By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Tuesday, June 19, 2012 - 08:03 pm: Edit |
Thanks!
Just trying to clear up what looks like a bit of a mess (meaning no offense here).
But for a short answer, what's the upgrade cost to go from a BSX to a BTX? Assume no fighters are needed. I'm working on a ISC Cordon scenario (playing) and am trying to evaluate what I can afford. I can wait for the table
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 - 11:43 am: Edit |
Another question on the ISC Cordon scenario (Alpha to be exact). Does the ISC player get a full reserve marker, or is he limited to tactical reserves for the Cordon Alpha scenario? I can't find an answer in the rules, so am assuming the ISC does not get a full reserve marker in that scenario.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 - 11:58 am: Edit |
Another Cordon question. Do the ISC have limits on pod assignment for a given Cordon? There's none I can see, so theoretically you have access to the entire ISC pod pool, and you're limited mostly by available tugs?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 - 02:25 pm: Edit |
RESV Marker: See (625.A411)
============
PODS: See (625.455)
Turn 1 Active Cordons (2): Alpha/Bravo
Turn 2 Active Cordons (5): Alpha/Bravo/Charlie/Delta/Yankee/Zulu
Turn 3 Active Cordons (7): Alpha/Bravo/Charlie/Delta/Echo/Yankee/Zulu
Turn 4+ Active Cordons (8): Alpha/Bravo/Charlie/Delta/Echo/Foxtrot/Yankee/Zulu
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 - 02:34 pm: Edit |
By the scenario rules, the 4th Fleet leements get a Full Reserve marker, it's listed.
As for pods, they're supposed to "rotate", whatever that means. I would think it's fair to say that you can't plop them all in a single cordon.
We also have the following rule:
(625.455) General Purpose Forces: Split pod types, monitors, hospital ships, etc., evenly across active cordons with remaining units rotating turns evenly between active cordons if possible. Any SCS, PF, and PF transport pods removed from one cordon must be refilled with PFs before they are moved to another cordon.
So going by that, half would be available for Alpha on T1 (Alpha and Bravo active T1). Charlie, Delta, Yankee and Zulu activate T2. Echo and Foxtrot activate T3.
So logically for T1 you could use up to half on Alpha. T2 you'd have to divide the pods as evenly as possible across 6 Cordons and by T3 8 Cordons. Since they start with 51 total pods (none left to be built), you could have a max of 6 per Cordon once T3 rolls around. T2 would be 8. And then you'd have to divide them up evenly if possible, so each Cordon would get 1 BP for example (they have 8) and then do them from there.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 - 03:26 pm: Edit |
OK, thanks for explaining the rules on those.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 05:43 pm: Edit |
Follow-up question on ISC pod assignment. Does the VAP typically have to be divided up by type, or is it's type "CV pod"? The reason why I ask is that Rob says in our Cordon-Alpha-only game says that I could only have one VAP pod and that it isn't a paired-only pod. So, the non-ROMP tug that I have could carry VAP+VP, for instance, and must given the requirements to divide the pods up by type. However, that result seems very odd. Wouldn't it make more sense to assume that one Cordon would get two VAP pods and divide other CV pod types up accordingly?
I mean, once you get to turn 4+ unless you have 8 pods per type you could argue that Alpha only couldn't get any VAP pods - or indeed any one Cordon couldn't get a VAP pod because there isn't 8 of them.
I guess the bottom line is, in a Cordon-Alpha-only scenario, could a tug have 2*VAP pods, even on turns 4+; and if not, on any of turns 1-3?
Thanks.
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 07:22 pm: Edit |
Ted, remember that pods that cannot be divided up evenly are supposed to "rotate". I would think that would mean you'd rotate them just like the FFFs. For example:
T2 4 Cordons are active. Having 4 VAPs means each Cordon gets one.
T3 6 Cordons are active. Now the pods must rotate. Since they were in Cordons 1 to 4 last turn, this turn they'd be in Cordons 2 to 5. And T4 they would be in Cordons 3 to 6.
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 07:25 pm: Edit |
Salvage question in Driving Winds:
What happens to Salvage proceeds? Does it get absorbed by the Home Fleet, or is it available to spend in the Cordon it was generated in?
Also, how is a Captured Ship counted for VP purposes? I'd assume it's a minus for the race that owned the ship, but what happens if that captured ship is later destroyed? Does it become negative VPs for *both* empires? Would it matter if it was converted? And what would happen if it were to be recaptured?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 10:58 pm: Edit |
Salvage stays in the cordon.
Captured ships count as destroyed for the losing player and as a free bonus ship for the captor. The captor does not lose VPs for losing a captured unit. If recaptured then the original owner regains lost VPs.
By Carl Herzog (Carlzog) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 11:27 pm: Edit |
This might be the wrong folder for this, but...
Is there any kind of intro/tutorial version of F&E available -- akin to SFB's Cadet Manual or FedCom's First Missions?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 11:31 pm: Edit |
...there's going to be an F&E clinic going on all next week in Cincinnati...
By Eric Phillips (Ericphillips) on Thursday, June 21, 2012 - 11:41 pm: Edit |
No, but there is an introductory scenario in the F$E rule book. F&E with just the base rules is not that difficult.
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Monday, June 25, 2012 - 12:58 pm: Edit |
Question about ISC Cordon scenarios:
Can the ISC capture the NZ hexes and gain income from them? The scenario rules are not clear on this point. Typically NZ hexes become "up for grabs" once both sides bordering the NZ are at War. But in this case, the races are all at peace, and the ISC only border a small portion of the entire NZ, so it's unclear if they can get income from the hexes. Thanks!
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, June 25, 2012 - 08:59 pm: Edit |
The ISC can capture NZ hexes of an active cordon.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, June 29, 2012 - 10:58 am: Edit |
Q625.585 - ISC War. I don't understand this rule. It says Gorn-A, for example, gets 33 standard raid slots. Then it says that the forces in any cordon "may make more than three standard raids." OK, so the Gorns could have 33 standard raids in Cordon-A (using up the bulk of their available navy). However, what would you DO with 33 standard raids??? Since they're limited to NZ hexes and their own territory, the theoretical limit is around 15 raids - one for each province and one for each NZ hex. So, that leaves 18 raid slots left even after a theoretical maximum. Something seems terribly wrong - either with the rule or my understanding of it. Also, why would the ISC only get 9 raid slots but the Gorns 33 and Roms 24 in the exact same cordon scenario (A)???
[EDIT] Just re-read the rule and it says "throughout" the 10 turn scenario. I thought that it's, for example the Gorn, 33 slots "throughout" the scenario - i.e. - every turn "throughout" the scenario. However, the rule makes more sense if you get 33 *period* - translating to roughly 3.33 per turn. If this was what was meant, it makes alot more sense and maybe I answered my own question.
[EDIT 2] When the rule says "may make more than three standard raids" was that a typo? Should it be "may not," or was "may" intentional?
By Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Friday, June 29, 2012 - 08:04 pm: Edit |
Ted, the raiding pool is increased to 4 (6 for the big 3) in Y176 (314.16), and yes, the Gorn-A pool is a total of 33 slots (max of 5 commando and 5 special, and 5 blockade runs)...
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, June 30, 2012 - 11:56 am: Edit |
In (625.585), there are typos with the Gorn raid pool:
The Gorn have a pool of 22 standard raids in Cordon Alpha and 18 in Yankee.
No empire can make NO more than three standard raids per TURN from their pool.
By Chris Upson (Misanthropope) on Sunday, July 01, 2012 - 11:16 pm: Edit |
true or false:
arbitrarily large fleet sitting on a base in a 1 EP partial grid, receives free supply and unlimited reinforcement fighters at every resupply step (413.42), but the same fleet one hex in any direction will be out of supply during the opponent's turn with no remedy (413.411), and would not so much as be eligible for a retrograde if it had participated in combat (corollary to 413.411) and would have to pay for a small fraction of the same supply it would receive for free one hex over, if it stayed put until the next econ phase (413.41)?
it all seems clearly indicated by the rules, but deeply bizarre, thus i would like confirmation.
By Michael Parker (Protagoras) on Monday, July 02, 2012 - 02:13 pm: Edit |
False.
I do not believe partial grids receive free fighter resupply, even if sitting on a friendly planet.
Everything else seems correct though. My answers of course are not official.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, July 02, 2012 - 08:30 pm: Edit |
Chris, False. See (413.31) for replacement fighters. You can only get 12 and they cost money at that point. All others parts are true as far as I can see and understand the rules dealing with supply and partial grids.
By Dave Whiteside (Ytside) on Tuesday, July 03, 2012 - 10:56 pm: Edit |
Mike (or Chuck), without getting into the discussion on 'why would I build one', does activating(& converting) the VLV from the Romulan IWR count toward carrier production limits? I'm sure this has been asked before and answered many times, but my laziness (and damaged pysche from all those Woobies) prevents me from researching it myself. All I see in the rulebook are limits for every class of ship except for the Vulture class (did I miss one?). Since this ship is 'already built', but just needs new engines and to be activated, is it excluded thus allowing you to produce 3 carriers in one turn?
Thanks
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 07:18 am: Edit |
Dave, according to this no it doesn't count against the carrier builds but it will expensive as you have to pay for the fighters somehow.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 07:20 am: Edit |
Sorry, Dave you will have to do a find for the VLV to find where it says they don't count against carrier builds in the page. As it's from the Q&A archive.
By craig grinnell (Mauler) on Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 01:57 pm: Edit |
Tired of digging...
If this has been asked already and answered, yell at me and ill dig more...
Rule 431.83...
Can't substitute down and then reconvert back...
The example gives lyrans subbing a CA for a DN and then converting the CA to a DN, getting a DN for 14 points instead of 16.
Using the lyran prod schedule as an example, does this rule prevent subbing a CA for the DN and converting the ORIGINAL CA to a DN for the same net result?
They still get a 14 point DN and a CA.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |