AO reports already processed

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E WARBOOK: Stratcon21 Update – Advanced Operations (AO) : Old files (to be deleted 1 Jan 2023): AO reports already processed
  Subtopic Posts   Updated
Archive through July 28, 2022  44   08/20 03:44pm

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 03:33 pm: Edit

ADDED

(314.249) FEDS Recommends adding the following text to the end of the rule:

"Units that retreated from a raided hex cannot then use any form of reaction movement during the operational movement phase of that same player turn."

RATIONALE: This prevents raided players from 'Aggressively" "retreating from a raid toward an enemy force, then using reaction movement to move again during the same player turn. Players could effectively retreat one hex, then use extended followed by standard reaction to move THREE hexes during their non-phasing turn.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 03:38 pm: Edit

ADDED

(317.51) The WYN have a drone bombardment pod with scout functions from Module TO.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 03:56 pm: Edit

JEAN SAYS THERE IS NO SUCH WORD AS "BOLDIFY" AND REQUIRES YOU TO RESUBMIT THIS REPORT WITH THE WORD "EMBOLDEN" INSTEAD.

(525.23A) Boldify title text to match other HDW missions.
(525.23Y) Boldify title text to match other HDW missions.
(525.23Z) Boldify title text to match other HDW missions.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 03:25 am: Edit

IF this has not been suggested or done previously I would like to make two suggestions with the first adding a title reference to rule (314.244) as follows:

(314.244) Reaction Battle: The raiding ship and reacting ship (or equivalent) combined with any defending units already in the hex then fight one
round of small scale combat (310.0). A defending unit could decline battle, and the Raid would then be resolved under (314.252). A cloaked raider cannot use (314.28).

Rationale:
In rule (314.28) a reference is made using the term reaction battle, there is no such term or reference. If by reaction battle, it is referring to combat under SOP step 3A-2E: Raiding ships and reacting units conduct one round of small-scale combat under (314.244).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Second suggestion:
Consider also adding/using the term in the SOP reference for continuity as follows:

3A-2E: Reaction Battle: Raiding ships and reacting units conduct one round of small-scale combat (314.244).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Original Rule (314.244) and rule (314.28) included for reference.

(314.244) The raiding ship and reacting ship (or equivalent) combined with any defending units already in the hex then fight one
round of small scale combat (310.0). A defending unit could decline battle, and the Raid would then be resolved under (314.252). A cloaked raider cannot use (314.28).

(314.28) ALTERNATIVE ATTACK: If the raiding ship survives the reaction battle (if there is one) uncrippled and without being forced to retreat, it may (instead of disrupting the province) engage in single combat with any single unit of its choice in the Raid Target Hex, which might include an FRD, warship, SAF, convoy, base, tug serving as a supply point or setting up a mobile base, PDU, auxiliary, or whatever; however, see (314.253-4). In the case of units with specific escorts assigned under (515.0) including carrier groups, the Raiding Ship must fight the entire group as a single unit using (310.0). A raid cannot devastate a planet. This type of attack cannot be conducted in the area of an inactive fleet. Note that slow units (e.g., monitors) could be forced to retreat. This would be done normally since the raiding ship is in no position to pursue them.


Thanks - L. BERGEN 29 JULY 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 03:44 pm: Edit

Lar, I did the above but if it put DONE into the message it will fry your formatting.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 03:08 pm: Edit

AO PROPOSAL FOR SPECIAL RULE (525.32) UNIQUE CONVERSIONS - DUE TO THE INTRODUCTION OF PO RULE (425.2) CONVERSION DURING REPAIR

SUGGESTED EDITS ALL: REVISION FOR CONTINUITY AND CLARITY (THIS INCLUDES ADB INTENT TO MOVE ALL COSTS REFERENCE TO THE SIT AS THE SINGLE SOURCE OF TRUTH)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #1 - RULE (552.32) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED


(525.32) UNIQUE CONVERSIONS: A few unusual ships appeared during the General War as a result of being converted from a hull that would not ordinarily have been used for that type of variant. Several of these unique conversions follow the rules found in Planetary Operations, some do not and are noted.

RATIONALE: Reference added to PO Rules in regards to these special rules.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #2 - RULE (552.321) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED


(525.321) Federation CAD: One Federation CA was converted into this drone bombardment variant due to unique circumstances in which the specific repair facility in question did not have any photon torpedo mounts available. To reflect this (even if players are not using the CDR rule (425.2) found in Planetary Operations), the Federation may at any point from Turn #8 or after convert at any starbase (or larger) one crippled CA into a CAD. The cost of this conversion is the total of repairs to this ship plus the conversion cost reduced by one economic point, which counts against the base’s one allowed minor conversion and four of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit. If a CAD is destroyed in combat, another crippled CA can be converted during repair as a CAD for the same cost, but the Federation can only have one CAD in service at any given time. The Federation may produce a CAD by converting an uncrippled CA for the cost found on the Ship Information Table.

(525.321) RATIONALE & SUPPORT:
F-CAD: SPECIAL RULE COST
CRIPPLED: The cost of this conversion is five (5.0) economic points, which includes the cost of repair and counts as the Starbase’s one allowed minor conversion and four of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit.
UNCRIPPLED: The Federation may produce a CAD by converting an uncrippled CA for three points.

F-CAD: CDR COST
CRIPPLED: Under CDR rule (425.21) the cost of converting this ship would be reduced by one economic point (1.0 being less that 1.5 (or 50% of the 3.0 EP conversion). The repair cost is not reduced. To use CDR on a F-CA to F-CAD would be (3-1=) 2 plus (4x0.5=) 2 at the base rate of 0.5 EPs per repair points. The total cost would be 4.0 EPs.
(SPECIAL RULE DOES NOT MATCH CDR RULE – CHANGE COST RECOMMENDED: CDR Reduces cost from five to four EPs)
UNCRIPPLED: CDR is not intended to be used on uncrippled ships.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #3 - RULE (552.322) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.322) Federation CLD: In similarly unique circumstances, the Federation converted two crippled CLs into drone bombardment ships. To reflect this (even if players are not using the CDR rule (425.2) found in Planetary Operations), the Federation may at any point from Turn #10 or after convert at any starbase (or larger) one crippled CL into a CLD, and a second one on Turn #12 or later. The cost of this conversion is the total of repairs to this ship plus the conversion cost reduced by one economic point, which counts against the base’s one allowed minor conversion and three of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit. If a CLD is destroyed in combat, another crippled CL can be converted during repair as a CLD for the same cost, but the Federation can only have two CLDs in service at any given time. The Federation can produce CLDs (within the limits given) or by converting uncrippled CLs using the costs found on the Ship Information Table.

(525.322) RATIONALE & SUPPORT:
EDITS MADE TO ABOVE TEXT TO MOVE COSTS FOCUS TO SIT - NO CDR COST CHANGE NEEDED
F-CLD: SPECIAL RULE COST
CRIPPLED: The cost of this conversion is 3.5 EPs, which includes the cost of repair and counts as the Starbase’s one allowed minor conversion and uses three of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit.
UNCRIPPLED: The Federation can produce CLDs (within the limits given) by converting uncrippled CLs for three points each.

F-CLD: CDR COST
CRIPPLED: Under CDR rule (425.21) the cost of converting a CL to CLD would be reduced by one economic point (1.0 being less that 1.5 (or 50% of the 3.0 EP conversion). The repair cost is not reduced. To use CDR on a F-CL to CLD would be (3-1=) 2 plus (3x0.5=) 1.5 at the base rate of 0.5 EPs per repair points. The total cost would be 3.5 EPs.
(SPECIAL RULE MATCHES CDR RULE – NO CHANGE IN COST RECOMMENDED ONLY TEXT)
UNCRIPPLED: CDR is not intended to be used on uncrippled ships.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

APPLICABLE ORIGINAL RULES INCLUDED FOR REFERENCE:
(525.32) UNIQUE CONVERSIONS: A few unusual ships appeared during the General War as a result of being converted from a hull that would not ordinarily have been used for that type of variant.

(525.321) Federation CAD: One Federation CA was converted into this drone bombardment variant due to unique circumstances in which the specific repair facility in question did not have any photon torpedo mounts available. To reflect this, the Federation may convert at any starbase or SFB one crippled CA into a CAD at any point from Turn #8 or after. The cost of this conversion is five points, which includes the cost of repair and counts as the Starbase’s one allowed minor conversion and four of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit. If a CAD is destroyed in combat, another crippled CA can be converted during repair as a CAD for the same cost, but the Federation can only have one CAD in service at any given time. The Federation may produce a CAD by converting an uncrippled CA for three points.

(525.322) Federation CLD: In similarly unique circumstances, the Federation converted two crippled CLs into drone bombardment ships. To reflect this, the Federation may convert at any starbase one crippled CL into a CLD at any point from Turn #10 or after, and a second one on Turn #12 or later. The cost of this conversion is 3.5 EPs, which includes the cost of repair and counts as the Starbase’s one allowed minor conversion and uses three of its repair points, and is within the (432.41) limit. If a CLD is destroyed in combat, another crippled CL can be converted during repair as a CLD for the same cost, but the Federation can only have two CLDs in service at any given time. The Federation can produce CLDs (within the limits given) by converting uncrippled CLs for three points each.

PO - (425.2) CONVERSION DURING REPAIR The repair of a crippled ship is an excellent time to convert the ship into something else since it is in the shipyard, and many of the items that would have to be removed have already been melted down by the helpful enemy.

PO - (425.21) EFFECT: If a ship under repair is converted to a variant at the same time, the cost of the conversion is reduced by one point or 50%, whichever is less, but still uses normal repair capacity. The full repair cost must be paid. Ships in the Depot (424.0) do not get any discount.

PO - (425.22) FACILITY: There must be a facility able to make the conversion in the same hex; the conversion uses that facility’s conversion capability for that turn.

PO - (425.24) CONVERSION LIMITS: The conversion made during repair counts against all of the empire’s various limits, capacity, and restrictions for producing a variant of that base hull type.

L. BERGEN 29 JULY 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 03:53 pm: Edit

Lar, above approved.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 03:33 pm: Edit

AO PROPOSAL FOR SPECIAL RULE (525.32) UNIQUE CONVERSIONS - DUE TO THE INTRODUCTION OF PO RULE (425.2) CONVERSION DURING REPAIR

SUGGESTED EDITS ALL: REVISION FOR CONTINUITY AND CLARITY (THIS INCLUDES ADB INTENT TO MOVE ALL COSTS REFERENCE TO THE SIT AS THE SINGLE SOURCE OF TRUTH)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #4 - RULE (552.323) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.323) Hydran DDS: The Hydrans found themselves, in the first days of the Coalition Invasion, with numerous crippled ships and a desperate need for key types of units. One of their greatest shortages was scouts, not because the diminutive frigate-based scouts were lost in combat, but because they were not effective against the Lyran DWS and the Klingon D5S. To resolve this problem, the Hydrans converted two crippled destroyers into DDS scouts. To reflect this, any Hydran starbase can convert one or two crippled destroyers (of any type) into DDS scouts on Turn #6 or any later turn. (Both conversions could be done by the same starbase on the same turn. Uncrippled DDs could be used.) The cost is 2.5 EPs, or 4.5 EPs if both are done on the same turn by the same starbase (this includes the cost of repair and conversion). This special conversion is limited to two ships total; the Hydran player may build more DDS ships by conversion or substitution within the normal rules. The Hydran player may, at his option, convert one or two uncrippled DDs for the same cost. Many costs reflected in this rule are further discounted over and above using Planetary Operations rule (425.2) Conversion During Repair, these special costs are both accurate and limited.

(525.323) RATIONAL & SUPPORT:
Adding the commentary about how this special rule is truly an exception to CDR because the long-hand of my Hydran math included figuring out CDR comparison costs for the Hydran LANCER and KNIGHT. The only cost to align was the Hydran Lancer with its already existing hybrid fighters. ALL other costs for CDR and (in this case) conversion of the uncrippled DDs exceeded the calculations. ADB Staff choices could be to regulate this ONLY to crippled LNs but that is NOT the intent of the rule. So adding the comment and leaving this alone as truly a unique balancer rule. Staff may figure out a way to move the cost to the SIT but I could not so it remains in the rule.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(525.324) NO CHANGES NEEDED TO THE KLINGON B8 RULES (REFERENCED SO YOU DIDNT THINK I MISSED IT IN REVIEW)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #5 - RULE (552.325) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.325) Klingon AD6: This was a unique conversion of a damaged D6 into a heavy carrier escort. To reflect this (even if players are not using the CDR rule (425.2) found in Planetary Operations), the Klingons may at any point from Turn #16 or after convert, at any sector base (452.0) or larger base, one crippled D6 into an AD6. The cost of this conversion is the total of repairs to this ship plus the conversion cost reduced by 0.5 economic point, which counts against the base’s one allowed minor conversion limits and four of its repair points. The Klingons may elect instead to convert an uncrippled existing D6 for one EP. The Klingons may only have one AD6 in service at any given time and may produce a replacement by either method if the one AD6 in service has been destroyed.

(525.325) RATIONAL & SUPPORT:
SECTOR BASES (452.0) have the ability to perform this level of conversion and repair. Recommended replacing 'starbase or SFB' as above. Now for the math...
K - AD6: SPECIAL RULE COST
CRIPPLED: Convert and repair a crippled D6, which costs three EPs (including both the cost of repair and the cost of the conversion, counting as the one conversion allowed to that starbase that turn and four of its repair points).
UNCRIPPLED: Convert an existing D6 for one EP.

K - AD6: CDR COST
CRIPPLED: Under CDR rule (425.21) the cost of converting a Klingon D6 to AD6 would be reduced by 0.5 economic point (or 50% of the 1.0 EP conversion). The repair cost is not reduced. To use CDR on a D6 to AD6 would be (1-0.5=) 0.5 plus (4x0.5=) 2.0 at the base rate of 0.5 EPs per repair point. The total cost would be 2.5 EPs.
(SPECIAL RULE DOES NOT MATCH CDR RULE – CHANGE IN COST RECOMMENDED FOR APPROVAL and cost text redirected to SIT)
UNCRIPPLED: CDR is not intended to be used on uncrippled ships.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ORIGINAL RULES INCLUDED FOR REFERENCE:
(525.323) Hydran DDS: The Hydrans found themselves, in the first days of the Coalition Invasion, with numerous crippled ships and a desperate need for key types of units. One of their greatest shortages was scouts, not because the diminutive frigate-based scouts were lost in combat, but because they were not effective against the Lyran DWS and the Klingon D5S. To resolve this problem, the Hydrans converted two crippled destroyers into DDS scouts. To reflect this, any Hydran starbase can convert one or two crippled destroyers (of any type) into DDS scouts on Turn #6 or any later turn. (Both conversions could be done by the same starbase on the same turn. Uncrippled DDs could be used.) The cost is 2.5 EPs, or 4.5 EPs if both are done on the same turn by the same starbase (this includes the cost of repair and conversion). This special conversion is limited to two ships total; the Hydran player may build more DDS ships by conversion or substitution within the normal rules. The Hydran player may, at his option, convert uncrippled DDs for the same cost.

(525.324) The Klingon B8 was an unbuilt design combining the boom of an incomplete B10 with the rear hull of a C8. The Klingons may produce such a ship at any time from Turn #20 onward under the following conditions: The B8 replaces a C8 scheduled for that turn. The B8 “uses” an incomplete B10 with at least 20 points toward completion under (436.21); any points above 20 are lost. This incomplete B10 is converted into the B8 and is removed from the B10 program. The B8 costs six EPs (in addition to whatever has been spent to date on the B10). While only one B8 counter is provided, the Klingons may produce as many B8s as they choose within the rules provided.

(525.325) Klingon AD6: This was a unique conversion of a damaged D6 into a heavy carrier escort. To reflect this, the Klingons may, on Turn #16 or a later turn, convert one D6 into an AD6. This may be done one of two ways: Convert an existing D6 for one EP, or, Convert and repair a crippled D6, which costs three EPs (including both the cost of repair and the cost of the conversion, counting as the one conversion allowed to that starbase that turn and four of its repair points). The Klingons may only have one AD6 in service at any given time and may produce a replacement by either method if the one AD6 in service has been destroyed.

PO CDR APPLICABLE RULES:
(425.2) CONVERSION DURING REPAIR The repair of a crippled ship is an excellent time to convert the ship into something else since it is in the shipyard, and many of the items that would have to be removed have already been melted down by the helpful enemy.

(425.21) EFFECT: If a ship under repair is converted to a variant at the same time, the cost of the conversion is reduced by one point or 50%, whichever is less, but still uses normal repair capacity. The full repair cost must be paid. Ships in the Depot (424.0) do not get any discount.

(425.22) FACILITY: There must be a facility able to make the conversion in the same hex; the conversion uses that facility’s conversion capability for that turn.

(425.24) CONVERSION LIMITS: The conversion made during repair counts against all of the empire’s various limits, capacity, and restrictions for producing a variant of that base hull type.

L. BERGEN - 29 JULY 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 03:57 pm: Edit

Lar, that one as well.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 29, 2022 - 03:57 pm: Edit

AO PROPOSAL FOR SPECIAL RULE (525.32) UNIQUE CONVERSIONS - DUE TO THE INTRODUCTION OF PO RULE (425.2) CONVERSION DURING REPAIR

SUGGESTED EDITS BELOW: REVISION FOR CONTINUITY AND CLARITY (THIS INCLUDES ADB INTENT TO MOVE ALL COSTS REFERENCE TO THE SIT AS THE SINGLE SOURCE OF TRUTH)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #6 - RULE (552.326) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.326) Lyran DND: This ship was constructed from the prefabricated center section of a dreadnought that was to be converted from a heavy cruiser. At any time, the Lyrans can produce a DND (see the Ship Information Table) but doing so prevents them from using either a major conversion or a dreadnought production slot (but not both) for that turn. The Lyrans may convert a CA and a DND into a DN for the costs found on the Ship Information Table.

RATIONALE & SUPPORT:
Replaced text for numerical costs above instead shifting players to the SIT Costs as the single source of truth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #7 - RULE (552.327) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.327) Lyran STL: The Lyrans produced one of their dreadnoughts in this mauler configuration early in the General War. To reflect this, the Lyrans can convert one CA or DN into an STL (or substitute an STL for one DN) on Turn #10 or later. Note: Planetary Operations introduced Conversion During Repair (425.2) which may be used to reduce the cost of this conversion. Only one STL can be in service at any given time. Due to the heavier hull, this ship was more resistant to shock and suffers shock effects only on a die roll of 6. The ship can use its full attack factor of 12 as a mauler (i.e., “maul” for 12 points instead of the 10 points of an STT).

(525.327) RATIONALE & SUPPORT:
Review of the CDR rules does allow for a reduction of a major conversion like this as long as it takes place at a facility able to handle it. This is all covered in the PO rule and as such only a note was needed here for players to refer to those rules if they have or are using the PO expansion.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(525.328) Kzinti DND: NO CHANGES TO THIS RULE NEEDS AS THE CONVERSION COST IS ALREADY ZERO WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF THIS RULE. (INCLUDED FOR REFERENCE SO YOU KNEW I DIDNT MISS IT) :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

SUGGESTED EDIT #8 - RULE (552.329) RECOMMENDATIONS IN RED

(525.329) Kzinti CLD: The Kzintis had used drone bombardment versions of their CL in the Four Powers War, but all of these had been lost in combat and were replaced in service by cheaper drone bombardment frigates. When the General War showed a need for more powerful EW platforms, the Kzintis converted some CL hulls into the “forgotten” CLD design. Such conversions are under the usual limits for drone bombardment ships and scouts (432.41), the costs are found on the Ship Information Table.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ORIGINAL RULES INCLUDED FOR REFERENCE
(525.326) Lyran DND: This ship was constructed from the prefabricated center section of a dreadnought that was to be converted from a heavy cruiser. At any time, the Lyrans can produce a DND (see the Ship Information Table) but doing so prevents them from using either a major conversion or a dreadnought production slot (but not both) for that turn. You can convert a CA and a DND into a DN for three EPs.

(525.327) Lyran STL: The Lyrans produced one of their dreadnoughts in this mauler configuration early in the General War. To reflect this, the Lyrans can convert one CA or DN into an STL (or substitute an STL for one DN) on Turn #10 or later. Only one STL can be in service at any given time. Due to the heavier hull, this ship was more resistant to shock and suffers shock effects only on a die roll of 6. The ship can use its full attack factor of 12 as a mauler (i.e., “maul” for 12 points instead of the 10 points of an STT).

(525.328) Kzinti DND: The Kzintis converted one dreadnought into a massive drone bombardment platform during the General War. The Kzintis can convert one DN to this design on Turn #10 or any later turn. If a crippled dreadnought is converted, there is no cost other than the repair cost. Only one DND can be in service at any given time; a lost DND can be replaced under these rules.

(525.329) Kzinti CLD: The Kzintis had used drone bombardment versions of their CL in the Four Powers War, but all of these had been lost in combat and were replaced in service by cheaper drone bombardment frigates. When the General War showed a need for more powerful EW platforms, the Kzintis converted some CL hulls into the “forgotten” CLD design. Such conversions are under the usual limits for drone bombardment ships and scouts (432.41).

APPLICABLE PO RULES:
All of (425.2) but specifically...
(425.23) MAJOR CONVERSIONS: If the unreduced cost of the conversion makes it a major conversion, it can only be done by a facility qualified to make a major conversion, even if the cost reduction makes it cost less than four points. This could include one facility doing the repair and a co-located (same location) facility doing the conversion.

***END OF 525.32 REVIEW***

L. BERGEN - 29 JULY 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 04:01 pm: Edit

And that one.

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 03:03 am: Edit

It costs 1EP to convert a D6 to an Ad6, unless the rule has been changed some where that I am unaware of.

CDR does not apply:

"(425.21) EFFECT: If a ship under repair is converted to
a variant at the same time, the cost of the conversion is
reduced by one point (but never below a cost of 1 point)
but still uses normal repair capacity. The full repair cost
must be paid. Ships in the Depot (424.0) do not get any
discount."

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, July 30, 2022 - 03:31 am: Edit

RBE:

It was changed in PO-21...


Quote:

(425.21) EFFECT: If a ship under repair is converted to a variant at the same time, the cost of the conversion is reduced by one point or 50%, whichever is less, but still uses normal repair capacity. The full repair cost must be paid. Ships in the Depot (424.0) do not get any discount.


By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 04:29 pm: Edit

done
THINGS CHUCK SAYS WE NEED TO DO
================================
FEDS RECOMMEND ADDING the following proposed text to the AO-2022 Update:

(523.6) ADVANCED TECH CARRIER OPERATIONS
The advent of advanced technology greatly impacted carrier operations doctrine. Advanced technology allowed for better capabilities and/or protection of carriers and their escorts.

<I>FEDS Note: From SFB Module X1R (R2.212) (3.210) (R4.213) (R5.209):
Whenever these ships were in a predominately X-ship squadron, they could operate without escorts, but on several occasions, these X-ships operated as a regular carrier in sectors where other advanced technology ships were not present. On these occasions, if they were available, escorts would be provided. This was because the need to stay with and remain part of any given battle group would slow the ship down and make it vulnerable to attack by enemy forces.</I>

(523.61) ADVANCED TECH ESCORTED GROUPS
The advent of advanced technology improved how X-ships performed in protecting elements of X-groups. These types of X-groups are entirely made up of eligible X-ship true carriers (or other eligible protected X-ships) and high-speed escorts: X-ship and fast ship true escorts (including X-ship and fast ship ad hoc escorts). Fast carriers are excluded from this rule. The abilities include:

(523.611) Improved Escort Protection: Uncrippled true X-carriers in an escorted advanced technology escort group may be counted toward the escort protection bonus calculation; essentially X-carriers have an intrinsic escort bonus ‘square’ (515.3). To cripple an advanced technology escort by directed damage requires a number of damage points equal to twice the escort’s defense factor, plus one point for each advanced technology, true escort and X-carrier in the group (including the true X-escort under attack). To destroy an escort by directed damage takes the number of points required to cripple it plus twice the crippled defense factor. There is no “per escort bonus” if the escort is crippled. Only true X-carriers (excluding other protected X-ships) and true advanced technology escorts (those with an escort symbol) are eligible to contribute to this bonus; ad hoc escorts of any type may not. This rule does not allow true X-carriers to serve as escorts, but simply gives them a bonus in protecting their X-group.

FEDS Note: Standard rule from (308.111) To cripple an escort by Directed Damage requires a number of Damage Points equal to twice the escort’s defense factor, plus one point for each escort in the group (including the escort under attack). To destroy an escort by Directed Damage takes the number of points required to cripple it plus twice the crippled defense factor. There is no “per escort bonus” if the escort is crippled.

(523.612) Improved Ad Hoc Escort Protection: Ad hoc X-ships (not fast ships) serving in an inner escort position to an X-group cannot be attacked by a directed damage attack under (515.344) unless all outer escorts beyond the ad hoc X-escort are destroyed.

(523.613) No Benefit: If any element of advanced technology escorted group contains or adds a standard technology unit or does not contain an X-carrier, the group is treated as a standard carrier group from that point and may not benefit further from the above rules.

(523.614) Lost Benefit: If a non-advanced technology FCR is added as an emergency escort to an escorted advanced technology group, then the group is treated as a standard carrier group from that point and may not benefit further from the above rules.


(523.62) SINGLE-SHIP X-CARRIERS

<I>FEDS NOTE: Again, from SFB Module X1R (R2.212) (3.210) (R4.213) (5.209):
"Whenever these ships were in a predominately X-ship squadron, they could operate without escorts..."</I>

(523.621) Combat Eligibility: All X-Carriers (unless specified elsewhere) may operate as single-ship carriers if a friendly battle force is made up of no less than 75% of high-speed ships (X-ships and fast ships); the calculation includes independent PF flotillas and independent fighter squadrons which are each counted as high-speed units for this purpose. The presence of other friendly non-ship units not counted toward command limits (bases, FRDs, convoys, etc.) are ignored for this calculation.

(523.622) Lost Eligibility: If a battle force fails to meet the eligibility requirement for using single-ship X-carriers from (523.621) above, then any X-carriers group used in a battle round MUST count any missing required escorts toward the command limits for that round of combat. This may occur if there are not enough units to meet the threshold in (523.621) above or for tactical reasons to withhold qualifying units to preserve them for future use.

(523.623) Escorts: X-carriers eligible to operate as single-ship carriers are not required to be escorted but may still freely use any number of eligible escorts up to the carrier’s rated maximum; count any added escorts toward to the command limit of the fleet. Any freely added escorts lost during combat are not counted toward missing command slots. Exception: two or more heavy escorts that are not covered with an outer light escort or properly augmented with an added emergency FCR must still count the missing outer light escort toward the command rating of the group.

(523.624) One Escort: Single-ship X-carriers using one escort can have either a heavy or light escort.


(523.63) MIXED SHIP ESCORT GROUPS: These types of groups include an X-carrier (or other eligible protected X-ships) escorted by any type of eligible escort and/or ad hoc escort warships (standard/fast/X-ship) but are treated as standard escort groups if any of the ships in the group are not high-speed ships.

(523.64) COMPOSITE CARRIER GROUPS: CVBGs and CVEGs may be formed but the both carriers must be of the same technology; either two eligible X-carriers or two eligible non-X-carriers but not both.

(523.65) X-SHIP AD HOC ESCORTS

(523.651) X-Escort Group Limitations: X-ships not otherwise excluded under (515.33) may be used as “ad hoc” X-escorts in X-carrier groups, but their offensive value is reduced 25% of the printed factor (round fractions down) or by three, whichever is a greater reduction; the strength cannot be reduced to a point less than zero. Their defense strength is not changed. All other aspects of the rules for ships serving as ad hoc escorts (including fast ships) under (515.3) apply unless the specified otherwise.

(523.652) Standard Escort Group Limitations: X-ships can act as ad hoc escorts for non-X-ship carriers or other eligible non-X-units but their offensive value is reduced 50% of the printed factor (round fractions down) or by three, whichever is a greater reduction. Their attack strength cannot be reduced to a point less than zero. Their defense strength is not changed.


(523.66) OTHER X-SHIP ESCORTED GROUP RULES

(523.661) Combat Restriction: All eligible X-ships serving in any type of escorted group may not use or contribute to the X-mauler effect under (523.31).

(523.662) Retained Defensive Effects: All X-ships in any escorted X-group group retain their:

Destructive effects on non-X attrition units (523.32);

Reduced effect from enemy maulers (523.33);

Reduced effect from enemy non-X SFGs (523.34);

Effectiveness against enemy EW effects (523.38).

(523.663) Reserves: X-Carriers may be treated as single-ship carriers for command purposes if the entire reserve force is made up of high-speed ships (X-ships and fast ships).

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 04:30 pm: Edit

done
THINGS CHUCK SAYS WE NEED TO DO
================================
FEDS RECOMMEND ADDING the following proposed text to the AO-2022 Update:

(523.7) ADVANCED TECH STASIS
The advent of advanced technology impacted stasis operations to a limited extent. X-stasis units continue to use the rules under (312.0) with the following changes:

(523.71) TARGET SELECTION: X-stasis units are more effective targeting units. Follow the standard target selection procedures under (312.23) with the following modifications:

(523.711) Improved Targeting: If the target of an uncrippled X-stasis unit is non-X-unit or crippled X-unit, then the die roll for target selection under (312.231C) is modified by a -1 .

(523.712) Random Targeting Procedure: In the case of a random targeting selection by an X-stasis unit, follow these procedures:

X-Stasis Player: Can always select one valid X-unit as a random target but cannot select a second or third uncrippled X-unit for random targeting unless no other valid non-X or valid crippled X-unit random targets are available.

Targeted Player: Can select random targets normally under (312.233).

(523.713) Electronic Warfare (EW) Improvements: In the case of a non-X-ship or crippled X-ship being targeted by an X-stasis ship, the EW die roll shift in (313.231) is calculated. If there is a shift of only one in favor of the X-stasis unit, it is ignored, but if the shift is two, then one is subtracted from the target selection die roll. If it is in favor of the targeted unit, it is added to the die roll. Ignore if this section (523.713) if an uncrippled X-stasis unit is attempting to freeze an uncrippled X-unit.

(523.72) DISASTER MITIGATION: In the event of a “Total Disaster!” result, the following effects are imposed on the X-stasis ship: no ships are frozen by that X-stasis ship in that round (even if previous die rolls said otherwise), and the X-stasis ship has an attack factor reduced by 50% (round down) for that combat round.

FEDS Note: (312.223) FROM CO: In the event of a “Total Disaster!”, the following effects are imposed on the SFG ship: no ships are frozen by that SFG ship in that round (even if previous die rolls said otherwise), and the SFG ship has an attack factor of zero for that combat round.

(523.73) X-STASIS SHIP VULNERABILITY: Follow the procedures under (312.24) to cripple the X-stasis using unit at full (1:1) effect. However, the amount to destroy the same X-stasis using unit is calculated at 2:1 ratio; a true X-mauler can be used at a 1:1 ratio to destroy the crippled, X-stasis using unit but only during the combat round the X-stasis unit was used (this reflects the increased difficulty of destroying an X-ship). X-ship mauler effects and non-X maulers can be used under (523.33). All other procedures under (312.24) apply.

EXAMPLE: A D7AX has an uncrippled defense factor of 13 and a crippled defense value of seven. It requires 26 damage points to cripple with directed damage if it does not use the SFG, but only 13 damage points to cripple if it does. Then, to destroy the D7AX during that round, it will take 14 damage points to destroy it unless a true X-mauler uses some or all of its 1:1 mauling capability against the crippled value of the D7AX.

(523.74) CRIPPLED X-STASIS SHIPS: A crippled X-stasis ship retains a limited capability to attempt to freeze only one unit. Simply use the standard SFG rules under (312.0), but only one stasis attempt can be made without any of the X-stasis rule modifications (523.7). A crippled X-stasis ship that uses its stasis capability while crippled can be destroyed by directed damage at full effect (1:1). In the same way as standard SFG ships, maulers (including the X-ship mauler-effect) cannot use their special abilities against a crippled SFG-armed unit that used its SFG that round.

(523.75) IMPROVED BOOM SALVAGE: Whenever an X-stasis unit is destroyed, roll one die, and if the result is either a "5" or “6,” the boom has survived and been recovered, providing the “kit” for a future SFG conversion. All other salvage rules under (312.47) apply.

(523.76) OTHER X-STASIS RULES

(523.761) Combat Restriction: All X-stasis ships using their stasis ability may not use or contribute to the X-mauler effect under (523.31).

(523.762) Retained Defensive Effects: All X-stasis units using their stasis ability retain their:

Destructive effects on non-X attrition units (523.32);

Reduced effect from enemy maulers (523.33);

Reduced effect from enemy non-X SFGs (523.34);

Effectiveness against enemy EW effects (523.38).

NOTE: Currently, the only stasis ship available during the General War is the Klingon D7AX and uses the target selection die roll values for the Klingon C7A on the Stasis Success Table under (312.231C). when other X-stasis units become available in the future, refer to the SITs and annexes to determine which chart index to use.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 04:31 pm: Edit

DONE 523.8
THINGS CHUCK SAYS WE NEED TO DO
================================
FEDS RECOMMEND ADDING the following proposed text to the AO-2022 Update:

(523.8) ADVANCED TECH PENAL SHIPS

{wait, there are X-tech penal ships? wow! who knew?}

Some X-penal ships were introduced late in the General War. The Klingons may produce these ships as replacements (on a cruiser-for-cruiser and frigate-for-frigate hull size basis) and as permitted by their SIT data. X-penal units continue to use the rules under (528.0) with the following changes:



(523.81) IMPROVED MISSION SURVIVAL: Under this modification, X-penal ships performing missions under the sacrifice (528.41), special attack (528.42), or honor dual (528.43) rules are crippled normally under their mission rule set. However, the amount to destroy a crippled X-penal ships performing a special mission is calculated at a 2:1 ratio; a true X-mauler can be used at a 1:1 ratio to destroy the crippled, X-penal ship unit but only during the combat round the X-penal ship was used (this reflects the increased difficulty of destroying an X-ship). X-ship mauler effects and non-X maulers can be used under (523.33). All other procedures under (528.41) apply.



EXAMPLE: A D5JX has an uncrippled defense factor of 10 and a crippled defense value of five. It requires only 10 damage points to cripple with directed damage if it performs the sacrifice mission. Then, to destroy the D5JX during that same round, it will take 10 damage points to destroy it unless a true X-mauler uses some or all of its 1:1 mauling capability against the crippled value of the D5JX; X-ship mauler effects and non-X maulers can be used under (523.33).



(523.82) UNASSIGNED MISSION: Any X-penal ships in the battle force which are not assigned special missions are treated as normal ships of the printed factors and could be attacked by directed damage at 2:1 without counting as the one allowed directed damage attack.



(523.83) OTHER X-PENAL SHIP RULES

(523.831) Combat Restriction: All X-penal ships performing a penal mission may not use or contribute to the X-mauler effect under (523.31).

(523.832) Defensive Effects: All X-penal ships performing a penal mission:

Lose their destructive effects on non-X attrition units (523.32);

Lose their effectiveness against enemy EW effects (523.38);

Retain their reduced effect from enemy maulers (523.33);

Retain their educed effect from enemy non-X SFGs (523.34).



NOTE: Currently, the only stasis ship available during the General War is the Klingon D5JX. When other X-penal units become available in the future, refer to the SITs and annexes for any additional information.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 04:32 pm: Edit

DONE 523.9
THINGS CHUCK SAYS WE NEED TO DO
================================
FEDS RECOMMEND ADDING the following proposed text to the AO-2022 Update:

(523.9) ADVANCED TECH TROOP SHIP RULES

X-ships used in ground assaults or make ship capture attempts will continue to use the rules under (521.0) and (305.0) respectively with the following changes:



(523.91) IMPROVED BASE ASSAULT: If a X-ship conducts a ground assault against a non-X base, then a second SIDS casualty may be scored against the base if any other ground assaults (including other x-ships conducting a ground assault) also scored SIDS casualty that same combat round. This rule is an exception to (308.81) and (521.44) that only allows one SIDS to be scored in any combat round.



(523.92) IMPROVED SHIP CAPTURE: If an eligible X-troop ship is included within a battle force and the pool of capture-eligible ships contains at least one non-X ship, then the X-troop ship may be used to make one additional capture attempt beyond the one normally permitted under (305.1) and is only successful on a roll of "2" on two dice; this additional die roll cannot be modified by any means. The second unmodified assault, if successful, can only capture non-X units. If both capture attempts are successful, then the first captured unit must be a non-X unit (determined randomly if more than one is available) and the other captured unit is determined randomly from the remaining units.

(523.921) An eligible X-troop ship with only one "G" factor can either support a standard capture attempt under (305.1) or make its own separate, unmodified capture attempt, but not both.

(523.922) If the X-troop ship has two or more "G" factors available, then one "G" factor can be used to support the standard (305.1) capture attempt and the second can be used to make the one additional unmodified capture attempt as presented here.



(523.93) OTHER X-TROOP SHIP RULES

(523.931) Combat Restriction: All X-ships conducting a ground attack may not use or contribute to the X-mauler effect under (523.31); this includes X-troop ships used to make capture attempts.

(523.932) Retained Defensive Effects: All X-ships performing a ground attack or making capture attempts retain their:

Destructive effects on non-X attrition units (523.32);

Reduced effect from enemy maulers (523.33);

Reduced effect from enemy non-X SFGs (523.34);

Effectiveness against enemy EW effects (523.38).

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Tuesday, August 02, 2022 - 05:38 pm: Edit

(523.62): Is it an option to use separate terms for those X-carriers which do not require non-X escorts when operating as part of an X-squadron, but which were assigned dedicated escorts otherwise [such as the Federation HVX (R2.212)] and those which are capable of operating on solo missions with no escorts, even when not part of an X-squadron [such as the Federation GVX (R2.208)]?

I note this as, once the Andromedan War rolls around, a number of X-carriers (namely, those which are also equipped with special sensors) might then be used on solo missions to search for Andromedan Rapid Transit Network nodes. While some of these ships had been sent on "solo" missions before this - such as the aforementioned GVX - others [such as the Romulan SPUX (R4.213)] are described as being used for this mission in their respective R-sections, but do not (yet) have this accounted for in their carrier escort charts in SFB Module G3A.

While rules for going after RTN nodes would have to wait until there are actual Andromedan bases in this game for them to pursue, it might be a helpful case of "future-proofing" to set up one term for those X-carriers which never (intentionally) operate alone; and another for those which, in the right circumstances, may do so.

-----

(523.7): The note for this rule refers to the use of this X-ship type during the General War. In light of the Driving Winds scenario in ISC War, could this note be amended to also advise on the use of this unit type during the Pacification Campaign?

-----

(523.8): The note for this rule refers to the use of this X-ship type during the General War. (Actually, the text refers to it as a "stasis ship" rather than a "penal ship".) In light of the Driving Winds scenario in ISC War, could this note be amended to also advise on the use of this unit type during the Pacification Campaign?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 11:46 am: Edit

Gary: What problems with the F&E rules are you trying to fix?

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 - 01:49 pm: Edit

523.7 note "general war and later"
523.8 note "general war and later"

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 02:51 pm: Edit

In an attempt to clarify my concern regarding (523.62):

When I see the term "single-ship carrier" used elsewhere, my understanding - such as it is - would be that it would refer to those (mainly scout) carriers which are permitted to operate on "solo" missions, such as the aforementioned GVX.

However, when reading the proposed rules for (523.62) above, the term here is instead being used for carriers (such as the HVX) which, while not necessarily being formally assigned escorts, are still being de facto "escorted" by the other X-ships in an X-squadron. In other words, it is still not a carrier that is operating as a single ship, in the same way that a "solo" GVX would be.

So, I was wondering if some alternate term could be coined to describe those X-carriers which do not require formal escorts while operating as part of an X-squadron, yet which are still not permitted to operate on solo missions; hence keeping the term "single-ship carrier" specifically for those carriers - X-ship or otherwise - which are permitted to operate solo.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 03:26 pm: Edit

Gary:

Any carrier in F&E can operate ALONE and doesn’t have to use escorts - they only must not fill empty command slots with non-escorts. If you’re concerned with lone carriers have to drag around escorts to operate, then this is not an issue.

FEDS

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 04:18 pm: Edit

"carriers (such as the HVX) which, while not necessarily being formally assigned escorts, are still being de facto 'escorted' by the other X-ships in an X-squadron".

Gary, that sentence makes no sense. "de facto escorted by other ships in the squadron" is not a part of the F&E rules set and irrelevant to the conversation. In a non-F&E sense, every ship in the squadron could be said to be escorted by every other ship in the squadron, but NOT in any sense that is relevant to F&E.

By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 05:02 pm: Edit

My apologies. Since the 2010 revision broke up the old carrier group counters, I had been under the (mistaken) impression that carriers were still obliged to take their required number of escorts as a "minimum" deployment, unless otherwise excused from doing so. It never occurred to me until now that this was not the case.

Please consider my comments regarding (523.62) to be withdrawn.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 05:30 pm: Edit

It really never was the case. Even with groups you could leave the group after an escort was killed, but it still took up the same space as the group.

There was NEVER a concept of "generally escorted by the rest of the squadron" in F&E.

By Richard Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, August 04, 2022 - 10:21 pm: Edit

Note that HDWs using carrier modules are single ship carriers in the normal meaning of the rule.

SVC ASSUMES THAT THIS POST IS CONVERSATIONAL AND DOES NOT REQUIRE ANY ACTION ON HIS PART. IF THIS IS WRONG, RESUBMIT AS A PROPER LINE ITEM.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, August 06, 2022 - 06:12 am: Edit

NOT ENOUGH SPACE BUT I DID NOTE THAT THEY CAN GO THERE TO FIND THEM.

(317.51) Add: WYN: 2 Klingon type Drone Pods are available in Y184 (TO)‡. Reason: The WYN received or purchased 2 Klingon Type Drone Pods. YIS 184. These Pods are on sheet Oscar from Tactical Operations. Thomas Mathews 6 Aug 2022

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 08:41 pm: Edit

(441.433) I disagree with Ted’s suggestion for limiting FRD+.
If players want to waste money on extra fighter modules I say let them.

I don’t have issues with any of his other suggestions.

SVC REPLIES: It's not in the rulebook as of now but if the staff wants it there i need a staff endorsement. I don't take suggestions from one player for actual changes; these have to be "staffed" before I consider them.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 09:38 pm: Edit


Quote:

If players want to waste money on extra fighter modules I say let them.


10 FRDs with FTMs add 70 additional compot to a capital system at a cost of 180 EPs.

70 compot is equivalent to almost 8 PDUs (7.78) for 56 EPs (rough and dirty).

However, the FRDs have two other benefits - 1) they can be moved 2) their fighters can react whereas PDU fighters cannot. 3) are not subject to any limits. 4) Can only be directed upon 1 round at a time (unlike PDUs which can be killed 4 at a time by directed damage). All meaning that 5) there is a significant increase in the time an attacker is fighting through exceedingly high compot lines (+70, +63, +56, etc. is a lot over 10 rounds).

Yes, it's expensive. But I would suggest the data show that it's arguably not a "waste".

Make of it what y'all will. I'm not hot-to-trot that this is an abusive tactic, but I at least thought it was worth pointing out for review and consideration.

T

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 10:35 pm: Edit

(523.115) Add SFX for conversions
ADDED

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, September 01, 2022 - 01:45 pm: Edit

INSERTED AFTER TYPOS FIXED.

(525.318) TEXT MISSING: The free Pegasus-hull ships built by the Guilds include their fighters at no cost to the Hydran player. Up to four PGVs taken under this rule have free fighters, further free PGVs must have their fighters paid for normally (with EPs or free fighter factors).

Somehow this was dropped from a previous ruling.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, September 02, 2022 - 01:48 pm: Edit

(525.318) Hydran Pegasus: The Pegasus-class ships are built in a special shipyard owned by the guilds. Starting in Y172, the Hydrans receive one Pegasus-class ship of their choice (PFT only when available) each year
==
ADD for an activation cost of 3 EPs.
==
Other Pegasus-class hulls could be built as substitutes for DDs.

The Hydran player may select a PGS, PGC, PFT, PGF, PGG, or PGV (subject to year of availability) as his
==
ADD activated
==
Pegasus. The
==
ADD activated
==
Pegasus-hull ships built by the Guilds include their fighters at no cost to the Hydran player. Up to four PGVs taken under this rule have free fighters,
==
ADD further activated PGVs
==
must have their fighters paid for normally (with EPs or free fighter factors). The activated Pegasus does not count against any of the limits (scouts, carriers, PFTs, etc.). The four pre-war PGS ships do not count against the limit of four ships of one type.

The Hydran guilds can provide one and only one PGR as a part of this
==
DELETE free
==
production. This ship would be in the "off map" and would have to spend a turn getting to the "survey area" before it generates survey points.) Any further PGRs would be minor conversions.
==
ADD
If the advanced survey rules from Strategic Operations are being used, then follow the requirements for adding additional survey ships under (542.26).
==

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, September 02, 2022 - 01:45 pm: Edit

The D5JX is a historical ship from Y183 that was published in TO

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, August 06, 2022 - 06:16 am: Edit

(314.28) Note that any alternative attack must use the Single Combat Table, not the regular combat system, unless it qualifies for the exceptions in (318.7).
Should read:

(314.28) Note that any alternative attack must use SSC (310.0), not the regular combat system, unless it qualifies for the exceptions in (323.11).
Rational is the only replacement of (318.7) with (310.0). Thomas Mathews 6 Aug 2022

Note corrected reference to Small Scale Combat (310.0) as published in F&E2KX Rule Book. The original report was done prior to the actual publication of the F&E2KX Rulebook with the change of (323.0) ESSC becoming the new (310.0) Small Scale Combat Rules.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 04:46 pm: Edit

TURTLE, the text you are quoting is not in the rule so I don't know what you want done.

CURRENT TEXT

(314.28) ALTERNATIVE ATTACK: If the raiding ship survives the reaction battle (if there is one) uncrippled and without being forced to retreat, it may (instead of disrupting the province) engage in Small-Scale Combat (310.0) with any single unit of its choice in the raid target hex, which might include an FRD, warship, SAF, convoy, base, tug serving as a supply point, tug setting up a mobile base, PDU, auxiliary, or whatever; however, see (314.253-4). Plus or minus points from the approach battle carry over to the second battle. In the case of units with specific escorts assigned under (515.0), including carrier groups, the raiding ship must fight the entire group as a single unit using (310.0). A raid cannot devastate a planet. This type of attack cannot be conducted in the area of an inactive fleet. Note that slow units (e.g., monitors) could be forced to retreat. This would be done normally since the raiding ship is in no position to pursue them.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, August 20, 2022 - 07:36 pm: Edit

SVC: No change required to (314.28) The current text already corrects the references to (310.0) where needed.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, August 29, 2022 - 04:43 am: Edit

ALL DONE TO THIS POINT INCLUDING THIS MESSAGE.

Email report from Ted Fay:

(316.14)edit to read: "If two or more qualifying ships have the same command rating, the player may select either from among any of them."

Justification: Grammar change.
FEDS CONCURS.

==================

(316.14) Suggested change: Delete the entire "NOTE".

Justification: This "rule" is extremely confusing. If "most" of the rule (316.14) is not "needed", what does this mean? Just the proviso listed in the note is needed? What is "needed"in the rules - are they "optional?" If so, then the initial deployment rule in 316.141 becomes invalid and there are no rules on initial deployment, other than the proviso, and the rules for admiral death simply disappear if not playing with admiral effectiveness. Further, the remaining rules never mention a need for CR8 or more, so if 316.14 is retained, then the CR8 requirement goes away too. The remaining rules are not onerous.

If the note is to be retained, it would be better to move the note to its own rule just above all other admiral rules that are deemed to be required only for use with the admiral effectiveness rules. I would then change the note to say "The remaining rules after this rule (316.14x) are only used if admiral effectiveness (316.22) is being used."

Justification: Removes any confusion and makes it very clear which rules always apply to admirals, and which rules only apply when ADM effectiveness is used.
FEDS: Okay.

==============
(316.144) I would also add an explicit rule (e.g. 316.144E) that states that an admiral can only be transferred voluntarily to a ship of CR8 or higher.

Justification: Technically, if admiral effectiveness is used, then the CR8 requirement is not actually required by 316.14. It should be made explicit in its own rule.
FEDS CONCURS.

==============

(316.144) I would also add another rule (e.g. 316.144F): "In the event that an admiral is transferred to a ship with a command rating of 7 or lower, or to an allied ship, due to the operation of (316.144A), then the player must transfer the admiral to a qualified ship at the earliest opportunity. (See (316.146))."

Justification: Puts teeth into the CR8 requirement and harmonizes with 316.146 which requires that ADMs on other types of invalid ships be transferred at the earliest opportunity.
FEDS CONCURS.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, August 29, 2022 - 05:04 am: Edit

Email report from Las Bergen:

=============
(525.225) An HDW is Heavy War Destroyers are in a murky zone between size-4 ships and size-3 ships. As such, special conditions apply. It HDWs cannot be used to tow an FRD. HDWs used in battle groups count as size-3 units even though they are actually size class 4; see (315.21).

=============
(525.23V) Last sentence, by definition the concept of being 'unique' removes the requirement to spell out the rules for these units as special rules thus the word 'special' should be stricken as unnecessary.

"The unique Federation HDWY, HDWA, and HDWZ ships have their own special rules."

Also all of these rules are all included in this special warships section.

=============

(525.24) LYRAN JAGDPANTHER (JGP): The Lyrans operated two of these multi-mission ships long before HDWs were conceived. It could perform some HDW missions.

============
Suggest ADDING Line Titles and bold lines:
(525.241) Order of Battle: The Lyrans have one JGP in their at start forces (assumed to be in combat mode at the start of the game), and can substitute a JGP for a CW once per turn beginning in Y169; see SIT for cost. The Lyrans cannot operate more than two JGPs at any one time. (Optionally, the Lyrans and Hydrans could mutually agree to remove the overall limits on JGPs and LNHs.) Unlike the Hydrans with their LNH, the Lyrans do not have the option to replace HDWs with JGPs when HDW production begins.


(525.242) Missions: JGPs can be built or configured for the HDWK (combat, but the JGP does not gain any attack factors as an HDW would), HDWV (carrier, but not H or heavy fighter carrier), HDWC (command), HDWG (commando), HDWF (field repair), and HDWR (forward carrier resupply) missions. Mission changes are done in the same way as the HDWs; the limit on SB conversions covers HDWs and JGPs combined. JGPs cannot perform missions not listed in this rule.


(525.243) Carrier (V) Mission: special rule. JGPs operating in the carrier mode use a standard HDW-COG but operate with fewer fighters than HDWs (three fighter factors from the COG plus two replacements factors [2]; there is no hybrid fighter factors and no reduced cost). The Lyrans can purchase one HDW-COG prior to Y180; after that time, they may purchase HDW-COGs as per (525.23V). JGPs with Carrier Operations Groups are otherwise treated as HDWs with Carrier Operations Groups.


(525.244) No Conversion: Captured Lyran CLs cannot be converted into JGPs (or BCs for that matter). See (525.224) for additional limitations.
Note: The designer of F&E once ran a game publishing company called JagdPanther. Copies of their products are available from Wargame Vault or Warehouse 23.


============
(525.25) HYDRAN HEAVY LANCER (LNH): The Hydrans operated two of these multi-mission destroyers long before HDWs were conceived.

============
(525.251) Production: They The Hydrans can substitute an LNH for an LN once per year Y172-Y180, and thereafter can select each turn between LNH or HDW for their allowed HDW builds. See also (525.211). (LNHs would be subbed for or converted from DDs, and HDWs would be subbed for or converted from DWs.) LNHs can be built at the Old Colony shipyard once it is able to build DDs.
============
(525.252) Operational Limits: The Hydrans can operate only two LNHs at any given time prior to Y181. (Optionally, the Lyrans and Hydrans could mutually agree to remove the overall limits on JGPs and LNHs.)

============
(525.253) Missions: LNHs can perform any HDW mission, but cannot be used for Mission Q (survey) prior to Y175. If operated as a carrier (525.23V), the LNH-V would have eight fighter factors (the original three plus the five from a COG). The Hydrans can buy up to two COGs at any time after Y172 to use on their LNHs; and can buy more COGs when HDW production begins.


============
(525.254) No Conversion: Captured Hydran DDs cannot be converted into LNHs. See (525.224) for additional limitations.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, August 29, 2022 - 02:52 pm: Edit

(318.7) F&E2K should read: F&E2010. Reason: (310.0) Small Scale Combat
replaced the original (310.0) rule when the F&E 2010 Rulebook was published.
Thomas Mathews 27 Aug 2022

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 05:07 pm: Edit

RYAN
(314.111) 2nd line remove the =



(441.51) No mention of Sector Bases or Stellar Fortresses. How many power modules can they use?



(442.51)I’d like to propose added a number of Federation CA’s to the Mothball Fleet.
REJECTED. SHIP NAME LISTS DO NOT DEFINE OBs. IF THEY DID, WE'D BE ADDING HUNDREDS OF SHIPS ALL OVER THE MAP. DEAD HORSE.

(442.82) last sentence change 0.334 to .3 to match what is stated for Theater Transports in the first para.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 05:23 pm: Edit

(441.32): The way the rule is written, a *PDU* must be present at a planet in order to upgrade a *PGB* - see second sentence. Is this intentional? (i.e., Do you have to have a PDU *and* a PGB at a planet in order to use the self-generation rule to upgrade a PGB to a PDU?) Instead, did you mean to say that the planet must have at least one *PGB* in the second sentence? (i.e., if a planet had exactly one PGB on it, could a player use 441.32 to upgrade that one PGB to a PDU?). Consider and revise (or not). Either way, suggest a confirming example - like my "i.e." sentences above - to prevent confusion.
Suggestion: Either confirm that PDU is required, or change PDU to PGB. Ted Fay 8/30/22
EXISTING TEXT IS CORRECT AND INTENTIONAL. YOU MUST HAVE A PDU TO UPGRADE A PGB.

(441.413,) option 2 has two issues.
(441.413,) Issue 1: There seems to be a typo. Specifically: "...cost two EPs, plus 0 2.225 EPs to buy nine..." The "0" appears to be extraneous, and the "2.225 is probably 0.25 in view of 527.16 (pay-as-you-go).
Suggestion: Change to 0.25.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
SVC TEXT CORRECT, 2.25 IS NINE TIMES 0.25.

(441.413,) Issue 2: I do not see the difference between option 1 and option 2, unless you already know rule 527.16 is out there (pay-as-you-go). Maybe add a sentence like this: "Note that, per rule (527.16), the "pay-as-you-go" option means there are no free replacement F111's."
Suggestion: Put in reference to 527.16, as described above. Ted Fay 8/30/22
THAT REFERENCE IS ALREADY THERE AND HAS BEEN FOR A LONG TIME.

(441.433) There is nothing wrong with this rule, but I didn't know if you were aware that some players will build a plethora of FRDs with 2*FTMs each in order to jack up the compot at a capital planet to 400 or even 500, as an end-run around the limit on PDUs in order to make assaulting a capital exceedingly painful. Consider whether you wish to place a limit, in this rule, on the number of FRDs a single empire is permitted to outfit with FTMs.
Suggestion: Consider adding limit to number of FRDs an empire may have that also have FTMs.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
ADDED A LIMIT TO HOW MANY THEY CAN USE PER ROUND (THREE).

(441.61) The rule is slightly confusing. It says that repair modules replace "the" fighter/PF modules (implying that you cannot mix and match FTMs and repair modules). However, the second sentence says that repair modules add one repair point to the base's capacity, which seems to indicate that they are counted individually. Knowing how obnoxious rules lawyers can get, suggest stating explicitly that a base cannot mix and match FTMs and repair modules (or otherwise clarify your intent). Further, suggest that the second sentence be revised as follows: "Each repair module adds one repair point to a base's repair capacity."
Suggestion: Change or clarify language as described above.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
ATTENDED TO.

(442.42) Suggest deleting the word "Immediately" in the first sentence. The last sentence requires the bonus to be received at a rate of 5 EPs per turn, so the bonus is not actually received "immediately." Instead, I would replace the word "immediately" with the term "over time."
Suggestion: Replace "immediately" with "over time".
Ted Fay 8/30/22
YEH, OKAY

(442.821) Suggest considering a limit on the number of "turns" of spare parts the Klingons can send the Romulans in a single turn. I, personally, typically build 20+ APTs in my GW games as the Coalition. When I don't use them to move EPs I will haul over large numbers of "turns" of spare KR parts to the Romulans. Typically by turn 18-20 I have so many KR points accumulated with the Romulans that they will go the whole war without ever having to worry about running out of KR points, and that pretty much vitiates any limitations that could accrue under 442.83. Maybe you don't care about this work-around for 442.82, but I thought I would point it out for your consideration.
Suggestion: Consider limiting additional turns of Romulan KR parts that can be delivered to 1. In other words, a maximum of 2 turns of KR points can be delivered in a single turn.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
UP TO FOUR

(523.72) (Chuck's new version) the numbers are not added in. Suggest inserting the desired number.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
SOMEBODY WOULD HAVE TO TELL ME WHAT THEY ARE.

(523.832) there is a typo in the "NOTE": "Currently the only stasis penal ship available...""
Ted Fay 8/30/22
ATTENDED TO.

The yellow box at the bottom of page 42, rule 527.142 partially overlaps the box (i.e., minor editing correction).
Ted Fay 8/30/22
DONE

Similar formatting error at rule 530.12, but the placeholder note may vitiate this problem.
Ted Fay 8/30/22
VITIATE?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation