By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, November 01, 2023 - 02:33 pm: Edit |
John Christiansen:
In simple terms, only one scenario has webs able to move. The situation is not a buzzsaw or a wedding cake, and does not lend itself to such situations. As to a Tholian base orbiting a planet, you would have to lay the web such that the base is not caught in it. Orbit the base at Low orbit (one hex radius) with web set up at the next level (two hex radius), as long as the base is orbiting at an allowed radius you can construct the web around the orbital radius from the planet.
By Gregory S Flusche (Vandar) on Wednesday, November 01, 2023 - 06:53 pm: Edit |
I set up web range 1 from planet. Base orbit at 2 from planet. Web range 3 from planet. Global webs of course.
The base can reinforce either web. The down side is there are blind spots for the phasers from the base. The Inner web does stop planet bombardment even getting stuck in the web. You could of course put the third wedding cake ring out there as well.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Thursday, November 09, 2023 - 08:35 am: Edit |
SPP,
Question about Ready Racks for fighters.
The Fed F15 has 4 type I drones and 4 type VI drones.
On the imp after the fighter launches, 2 Deck Crews start to reload the ready rack as per J4.8172.
It takes 3 turns using 2 Deck Crews to load 4 type I and 4 type VI drones onto the ready rack.
The fighter lands with all its drones used and wants more drones.
As per J4.821, does it take 3 more turns using 2 Deck Crews to empty the ready rack onto the fighter?
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, November 09, 2023 - 02:56 pm: Edit |
Frank Lemay:
See (J4.8221) which states that drones cannot be loaded on a fighter unless they are in the ready rack. See also (J4.8961) which limits you to a maximum of one (1) drone a turn if you are arming a Kzinti TAAS in a Federation F-15 Ready Rack.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Friday, November 10, 2023 - 10:05 am: Edit |
SPP,
We were looking at J4.821.
We wanted to confirm that it does indeed take 2 Deck Crews 6 turns to load up a Fed F15 fighter.
Three turns to move the drones from storage to the ready racks and 3 more turns to move the drones from the ready rack to the fighter itself after the fighter lands on board the ship.
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, November 10, 2023 - 12:41 pm: Edit |
If the rack in question is an F-15 rack, yes.
By A David Merritt (Adm) on Saturday, November 11, 2023 - 10:13 pm: Edit |
Note; the rack can be reloaded before the F-15 gets back, if you have time for them to be.
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Tuesday, November 14, 2023 - 01:07 pm: Edit |
Do not forget that yo can also load the pod rails (as type-I drones) and the Chaff Packs (free) as you go.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, November 14, 2023 - 09:50 pm: Edit |
SPP,
We are in Y175 so no rails for a few years.
David,
Yep, we are playing it as such.
Thanks.
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 - 01:37 pm: Edit |
Pods and Pod Rails are available before Y175. EW pods as an example are available in Y168. Can you cite a rule which says that the pod rails do not exist before Y175? I am (honestly) unaware of such a rule, and think the Hydrans would be very much opposed to such a rule.
By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 - 02:17 pm: Edit |
SPP,
To be honest, I am not sure where I got that info.
I see fighters get a C refit [mentioned in J4.8225] but I am unable to find the exact rules reference.
I think this is where I figured incorrectly pod rails YIS is a bit later.
Obviously I know not what I am doing or seeing.
Sorry for the confusion.
Cheers
Frank
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, November 16, 2023 - 02:38 pm: Edit |
Fighter "C" refit is covered by rule (R1.F8) in Module J.
By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Wednesday, November 22, 2023 - 01:48 pm: Edit |
Can fighters drop there EW pods while preforming Erratic Manuvers?
Its seems they can but this depends on an interpretation of section C10.53. The statement "A unit using EM cannot attach or detach pods (G14.0)." looks like it is specific to Tugs and Pods and is not meant to cover fighter EW pods.
(C10.53) DOCKING: A unit using EM cannot dock or undock with
another unit, and no other unit can dock or undock or land aboard it.
This includes shuttles, fighters, and PFs. Being held in a tractor
cancels EM (G7.92); when docking to a ship (as opposed to an FRD),
more power is required (C13.923).
A unit using EM cannot undergo ship separation (G12.0). Note
that a ship held in a tractor is not technically erratic, and such a ship
could use separation. Also, a ship could undergo separation while
using EM as an involuntary result of Catastrophic Damage (D21.43).
A unit using EM cannot attach or detach pods (G14.0).
A unit using EM cannot lay mines (M2.11).
A unit using EM cannot launch or recover satellite ships (G19.4)
By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, November 27, 2023 - 02:42 pm: Edit |
David Hanson:
A Fighter can drop (indeed, must drop) Drones, Plasma-Ds, Weapon Charges (Fusions, Hellbores, Disruptors, Plasma-Fs, Photons), EW Pods when it it is crippled (J1.332), the fighter (or other shuttle) can no longer perform erratic maneuvers from that point (J1.336). The only requirement for a fighter that it NOT crippled to drop a pod (from the extra pod rails as there is no reason to drop pods other than from the extra pod rails if you are not crippled) is that it must be done in the launch seeking weapons stage before you would launch a seeking weapon from the fighter (J11.112). Since you cannot launch seeking weapons while doing EM, you simply make the announcement that you are dropping a pod and your fighter grins one hex (or two if you dropped two pods from the extra pod rails) of speed from that point. You fighter does immediately lose the EW Generated by the pod(s), but as you are still EM you still have four points of ECM. But there is no restriction on dropping the pod(s) while erratic.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Tuesday, November 28, 2023 - 06:49 pm: Edit |
Tac clarification. Let's say you are in a tournament game and a ship hits the wall and stops on imp 26. That ship had been going 31 earlier so has used it's impulse. Can that ship use reserve warp to make a tac imp 28? I know it seems a weird question but for some reason I have it in my head that the ship would need to earn the tac on imp 24. Since it was moving then I am thinking it did not earn it then and so can't do a warp tac later. I am probably wrong.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Friday, December 01, 2023 - 05:25 am: Edit |
Jack,
[C5.23] and subs, last one earned on imp24, can be done from imp2 to 32 of turn, 4imp delay if ED [C5.532].
[P17.22] for tournament rule.
By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Sunday, December 03, 2023 - 12:15 pm: Edit |
Deleted by author
By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Sunday, December 03, 2023 - 03:59 pm: Edit |
Jack, on your point about a Tournament ship making warp tacs after hitting the wall...
Remember ALL plotted energy for movement is lost when hitting the wall (just like with ED). So if the ship had used power for 30 warp moves and 1 impulse move, then unless the ship has more warp engine power available it would be moot as the reserve warp has to come from somewhere. The Gorn could do this (32 warp power move cost 1), any of the ships with War Cruiser engines could, an Orion doubling could... But you didn't ask about power budgeting.
Ok, so lets say that at the moment of impact with the wall the ship was doing 31 but had paid for 25 warp moves and 1 impluse move via performed and or future speed changes. then yes, you could use reserve warp power to tac as soon as the four impulse delay from coming to a stop expires. The FIRST warp tactical can be done as early as impulse 2, and after that one is used you must wait until after the next one is 'earned' on the Speed 4 column.
So in your example, if your ship hit the wall on 26, it could not tac until 31. This is one of those situations where a HET is really your only answer, if enough Reserve Warp is available, a HET could be performed on impulse 27.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, December 03, 2023 - 06:16 pm: Edit |
Jeff,
The 4 impulse delay is for ED. In a tournament a ship can perform a TAC with reserve power the impulse after hitting the wall [P17.22]
By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Sunday, December 03, 2023 - 07:51 pm: Edit |
Thanks Wayne, I mis-remembered the 4-impulse delay before tacking was a result of an intentional wall hit, rather than being 'pushed' into one with a tractor.
By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, December 03, 2023 - 08:27 pm: Edit |
Jeff,
Intentional and pushed wall hit is the same result. A ships can tac the impulse after hitting the wall [P17.22].
There is some tractor difference depending on what ship is doing the tractor [P17.3] [P17.31].
By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Monday, December 04, 2023 - 12:07 am: Edit |
Yeah, I was inspired to re-read the sections I had misremembered. I had heard of intentional wall hits to WW before, but not tac, though it makes sense, especially if your flying something like the OX Box and HETs are less like a calculated risk and more like russian roulette with four bullets loaded.
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Saturday, January 13, 2024 - 12:56 pm: Edit |
I remember reading a rule somewhere that discussed making use of "Hull" boxes and other non "Cargo" boxes for additional cargo spaces of storage. I recall it came with some penalties of one sort or another.
I suspect it was in a Captains Log. Any chance someone could point me in the correct direction for where this was?
By Joseph Jackson (Bonneville) on Saturday, January 13, 2024 - 02:34 pm: Edit |
I think you might be referring to Rule (G25.5) CASUAL CARGO STORAGE which is located on page 71 of Captain's Log #33.
I'm uncertain if it's in the MRB, but I'll check when I get the chance.
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Saturday, January 13, 2024 - 06:32 pm: Edit |
Yes! That's the one. Thank you very much. I was looking for this for a campaign I am running. Much appreciated.
A followup question...
In this rule on page 71, (G25.51) HULL STORAGE is mentioned as one of the casual cargo storage options. Nowhere under (G25.51) mentions (G25.511) & (G25.512).
Elsewhere in (G25.5), (G25.511) & (G25.512) both state they are the only means by which the cargo may be moved. However, nowhere that I can find is it specified what the (G25.511) & (G25.512) methods are, though I'd assume it's something similar to the Kzinti Weight Lifting rule.
Anyone able to shed definitive light on this?
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |