By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, May 05, 2013 - 07:39 am: Edit |
We should take this to discussion.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, May 06, 2013 - 01:25 am: Edit |
Q204.0 Are the Lyrans required to use their strategic movement allotment to strategically move a ship from one Klingon base to another (without using any non-Klingon bases)? The limitation on each race applies to units which use the SMNs of that race...
No. See (204.32):
Quote:
FEDS SENDS
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, May 08, 2013 - 10:42 am: Edit |
Q414.4 Can a convoy be created at Colony (446.3)? (446.0) COLONIAL DEVELOPMENT
FEDS: Yes
Quote:
Most races have a limited ability to develop new colonies. This amounts to creating new planets on the map, but these are a new category of planet with special rules.
(414.4) CREATION
Convoy counters can be created (during Step 2B of the Sequence of Play) at any base or planet (but not tug) within the main Supply Grid of the owning race.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, May 09, 2013 - 06:00 pm: Edit |
Q511.53 and 511.531. This rule requires the defender of a capital assault to divide his ships first by hull and second by combat strength. However, 511.531 then substitutes term "combat value" instead of "combat strength" (as in 511.53) when splitting the two groups.
Opponent says that "combat value" or "combat strength", as opposed to strictly "combat potential", means that I must split by forces by BOTH combat potential AND defense potential. I think that the term "combat value" and "combat strength" refers to only the combat potential, thus simplifying the split and giving a little flexibility to the defender. My opponent disagrees and instead believes the total split must be as even as possible among both combat and defense factors (after hull division). Who is right?
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Friday, May 10, 2013 - 12:01 pm: Edit |
Q324.0 Can the ISC use the echelon formation (324.0) in a pursuit battle (307.0) if it meets all the requirements of (324.1) and (307.2) as the pursuer or (307.3) as the pursued as appropriate to the actual situation?
A324.0 The pursuit rules (307.2) only mention a Battle Force is required to have a pursuit battle. The ISC echelon formation is a special kind of battle force and if you can assemble a Small Echelon Force (324.111) that qualifies otherwise for pursuit you may use the echelon rules.
Q541.33D Can a Tug or LTT in conjuction with an Engineer upgrade a base as a 2 Steup upgrade, i.e. BATS to SB? 2 LTTs can upgrade a BATS to SB under (509.1-J2) and (516.21-J).
A541.33D With the 2010 revision of the rules, base upgrades are done differently than in the past. You now have an expanded hierarchy of upgrades. They are MB/OPB to BS to BATS to STB to SB. Using an LTT or ENG you can get one level of movement. Using a Tug (509.1-J2) you can move two levels already. So, adding an ENG to a Tug you will still only get two levels of upgrade. If you added an ENG to a LTT and paid for the full upgrade, the ENG can help the LTT move two levels. If you want the ENG bonus you need to have it do it by itself and go one level at a time.
Q203.51 Can a pinned group of ships, where an additional number of ships has moved on from after the pinning, still be considered a sub-stack that still has potential movement and thus, generate another reaction into that hex from ships that did not react initially?
Rule references associated with this question are all of (203.5) and arguments are:
A. (203.51) says that pinned ships cannot resume moving if another stack later moves in - but that makes sense as you have to complete a stack's movement before you can start another stack. Thus, we are not sure if it really implies that the pinned ships are stopped. If they are stopped by the very act of pinning, then there really is not "residual movement" of pinned ships to react to.
B. When you leave a fleet behind to satisfy pinning, said pinned fleet is still moving and that when it officially stops it creates additional reaction opportunities (even though the pinned fleet can't move out of the hex it hasn't been declared to have stopped yet). That can matter when you are not fully pinned, so that in this instance you can decide whether to stop the pinned fleet first or move then stop the continuing fleet first. That decision can affect reactions considerably.
A203.51 When units are pinned they are FORCED to stop ALL operational movement because the enemy took an action to stop any further movement of the pinned units; there is nothing to decide here as the enemy has done it for you. The only decision is to decide what ships are left behind to satisfy the pinning requirement.
"Pinned" means: to hold, press, hold fast, hold down; restrain, pinion, immobilize.
Once a unit is pinned it is no longer capable of using operational movement; any remaining operational movement pulses are lost for the pinned unit.
Q446.11 Can you use strategic movement to place a colony?
A446.11 No, you would have to use stratigic movement of a previous turn to arrive at an eligible colony hex then, by rule (446.1) during the operational movement phase the first payment of colonial development occurs.
Q502.921 Can a GVX be used in a CVBG?
A502.921 A GVX can only have eligible X-ship escorts; see (523.352). A GVX in a mixed tech CVBG would in effect share non-X-ship escorts and therefore could not be part of a mixed tech CVBG. In theory, a CVBG could be formed if all eligible units are X-Ships.
Q525.21 Can a HDW be produced at a SB (431.52) or MSY-DW yard (450.1) in place of the standard DW?
A525.21 HDWs can only be produced at SBs via the Y178+ War Destroyer construction rule (442.53) AND using any available conversion capacity of that SB. HDWs are not on the list of approved starbase DW substitutions.
Q519.22 I have a MON in a hex with a planet, which also contains a TG upgrading a MB. According to 519.22 the MON is treated as a base in regards to the approach of the planet. That being the case, I have two "bases" at the planet, the MB being upgraded, and the MON.
Can the MON be the "focus" of the attack, and the TG upgrading the MB the "excluded" base?
A519.22 There are two co-located, rule defined, base-like units at the same base 'site'.
Q433.0 The ISC can convert a CVS/CV to a BCV according to the SIT. Does such a conversion under (433.0) cost the ISC an allowed carrier build?
A433.0 Previous ruling: We had to go back to SVC on this one since nobody knew why he inserted the rule that a Kzinti CVL converted to a CV counts as a carrier build. He intended that to be a general rule, so any conversion of a carrier to another kind of carrier counts if the ship gains fighter factors in the deal.
Q518.22 Can the Federation NCV, NHA, NHV and NSV carry a SWAC shuttle (518.22). If so can they carry a heavy SWAC shuttle (317.31)?
A518.22 The NCV can carry one SWAC (E2A). The NHA, NHV, and NSV, as they carried F-111’s could not use SWAC’s (SFB R2.113)
Q529.233 Up to 3 APTs or PTRs (total) can be added to a battle force outside of its command limits, but only if a planet is included in the battle and only be a defending side.
For purposes of this rule, could it also be used this way at a colony?
A529.233 See (446.31), a colony planet is a planet for purposes of the rules concerning colonies, but cannot serve as a supply, retrograde, or strategic movement point. This would also apply to the APT/PTR limit.
Q In the SIT what product is "TO" and "NO?".
A TO is Tactical Operations, NO is Nebulous Operations; they are essentially placeholders for future products that don’t have official names, yet.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Friday, May 10, 2013 - 03:40 pm: Edit |
Q700 How are the units treated after the heading for the different products? For example: AO: FD7, D5J, D5S, 3xE4, E4R, ADM.
A700 These are units added to the forces listed there and are treated the same way as the starting vanilla F&E units with the same deployment restrictions unless noted otherwise.
Q601 How many FFF do empires receive on T1? 6 or 12?
A601 When a scenario starts on a fall turn, then you use (442.63) and use ½ your normal yearly allotment rounded up.
Question:
Q433.19 Multiple Conversions: ... A "major" conversion (at the capital starbase) can make up to three conversions so long as the total cost is less then 5 economic points.
(450.52) The capital starbase (433.12) or "major conversion facility" (450.12) can make 2 or three conversions in a single turn as long as the total cost of those conversions is 5 EPs or less.
Just looking for clarification. The first rule is in 2k10 and the second rule is in PO.
Does this mean:
1 - If using only 2k10, you can only use 4 EPs worth of conversions?
2 - that 2k10 meant 5 EPs or LESS instead of less than 5 EPs?
A433.19 The 2010 rules were rewritten to make the whole clearer. A capital starbase may make up to three conversions. The total cost of these conversions shall not exceed five economic points. It can make one conversion of over five economic points also.
Q523.115 This rule, (523.115), States that conversions of allowed regular warships to X-ships requires the conversion take place at a SBX. The conversion costs for the majority, if not all such eligible conversions, are more than 3 points. Is the conversion of a standard ship to an X-ship considered to be a major or minor conversion for the purposes where any such conversion be done? Each empire obviously has one SBX in their capital hex at the time of X-Ship introduction under (523.413) which could be used for a major conversion of any type. Obviously with only 1 SBX only one ship a turn can be converted to an X-ship. The question arises from the upgrading of an existing base to a second or later SBX.
A523.115 See (523.424).
Q515.26 Tugs with carrier pods [mission (509.1B] or SCS pods [mission (509.1Q] do not require escorts, but can be escorted.
(515.261) Unescorted carrier tugs count as two ships for command rating purposes.
The first rule says it doesn't require escorts, then the 2nd rule says that it counts as two ships meaning it does require escorts. So what is the rule? If a tug with carrier pods does require at least one escort then the wording in (509.1) should be changed a bit, as it implies that tugs could be single ship carriers.
A515.26 This was something that was added in Fighter Ops. This allows tugs with carrier pods to be used in a battle force, but they count as a minimum of two ships, even though they are just a single ship. Yes, this does sound contradictory, but it works in this way per the following examples (these don’t include the exceptions on certain carriers in (515.2)) :
Example 1: You have a Fleet with a tug with carrier pod(s) with six fighter factors and you want to escort it. You need to have two escorts per (515.22) at a minimum or it will be three command slots. If it is an unescorted tug it will be just two slots. So, it will be either three slots and protection or two slots with no extra protection.
Example 2: You have a pursuit force with a tug with carrier pod(s) with twelve fighter factors and you want to use it in a pursuit battle. You can use it in unescorted mode and it will be two slots or you can escort it and have a minimum of three escorts per (515.21).
Example 3: You have a Fleet with a tug with a carrier pod with three fighters and want to use it in a battle force. It can have either one escort per (515.23) or go unescorted and still take up two slots either way.
It should be noted that in all cases the fighters on the tug do not take up command slots and this is never a way to count command slots when the carrier is present in the battle line. Fighters fed forward, in groups per (302.35), do.
If you have escorts and lose all escorts in battle, per (515.26), the tug reverts back to the two command slot requirement as the escorts are permissive and not required under (515.26).
Bottom line, Tugs with carrier pods are no longer single ship carriers in the 2010 ruleset.
Q308.7 Can a Tug with carrier pods (515.26) use the formation bonus slot if it has no escorts, even if it takes up two command slots?
A308.7 The two command slot requirement is not a ship requirement, and as such, a single unescorted tug is a single ship that qualifies under (308.7) as it is not a carrier with escort requirements per (515.26).
Q307.21 For the purposes of the die roll requirement to determine if pursuit is successful under (307.21). does the missing escort for a Tug with Carrier pods from the Q&A example 2 above mean that the total ship count is 5 requiring a 4 for successful pursuit, excluding modifiers for an X-ship (523.392) or fast ship (525.133). Carriers with missing escorts (307.22) count as the actual number of ships for the die roll in (307.21) but the required number of ships for formation of the pursuit force.
A307.21 This would apply to any carrier rolling for successful pursuit. If the carrier was missing escorts below the number normal required by (515.2), the group takes up that minimum number of slots, but only counts the actual number of ships in the group when checking for successful pursuit under (307.21).
Q308.12 If a Convoy (414.5) Military Convoy (526.152) or Engineer (541.21) is assigned escorts at the beginning of the combat phase under (105.IW) Phase 5 Step 3C does the loss of the first, or any if more than one, escort is assigned then cost the owning player a "blank" command slot for purposes of later rounds of combat?
(515.2) specifies the required number of escorts for carriers and the loss of any escort requires that the group count as the original number of ships against the command rating under (515.13). See also (515.43).
A308.13 These units are not carriers and as such have no specific rules requiring them to have any escorts. It is permissive to have one or more, but not required. They can lose one and just shrink and be that size the next round. This is similar to troop ships in (521.37). A carrier group is built and trained around escorts and their interaction with the carrier in all situations. Escorts for Convoys, Military Convoys, Engineer units, and troop ships are more as needed type of escort situations and not as heavily command oriented.
Q502.95 What if a SB with F14+2 reacts its 12 fighters out of the hex. Does that mean that it can put up an 8 point independent squadron in 2 rounds of combat?
A502.95 This represents two squadrons of fighters, one of 8 factors and one of 6 factors. As long as the damage is taken on the 6 factor squadron first the 8 factor squadron remains an 8 factor squadron. See (501.91), (501.61), and (302.452) for more information.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, May 11, 2013 - 11:10 am: Edit |
Q509.34 Can anybody confirm that the Kzinti/Klingon tug Battle pods, individually, add +2 command rating each (maxing of course at 10)? While a Fed/Hydran TUG BP adds +2 as they can only carry 1, it seems like the Kzinti/Klingon Tugs it should only add +1 per pod as they carry 2 pods, so if they carried 1 BP and 1 SP/VP, they wouldn't have a command rating of 10. The ISC BP is only +1 and it’s a more recent product.
A509.34 Yes, the command rating is increased by +2, note (509.34) in which you use the best command rating of any one pod.
Q537.2 Can a single rescue tug rescue a ship in combat, AND then keep a ship out of pursuit during the pursuit battle? Or is each of those items a different rescue tug action?
A537.2 Yes, if assigned properly it can attempt to save a unit in battle and then later in pursuit. The rescue tug can attempt to save the same or another unit from the pursuit battle. Remember, it is the role that the tug is assigned and not about the unit(s) it saves.
Q511.2 If the Tholians lose their Dyson Sphere, can they build a new capital/shipyard somewhere else?
A511.2 It will have to be at a SB within the Original province of Tholian space per (511.31). Treatment of the arrival of the 312th squadron on Y177F will be addressed in a future product.
Q511.2 Assume that the Coalition sends a truly massive force and obliterates all Tholian supply points in a single turn, while also capturing the Tholian capital. Please confirm that, under the literal wording of 511.31 the Tholians may not designate a new capital at all, because the "must" provision cannot be satisfied (no planets or SBs and no original territory exists for the Tholians at all). In effect, the Coalition has completely knocked the Tholians out of the war, with possibly the exception of a few surviving Tholian ships later adopted by the Federation as homeless ships.
A511.2 If every hex of Tholian space is occupied, the Tholians are conquered. By rule, they cannot create a new capital. Any ships left would have to be adopted by allies as homeless or be out of supply permanently.
Q537.2. Rescue tugs and webs. Can a rescue tug perform mission W, Rescue Tug, from the support echelon on a self-killed unit that had been stuck in a Tholian web?
A537.2 No, see (537.223).
Q320.54 Can a blockade runner that decides to end its turn in the hex it targeted be intercepted as any normal raid on a particular hex (nearby ships reacting on it, including free police ships)?
A320.54 Any ship on a blockade run can be intercepted at only one time along the path it traveled. This includes the hex it targeted. See (320.54) for details.
Q320.514 Will the blockade runner that is on a one way blockade run then block supply and other paths for the rest of the turn at the target hex? Seems kind of silly to think a blockade runner can block supply for a whole fleet in friendly space, and open to some serious hammering for newly cut-off fleets on the offense.
A320.514 Since the target hex must be a friendly or neutral hex per (320.511) and normal rules that allow for blocking of supply and other paths are met, then, yes. Don’t leave open enemy space behind you.
Q320.511 And finally, what determines "friendly hex" when it comes to a blockade runner targets? Surely the same race, but what if it is conquered territory?
A320.511 See (102.0) Basic Terms: FRIENDLY: This refers to a unit or hex which is owned by forces of the same empire or an allied empire.
Q302.73 If the enemy has more ships than your whole fleet at your capital, and you decide to retreat from a battle in an adjacent hex with a smaller fleet, does that mean that the smaller fleet can't retreat to its own capital because it’s "outnumbered" and retreat priority 2 fails? This just doesn't really feel right.
A302.73 Yes, this is how retreat priority 2 works (302.732). As to “why” does it work this way, there is another section of the BBS where you can post such questions for the designer to answer.
Q439.15 states that ships destroyed when trapped in a web only give Tholians salvage if they keep the hex. However, if they destroy a ship in the web, losing the hex or not, should the attacker get any salvage at all? After all, these hulks surely wouldn't be left intact after any combat round, or a retreat. Also, on this same rule, I just want to confirm the last word is "Phase" and not "Round", as is mentioned in 439.11.
A439.15 Yes, the salvage from any ships destroyed while trapped in the web is calculated at the end of the combat phase for that particular hex. It is recommended that a space on the gaming table be designated for ships destroyed in the web for a particular hex be stored and then, at the end of the combat phase, when ownerships has been determined, the salvage be calculated and awarded to the owner of the hex.
Q503.3 If the Tholian capital is attacked on turn 10, before being at war, is there any way to build/create things like prime teams, APT/PTRs, POLs, or other non-standard type units during the enemy's turn using deficit spending and/or salvage?
A503.3 As they are not at war until they are attacked and have no source of diplomatic income, there isn’t much they can do other than place their PWC as best they can and survive the onslaught, if they can.
Q512.4 While Tholians cannot send ships to another empire to build webs (512.4), what if they take over a planet outside of Tholian space, would a planet and/or any base there then gain the web as well?
A512.4 As long as the base has a supply path to Tholian territory, yes.
Q503.3 Say 36 Tholian ships escaped the destruction and capture of all of Tholian space. 12 ships could be adopted by the Federation immediately as homeless (410.5). If the Gorn adopt 12, and the Kzinti then adopt the last 12, would those ships be considered in supply for their trips back to Kzinti/Gorn space?
A503.3 Yes, as long as each empire adopting had a supply path along that path.
Q503.3 Can the Gorn adopt 12 homeless Tholian ships even though they are not yet at war?
A503.3 The Gorn player would have to have some source of income (to pay for the six economic points required for this, e.g. (540.23), but yes, per (410.5).
Q503.3 If the Tholians are completely pushed out of their home space, could the Federation cede them a province and planet that they could then use as a home through 448.1, even though they own nothing adjacent? This would then give them "territory" and if they could magically make 90 EP appear, they could build a new shipyard for their impressive 4 PC hulls per turn production schedule.
A503.3 While a good idea to help out the poor Tholians, who are galactic invaders by the way, (448.13), the adjacency clause, requires the Tholians to have adjacent territory to the Federation to do this. Without any territory, they cannot meet that requirement. Although the Tholians could capture a neutral zone hex adjacent to Federation space and then meet that requirement.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Saturday, May 11, 2013 - 01:49 pm: Edit |
Q515.1 My opponent has a carrier group consisting of a SAV+ADW+FWE. This was formed at the beginning of the combat phase, per (515.14). During combat, the SAV is killed and the ADW is crippled. We are now into pursuit (Phase 5, Step 8 of the SOP). Is this still considered a carrier group, giving the ADW protection by the FWE, during the pursuit combat round?
A515.1 This rule is very clear that once a carrier group is formed in the Battle Force Determination Step (Phase 5, Step 3C of the SOP), it cannot be altered until the pursuit step, and then, it is permissive, not required to reorganize. This is the only time a carrier group status is changed until the end of the combat phase. As such, even without a “carrier” in the group, it is still a carrier group and treated as such in all ways.
Q433.432 Could a Sector Base (452.0) convert a single Romulan modular SparrowHawk or SkyHawk under 433.432 when moving during the operational movement (105.IW) 3B2?
A433.432 Rule (452.11) specifically states what STBs do with other empire’s special abilities such as the Federation SWACs and Klingon SFGs. There is no mention of Romulan module conversions. So, no, they cannot do this.
Q425.2 Can the Romulans use Conversion During Repair (425.2) to gain an 1EP discount converting a FH to a NH or a FHB to a NHB? According to 425.25 Hull Types CDR cannot be used to gain a discount when changing the hull type. On the 2012 SITs the NH is listed as a "Super Heavy Cruiser" and the FH as a "Heavy Cruiser". But in effect this is just a conversion from a CA to a CC. Should the Romulans get their discount or not?
A425.2 Yes they can. Look at the base hull of the FH and NH. both are FH(3) under the Base Hull listings in the SIT.
Q425.2 Several FH to NHx and the FH to SUB conversions have the "double-dagger" two step discount marking, implying that the FH and NH are different base hull types. The SIT is internally inconsistent on this point with regards to CDR, can you explain?
A425.2 The double dagger two step fire hawk conversions and are all related to the Superhawks not the NovaHawks. The exceptions to the CDR are related to SPx to NHx. Remember, the SIT is very specific and specific always out trumps general.
Q310.0 When determining if (310.0) Small Scale Combat can be used with a force of a carrier without escorts, and 2 other ships which have not been previously designated as ad-hoc escorts under (515.34) and (515.35), disqualify such a battleforce from using (310.0)?
A310.0 Player's must follow (310.11). SSC qualification is done in SoP 5-3B; ad hocs are added next in 5-3C. So it is not possible to use the ad hoc rule to lower one's compot to qualify for SSC. The carrier may go without escorts as long as there are available command slots available for the missing escorts. Remember that sequence of play events leading up to SSC must still be followed.
Q537.12 Is a FRD a valid target?
A537.12 The rule specifically uses the term "ships" so only ships can be infiltrated. Infiltration cannot be used against the following (this list is not exhaustive): FRD/FRX/PRD, a fighter factor, a PF, a CPF, an unassigned pod, a fighter depot, a diplomat, a prime team, an MMG, an admiral, a SWAC, a cloaked decoy, an ENG, any shipyard, a reserve counter, or a repair deport.
Q603.2 I can’t find anything mentioning when the Federation 5th Fleet is released. Sure, it has a detachment of most of the fleet that can leave when the Klingons attack, but the last few ships are stuck in an unreleased status apparently until the end of time.
A603.2 On turn 10, Spring Y173, or later, it is released if the Romulans enter Federation territory or adjacent neutral zones.
Q603.5 If the Romulans don’t attack the Federation on turn 10 and the Gorns go to limited war, is a declaration of war or an attack on the Tholians the same as declaring war on the Federation?
A603.5 The only thing attacking the Tholians at this time will do is put the Federation on a limited war status which they will already be at this time. The Kzinti and Gorns will be able to send expeditionary fleets to Tholian space to assist.
Q603.5 If the Romulans don’t attack the Federation on turn 10 and the Gorns go to limited war, what about capturing of neutral zones?
A603.5 Any neutral zones adjacent to the Federation or Gorns if captured by the coalition is a declaration of war respectively.
Q603.5 If the Romulans don’t attack the Federation on turn 10 and the Gorns go to limited war, is an attack on an adjacent minor planet such as Helvetia (3912) considered an attack on the Federation?
A603.5 Yes.
Q431.37 Does this rule let you build a unit before its YIS date?
A431.37 All ships have an availability date on the Ship Information Table and cannot be produced prior to this date; rule (431.37) does not create an exception.
Q502.93 If a single ship scout carrier in the free scout position sends its fighter squadron to the line as an independent squadron, and that squadron is the 4th Federation squadron in the battle force with the Third Way in effect, does that squadron count against command limits?
A502.93 By definition in (308.533) a scout carrier in the free scout position can send its non-hybrid fighters as an independent squadron (302.35) and therefore can be used as the fourth independent Federation squadron under The Third Way. There are only three ways to send an independent squadron to participate in a battle and be used in The Third Way:
1. From a carrier or base in an adjacent hex
2. From a carrier in the support echelon (including bases sending fighters forward in a approach/multi-system battle)
3. From a scout carrier in the free scout position
Q541.11 This rule states that initial ENG units are activated on the first turn an empire is actually at war. The OOB has the initial ENG listed w/ at start forces for convenience. Does it just pop up for an inactive empire when invaded? Or must the newly activated empire wait for their first production phase to activate it?
A541.11 Engineer regiments are activated during the Production Phase of any turn in which an empire is at war.
Q-SIT Does "unbuilt variant" in the SITs have any rule counterpart, or is it simply a textual note irrelevant to the game itself?
A-SIT It means it was not historically built. Some players don't allow these in their games.
Q450.12 The ISC can build minor shipyards, and can I assume that a CL is their "CW" and their DD is their "DW" for purposes of the minor shipyards?
A450.12 See page 2 of the ISC War rulebook.
Q324.42 Can a HDW be in a gunline? If so, are they limited to 3 alongside NDDs, or can all 6 ships of a gunline be HDWs and their variants?
A324.42 HDWs and HWXs cannot be in a gunline as the are treated as SC3 units and the SIT lists them as such.
By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, May 12, 2013 - 09:48 am: Edit |
Ships in a partial supply grid with a base question:
An empire's territory is partitioned by enemy action, creating a partial supply grid. There are ships on a base in the partial supply grid. It is very clear that ships sitting on that base are in supply, via (410.25) and (410.4). What happens when the ships move *off* the base? If they have an open supply path to the base at the start of the combat phase (assuming they leave the base and get in a fight somewhere), do they count as being in supply at the start of combat, allowing them to retrograde back to the base later in the turn?
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, May 12, 2013 - 04:30 pm: Edit |
Q450.13 Can Minor Shipyards be built at a captured major planet?
A450.13 No. See the last sentence of this rule: They cannot be built in foreign territory.
Q450.13 At a SB in captured territory?
A450.13 No. See the last sentence of this rule: They cannot be built in foreign territory.
Q450.13 At a major planet or SB in Annexed territory?
A450.13 No. See the last sentence of this rule: They cannot be built in foreign territory.
Q541.34 While performing a selected mission from (541.33), is an Engineer unit able to perform any or all of the listed missions of (541.34) which simply states "In addition to the above missions:"?
A541.34 The missions listed in (541.33) are the tug-like missions the ENG may perform. The missions in (541.34) are beyond tug-like as they do much more than a tug can do, even the SIDS repair is more. The general description in (541.31) implies that it performs one mission a turn. So, just one mission from either (541.33) or (541.34) per turn.
Q512.3 Do ships that die while trapped in a Tholian web Generate Salvage (439.0) for the attacker?
A512.3 Enemy units that are destroyed while conducting combat trapped (512.32) inside of a Tholian web do not yield salvage for the attacking player unless the attacker fails to meet the requirement of (439.15).
Q512.3 Do ships that die while trapped in a Tholian web get a depot (424) roll?
A512.3 Enemy units that are destroyed while conducting combat trapped (512.32) inside of a Tholian web do not roll for Depot Repair as triage repair specialists (424.0) cannot immediately get to the unit in question to properly make and recover the unit in a timely fashion. However, such units will still generate salvage if the requirements of (439.15) are meet.
Q322.31 How do Tholian Pinwheels effect retreats via (302.721)?
May the rest of an allied force retreat behind the cover of a surviving Pinwheel?
A322.31 So long as a pinwheel remains un-dissolved at the end of any combat round, a can cover the retreat of allied ships as outlined in (302.741).
Q315.23 While any ship carrying a pod cannot be part of a battlegroup (315.23), what about FFT's NOT carrying a pod and just acting in a combat capacity? It seems like they should be BG capable without that pod, but the SITs don't seem to be marking them as BG capable.
A315.23 It was a decision by ADB that LTTs and TT are NOT BG/GL eligible; their mission does not support them training for primary echelon combat duty.
Q315.23 So, in short, FFT's can never ever be part of a BG/GL, regardless of what is carried, True?
A315.23 If units are not marked as BG eligible § on the SIT then they may not be part of a BG/GL.
Q320.34 Do the Kzinti benefit from the +1 bonus listed in 318.11 when resolving an advanced raid combat via 320.34 or 320.353?
A320.34 Yes, Note that the staff is working to fix the existing special raid rules as they are not working properly.
Q540.132 Can a DIP cut off in an allied capital board an allied ship (say a Lyran DIP aboard a Romulan SPH in an isolated Romulus) and do a blockade run, staying in the target hex--similar to the way ADM and MMG may be returned to the owner's territory in this manner?
A540.132 Diplomats can be carried on "ships," of their own race (540.141).
Q511.223 Say the Feds come in and knock the Klingons out of 2919 and capture the hex with sufficient garrison forces for the old Klingon colonies, wouldn't it be deemed that the Feds have liberated control of Tholia back to the original owners yet retain control of the planets they captured?
A511.223 No, but any empire could cede the hex back to the Tholians but then those Klingon planets revert to their "non-existent" condition under Tholian control.
Q511.41 Based on (511.41) capital defense priority, if the Coalition retakes the Hydran homeworlds, are the Hydrans allowed to leave Hydran territory to attack targets in, say, Lyran and Klingon original home space? Or does the capture of the capital pretty much kill that rule?
A511.41 If the capital is reestablished in the off-map then capital defense priority requirement is suspended as the off-map capital is effectively beyond the two hex requirement of (511.43). If there is no place to establish a new capital then the new capital does not exist and the capital defense priority is moot.
Q322.11 Formation of pinwheels. Can one or more crippled ships be included in the initial formation of a PW?
Q322.11 Noting within (322.2) prohibits crippled Tholian ships from forming a PW as long as they meet the requirements of (322.2).
Q421.23 Two uncrippled ships (each with a defense factor of seven or more) could replace a tug for towing purposes. Can two warships who happen to now be stacked with the FRD(perhaps they arrived in the hex as a reserve) tow said FRD allowing it to retreat under tow?
A421.23 Yes, two qualified ships under (421.23) are treated as a tug alternative to tow an FRD under (509.1-F).
Q509.1-F This rule states that tugs performing other missions cannot also tow an FRD, and that an unassigned tug or LTT can be assigned this mission during the retreat step, but I never found an enabling ruling allowing the two eligible ships to tow it during the retreat step.
A509.1-F Two qualified ships serving as an FRD alternative tug under (421.23) are treated no differently then tugs under (509.1-M).
Q509.1-F What happens to the retreating FRD if the towing tug or LTT is destroyed or crippled during the slow-unit retreat?
A509.1-F The FRD is no longer treated under tow if the towing unit is crippled or destroyed. FRDs not under tow are subject to (302.742-C).
Q509.1-F Assuming that two appropriate ships are towing an FRD, what happens to the retreating FRD if one or both of its two towing units are destroyed or crippled during the slow-unit retreat?
A509.1-F Since (421.23) requires both ships to be uncrippled to serve as a tug alternative, and then if any one or both ships serving as a tug alternative are crippled or destroyed then the FRD is no longer treated under tow. FRDs not under tow are subject to (302.742-C).
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 03:35 pm: Edit |
Q603.54:
Rule Text:
Quote:If the Federation starts a war with the Romulans or Klingons, the Gorns do not enter the war at all unless somebody attacks the Gorns (and then they join the other side)
By Peter D Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, May 26, 2013 - 04:33 pm: Edit |
Pinning Question:
I have 9xSEQ of ships and fighters in a hex. My opponent has 8.5xSEQ of ships and fighters in the same hex. Can I move a ship out of the hex? (i.e. does .5 SEQ pin a full SEQ)?
By Stewart W Frazier (Frazikar2) on Sunday, May 26, 2013 - 09:30 pm: Edit |
Pete, no, you can't have fewer SEs in the hex then your opponent (though you could move a crippled ship [0.5 SE] out)...
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, May 26, 2013 - 11:17 pm: Edit |
Please remember to only ask questions in this topic. Discussions or comments need to be made in the Q&A Discussions topic -- thank you.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, May 28, 2013 - 12:40 pm: Edit |
Q(205.5): Does one-half of a ship equivalent pin a whole ship equivalent? (203.50) GENERAL: While a player may move his units into a hex containing enemy units, the player cannot move units out of a hex containing enemy units unless there are a number of friendly ships remaining in that hex equal to the number of enemy ships. Exception: (203.55). (203.54) CRIPPLED SHIPS, FIGHTERS, AND PFs: Crippled ships (301.8) count as one-half of a “ship” for purposes of pinning. That is, a ship can pin or offset a ship, a crippled ship can pin a crippled ship, two crippled ships can pin a ship, and a ship can pin two crippled ships. Three fighter factors or three PFs are equal to a crippled ship.
FEDS RULING:
A(205.5): Any factional amount of a ship equivalent is NOT sufficient to pin a single ship.
Quote:
The terms “a number of friendly ships” and “the number of enemy ships” refers to the WHOLE NUMBERS of ships.
That is why (203.502) works for uses against fast ships, but does not work for fractions of ships against whole numbers of ships.
There is a SPECIFIC exception where “one-half of a ship” can pin or offset another “one-half of a ship” or where two halves many be combined to form a single ship equivalent.
Quote:
Further FEDS clarification:
For pinning purposes under (203.54):
Fractional amounts of fighter factors can of form either whole ship equivalents and/or one-half of a ship equivalent.
Fractional amounts of a PF flotilla can of form either whole ship equivalents and/or one-half of a ship equivalent.
Therefore, there are ONLY four ways to form a whole ship equivalent from other half fractions of ship equivalents:
A. Two crippled ships can function as one whole ship equivalent.
B. One crippled ship and a half-ship equivalent of fighter factors can function as one whole ship equivalent.
C. One crippled ship and a half-ship equivalent of a PF flotilla can function as one whole ship equivalent.
D. A half-ship equivalent of a PF flotilla and a half-ship equivalent of fighter factors can function as one whole ship equivalent.
A player CANNOT make a claim the five standard fighter factors and one PF is a ship equivalent; the five standard fighter factors can only form one-half of a ship equivalent in this example.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 10:01 pm: Edit |
Q702 In the F&E2010 rule book the Fed ECL is listed as 4-6/2-4. In the online SIT (dated Jan 2012) it is listed as 4-6/2-3. Which are the correct factors for the unit?
By Chris Upson (Misanthropope) on Saturday, June 01, 2013 - 04:10 pm: Edit |
please see the november 18 2008, Q&A "half a pin factor is better than none".
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, June 10, 2013 - 02:25 pm: Edit |
Unless directed otherwise by ADB, all F&E online Q&A services are suspended until after Origins 2013 due to FEAR and FEDS travel to and attendance at Origins.
F&E Q&A online services will return on 17 June 2013.
FEDS SENDS
By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Monday, June 10, 2013 - 04:18 pm: Edit |
ADB confirms per SVC.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 12:37 am: Edit |
Memo for Record
Ref: OPB Retreat Requirements
Quote:By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 11:50 pm: Edit
OPBs are fish/foul critters. Owner's pick. It can retreat but doesn't HAVE to and if not it is a fully-functional MB.
The thing is, guys, nobody can predict every question that may come up someday. The staff worked on that rule when it was written and the six smartest F&E players in the whole world didn't imagine that question (as did a hundred or so players) so nobody gets to gripe that we missed it.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Friday, June 14, 2013 - 04:11 pm: Edit |
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Friday, June 14, 2013 - 04:12 pm: Edit |
Take any discussion of previous ruling to Q&A discussion, please.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 01:50 pm: Edit |
Q433.19 This says you can do up to three conversions as long as they cost less than five points (at a SB capable of major conversions).
Is the intent actually to forbid doing 5 points of multiple conversions, or was it just badly worded and should have said something like 'they cost no more than five points...'?
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 02:25 pm: Edit |
Q433.19 in F&E 2010 does not have a limit for conversions at a starbase that is not capable of major conversions. It does have a limit (three conversios) for a starbase that IS capable of major conversions.
My esteemed opponent insists that he is therefor able to do six half point conversions at a starbase that is not capable of major conversions. (He agrees he could not at a SB that IS capable of major conversion).
Rule 450.5 in Planetary Operations makes clear that the limit is three in either case.
My opponent argues that if not using PO, six conversions at the SB of type said above is allowed.
I think he is mistaken, as prior to last week, there were no half point conversions so it wasn't necessary to actually explicitly state the limit.
So, can a starbase ever do more than three conversions?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 08:20 pm: Edit |
FEDS INTERIM RULING (PENDING ADB FINAL RULING ON LIGHT ESCORT COSTS)
For purposes of the ADB interim ruling on 0.5 EP light escort conversions, (433.19) and (450.5) is amended to read:
A starbase or major conversion facility capable of a making major conversions may do ONE major conversion of any cost, or it may do up to 5 EP of conversions of any type, but not both.
A starbase or minor conversion facility capable of a minor conversions may do ONE minor conversion of any cost, or it may do up to 3 EP of conversions of any type, but not both.
FEDS SENDS
Note that when PO is updated we can eliminate (450.5) as unneeded as it was incorporated and MODIFIED when we added it to F&E2KX.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |