By Shawn Hantke (Shantke) on Tuesday, May 30, 2023 - 08:13 pm: Edit |
SPP, the YD3 discussion is in Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: Questions on Ships topic.
By Fred Werenich (Phredator) on Wednesday, May 31, 2023 - 04:17 pm: Edit |
Weasel EW under standard rules.
Sometimes people (usually new players) want to play without EW rules. D6.3 allows this via standard vs commanders level.
When using the standard (non-tournament) rules (D6.3), my understanding is that a weasel will still produce 6 points of ECM (effectively giving those targeting the ship a +2 shift).
This is similar to tournament rules +2 shift for weasels.
Is the above correct?
Does this mean that the only three ways to play EW are A Tournament Rules, B Standard (as above), C Commanders (full rule set).
My interpretation has always been that the only way to play is Tournament, Standard (usually with beginners or when time is tight) and Commanders (preferred).
Is my interpretation correct? If not, what is and is there another way to play sans-EW?
I realize that anyone can adopt any arbitrary "in house" rules. But if we are to go by the book, is it essentially A B or C?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, June 02, 2023 - 02:34 pm: Edit |
Fred Werenich:
Sorry about the delay, but your question arrived just before I had to leave. In answer, if you are going by the rulebook you use the six points of ecm the weasel provides, plus any terrain. and small target modifiers, and ignore everything else. Yes, it is similar to tournament rules.
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, June 12, 2023 - 12:24 am: Edit |
In module X1, rule XFP1.251 states type F torpedoes cannot be fast loaded in a single turn.
In rule XFP2.63 it says (paraphrased) a type L launcher can arm a type G torpedo using standard arming rules including rapid arming x-torpedoes.
Can I take this to mean that a type G torpedo fired from a type L launcher can, in fact, fast load into a single turn type F as other X-launchers can?
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, June 12, 2023 - 01:08 am: Edit |
Rule XE4.5:
Is it correct to say that only a fast OVERloaded photon torpedo can misfire and that a normal (standard or proximity) fast loaded photon torpedo is not subject to misfire?
Also,in reference to my previous question, I'm assuming that type L plasma torpedo launchers are legal in x-ship wing mounts?
By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Monday, June 12, 2023 - 06:26 pm: Edit |
JJ, are you sure you read XFP1.251 correctly? The first sentence states that any X-launcher (other than F/D) that fast-loads will launch an F-torpedo.
Bit lost on your question as an L-launcher can launch an L, G, or F by any means, including fast-loading an F.
By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Monday, June 12, 2023 - 08:11 pm: Edit |
Misfires have not been a part of the first-generation X-rules since 2001.
This updated X1-ship errata was expanded upon in SFB Module X1R, and was more directly incorporated into the consolidated X1-rules in the 2012 SFB Master Rulebook.
Although, I still hope that fully errata-ed versions of the Module X1 rulebook and SSD book might show up in the not-too-distant future...
Also, by my understanding, Orion X1-ships can install plasma-L launchers in their wing option mounts.
Further, it would appear that a type-L launcher can fast-load an F-torp, in the same manner as larger X-plasma launchers can. Or, at least, I don't see a note in the MSSB preventing this.
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Monday, June 12, 2023 - 08:42 pm: Edit |
Most appreciated, fella's. That clears up a lot. I'm pretty talented at misreading stuff, so the clarifications help me immensely--as does knowing the right place to look.
Thanks again.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 13, 2023 - 02:42 pm: Edit |
Joseph Jackson askedpn Monday, 12 Jun: "In module X1, rule XFP1.251 states type F torpedoes cannot be fast loaded in a single turn.
"In rule XFP2.63 it says (paraphrased) a type L launcher can arm a type G torpedo using standard arming rules including rapid arming x-torpedoes.
"Can I take this to mean that a type G torpedo fired from a type L launcher can, in fact, fast load into a single turn type F as other X-launchers can?"
Answer: There is a difference between Fast arming (XFP1.251) and Rapid arming (XFP1.26).The former is not available to Plasma-L launchers as said in (XFP2.63) which speifically includes rapid arming.
Aas. to your second Question under (XE4.5), it was rendered obsolete under (XE1.45) in raw new edition of module X1, Photons, and essentially all other heavy weapons, do not suffer from misfire.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, June 13, 2023 - 02:45 pm: Edit |
Sorry the above messages were delayed. I thought I had sent them, but turned out I had merely prepared them to be sent and found them on my computer when I got here today.
By Paul Franz (Andromedan) on Saturday, June 17, 2023 - 08:30 pm: Edit |
In the Sub Light Game rules, rule (Q2.3) TACTICAL MANEUVERS states:
"...Each can turn the ship up to three hex sides, and each costs one point of impulse power."
Does that mean a TAC in the Sunlight can change the facing of a ship by 3 hex sides?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 19, 2023 - 12:58 pm: Edit |
Paul Franz: That is what it says. It is the sunlight game which is different from SFB in general.
By Paul Franz (Andromedan) on Monday, June 19, 2023 - 08:59 pm: Edit |
Steve,
Thank you.
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 11:43 am: Edit |
New user here. Played years ago trying to get back into it. I've been plowing through the basic set rules and making notes, but one thing that just isn't making sense to me is the step in the Marines Activity Stage (6B7) that says "Mutiny Step: First die roll for mutiny (G6.20)."
I can imagine two possibilities for what this means, but neither seems to be in line with the text of G6.20. But, given that I wasn't able to find anything in the Q&A archives on this, it may be more clear to everyone else. I appreciate anyone who has the patience to straighten this out for me.
Possibility 1: This refers to the first roll once all security stations are destroyed/captured. This doesn't make sense to me as G6.20 says that this roll happens "immediately" after the last security box destroyed/captured and as such can happen after anytime damage is resolved.
Possibility 2: This refers to the "does a mutiny happen" roll in any subsequent turn where security stations remain destroyed/captured. In this case, I would think the player would roll for mutiny here and then if one happens check for success in the final activity phase. However, this doesn't make sense to me as G6.20 says that the "does a mutiny happen" roll at the end of turn (i.e., both rolls occur during the final activity phase). Likewise, G6.20 also says that the success roll happens immediately after the occurs roll. So once again, I don't see anything in G6.20 that happens at the start of that 6B7.
Again, thanks for your patience
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 12:39 pm: Edit |
Mutiny: Essentially there are two events that can cause mutiny. One can happen in mid-turn (the enemy destroys the last security station by damaging the ship, which may be a result of a hit-and-run raid by boarding parties). In this case a die is immediately made to see if the crew seized the opportunity. The second possibility is during boarding pay combat resulting in the capture of the last security station which occurs at the end of the turn in Step #7. Note that the order of these is reversed in Step #7 as obviously boarding party combat has to take place first to capture the security stations.
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 04:42 pm: Edit |
Thanks Steve, your explanation matches my understanding of how the text in G6.20 explains the process.
However, what is still unclear to me is what the "mutiny step" listed under Step 6B7 refers to. Neither your explaination, nor my understanding seems to address this.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 05:35 pm: Edit |
What it is saying is that in the sequence of play in the final activity phase if you are qualified for a mutiny and have not had a mutiny, then you have to roll for a mutiny again. Sorry, I have to leave for the day.
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 08:51 pm: Edit |
I appreciate your patience and feel a little dense coming back to it. I agree that G6.20 says exactly what you say and that the mutiny line in the final activity phase (step #7) of the sequence of play makes perfect sense given the rules.
What still doesn't make sense to me is the other, earlier mutiny line at the start of Step 6B7 in the sequence of play. Do you see what I'm talking about?
I hope this makes sense?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, June 22, 2023 - 03:22 pm: Edit |
C. Cox:
Mutiny on a Klingon ship is event driven. In game terms it can occur at any point in the turn where damage is scored and destroys the last security station. whether in (6A3), (6B1), (6B7), (6D4), or (6D5). A die is rolled for mutiny. If it does not occur, a second die is rolled in step (7), and if it does not occur and a security station is not repaired in step (8) (note, you would have to have begun the repair at the start of the turn) you will repeat the mutiny die roll on the following turn until either A.) You repair a security station, or B.) the crew mutinies, or C.) your ship is destroyed rendering the question of mutiny moot.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, June 22, 2023 - 04:54 pm: Edit |
C. Cox:
I am sorry it is unclear, the game is very complicated and has grown over the years. I have referred to what we know around here as "the tome of ancient knowledge," the oldest copy of the rules we have, which consists of "Commander's Edition #1, #2, and #3 (plus supplements) and there was no change in that rule or how it was presented (the text and arrangement in the annexes) between then and now. I am at this point forced to conclude that you were literally the first to report this issue. I do not think I will be able to answer it any clearer than I have. I am sorry for that situation.
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Saturday, June 24, 2023 - 04:18 pm: Edit |
Yeah, I don't think I'm unclear on the rule, everything you said matches my reading exactly. Thanks for making it clear that I wasn't missing anything there!
It's just that one line in Annex #2 that I don't think makes any sense within the context of the rule (bottom of page number 10 in this link, first one under 6B7: MARINES ACTIVITY STAGE).
link: http://www.starfleetgames.com/sfb/sfin/SFB_Annex_2.pdf
The one on page 13 under 7. FINAL ACTIVITY PHASE makes perfect sense to me.
Thanks for your patience. Appreciate it!
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Sunday, June 25, 2023 - 12:34 am: Edit |
All right, new question about rule D6.66.
As I read it, it sounds anytime a ship with a sensor rating less than 6 activates fire control it rolls for whether or not fire control activates and then would roll separately for sensor lock on. Does that sound right or are they the same roll?
It seems odd that this roll for fire control doesn't appear to be mentioned anywhere else, but I may be missing something.
Thanks for bearing with my questions!
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, June 26, 2023 - 01:17 pm: Edit |
C. Cox: The rule is written to cover two situations. A, you allocated a point of power for active fire control during Energy Allocation, and roll a die in step #4. If your sensors were undamaged (rating of "6") the die roll is normally skipped (you have paid the cost and your sensor strength is high enough to automatically gain a lock-on to any targets with the normal rules (for example, cloaked ships you might not have a not have a lock-on to them). If your sensors were damaged (they are less than "6", perhaps "4" or lower) and you would have to score on the die roll less than or equal to the lower rating). If you got that lower number, the turn continues with no real effect. Note that if you failed to gain a lock-on due to damage to your sensors, the point of power is lost
However. The second situation occurs in mid-turn. For some reason you began the turn with your fire control off, and you allocate a point of battery/reserve power to fire control to activate it. If your sensor rating is "6" (undamaged, or your ship has more than one "6" box making the fact it was damaged irrelevant unless it loses more than one box of the sensor track). Or your ship is starting the turn with a sensor rating less than "6" and you roll higher than. your damaged sensors.
By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Tuesday, June 27, 2023 - 04:36 pm: Edit |
Thanks!
So to make sure I understand, it sounds like you're saying
1) At the start of the turn where energy is allocated for fire control, it's one roll for both lock on and fire control
2) If for any reason you're activating fire control mid-turn, I would roll for whether fire control activates under D6.66. Would I then roll for a sensor lock on separately?
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, June 28, 2023 - 01:06 pm: Edit |
C. Cox: No. Just one die roll, and the die roll when you are activating fire control is only made if the sensor rating is less than six, otherwise it is automatic although you may have to wait for your fire control to become effective (four impulse activation from inactive). If you are powering it between turns (Turn #4 to Turn #5 as an example) your allocated energy each turn is continuous and there is no delay.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |