By Eric Smith (Badsyntax) on Monday, February 11, 2013 - 03:03 pm: Edit |
Q424.1 Depot Tracks
Which tracks do the following hull types use?
Federation CS:
Federation DDX:
Federation DNW:
Gorn DBC:
Gorn DDC:
Hydran DNW:
Klingon WD5:
Klingon F6:
Kzinti DNW:
Lyran DNW:
Lyran CAL:
Lyran DND:
Romulan JH:
Very low priority, but should be updated for the warbook at the least to show these additional hull types. I am probably missing a few, and I excluded all non-published ships. I'd be fine going back through adding ships from CL's if desired.
By Alan De Salvio (Alandwork) on Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 12:45 pm: Edit |
Where is the "dockyard" rule that is referenced in the CL46 LDR discussion? I know this is more of a CL46 after action question, but Chuck should see this quicker.
By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 01:12 pm: Edit |
The Dockyard rule is in CL46.
By Alan De Salvio (Alandwork) on Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 05:01 pm: Edit |
In the F&E Section? Did I get a misprinted book or something?
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Wednesday, February 13, 2013 - 11:46 am: Edit |
CL46 dockyard: I have no idea. Ask Chuck. He said that, not me. I assumed that it refered to some minor rule in the LDR stuff. If I ever knew about a dockyard rule, I have long since forgotten and it never appeared on the CL46 F&E plan, which the F&E staff was aware of. Maybe they sent me some memo sometime that I put in the "later" file and they just assumed it was in the issue, but I'm really not aware of it.
Ok, I found it, but I also found the email where I told them we didn't need it and I wasn't going to print it. We didn't need a bunch of rules for minor empire dockyards that were handled by one sentence about production limits in the LDR rules. Wny they thought the rules were going to be in CL46 is beyond me.
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Saturday, February 16, 2013 - 11:57 pm: Edit |
Q 314.246 Detection of cloaked raiders
Should the word "ships or escort group of mobile ships" be substituted for "units" in the first sentence, and for "ship" in the second?
Surely a lone escort, FCR, or otherwise escorted carrier is not required to roll for possible contact and single combat with the raider? What about supply tugs or Engineers? Also, without the threat of contact by at least a carrier group, a cloaked ship could enter any enemy occupied hex during a raid, and if it survived in the hex after combat with only a single enemy ship uncrippled, could then target a scout, FRD, or whatever it wanted under (314.28). With the advent of K7Xs and CPXs plus cloaked decoys it becomes a simple matter for a Romulan cloaked raider to survive interception by any single ship and then take out any unescorted target of his choosing the way I read (314.246) now.
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Sunday, February 17, 2013 - 02:50 pm: Edit |
Using new search tecniques I found the following ruling apparently from CL 29:
"(314.246) The non-raiding player may excuse any (or all) of his units from rolling to detect the cloaked ship. A cloaked raider may not use (314.28)"
That ruling makes cloaked raiders less powerful than normal ones since the defender can ensure that no ship is attacked at all, and only province disruption can occur.
Can I request an appeal of some sort on that ruling?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, February 18, 2013 - 10:59 am: Edit |
Nothing in the rules requires a player to use a cloaking device during a raid.
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Monday, February 18, 2013 - 11:28 am: Edit |
Ah. I see. So the only advantage a cloaked ship has is that if no single ship wants to try to discover a cloaked raider (defender refuses to search with ships in hex), the cloaked raider can disrupt the hex--but not perform the alternate attack (314.28). Oh well, at least they can choose not to use the cloak. I don't understand why players are so terrified of giving a bonus to the cloak for raids.
Quite a nerf, but so be it. Thanks Chuck.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 03:20 pm: Edit |
Q410.5 Can a race not at war, adopt homeless ships? In this case the Gorns adopting Tholians fleeing after their space was conquered.
A410.5 See (503.4) and (503.1) for guidance on this. Until the Gorns are active, they are considered the same as permanent neutrals for how the ships are treated. This will cause the Tholians to be interned until the Gorns become active. At that time, the Gorns could then supply homeless ships of their new ally.
Q410.5 If a race adopts homeless ships that aren't in their supply grid yet, but they are in an ally’s grid, can those adopted ships use strategic movement of their allies to get back to the adopted races space? They will be paying for it with both races strategic movement of course.
A410.5 See (204.32) for allied movement as the adopted ships are now considered the adopter’s ships for strategic movement and handled under rule (204.32)
Q410.4 Is an out of supply ship, which is not adopted, considered in supply if it is stacked with an allied base?
A410.4 See (410.25) as the allied base is friendly this rule gives them supply.
Q410.4 Assuming the previous answer was yes, does that mean out of supply, non-adopted ships, stacked on an allied base, are treated as "in supply" for movement and combat purposes? For example, could they establish a fully functional reserve fleet at an allied base and use extended reaction?
A410.4 (410.31) does not allow extended reaction when out of supply, but since the unit starts in supply and the first hex of movement off of the base is the extended movement, the second move is the normal reaction and allowed. Reserve Movement is a special form of Operational Movement (203.71) and operational movement requires supply at the beginning of movement to perform the full movement allowance of the reserves (410.21) and (410.31).
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 03:58 pm: Edit |
Q410.4 Request for clarification. The ruling is:
Does this ruling mean that the total operational and reserve movement of such a fleet is 3, as it is "out of supply" the moment it leaves the base? Or, because the fleet is in supply at the supply check step in the sequence of play, does this ruling mean that the total operational and reserve movement of such a fleet is 6 - but with the understanding that the fleet will be out of supply at the moment of combat (and presumably thereafter)?
Quote:A410.4 (410.31) does not allow extended reaction when out of supply, but since the unit starts in supply and the first hex of movement off of the base is the extended movement, the second move is the normal reaction and allowed. Reserve Movement is a special form of Operational Movement (203.71) and operational movement requires supply at the beginning of movement to perform the full movement allowance of the reserves (410.21) and (410.31).
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 04:31 pm: Edit |
The fleet has a 100% move as it was in supply at the beginning of movement (on the base), but once the supply check for combat is made it's determination of the units in that fleet combat capability are then determined by that supply check.
By Eric Smith (Badsyntax) on Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 01:18 pm: Edit |
Q450.19 Is the Hydran CW shipyard capable of building a TR or HR, or must they specify TR or HR upon building the shipyard, or does that 1 CW shipyard make both?
Q450.19 Same thing as above, but with the Orion "CR or BR"
Thanks
By Eric Smith (Badsyntax) on Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 06:01 pm: Edit |
Q508.22 Even though a planet does not generate EP until 2 turns after capture, can it still receive EP from orions as per 410.34 until it starts producing EP on the following turn to supply any ships there at the 1 EP per 5 ship/12 fighter rate?
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Friday, February 22, 2013 - 12:01 am: Edit |
Q310.11 Is combat during the raid phase considered a "battle hex" for purposes of the restriction on using the same system (regular or SSC) to resolve the entire battle hex?
Specifically, if a raiding HDWP raids a hex with three ships, plus a called up police ship, fights one round of regular combat, surviving uncrippled, and then uses the (314.28) alternative attack to attack a single ship in the hex then use (310.11) SSC? This assumes the remaining ships in the target hex don't retreat after regular combat.
By Eric Smith (Badsyntax) on Saturday, February 23, 2013 - 03:23 am: Edit |
Q450.13 Minor shipyards cannot be built in "foreign territory". In my case the Tholians have no space, could they go off map, setup a SB, and start building minor shipyards or do the "off map areas" also counted as "foreign territory"?
Q511.31 Kinda related to the previous question. If all of a races territory is captured, and they have no off-map area, can they use allied off map areas just as they could their own?
By Andrew Bruno (Admeeral) on Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 07:17 am: Edit |
Q433.412 "...Bases cannot be built in allied off-map areas."
Does this apply to the deployment of mobile bases in an allied off-map?
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 01:30 pm: Edit |
Q446.12 "If the tug/convoy leaves the hex or is destroyed, development is canceled and all EPs spent for it are lost"
Question: Can you change units while constructing a colony. For example, on turn 1 you start a colony with a tug, can you then move a convoy in on turn 2 and let it take over the building of the colony?
Q450.14 - Same question for minor shipyards.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 01:50 pm: Edit |
Q542.26 - "The deployment of each additional survy ship [survey] costs three EPs to account for the suppor infrastructure needed to enable it to operate."
When is this paid? on the Turn that the survey ship is built and sent off the map, or on the following turn when it actually starts rolling for survey?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 04:22 am: Edit |
Pete:
A446.12 I see no issue where one tug hands-off the mission to another tug so long as there is a positive hand-off to the proper number of eligible construction unit(s). Positive hand-off means there must never be a time where the prior-turn construction unit(s) leaves the hex before the required number of new building units arrive. If that happens then the unit under construction is deemed to be improperly abandoned.
A450.14 Ibid.
FEDS SENDS
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 05:34 am: Edit |
Pete, Q542.26 answered here It must be paid before the unit starts to roll for survey points.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 12:25 pm: Edit |
Chuck and Turtle:
Thanks!
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, March 01, 2013 - 09:48 am: Edit |
Q432.41 - "SCOUTS: One scout can be built each turn by any empire as a substitution for a normally scheduled ship of the equivalent hull; add the conversion cost from (751.0) to the cost of the replaced ship to find the scout cost."
Do substituted survey ships and/or substituted PFTs count against this limit?
The general rule for limited scout production is listed in (432.41).
Production limitations for PFTs are specifically addressed in (432.42); unless specifically cited elsewhere in the rules, the substitution of a ship for a PFT does NOT count against the the scout substitution limit in (432.41).
Production limitations for survey ships are specifically addressed in (542.11); unless specifically cited elsewhere in the rules, the substitution of a ship for a survey ship does NOT count against the the scout substitution limit in (432.41).
Production limitations for drone/scout ships are specifically addressed in (432.44); unless specifically cited elsewhere in the rules, the substitution of a ship for a drone/scout ship DOES count against the the scout substitution limit in (432.41).
FEDS SENDS
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |