Archive through July 24, 2012

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through July 24, 2012
By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Monday, July 09, 2012 - 04:12 pm: Edit

That (the above) seems completely reasonable.

Another question:

Assume I have a single FF stationed at a planet with a PDU. The planet is attacked. Can the FF avoid the first round of combat by being an excused Flagship candidate, letting the PDU (or squadron of fighters) be the Flagship? What if the planet is devastated with an RDU?

It is clear that a base can be a Flagship (and so a single FF stationed there can avoid combat); it is not clear that a PDU, RDU, or squadron of fighters from a PDU can or cannot. Thanks!

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, July 09, 2012 - 04:23 pm: Edit

Peter: in a word, no. I'm certain that an RDF can't be a flag; nor can a squadron of fighters. However, a PDU *can*, and thus a lone FF can retreat behind a planet guarded by PDUs or PGBs.

Not an official answer, of course, and I didn't dig for the rulings/rules. Just going by memory.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, July 09, 2012 - 10:00 pm: Edit

PDU/PGBs have a CR of "0". RDFs have a CR of "N/A". Fighter squadrons alone have a CR of "3".

Therefore either the FF or PDU can be the flagship; an RDF cannot.

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Monday, July 09, 2012 - 11:29 pm: Edit

RDF cannot be flag.

By Jeffrey Coutu (Jtc) on Tuesday, July 10, 2012 - 02:40 am: Edit

A have a few Questions on fleet setups.

(Q706.0) It is unclear what the number of starting CLs the Gorn Home Fleet should have. The various rules and the CL units listed in the starting Gorn Home Fleet are:

F&E 2000 and F&E 2010 list 4xCL.

Special Operations indicates to add 1xCL to the Home Fleet but Combined Operations (its replacement) has no CL additions to the Home Fleet.

Carrier War lists 5xCL (it listed a complete OOB) but Fighter Operations (its replacement) does not list the complete OOB (only additions) and it does not show any additions to the Gorn fleet.

Advanced Operations list 5xCL (in the basic F&E section).

My guess is that Advanced Operations should list 4xCL in the basic F&E section and one CL in the SO section and that Combined Operations should have listed one CL as an addition to the Home Fleet. Is this correct?

(Q707.0) For the Tholian Home fleet in Advanced Operations it lists a DN in the basic F&E section. This DN is not in any other product that I can find (including F&E 2010). Since the date available per the SIT is Y167 it would seem that they should have one in their fleet (and without a DN in the Home Fleet they do not start with a DN). Should the DN be in the Home Fleet in F&E 2010, is the DN listed in Advanced Operations a mistake, or should the DN have been on a separate line in Advanced Operations because it is added by Advanced Operations?

(Q709.0) For the Hydran Home fleet in Advanced Operations it lists 2xHR in the basic F&E section. The 2xHR is not in any other product that I can find (including F&E 2010). Since the date available per the SIT is Y167 it would seem that they should have one in their fleet (and without the HRs in the Home Fleet they do not start with any HRs). Should the 2xHR be in the Home Fleet in F&E 2010, is the 2xHR listed in Advanced Operations a mistake, or should the 2xHR have been on a separate line in Advanced Operations because it is added by Advanced Operations?

By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Tuesday, July 10, 2012 - 08:35 am: Edit

I'm not an answer guy, but I will point out that the Advanced Operations Fleet Lists are intentionally and significantly different than the basic F+E 2K10 rulebook fleet lists--there are random extra ships in various fleets in the AO fleet lists (like those extra Hydran HRs). The fleets also have different build schedules.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, July 10, 2012 - 04:18 pm: Edit

Jeffrey,

Special Operations and Carrier War both predate F&E2K and the OOBs they changed were badly in need of updates.

(A706.0) If playing with F&E 2K or 2K10 alone or with FO/CO it's 4xCL. When AO gets addedd it's 5xCL.

(A707.0) My copy of Adv Ops does NOT show a DN available on T1. It does show DN's being built on T2 and T6. If you can send me a scan of page I'd appreciate it. (email in profile)

(A709.0) No mistakes. AO is intentionly different from basic F&E.

Like Peter said the AO OOBs and build schedules are signifcnatly different from Base F&E. BTW the most current OOB is located online at http://www.starfleetgames.com/documents/F&EOrderofBattle.pdf

Ryan Opel
F&E OOB Master

By Jeffrey Coutu (Jtc) on Tuesday, July 10, 2012 - 08:34 pm: Edit

Ryan,

Thanks for the answer. I just wanted to be sure that Advanced Operations added those units and that they were not typos. Ideally they should have been on a separate AO line.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 01:39 am: Edit

They will be on seperate lines when we revise AO.

By Michael Parker (Protagoras) on Thursday, July 12, 2012 - 03:08 pm: Edit

Situation

A group of attacking ships enters a province and the hex containing a single enemy ship. Combat ensues with the defending ship crippled and retreating to a hex and remaining in the province. The attacker leaves at least one of the attacking ships in the hex (and hence in the province) after all retrograde and strat movement.

Q: Is the province captured by the attacker?


Attacker argues that the province is captured as crippled ships cannot garrison a province.

Defender argues that garrison is for the occupier of an already captured province and garrison rules do not apply. Instead (430.21) pg 65 FE2010 applies


Quote:

If a province contains one or more enemy ships and at least one friendly ship or base, the province is considered "disrupted"....



Furthermore 430.22

Quote:

...if the province contains no friendly units, and only enemy units, the province is deemed "captured"...




The defender believes these two rules mean the province ownership is retained with the defender and the province is "disrupted" using 430.21 because a crippled ship is still a ship since it is not mentioned in the list of non-ship units in 756.0. Also using 430.22 since a crippled ship is certainly a unit, when the attacker tries to establish ownership of the enemy province, since there is a friendly unit remaining it cannot become captured, hence it defaults back to the defenders ownership.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, July 12, 2012 - 03:18 pm: Edit

I can't see how that is unclear. I think that game needs a person that can understand english. :p

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, July 12, 2012 - 03:27 pm: Edit

Richard, well said. =)

Mike, I have nothing to add to that.

By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, July 14, 2012 - 11:42 am: Edit

So when substituting ships, can you substitute a substitute?

For example:

The Hydrans are low on cash, so they have to downbuild ships. They have a DG on the build schedule. They are allowed to sub a TR for the DG. And in general, they can sub a HR for a TR. Can they sub a HR for the TR for the DG?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, July 14, 2012 - 05:58 pm: Edit

In most cases one can sub a legal sub for another legal sub. Some exceptions exist within PO's minor shipyards and downgraded subs.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 01:22 pm: Edit

Q315.0 Can captured ships that are otherwise battle group qualified be used in a battle group by the capturing empire?

Q303.5 Do captured war cruisers and other ships that qualify for the a leader to be used when 3 stardard ships that would otherwise qualify get the leader bonus? e.g. The Kzintis have caputred a L-CW and K-D5. Could these ships when combined with a Z-CM allow the Z-CM to be the leader under (303.51)?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 04:33 pm: Edit


Quote:

(305.231) A captured ship refitted and put into use is considered a ship of the new owning player for all purposes (except that a ship of one empire cannot be converted into a variant of the capturing empire’s equivalent ship, but only into a variant of the original owner).




Unless overruled by ADB the following are rulings by FEDS:

1. Captured ships that where otherwise battle group capable can be used in battle groups of the capturing empire once they are converted to the capturing empire's technology.

2. Captured ships of one hull type cannot be used to qualify other ships of another hull type to qualify for the leader rule under (305.5). However, in the rare circumstance that three captured ships of the same hull type are captured and converted then the leader rule may apply to those specific hull types IF they qualified as leaders otherwise.

Example: A Kzinti player captures and converts three Klingon D5s. If all three of these Z-D5s are later used in the same battle force then one Z-D5 qualifies under the leader rule.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Saturday, July 21, 2012 - 11:55 pm: Edit

Q709.0 "(709.0) If the Hydran capital is not captured by an enemy before the Hydran 173S turn, the Hydrans begin their Y176-177 production schedule at that time." The production schedule has the MHK and IRQ (NCA base hulls). Does this rule allow the building of these ships ahead of thier Date Avail? If not what is subbed?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 10:14 am: Edit

Ryan, I would think that the MHK and IRQ would be HR and TR until Y175. To the best of my knowledge there are no early entries for the NCAs.

By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 11:44 am: Edit

Ryan, I think that's been answered before (and no, you can't build the MHK/IRQ early). I don't know where to begin looking in the archives.

By Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 10:36 pm: Edit

Ryan, that rule is mainly for adding the Hydran DW early...

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 02:43 am: Edit

Stewart:

Can you cite a rule reference to support that statement.

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 09:56 am: Edit

Review of the SIT shows the DW available in Y173 and the NCAs available in Y175. The production schedule of the enhanced Hydran shipyard should be:

Fall Y173-Y174: CC, DG, 3xCW, LN, 3xDW, 3xFF.
Spring Y173-Y174: PAL, RN, 3xCW, KN, 3xDW, 3xFF.

To reflect the unavailability of the NCA class of ships until Y175. The schedule should be for Y175 on to Y181:

Fall Y175-Y180: CC, DG, MHK, 2xCW, LN, 3xDW, 3xFF.
Spring Y175-Y180: PAL, RN, IRQ, 2xCW, KN, 3xDW, 3xFF.

By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Monday, July 23, 2012 - 10:02 am: Edit

Kevin, you are correct. Thank you.

By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Tuesday, July 24, 2012 - 02:13 pm: Edit

Ok, so as retreat priorities are always arcane, here's a question. I *think* I know the answer, but who can tell?

There is a huge Klingon fleet in the Federation Capital. They retreat. They have two possible hexes to retreat into:

-2807: Empty space.

-2808: An undefended Star Base.

Both of these hexes are the same distance from the nearest Klingon supply point. There are no other factors that differentiate the two hexes, other than the existence of a SB in one of them.

Can the Klingons freely retreat into the SB hex, fight the SB, and then retreat again? (If they can, the Feds could probably *also* retreat from the Capital onto the SB and fight over it, but still).

i.e. as you go through the retreat priorities, if two possible hexes are otherwise identical for retreat purposes, can you freely choose to retreat into a hex that has opposing units (as long as there aren't more of them than you) if there is one that doesn't have opposing units?

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Tuesday, July 24, 2012 - 03:46 pm: Edit

Peter, several things going on here.

First, before you even get to evaluating the Coalition's retreat you need to evaluate the Alliance's retreat.

The procedure is to 1) determine whether a side is retreating and then 2) conduct the retreats. It's important, because in each case there are sub-steps. In step 1, the sub procedure is that the non-phasing player decides whether to retreat, then the phasing player, then the non-phasing player again. This procedure is completely separate from *where* the retreat takes place.

So, say (as is common) the phasing player retreats. The non-phasing player then sees this and declares retreat on his second option. OK, now proceed to step 2.

Step 2 is to conduct retreats in the proper order, which is defender first then attacker (non-phasing, then phasing).

So, Step 2A is defender retreats first. In your example, if the Federation - knowing that the Klingons can either go to the SB or to the empty hex, may choose to retreat to the SB. This is conducted first - and can radically alter where the Coalition is allowed to go (if, say, the Fed fleet has a higher pin count then all of a sudden the SB hex to which the Feds retreated is now excluded by the retreat priorities for the Coalition).

Let's assume the Federation does NOT retreat to the SB in question. Let's say they retreated to another SB or they decided not to retreat at all (knowing what I'm about to tell you about the SB).

The Coalition now must retreat. They must avoid combat under the priorities if possible, unless they conduct a fighting retreat. You've already told me that the empty hex and the SB hex are both valid retreat hexes. OK, so the priority that says you must avoid combat if you can will dictate that the Klingons retreat to the empty hex.

HOWEVER, as an exception, the Klingons could declare a fighting retreat over the SB. If they do so, they are still required offer the SB an approach battle. The SB declines. However, the fighting retreat fleet is now REQUIRED to retreat again. Thus, no actual battle takes place and the Klingons end up off of the SB hex and two hexes from the Fed capital (likely anyway unless there's another fighting retreat).

The ONLY way to change this result is if the Klingon used a convoy or a supply tug so that the ONLY way to get closer to supply would be to retreat to the SB hex. In this case, retreat into the SB hex would not be a fighting retreat but would be a normal retreat that happens to result in combat. In this case, the Klingons could blast the SB into oblivion in the normal combat sequence. However, also in this case, the Feds are more likely to retreat to the SB first and make a fight of it or even impossible to retreat to that hex (as you can't retreat into a number of ship units greater than your fleet even if that's the only closer hex).

Another hypothetical change: Say you already had Klingons at the SB and resolved the Fed capital first. This time, the Feds can declare a fighting retreat to the SB. However, (and this is a ruling) the result is *different*. After the declined pursuit battle (which they can decline rather than fight at BIR 10/0) the Feds arrive at the base and can defend it (they retreat again to the base itself, rather than back to another hex).

Clear as mud? =)

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation