Archive through October 02, 2023

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through October 02, 2023
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, September 19, 2023 - 03:39 pm: Edit

Frank Lemay:
(D3.5) establishes that once dropped, the eight impulse delay is in effect, even for General reinforcement. If the general shields were dropped VOLUNTARILY you must weight eight impulses before you can apply power to them again.

David Hanson:
Your second example is correct.

David Jannke:
The base generates repair points each turn and can apply these to repair weapons and systems damaged by enemy fire. It can repair shields.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, September 20, 2023 - 07:24 am: Edit

Thanks SPP.

Cheers
Frank

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, September 21, 2023 - 08:05 pm: Edit

Question re a base lending itself ECCM.
Can it do this ?


Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Thursday, September 21, 2023 - 10:33 pm: Edit

Frank,

I can't give an official answer... but I'm pretty confident that bases can do this.


Quote:

(G24.283) Scout ships cannot lend ECCM to themselves. Bases can lend ECCM to themselves.


By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, September 21, 2023 - 11:50 pm: Edit

Alan,
Yep, I found the answer and they can indeed lend ECCM to themselves.
It is G24.283 as you indicated.

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, September 22, 2023 - 01:35 pm: Edit

Question on (FD15.213). *When* is it announced that the Starfish drone is firing? Per the sequence of play, the drone *commits* to firing during the "damage after movement" stage of the impulse procedure. However, "committing" is not "announcing" necessarily. Can you confirm (or deny) that the player owning the starfish drone *announces* the firing of the starfish drone during the fire decision segment of the sequence of play?

Ruling requested. Thank you.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, September 22, 2023 - 02:54 pm: Edit

Ted Fay:
The drone will fire in the direct fire phase, and you will announce its fire as part of (6D2). It committed to fire (subject to your programmed instructions) in (6A3).

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Friday, September 22, 2023 - 04:50 pm: Edit

SPP,
Is the Fed POL worth 40 or 50 Bpv ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, September 22, 2023 - 10:42 pm: Edit

Frank,
I think it has been answered before at 50 BPV

By Garth L. Getgen (Sgt_G) on Saturday, September 23, 2023 - 12:58 pm: Edit

It was upgraded to 50 BPV (and 10 crew / 4 BP) with the Y2K edition.


Garth L. Getgen

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Saturday, September 23, 2023 - 07:59 pm: Edit

Steve Petrick: Thank you for the prompt reply to the Starfish drone question.

By Eddie E Crutchfield (Librarian101) on Saturday, September 23, 2023 - 08:50 pm: Edit

wrong section

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Sunday, September 24, 2023 - 03:40 pm: Edit

The intro paragraph to FP12.2 says that "an ECP is self-guiding and (FD9.114) does not need a lock-on to function." and FD9.114 says that ECM drones do not need a lock-on to loan EW, but are treated as if they have one for lending purposes under D6.317.

If a lock-on isn't necessary, why does FP12.25 make reference to an ECP rolling to retain a lock-on? Isn't it a moot point? The ECP can't loan EW to a cloaked ship, but that is a function of the cloak, not whether or not the ECP has a lock-on (since it can't loan EW even if it has a lock-on).

Although EW lending is interrupted once the target ship is cloaked, it appears that the ECP would otherwise continue to function, i.e. continue to track the cloaked ship. Since lending resumes once the ship uncloaks whether a lock-on was retained or not, why even bother to roll for lock-on retention?

Is the lock-on retention language unnecessary or am I missing something?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, September 25, 2023 - 01:16 pm: Edit

John M. Williams:
The rule simply means if your ship cloaks, the EW Plasma no longer moves with it since it cannot detect the target it is supposed to be lending EW too. If it retains lock-on, it will continue to move with the cloaked unit and when you uncloak (if the ECM plasma is still in effect) recommence lending at that point.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 25, 2023 - 09:28 pm: Edit

If it no longer moves with the ship, does it stop or adopt a ballistic course at its current speed? If it stops, does it follow the standard acceleration rules or can it immediately jump to top speed to catch up with the ship?

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Monday, September 25, 2023 - 09:31 pm: Edit

Oops - duplicate post

By Mike Grafton (Mike_Grafton) on Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 07:42 am: Edit

SPP, the ECP rolls for lock on if the target ship cloaks? Or "no longer moves"

By Ginger McMurray (Gingermcmurray) on Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 10:35 am: Edit

An ECP can't change speeds, so it definitely doesn't stop.

By John M. Williams (Jay) on Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 10:42 am: Edit

A sabot ECP can change speeds.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, September 26, 2023 - 02:37 pm: Edit

If you are using (G13.61) Hidden Movement, is should be obvious that your ECP would reveal the location of your cloaked ship. So, if the lock-on is lost the ECM plasma continues moving in the direction it was last facing when it had lock-on until either it regains that lock-on or it expires due to lack of any further endurance.

By David Jannke (Bigslowtarget) on Friday, September 29, 2023 - 01:45 pm: Edit

A ship docks to a larger base with a five point #6 shield facing the module of the base (other identical 20 point shields undamaged). It is then targeted by a hellbore firing from off its #2 shield.

Does the hellbore damage only the ships #2, #3, #4 shields (1/2 damage to the weakest, and the rest to the other two, though evenly split in this case) because the ship can't be damaged through the #1, #6, #5 under (C13.722) The ship cannot be fired at, or damaged (including seeking weapons) from these firing arcs.

Or is the damage from the hellbore resolved normally (1/2 to the weak #6, remainder around) because of (C13.733) Enveloping weapons ...attack the ship or base (whichever they were targeted on) independently, without regard to the fact that they are docked.

It seems to me the hellbore could not be fired at the ship from its #1, 6, 5 arcs but the issue is how the damage should be resolved. (C13.733) could be saying 'hey, the base and the ship are still different targets, you have to pick one' or it could be saying 'even docked the ship is far enough away from the base to have shields in that area and envelopers can squeeze in to do damage.' The alternative is that the ship is too close for the enveloper/hellbore to envelop so it does all its damage to the available shields like it would to a large ground base.

By John Christiansen (Roscoehatfield) on Friday, September 29, 2023 - 01:46 pm: Edit

Is a zero strength web strong enough to maintain a "sack of rocks" together for the sack to retain anchor status? I see 2 possible situations for this question: the web strength is 0, but the aggregate strength is greater than 0, and both are 0.

At what point in the SoP does a 224 impulse stale zero strength web dissolve? At what point does the 224 impulse count begin?

At what point in the SoP is the (G10.4) web deterioration recalculated?

Thanks, R

By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Saturday, September 30, 2023 - 10:33 am: Edit

David, you cite the correct reference (C13.733), and your theory is how I would interpret it. However, you have missed an important point in your setup.

Is the ship INTERNALLY or EXTERNALLY docked? In the former the ship cannot be targeted directed even though the ship can be damaged by fire on the base.

A ship docked externally can be covered by the base’s shields (C13.731) in which case C13.7314 applies. This appears to be contradictory, but it’s not. If the base extends its shields to cover the docked ship, you cannot target a hellbore on the ship. Other types of enveloping weapons previously targeted on the ship before the base extends its shields are not lost. If the base is not extending its shields, you can target the ship and the hurt shield facing the base will suffer the wrath of the strike.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, October 02, 2023 - 04:18 pm: Edit

John Christiansen: You calculate the strength of web when power is added, during a turn this can vary as each Tholian unit may add energy, or the anchors may be moved (ship expanding the web, or shrinking the web). As the rule says (G10.41) at the end of the TURN you calculate deterioration, which will be based on the situation at that time.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, October 02, 2023 - 04:41 pm: Edit

David Jannke:

Under (C13.733) if the ship was targeted, the ship is damaged as. if the base was not there. If the base extended its sheild (C13.731), then the base's shields would be damaged as if the docked unit was not there.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation