Archive through January 18, 2012

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through January 18, 2012
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, January 01, 2012 - 10:27 am: Edit

Q318.43 Can an extra escort be added to a CVEG under (515.2)?

Information for consideration:
Note that (515.2) is silent on the subject of CVEGs but each independent group can have 1 escort above the minimum size allowed.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 01, 2012 - 10:21 pm: Edit


Quote:

Q318.43 Can an extra escort be added to a CVEG under (515.2)?



FEDS is inclined to say yes based upon precedence under (502.922) CVBGs. Since a legal escort carrier can add one additional escort it still meets the intent of "one additional light or escort carrier and (AT LEAST) one additional light (SC4) escort." Parenthetical emphasis is FEDS interpretation.

Based upon (502.922), suggested added wording to (318.432) that would read:

"The two carrier groups are merged into a CVEG, with the two carriers as the “innermost” ships and the escorts ranking outward with heavy escorts inside and light escorts outside, each group in descending order of their defense factors. All normal rules then apply, including the destruction of the outermost escort. If extra escorts are added, their loss does not create “ghost” escorts that take up command slots without providing any benefit. If one is a single-ship carrier rather than a group, it cannot be attacked until all escorts in the CVEG are eliminated."

FEAR can review for rule oversight.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 11:07 am: Edit

Q603.3. In the event that victory is caluclated by this rule (603.3) (i.e., no knockout victory under 651.2), do Tholian bases and ships get added to Alliance victory points? Assume the Tholians joined the Alliance as "limited partners" under 604.15 between turns 22-28, but then re-entered their territory thereafter per 604.152). Assume further that neither the Coalition nor the Alliance ever entered Tholian territory. Rule 604.151 makes it clear that the Tholian capital does not count for victory conditions. However, that rule is confusing to me, as 603.3 would only add the value of a capital if it's captured and held in the first place (meaning that this sentence in 604.151 appears to be redundant to the basic victory caluclation in 603.3 (where bonuses are achieved only for holding capitals anyway). That being said, because 604.151 essentially reiterates what 603.3 already provides, it makes me think that while the Tholian capital counts towards victory when captured (no matter what), perhaps Tholian bases and ships DO count towards Alliance victory points even if the Coalition never entered Tholian territory. While it could be argued that the Tholians never "joined" the Alliance (603.3, final sentence), it could also be argued that the Tholians DID join the Alliance as "limited partners" between turns 22-28 and thus their bases and ships should be included in Alliance victory points. Please clarify, and thanks.

By Jose R. Barreto (Jbarreto) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 10:33 am: Edit

Question on XTP bonus points (523.12). Does the bonus for an undevastated capital planet apply for every planet in the capital system or just once for the main capital planet (Klinshai, Earth, etc).

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 11:14 am: Edit

You are confusing capital system with capital planet.

Only one planet is the capital of your empire, not several.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 12:41 pm: Edit

FEDS Clarification

The bonus five XTPs for an undevastated capital planet apply ONLY to the ONE main capital planet of any empire; the other planets in a capital SYSTEM do not receive the capital PLANET XTP bonus.

By Chris Upson (Misanthropope) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 01:53 pm: Edit

are klink and lyran fighter HDW modules interchangeable the way KVPs and VP2/3 are?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 03:53 pm: Edit

FEDS Clarification

Unless overruled by ADB no empire may cross-utilize other empire's HDW modules.

By Chris Upson (Misanthropope) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 07:54 pm: Edit

no two races except the klingons and lyrans can share pods, one notes. why would the situation be different for HDW modules? there are two *generations* of more or less uninterrupted military cooperation between the polities, between the introduction of tugs and of HDWs. the lyran *OGs carry klingon fighters, do they not?

By Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 08:08 pm: Edit

Main reason is that the Lyrans are using Klingon designed pods allowing both to use them. The HDW mods are just that, ship mods, not pods...

By Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 09:24 pm: Edit

A pod is an external thing that you stick onto a ship. HDW modules are _internal_ components that you stick _into_ a ship. Given that the shape / layout of Klingon and Lyran ships are radically different, it seems unlikely that one could reasonably design an HDW module that would fit properly into both Klingon and Lyran HDWs.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Saturday, January 07, 2012 - 11:58 pm: Edit

confirming, no sharing HDW stuff.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, January 16, 2012 - 08:42 pm: Edit

Q310.115, sequence of play step 5-3B. This step of the SoP establishes when the players make the determination whether ESSC will apply to the combat hex. In the event that *both* players have the option to elect ESSC or elect normal combat (i.e., ESSC is not mandatory or selectable by only one player), then what is the proper procedure for making the determination? Is the determination made secretely and simultaneously and then revealed (with ESSC occuring only on mutual selection), or is the determination made by one player, announced, and then made by the other player? Or is it just a generic handshake/negotiation?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, January 16, 2012 - 09:11 pm: Edit

See the last line of (310.115): "If both players have three or fewer ships which exceed the limits of fourteen and/or nineteen, and both agree, this option may be used."

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 10:33 am: Edit

OK, then that means it's a generic handshake/negotiation - or any of the above methods if agreed-to.

By Todd E Jahnke (Tej) on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 03:51 pm: Edit

When the Tholians enter the war voluntarily, per 604.15 and 604.151, do they enter the war halfway through the turn (which would be at the beginning of the Alliance turn) or at the beginning of the turn (so that they can react and RESV during the Coalition turn). I see no text that would indicate the Tholian entry on turn 22 is halfway through. Absent some text costing the Tholians half a turn of their already limited participation, the rules as written indicate Tholian participation throughout their turn of entry, right?

By Michael Tisdel (Jtisdel) on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 04:08 pm: Edit

@Todd - all other empires enter on their half of the turn.

By Todd E Jahnke (Tej) on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 05:19 pm: Edit

I appreciate that the Kzinti, Lyrans, Klingons, and Romulans all enjoy full turns during their first turns at war.

The Hydran rules specify that the Coalition may not attack the Hydrans on turn 3, but that the Hydrans may attack the Coalition on turn 3. That's a half turn of war that is specified by text.

The Federation enters the war spasmodically and can hardly be considered normal as a standard for any other power.

The Gorn text is similar to that of the Tholians, but there are differences.

If we follow the general example, being at war on a turn means being at war on a turn. Actually, that's plain English, so presumably it doesn't apply, but I wouldn't mind hearing an official ruling about how being at war on turn 22 actually means not being at war until halfway through 22, absent further text defining it as such.

By Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 08:51 pm: Edit

Todd, don't forget that the Klingons (o Romulans) could go to war with the Tholians anytime after they attack the Feds (Turn #10 usually) so the first half of Turn #22 doesn't change anything (other than Tholian reserves are active!)...

BTW, how do you see the Kzinti getting a full turn but not the Feds or Gorns (or Tholians)?? They all get to respond to the invasion over their border and (maybe) counter on their half of the turn...

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 09:03 pm: Edit

Todd:

Other than an active reserve and the ability to react to movement what else can the Tholians do during the Coalition phase of turn 22?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation