Archive through May 12, 2025

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Star Fleet Battles: Rules Questions: SFB Rules Q&A: Archive through May 12, 2025
By Kenneth Humpherys (Pmthecat) on Wednesday, March 19, 2025 - 11:01 am: Edit

Thus the Gorn Anchor was born...

By Steve Stewart (Stevestewart) on Sunday, March 23, 2025 - 10:54 am: Edit

I note from J2.0 that the BP capacity of an Admin Shuttle is 2BP into a combat situation. In the various rulebook updates, I have up to R0.8 in the Master Rulebook, but can't find R1.F4 or R1.F5 which would tell me how many BP the GAS and HTS can carry respectively would be. Would someone let me know what the capacities for the GAS and HTS to carry BPs is? Thanks (and looking forward to the R1 Master Starship Book).

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, March 23, 2025 - 11:08 am: Edit

Steve,
The GAS can carry 2 BP into a combat situation much like an admin, it is only bigger and can take more punishment on the way in.
If it carries 4 BP into a combat situation, the 4 BP cannot fight on the turn of arrival and any that survive can fight on turn x+1.

A HTS [R1.F5] can carry 4 BP into a combat situation or 8 BP but the 8 BP cannot combat on the turn of arrival and any surviving BP can fight on turn x+1

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Stewart (Stevestewart) on Sunday, March 23, 2025 - 01:34 pm: Edit

Cheers Frank, that's what I'd guessed, but nice to have a confirmation!

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Wednesday, March 26, 2025 - 12:43 pm: Edit

Question re carrier operations,
A ST-H fires its HB and ph G 4 pulses on imp 1.
On imp 2, the carrier tracs it and lands it.
On imp 3, 2 DC go to work on reloading the HB charge, the ST-H is ready to launch on imp 19.
Can this ST-H then fire its HB & ph G again on imp 27 ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Wednesday, March 26, 2025 - 04:30 pm: Edit

Frank Lemay:

The fighter can fire on the following turn, but not during turn #1 under the provision of rule (J4.44) and (J4.45) for the Hellbore. Same if the heavy weapon were a disruptor charge or a photon torpedo or etc.

By Bill Schoeller (Bills) on Wednesday, March 26, 2025 - 04:43 pm: Edit

SPP - Can you give an example of what shield is hit as a range 2 trac on a split shield?

Seth - note fd1.52 which gives 4 ecm points or a 2 shift for firing dis at drones.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, March 27, 2025 - 02:46 pm: Edit

Bill Schoeller:

What brings your question up?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, March 27, 2025 - 03:17 pm: Edit

Bill Schoeller: I am trying to figure out your question, but details matter. We have I assume two ships, but is ship A holding ship B in a tractor, or is ship B holding ship A in tractor. Which ship is scheduled to move? or are both scheduled? Did one ship emergency decelerate? I know it is a split shield situation, but which shields and diection of movement?

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Thursday, March 27, 2025 - 04:52 pm: Edit

Bill Schoeller: You would start by looking at the rules for shields in ambiguous situations (D3.41) and ambiguous situations, and look at the tractor rules(G7.36). So when and under what conditions are at play for the two (and I guess possibly more) ships in you question?

By Bill Schoeller (Bills) on Sunday, March 30, 2025 - 11:12 pm: Edit

2 tournament ships .

Ship B is in reverse moving direction A. Ship A moves forward in direction D to get on split shield at range 2. At this point it is clear that Ship B is shooting at shield 6 which is down. Shield 1 is str 17. Ship A is shooting at shield 3. Then ship A tractors ship B. Speeds are now 9 for ship B and 10 for ship A. Ship B fires at Ship A doing 7 to shield 1. Ship A turns to facing E. Ship A claims he can pick which shield it hit each impulse. Ship B claims the shield should be fixed for the duration of the tractor auction. Who is correct? SHips are a NEO and Klingon.

By Steve Petrick (Petrick) on Monday, March 31, 2025 - 01:40 pm: Edit

Bill Schoeller (D3.43)-3, last sentence.

By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Wednesday, April 02, 2025 - 12:58 pm: Edit

SPP,

We are having a debate about whether extra drones bought with CO's are subject to the availability limits (restricted and limited) of FD 10.6.

Example: A Klingon ship with 2 B-racks (12 drone spaces) was to purchase 3 extra limited availability drones with CO's (outside of the loads in the racks).

1) Do the extra drones purchased with CO's have to fall under the limits of FD10.6? In the example 12 spaces allows for 2 restricted and 1 restricted or limited.

2) If the answer to #1 is yes, do the addition drones expand the calculation pool?
Example: 12 spaces of racks plus 3 spaces of extra drones give a base of 15 allowing for 2 restricted and 2 restricted or limited.

Thanks

By Nick Blank (Nickgb) on Wednesday, April 02, 2025 - 02:08 pm: Edit

See (FD10.647). In short the extra drones are under percentages. If you have 25% special drones, you must buy 4 spaces of extra drones to get one of them as special.

By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Wednesday, April 02, 2025 - 02:28 pm: Edit

That sounds like a second potential follow up question. Do the extra drones create their own pool; separate from racks, similar to MRS and fighter squadrons.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar3) on Wednesday, April 02, 2025 - 09:35 pm: Edit

Extra drones are added to whichever category they are added to, if for example, one buys extra drone for their drone racks, they are included in that pool, if for their fighters, their in that pool, etc. (each pool IS separate from each other for purchasing, in game they can be shifted between the pools 'freely' [just watch the various transport limits {deck crews, cargo, etc.}])

By David Hanson (Glimaash) on Thursday, April 03, 2025 - 12:51 pm: Edit

Thank for pointing out that section. I missed it in my skim of the rules.

For calculation purposes, it sounds like its own pool, separate from racks and fighter squadrons. The example does not provide for rounding as under (FD10.641) which says applies to racks, fighter squadrons. Is that correct?

(FD10.647) Extra drones purchased as Commander’s Options do not include reloads and must adhere to the drone percentages, e.g., if a Kzinti purchased two extra drones, one could be a restricted type, a Klingon or Federation non-carrier non-DB ship would have to purchase four drones for one to be a restricted type.

FD10.641) All percentages are based on “warhead spaces” of drones in drone racks, and fighter ready racks or launch rails (FD2.45). Round fractions of 0.49- down and 0.50+ up.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Saturday, May 10, 2025 - 08:30 am: Edit

Question re drone speed upgrades.
A ship with 2 B racks pays 6 points when built for sp 20 drones.
In Y180 sp 32 is available.
Does the ship pay 12 points for the 2 B racks or just the difference which is 6 points ?

Thanks.

Cheers
Frank

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Saturday, May 10, 2025 - 12:24 pm: Edit

Hi Frank,
My answer wouldn't be official, but I think you'd have to pay the full 12 points (for twelve type-I fast drones). Or 6 points (for six type-IV fast drones). Either way, I believe the drone costs are per drone, not per total spaces of drone.

By Frank Lemay (Princeton) on Sunday, May 11, 2025 - 07:13 am: Edit

RObert,
That is what I am thinking, the ship pays for sp 20 drones in Y167 and then pays an additional 12 points to get sp 32 drones in Y180.

Cheers
Frank

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Sunday, May 11, 2025 - 01:30 pm: Edit

Keep in mind, in a campaign setting, you are not forced to pay for the speed-20 drones in Y167 just to gain speed-32 in Y180. (though doing so may reduce the ships chances of surviving to Y180)

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Sunday, May 11, 2025 - 08:29 pm: Edit

Several questions regarding: (D17.4) LEVELS OF INFORMATION
According to the Strategic information levels from D17.4, the following Strategic information is known...


Quote:

S2: The total movement cost (per hex) of all of the ships (not the cost of individual ships) and the current speed of the force is known. Tugs are reported at their basic movement cost without pods regardless of pods carried.

S3: The total number of ships in the force is known.

S4: The movement cost of each ship in the force is known; tugs are reported at their basic movement cost without pods regardless of pods carried. Shuttles are simply listed as “an unknown number of shuttles.”




1. Is there somewhere in which suggestions are implied or inferred as to the distances between the various "S" levels of info?

2a. Are PFs on Mechlinks counted within S2 and/or S3 and/or S4? Or are they treated like the pods on a tug? IE: not reported at all until tactical means of info gathering. I ask because the information gathered from the tug pods seams to imply they are not known at all until reaching tactical means of information gathering (closer than S5 Strategic info).

2b. What about units inside a starbase, dock, Hive ship etc?

2c. What about satellite ships still aboard their motherships?

By Alan Trevor (Thyrm) on Monday, May 12, 2025 - 01:39 am: Edit

Frank Lemay and Robert Russell Lender;

Maybe I misunderstood your posts about drone speeds. But if youu are saying what I think you are saying; that you pay 0.5 points per drone for medium speed, but then, when fast drones become standard, pay an additional 1 point per drone on top of that 0.5 points, I don't think that's correct. Look at the EXAMPLES: paragraph under (FD2.32) ADVANCED DRONES:. I think you pay a total of 1 point per drone (with some odball exceptions like Type-VI and Type-H drones) rather than 1 point on top of the previous 0.5 paid for medium speed.

But as I say, I may have misunderstood you posts.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, May 12, 2025 - 05:07 am: Edit

You pay one point for slow to fast, half a point for slow to medium, half a point for medium to fast.

By Robert Russell Lender (Rusman) on Monday, May 12, 2025 - 10:06 am: Edit

SVC, Thanks for clearing that up. Much appreciated.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation