 - 04:35 am: Edit

Thank you both very much! :)

By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Friday, February 03, 2023 - 06:12 pm: Edit

Do bases with hanger bay modules operate as carriers in that they can lend EW to their fighter squadrons? Or are they considered casual carriers and cannot support squadrons?
Also, if they do support squadrons of fighters, do they do it carrier style, or would they employ their special sensors for that purpose?

By Jessica Orsini (Jessica_Orsini) on Friday, February 03, 2023 - 07:18 pm: Edit

Hangar Bay Modules (HBM) are listed under Generic Carriers in Annex 7G, so yes.

By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Saturday, February 04, 2023 - 08:39 am: Edit

Thank you much. :)

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Saturday, February 04, 2023 - 09:28 am: Edit

It's also worth mentioning that even if the base has multiple hanger bay modules, that the base operates as a single carrier. This came up in a question I asked about adding extra deck crews a while back. Thus, it would be a single carrier supporting multiple squadrons, not each module independently supporting its own squadron.

By Guillaume Williams (Uioor1) on Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 02:27 pm: Edit

Confused by rule GN101 Imperium Turrets in CL #23.
(GN101.31) Rate states that the turret rotates 60° at a time, which seems to imply that the turret rotates by the 6 firing arcs, LF RF R RR LR L which are each 60°.

The example for (GN101.311) states that a size-class 2 or 3 ship wanting to reverse its turret facing would need to "rotate from L to FA on Impulse #8, and FA to R on Impulse #16." This seems to state that a valid turret arc location is FA, but the FA firing arc is more that 60°.

Finally, (GN101.346) states that "A surprised unit must have its turrets facing in the center of their allowed rotation arc (i.e. FX and 360° turrets must be facing directly ahead down the centerline of the ship). Does this mean that a surprised ship has their turrets in the FA arc, or that it hasn't been able to settle into a proper 60° arc?

By Mike West (Mjwest) on Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 07:29 pm: Edit

I am not familiar with Imperium turrets, but I am familiar with Qari/Borak turrets. Those turrets do NOT rotate by firing arcs, but by shield facings. So, in the starting position a turret is facing through the ships's #1 shield. If it rotates, it will then be facing through the ship's #2 or #6 shield.

And the shield it is facing will then determine what the firing arc is.

I feel safe in assuming the Imperium turrets work the same because having the turrets point at the hex spine would be insane.

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 10:53 pm: Edit

Since the Triangulum Galaxy material in Module E2 and in Captain's Log #23 is still in playtest, it might be best to post any M33-related questions in this thread... though I would recommend checking out this errata PDF beforehand.

By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Sunday, February 12, 2023 - 04:37 pm: Edit

A quick and easy question (I think), asked after searching documentation and on the board I didn't find references so it must have been discussed a long time ago.

Situation:
A deployed mobile base tractors a ship on impulse 16. The movement cost of the ship is 1, it is moving 12 for the turn.

Question:
Can the ship turn itself without using a HET while tractored?

No argument:
The pseudo-speed of the ship is 0. The ship can turn when it's pseudo-speed is called. 0 doesn't get called. It could HET.

Yes argument:
Tractors have no effect on turning. Pseudo-speed is only calculated between ships both using their engines for movement(C2.413). Mobile bases do not use engines for movement.

When three ships are tractored the third is allowed to turn even though it does not contribute to movement of the group. Mobile bases may have a movement cost of 1 in some cases. The ship should be allowed to turn when movement is called at speed 6 (12/2) or possibly speed 12.

Seeking weapons and shuttles which are tractored have pseudo-speed of 0 as well but can turn.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, February 12, 2023 - 07:15 pm: Edit

David,
(G7.251) (G7.253)

By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Sunday, February 12, 2023 - 10:36 pm: Edit

Wayne,

Thank you for the rules references. In your opinion can the ship turn or is it fixed in space outside of HETs? Also, in your opinion can seeking weapons and shuttles turn?

By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, February 12, 2023 - 11:35 pm: Edit

I would also look at (G7.36C).

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 13, 2023 - 06:09 am: Edit

David,
the G7.251 and G7.253 say to go to G7.36 and as noted by Ken G7.36C.

I believe the ship can turn (G7.251 notes that the ship is still "moving"

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 13, 2023 - 06:46 am: Edit

I do not think the drones and shuttles can turn, shuttles and drones are not ships, a drone could HET (F2.13) and fighters could HET (J4.12).
(C5.13) zero energy turn would be an exception to the rule I think.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation