Archive through June 19, 2012

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through June 19, 2012
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Wednesday, June 06, 2012 - 02:06 pm: Edit

Thank you Thomas. The answer seems obvious now, but as you know these rules can be somewhat...byzantine.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, June 08, 2012 - 02:10 pm: Edit

Q509.1-X in view of 509.0. Can one LTT plus 2 TTs be used to build a colony? This specific formulation of transports is not spelled out as being able to perform this mission - the only formulations specifically allowed are TG, 2*LTT, 3*TT, or convoy.

However, 509.0 says "generally speaking" an LTT is 1/2 or 2/3 of a tug for some missions, but can't perform some missions at all. Likewise, a TT is 1/3 of a tug for some missions, but can't perform some missions at all.

Are these statements in 509.0 intended to convey additional capability for certain missions? For example, for mission 509.1-X and related missions 509.1-Y and 509.1-Z, TGs, LTTs, and TTs can all perform these missions (1, 2, and 3 ships required for each corresponding transport type). If you go by the "generally speaking" fractions of 509.0, then it stands to reason that, for example, a LTT plus 2 TTs could perform any of these three missions.

Specifically, for these missions, clearly a LTT is 1/2 of a tug and a TT is (1/3 of a tug). Combining fractions we get 3/6+2/6+2/6 = 7/6 of a tug acting when performing these missions with an LTT plus two TTs - which appears to meet the requirement of a full tug mission.

Ruling requested, thanks.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, June 08, 2012 - 03:36 pm: Edit


Quote:

Q509.1-X in view of 509.0. Can one LTT plus 2 TTs be used to build a colony?



FEDS RULING: Unless overruled by ADB, in specific instances where 3xTT may be used to perform a mission, one LTT may be substituted for one of the three TTs. This does not necessarily mean the reverse is true; one cannot argue that any number of TTs can be substituted for an LTT or TG unless specifically allow by rule.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, June 11, 2012 - 11:42 am: Edit

Chuck, thanks for the fast ruling.

By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, June 12, 2012 - 08:49 pm: Edit

So, in ISC War we have BSX's. However nowhere that I can find is the repair capacity defined. I'd assume it gets a 50% increase like the other X-bases (BTX, SBX), which would give the BSX a 4.5, which I assume would round down to 4.

Also what would the repair capacity of a X Sector Base be? Again I'd assume it's a 9, which is a 50% increase over the normal STB.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, June 12, 2012 - 09:24 pm: Edit

Robert,

See 420.42 in F&E2010. Lists the repair capability for all units.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 03:48 am: Edit

Specifically:

(420.42) REPAIR CAPACITY: Each type of repair facility has a limited number of repair points it can use each turn.

Base Stations‡ ..................................... 2
Battle Stations .................................... 4
Fleet Repair Docks ................................ 12
Logistics Task Forces‡............................. 24
Mobile Bases ....................................... 0
Operational Bases‡ ................................. 2
Planetary Repair Docks‡ ........................... 12
Sector Bases‡ ...................................... 6
Starbases ......................................... 16
Stellar Fortresses‡ ............................... 24
X-Base Station‡ .................................... 4
X-Battle Stations‡ ................................. 6
X-Fleet Repair Docks‡ ............................. 18
X-Sector Base‡ ..................................... 9
X-Starbases‡ ...................................... 24

By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 11:03 am: Edit

SHUT UP! Wow I'd have never looked under the Repair section. I'm impressed, thanks guys!

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 11:14 am: Edit

Another quick question on ISC War. Rob and I are going to play Cordon Alpha (only) as a starter. The production is provided for all three empires (ISC Rom Gorn) but the way it's worded (like "receies") made me wonder whether the production is automatically received - or like shipyards that's your limit and you get what you pay for. I assume it's like that yes?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 01:49 pm: Edit

RP:

More:

(444.12) REPAIR: Base stations have a repair capability of two repair points per turn (enough to repair a frigate) until Y170, and is then increased by Repair Modules (a future rule) to three points in Y171.

(452.12) REPAIR: Sector Bases have a repair capability of six repair points per turn (or enough to repair any DN of the owning race).

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 04:10 pm: Edit

Chuck, please confirm that 625.A512, 625.A522, and 625.A532 reflect ships that *could* be built, not ships that are automatically received. I.e., that's your SY allocation, but you have to pay cash if you want to buy them.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 05:50 pm: Edit

Ted:

You are correct. Those are production SCHEDULE allotments received; players may purchase and produce the units according to these schedules.

By Michael Parker (Protagoras) on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 06:03 pm: Edit

I really need to get ISC War... maybe I will ask for it as an Anniversary gift from my wife :)

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 11:24 am: Edit

Chuck, thanks.

By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 11:36 am: Edit

In the ISC War main pacification scenario (Driving Winds), how is Diplomatic Income, Commercial Convoy income and the like handled? By the rules the races have Diplomats at various other allied or neutral capitals, but what happens to that income? Does it get divided up between the Cordons?

In other words, the Gorn for example are present in two cordon scenarios. Would they receive half of the Diplomatic income in each cordon? Or would they receive nothing (i.e. the Home Fleet absorbs it)?

By Erich Weidner (Mettius) on Sunday, June 17, 2012 - 04:31 pm: Edit

Do you go to wartime if you plan to attack a turn, or only on the turn following (as operational movement is after the economics phase)

Can tugs be assigned missions if a race is at peace

Do setup reserve markers remain in place on a turn where fleets can't move (4 powers war, coalition who do not "act" in turn #1)?

Does accelerated production "steal" it from the next prod schedule, or do you build an extra one. One now, and one when it is regularly scheduled?

Scenario 6.07, Lyran stuff is crippled. Can it not be repaird in the "no action turn #1" of the coalition? Or must they sit around crippled even though the Lyrans are building new ships per the pre-war production scheulede?

Can Lyran player (scn 607) repair the crippled ships (607.15) from the civil war in its no move turn one? It would seem to be such a minor expenditure of RP/EPs that this rule essentially does nothing?
For the above, when are the ships damaged, before deployment, or after?

600.31 are non activated fleets restricted to only moving six total ships during reaction movement, or does this only apply to the player on "their" turn, during "operational movement". Can an unlimited number of ships react to enemy movement?

607.2 - Kzinti no movement unless attacked. But only the Hydrans can attack in turn one, what is the point of this statement?
Kilingon and Kzinti: no movement unless attacked, yet 600.313 states the ships of an unreleased fleet can move (operationally) within their deployment area, but no more than six ships can be moved on any given turn.
Does this mean that they can move on their first coalistion turn, but no more than six ships, or what?

607.2 - Lyran available (if attacked) - what does this mean? can they react, reserve move, etc?

607.2 - Lyran available (if attacked) - does this mean the specific fleets? or any attack against the Lyran nation releases all of these fleets?

On turn one, new construction starts in the capitol hex (same as home fleet), are they available? Can they move to wherever they desire, or are they part of "home fleet" and restricted as is home fleet?

607.2 - Turn 2 Spring 158: States that "if Hydrans attack, West and Southern Reserve fleets are released. Yet further on it states that Klingons may attack Kzinties but not Hydrans. In this context what does "attack" mean?
Do the Hydrans get to rampage across Klingon space w/o Klingon fleets or units being able to attack these invaders? Or can they just not move into Hydran territory?

607.13 - Table states Lyrans wartime economy is 93. However, we come up with 91. Please breakout the 93.

607.42 - Production schedule for Lyrans indicates a CL, yet the Lyran SIT states "For CA/CW:6 (One sub per turn)" What does this mean, does a CL cost 6?

431.3 - Are overbuilds limited to the ships on the productions schedule for that turn?
If so, can you only effectively double the production schedule (if you had a single DD on the schedule, you would then only be able to build 2 DDs, or can you build 4 or five, or whatever)?

600.30 - "Note that the provinces occupied by an unreleased fleet are restricted by these rules as well as the fleet itself. What does this mean? What can a province "not do" which it would normally be able to do?

The bases, planets, provinces, and other assets of an unreleased fleet are released with that fleet.
What does this mean, do they not supply economic points until released? Can bases not repair ships, or construct frigates?

By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Sunday, June 17, 2012 - 05:19 pm: Edit


Quote:

Do you go to wartime if you plan to attack a turn, or only on the turn following (as operational movement is after the economics phase)




As soon as you move your ships into the Neutral Zone and refuse to accept internment, a state of war exists between you and that opponent. The empire you attacked would be at war on their turn. In the historical scenarios, the timeline tells you when your empire is at war for economic purposes. For example, the Lyrans are on a wartime economy on Turn #1 of the General War scenario.



Quote:

Does accelerated production "steal" it from the next prod schedule, or do you build an extra one. One now, and one when it is regularly scheduled?



It steals the ship. You're spending extra money to speed up the production of the ship that was already in the slipways and due to be finished the next turn.

By Terry O'Carroll (Terryoc) on Sunday, June 17, 2012 - 05:26 pm: Edit

deleted - answer was wrong

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 17, 2012 - 09:17 pm: Edit

Accellerated Production steals the ship in question from next turn's production. Thus if you accellerate a given empire's DN one turn, you have to wait 3 turns before you can build another one unless you accellerate that one.

By Michael Parker (Protagoras) on Monday, June 18, 2012 - 09:26 am: Edit


Quote:

Can tugs be assigned missions if a race is at peace




Most of the missions one could assign a tug are moot when at peace. And while I have no rules reference (although I believe one exists as I vaguely remember being shown the rule once upon a time) I have always played that one could assign pods to Tugs during peacetime. I.e. you could put out your battle and CV pods to peacetime and inactive fleets if you wished presumably in anticipation of war and/or an inactive fleet being released!

By James Lowry (Rindis) on Monday, June 18, 2012 - 12:35 pm: Edit

(509.322) allows 'non-phasing player' tugs to have pods assigned before play begins, effectively letting the Kzintis (for example) assign pods on non-war turn 0. (509.323) allows non-active fleets to be assigned tug pods (and when at peace, all fleets are inactive...).

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, June 18, 2012 - 01:45 pm: Edit


Quote:

In the ISC War main pacification scenario (Driving Winds), how is Diplomatic Income, Commercial Convoy income and the like handled? By the rules the races have Diplomats at various other allied or neutral capitals, but what happens to that income? Does it get divided up between the Cordons?




In condon scenarios (only), Diplomatic and Commercial Convoy income is not used as it is going to the home fleet.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, June 18, 2012 - 02:09 pm: Edit


Quote:

In condon scenarios (only)




=)

By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, June 19, 2012 - 05:05 pm: Edit

OK, so a question on X Base upgrades.

I've noticed looking through the various SITs, that the cost for X bases are all over the place.

For example, on the Romulan SIT, there simply is no upgrade cost from a BSX to a BTX. On the Gorn SIT the cost is 3 (assuming XTPs). On the ISC SIT the cost is 6 EPs + 6 XTPs (seems a bit steep there). On the Kzinti the upgrade is not listed. On the Fed SIT it's the same as the Gorn (3). The Lyran SIT has spaces for the upgrade but no cost. The Hydran SIT is missing them completely. All of the SITs I am looking at are the latest ones from 2012.

X Sector bases seem to have the same weirdness.

If they were consistent the cost could be figured out, but it's so allover the place that I'm just not sure which is right and which is wrong. And all were posted this year, so I can't just assume the latest is the right one.

So, my question is what are the upgrade costs? A nice little table would be perfect. Thanks!

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, June 19, 2012 - 07:25 pm: Edit

Nice of you to ask...

Now that we just completed the first round of SIT updates for the empires, a completely revised and comprehensive F&E Base SIT is the next SIT project to be tackled right after I get back from STRATCON.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation