By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Tuesday, March 28, 2023 - 04:28 pm: Edit |
I do not think that is correct. By the Sequence of Play, ED (that has been announced two impulses earlier, see C8.101) occurs in Step 6A4. Regular movement occurs before that, in Step 6A2, while damage during movement is resolved in Step 6A3. If a ship has to move into a planet's hex on the impulse that ED is set to take effect, the ship slams into the planet and goes boom.
By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Wednesday, March 29, 2023 - 01:13 am: Edit |
So what are we settling toward regarding Defsat lockon? You get it (assuming roll 1-4) for the turn of fire/launch starting the impulse of fire/launch regardless of your speed & speed changes or you can lose it during the turn of fire even if you get it if you are going too fast?
I'm mid battle with DefSats and didn't take some fire opportunities as I didn't know which applied.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Wednesday, March 29, 2023 - 08:47 pm: Edit |
David J,
as Frank has noted
"If the Defsat launches a seeker, then enemy ships have that impulse 'only' to gain a lock on roll which is 4 or less.
The next imp, the ship loses lock on if it is moving faster than speed 6.
If the ship is moving speed 6 or less, the lock on, if successful, is good for the remainder of the turn.
If the Defsat fires its phasers, enemy ships have the following impulse to gain a lock on roll but only if they are moving speed 6 or less."
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Thursday, March 30, 2023 - 01:50 pm: Edit |
Quote:By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Tuesday, March 28, 2023 - 04:28 pm: Edit
I do not think that is correct. By the Sequence of Play, ED (that has been announced two impulses earlier, see C8.101) occurs in Step 6A4. Regular movement occurs before that, in Step 6A2, while damage during movement is resolved in Step 6A3. If a ship has to move into a planet's hex on the impulse that ED is set to take effect, the ship slams into the planet and goes boom.
By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Thursday, March 30, 2023 - 07:05 pm: Edit |
Robert, with respects, anything faster than speed 1 is trans-light speed. The energy released from an object at even near light speed slamming into matter of any kind is catastrophic. The atmosphere wouldn’t buffer the approach, it would insure there were no survivors. Probably wreck the weather patterns for the planet too for that matter. Like Nuclear Winter bad.
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Thursday, March 30, 2023 - 11:24 pm: Edit |
Well from a physics standpoint, I agree. But from an SFB rules standpoint, I'd like to see something formally addressing the ambiguity.
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Thursday, March 30, 2023 - 11:39 pm: Edit |
.
By Kosta Michalopoulos (Kosmic) on Friday, March 31, 2023 - 12:43 am: Edit |
Robert, read the rules for landing on a planet in (P2.4). As indicated in (P2.4111), to initiate landing on a planet, you have to end the turn in a hex adjacent to the planet's surface, and then follow the landing procedure from there on subsequent turn(s). What you seem to be suggesting is covered under (P2.435) Catastrophic Landings. In summary, the ship goes boom.
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, April 03, 2023 - 07:51 pm: Edit |
Section J2.212 says a launched shuttle counts as 1 lab box for info collection.
Is this true even if the launching ship has no lab boxes itself?
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, April 04, 2023 - 09:00 am: Edit |
Yes
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, April 04, 2023 - 02:39 pm: Edit |
Confirming the response. Even if your ship had no labs to start with, a shuttle can serve as a lab if it is launched (on the map). See rule (J2.212).
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Tuesday, April 04, 2023 - 07:28 pm: Edit |
Isn't there something about using a control space as a lab (rules not near, going off memory) ...
By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, April 04, 2023 - 09:07 pm: Edit |
Yes. If you have no labs you can use one and only one control space.
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Wednesday, April 05, 2023 - 12:01 am: Edit |
Oh,I didn't know that. Very helpful. Thanks much, folks.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, April 05, 2023 - 01:51 pm: Edit |
A control space may be used as a lab, and only one control space may be used this way (unless a ship has a specific exception to the rule which I do not think there is more than one such ship (Andromedan). The control space assumes this duty when the last lab box on the ship is destroyed, or if the ship has no labs. See rule (G4.3).
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Friday, April 07, 2023 - 10:31 pm: Edit |
These questions never received any answer.
How does (G10.833) affect a two strand buzz saw? Would fewer web hexes translate to a higher at start web strength?
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Saturday, April 08, 2023 - 12:41 pm: Edit |
For a linear (buzz saw) web would not (G10.831) take precedence.
(G10.831) ... In the event that the players decide to set up other web arrangements than a wedding cake, these strength point totals dictate the number of web hexes and web points which are available for purchase.
I think (G10.831) could be clearer to state per linear web not total. If you are at WS-0 you can have a 30 hex linear web. This is consistent with Module R6 (pg 18) which shows various linear (buzz saw) web and the cost. The maximum web strength would be 15.
This is how I have interpreted (G10.831):
WS | Total Hexes | Maximum Web Strength |
WS-0 | 30 | 15 |
WS-1 | 55 | 25 |
WS-2 | 90 | 35 |
WS-3 | 105 | 35 |
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Saturday, April 08, 2023 - 02:37 pm: Edit |
Ken, I don't have Module R6 available for reference. That being admitted, I don't understand anything you said. I guess I'll need R6 to understand the chart.
In any case (G10.833) specifically references a buzz saw in, "In the case of the “buzz saw” (three spiral webs radiating from the base) all are treated as “2nd layer” webs."
By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Saturday, April 08, 2023 - 09:28 pm: Edit |
I'm not understanding where the numbers in the "total hexes" column are coming from.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 11:03 am: Edit |
I missed (G10.833).
I added the total number of hexes for each of the weapon status' to get the total number of hexes allowed for (G10.831), not sure if that is correct.
By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 01:21 pm: Edit |
The total number of hexes in G10.83 are the same regardless of weapon's status (6 + 18 + 30 = 54). Only the strength of the webs vary by weapons status. Therefore, using G10.831, if you set up a web arrangement other than a wedding cake you may have a maximum of 54 hexes of web but might choose to have less to maximize web strength.
For example, a three-strand buzz saw could be composed of three 18 hex strands. At weapons status 1 the strength of the strands would be 17 but I could choose to have shorter strands to increase the strenght up to the limit set in G10.833 (which would be 20 at WS-1 which would require reducing the length of the strands to 16 hexes).
A two-strand buzz saw could have two strands up to 27 hexes in length. At weapon's status 1 the strength would still be 17 but to get to the maximum strength of 20 I would need to reduce each strand to 24 hexes.
Note that there does not appear to be any rule requiring that all the strands of a buzzsaw be of the same strength or length provided that the limits on the total number of web hexes and strength points are not exceeded.
By Ken Kazinski (Kjkazinski) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 03:09 pm: Edit |
I pulled this together from Module R6 (pg 18). The graphic shows more hexes than 54 for the double and triple spiral buzz configuration.
From the (G10.83) table:
Web Strength | |||||
Wedding Cake | Web Hexes | WS-0 | WS-1 | WS-2 | WS-3 |
Tier 1 | 30 | 150 | 450 | 750 | 1,050 |
Tier 2 | 18 | 180 | 360 | 540 | 630 |
Tier 3 | 6 | 90 | 150 | 210 | 210 |
Web Strength Total | 420 | 960 | 1,500 | 1,890 |
WS-0 | WS-1 | WS-2 | WS-3 | |
BPV | 105 | 240 | 375 | 473 |
Web Strength | |||||||
Type | Anchors | Anchor BPV | Web Hexes | WS-0 | WS-1 | WS-2 | WS-3 |
Buzz Saw, Single Spiral | 13 | 325 | 30 | 300 | 600 | 900 | 1,050 |
Buzz Saw, Double Spiral | 18 | 450 | 60 | 600 | 1,200 | 1,800 | 2,100 |
Buzz Saw, Tipple Spiral (20 Hexes) | 21 | 525 | 60 | 600 | 1,200 | 1,800 | 2,100 |
Buzz Saw, Tipple Spiral (30 Hexes) | 27 | 675 | 90 | 900 | 1,800 | 2,700 | 3,150 |
WS-0 | WS-1 | WS-2 | WS-3 | |
Buzz Saw, Single Spiral | 400 | 475 | 550 | 588 |
Buzz Saw, Double Spiral | 600 | 750 | 900 | 975 |
Buzz Saw, Tipple Spiral (20 Hexes) | 675 | 825 | 975 | 1,050 |
Buzz Saw, Tipple Spiral (30 Hexes) | 900 | 1,125 | 1,350 | 1,463 |
By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 05:35 pm: Edit |
Ken, the calculations look correct. With the 2 strand buzz saw being cheaper and superior to a 3 strand, it seems almost unfair for the attacker. Almost.
If 112 of the saved BPV are used to put GBDPs on the 8 inner asteroids (14 BPV each x 8 units) of a 2 strand buzz saw, the Tholians could afford to have a SC3 ship available for rotating cripples into strength 35 webs for later capture at their leisure. Only (G10.562) could be used to pull the stuck ship out of the web, and the unstuck ship will be pounded by the Tholians during the attempt, possibly being crippled and rotated into the web itself.
2 strand buzz saws are the best for the Tholians to use.
By Eddie E Crutchfield (Librarian101) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 08:20 pm: Edit |
A question, on a Mobile Base, what types of Pods and Modules can be used. Especially Pods??
By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Sunday, April 09, 2023 - 10:23 pm: Edit |
I don't have Module R6 but the buzz saw designs in the tables above don't seem to be compliant with G10.831 which states:
"The total line indicates the total number of strength points
in a three-layer web with radii of one, three, and five. In the event that
the players decide to set up other web arrangements than a wedding
cake, these strength point totals dictate the number of web hexes and
web points which are available for purchase."
So this rule appears to set a cap on the number of strength points you can use to make your own web arrangement at a given weapons status based on the corresponding totals for a three-layer web at the same weapons status. All of the stength totals in Alan's tables for the double and triple spiral buzz saws exceed the totals in G10.83 for the corresponding weapons status by quite a bit. For example, the triple buzz saw at WS-2 shows as either 1800 or 2700 strength points (depending on length) in Alan's tables but (per G10.83) there should only be 1500 strength points available at that weapons status.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |