Archive through April 14, 2024

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through April 14, 2024
By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Wednesday, January 24, 2024 - 11:27 am: Edit

Anyone?

By Eric Snyder (Esnyder) on Wednesday, January 24, 2024 - 02:02 pm: Edit

Sorry, no definitive light from me. The references to (G25.511) and (G25.512) do seem to be a typo, as they apparently don't exist anywhere in the rules. It seems that they could only be referring to EITHER (G25.2) or to (G25.56). Personally, I would lean towards (G25.56) being the correct interpretation. There probably should also be a rule to clarify if rates change during catastrophic damage, as during the normal cargo handling rules.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, January 24, 2024 - 03:58 pm: Edit

I have been very busy lately but will try to look into the cargo thing tomorrow, sorry I have not had time of late to do so.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, January 26, 2024 - 03:41 pm: Edit

Robert Russell Lender:
Looking over the rules (and I apologize for not replying sooner, but checking Captain's Log #34 finds a correction changing Rule(25.511) to (G25.561) and rule (G25.512) to (G25.562), I thought as much while researching the rule. Your crew allows as much space as they can which is why the totals are so low for the boxes being used, but allows the crew to move the cargo the hallways, even if you might have a reduced crew to get the extra storage

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Sunday, January 28, 2024 - 05:49 am: Edit

SPP,

Thank you kindly. I hadn't even thought to look in follow up Captains Logs.

Cheers,
RusMan

By Guillaume Williams (Uioor1) on Saturday, February 03, 2024 - 10:07 am: Edit

Does (OG19.131) mean that if Branthodon Wing Buffets a breath of dragonfire, the dragonfire doesn't get the +3 shift for the 4 impulses after it has been wing buffeted?

By Eric Snyder (Esnyder) on Saturday, February 03, 2024 - 10:59 am: Edit

My apologies if this is the wrong topic for my question: I am revising my Annex #3 from the G3 annexes (rev. 4/13/09). It looks like quite a bit of work, and before I go any further, I wanted to just check if I am going about this correctly. I don't want to sink hours into this only for someone to say, "Oh! You could have just used the list of revisions published in such and such..". So, this is my plan:

1. Add the annex data for any ship published after G3 came out.
2. Check for errata for those post-G3 products.
3. Walk through the G3 after action reports, revising when a clear error is reported.

Does this sound reasonable?

By C. Cox (Theletterc) on Monday, February 05, 2024 - 11:29 am: Edit

Another quick question about drone storage. I'm looking at FD2.445 which relates to drone storage in cargo boxes and I see that it says that drone ships with cargo boxes

1. "[Do] not have them automatically," but also
2. "These drones come at no cost, and are proportional to the loading of the racks"

I'm not really sure how to reconcile these two sentences. For example, does the Klingon D6D come with 200 Type-I drones in cargo or not? Do these have to be bought as part of the force (at great expense)?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, February 05, 2024 - 02:57 pm: Edit

Guillaume Williams asked on Saturday, February 03, 2024 - 10:07 am:

"Does (OG19.131) mean that if Branthodon Wing Buffets a breath of dragonfire, the dragonfire doesn't get the +3 shift for the 4 impulses after it has been wing buffeted?"
REPLY: Yes, Dragonflame is essentially immune to any electronic warfare effects. Note that they cannot benefit from positive effects from a legendary officer or outstanding (or the negative effects from a poor) crew.

Eric Snyder asked on Saturday, February 03, 2024 - 10:59 am: A question on updating Module G3.
REPLY: It looks like you are doing the right things to me.

C. Cox asked on Monday, February 05, 2024 - 11:29 am:

"Another quick question about drone storage. I'm looking at FD2.445 which relates to drone storage in cargo boxes and I see that it says that drone ships with cargo boxes
"1. "[Do] not have them automatically," but also
"2. "These drones come at no cost, and are proportional to the loading of the racks"
"I'm not really sure how to reconcile these two sentences. For example, does the Klingon D6D come with 200 Type-I drones in cargo or not? Do these have to be bought as part of the force (at great expense)?"

REPLY: Yes, a D6D comes with 200 type-I drones in its four cargo boxes, but they are all SLOW drones. You pay for the normal loading of your D6D's drone racks, and their reloads (0 points for 36 slow drones, 18 points to upgrade them all to "medium" speed, 36 points to upgrade them all to "fast" speed, depending on the year). Note that this is just the simple upgrading of drone speed and obviously the reloads will be the same (In the first case you have 72 reloads for the racks which are all slow, in the second case they are all "medium" at no further cost, and finally they are all "fast" again at no further cost). In each case the drones in cargo storage are proportional, so in the first case you would pay nothing, get the 36 drones in the racks and the 72 reloads for the drone racks and the 200 reloads in the cargo boxes. If you upgraded them to "Medium" as above the 36 drones would as usual cost you 18 BPV and the reloads would cost nothing more and the 200 drones in cargo storage would also cost nothing more. Now we get tricky. Suppose racks #1 and #2 held 3 type-IV drones. Your reload cost goes down for "Medium" Speed to 15 (the cost to upgrade a single two space drone is the same as the cost to upgrade a single one space drone even though the two space drone occupies to slots on the drone rack), and the reloads for the racks are 48 type-I and 12 type-IV. Your cargo boxes must be proportional to this, so 200 spaces is divided between the initial loading for two complete sets of 72 spaces (144 spaces) and the remaining 56 spaces must be divided as closely as possible (32 spaces of type-I and 12 spaces of type-IV, fast math off the top of my head). Things with drones can rapidly get complicated. The rules allow you to have a bombardment ship on a bombardment mission, so its racks have type-IIIXX drones, which are two space drones. These drones have a base cost of 1 BPV to trade two type-I slow drones for one type-IIIXX drone. So having a full load of 18 type-IIIXX drones will cost 18 BPV and they will be Speed 12. Improving them to "medium" speed will cost another 18 BPV, and to "fast" yet another 18 BPV, for a total of 54 BPV. But that comes with 36 type-IIIXX in reloads storage and 100 more type-IIXX in cargo storage for a total of 154 type-IIIXX drones. Going through all to different drone load outs becomes very difficult, but I hope the above helps.

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Monday, February 12, 2024 - 07:51 pm: Edit

Original post earlier today edited as I found my answer on my own.

Apologies to anyone having already read my original post so disregard.

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Saturday, February 24, 2024 - 09:46 pm: Edit

I feel like I know this one but can find the exact rule. This may have been a ruling even and not in the rulebook.

A Lyran announces an ESG on imp 29. The Lyran has power already in the capacitor. Can the Lyran cancel the ESG over the turn break?

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 02:17 am: Edit

G23.33 Cancellation of announcement

it would be announced on impulse 1 of the next turn in 6B6 SOP.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 05:28 am: Edit

Jack, in your example you announce the cancellation on impulse 1.

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 11:21 am: Edit

Normally I would have to cancel the ESGS the impulse before they come up. There are of course some weird ESG things you can do over the turn-break. I believe cancelling the esgs is one of those things, even those announced on imp 29.

I don't see that in 6B6.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 02:53 pm: Edit

ESG Step: cancel previous announcement

By Jack Taylor (Jtaylor) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 03:21 pm: Edit

Normally, I can't cancel the announcement the impulse the ESG's are supposed to come up. I have to cancel the impulse before.

29+4.

30,31,32,---1. I may have to do it impulse 32, maybe, but believe I can actually do it over the turn-break. I believe that since I can announce the ESG even if there is no power in it at all and may never add power to it. it would never come up impulse 1.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Monday, February 26, 2024 - 03:28 pm: Edit

[G23.312] has this [without knowing if he will have sufficient energy available, in which case the announcement could be cancelled]

sounds like if from damage or player decides to not follow through with power allocation to ESG you can cancel it.

Announce the cancellation at start of turn I would think.

By Douglas Saldana (Dsal) on Thursday, March 07, 2024 - 06:51 pm: Edit

Can a web caster use fractional accounting? According to E12.42 "each unit of power stored in that web caster at the time it is fired produces ten 'points' of web". This would seem to indicate that each 1/10th of a point of power produces 1 point of web. Could I, for example, allocate 1.5 units of power to a webcaster and fire it? This would produce the following values (in the lowest range bracket):

1 web hex, strength 15
2 web hexes, strength 7
3 web hexes, strength 5
4 web hexes, strength 3
5 web hexes, strength 3

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Friday, March 08, 2024 - 01:39 pm: Edit

Douglas Saldana:
I regret to reply that the rule is rather specific in that "each UNIT of power," it does not say "each unit of power or fraction thereof" produces web hexes.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, March 10, 2024 - 06:15 pm: Edit

SPP,
Had a curious situation today.
3 ships [all CA's] are tractored together [pseudo speed 4 for 2 and 0 for the 3rd] and they want to enter an asteroid hex.
Can one of the moving ships declare to be leading the other 2 and any ECM drones following them ?
We played it as it could but we want to confirm we played it properly.
If the ship declaring to be leading ends up moving second due to the random roll, does it still lead anyway ?

Do they roll on the 7-14 [combined pseudo speed of 8 ] column or 1-6, individual pseudo speed.

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Tuesday, March 12, 2024 - 07:37 pm: Edit

SPP,
I have fouind the answer and it is no.
P3.236

Cheers
frank

By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Tuesday, March 12, 2024 - 08:09 pm: Edit

Two ships are tractored and move into a asteroid hex. They have ECM drones station keeping with them.

Under the station keeping rule they are considered to be following under P3. Under this same rule a tractoring/ed ship cannot lead. I know usually the more specific rule controls over a general rule when in conflict. Not sure which would be considered the more specific rule in this case.

(FD9.11) STATION KEEPING: When launched, the drone tries to follow the ship that launched it [or another unit designated by the launching ship, but see (G24.23)] but will never actually hit it, exception (FD10.443). The ECM drone is considered to be “following” the protected unit(s) under (P3.23).

(P3.236) Units (drones, shuttles, ships) held in tractor beams cannot lead other units through or themselves be led through an asteroid field, whether the tractor is applied by an ally or an enemy. Ships that have tractored other ships, or have been tractored by other ships, cannot lead other units, or be led by other units through an asteroid field. This applies whether the tractored ship is an ally or an enemy, or is moving under its own power or not

If not protected would the ECM drones have the combined pseudo speed of the two units or their pseudo speed?

By Jeff Guthridge (Jeff_Guthridge) on Wednesday, March 13, 2024 - 01:02 am: Edit

David, I'll take a quick stab at the problem...

P3.236 lays it out clearly. A ship that tractors or is tractored by another ship CANNOT LEAD UNITS through the asteroid hex(es). This makes sense considering how the two warp fields will be warring with one another and all sorts of eddy currents created that will disrupt any navigational computer to a fare-thee-well making any attempt to stay in the lee of their target ship impossible.

Pay careful note to FD9.1156 as it is important, both ECM drones will stay with their target as long as the Pseudo Speed does not exceed the top speed of the drone frame. This means that the ECM drones are moving at the PSEUDO SPEED of the linked pair for interactions with the asteroid damage chart (P3.2) even though they remain in the hex with their target, and move with it.

The drones themselves would not have a pseudo speed unless they too were tractored, in which case the drones apply no movement cost change to the stack, nor provide any movement energy, so the net effect is that they are STILL moving at the Pseudo Speed of their target.

Hair successfully split, but the result is the same.

TL,DR: The ECM drones roll for damage on the P3.2 chart at the PSEDUO SPEED of the linked pair, they are not being led through the asteroids.

By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Sunday, April 14, 2024 - 04:46 pm: Edit

Playing a BVP limited battle and was looking to buy one of my ships with speed 8 rather than speed 20 drones (cannot fit a speed 20 ship in the available limits). I was planning on buying extra drones at medium speed with CO's. I know these will start in storage.

FD2.454 seems to indicate that you extra drones can be purchased of any available speed (second sentences). The last two sentences seem to indicate that all drones should be the same speed except during the transition years.

One interpretation is that the last two sentences are only talking about the drones in the rack and associated free reloads and not meant to cover the "extra drones" purchased with CO's. Is this correct or are "extra drones limited to the purchased speed of the ships drones?

 
(FD2.454) Ships are not required to pay for the drone speed that is
general availability, and might for tactical reasons have some slower
drones on board. Extra drones purchased as such can be of any
available speed. A drone-using ship used during a period when
medium- or high-speed drones are used is not forced to purchase
those faster drones (which in effect increases their BPV). For
example, a Kzinti CS has a BPV of 116. However, it has four drone
racks, each of which holds four drones. Equipped with medium-speed
drones, the BPV increases by eight points (1/2-point per drone) to
124. The BPV of a Kzinti CS armed with fast drones is 132. (Of
course, by the time fast drones were available, all CS-class ships had
been refitted as BCs.) Normally, all drones on a given ship are of the
same speed. There might be exceptions to this during a brief
historical period when new technology was being introduced. Thus, a
ship might have one fast drone per rack while the remainder were
medium-speed drones.

By wayne douglas power (Wayne) on Sunday, April 14, 2024 - 06:08 pm: Edit

David Hanson,

I think it is for published scenarios and standard game play that normally would have drone speeds the same as the YIS. I think when in your own campaign you could purchase speed 8 drones in the rack and or speed 8 drones extra.
In a campaign the slow drones in later years may become limited or rare drone availability [not as many produced anylonger in later YIS]

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation