Archive through July 31, 2013

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through July 31, 2013
By Robert Padilla (Zargan) on Thursday, July 04, 2013 - 10:33 am: Edit

Wouldn't they get 2 DIPs from a D7N?

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Friday, July 05, 2013 - 03:43 pm: Edit

Yes the question should read:

540.131 Question:

As for the 2xDIP coming off of the D7N in the un-conversion:
Do these 2 count against the Klingons as 'producing' a Diplomat or can the Klingons still produce the additional one allowed under (540.131) on this same turn (T1)?


(Thanks Rob.)

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 11:00 am: Edit

Appeal Requested:

Q541.33D Can a Tug or LTT in conjuction with an Engineer upgrade a base as a 2 Steup upgrade, i.e. BATS to SB? 2 LTTs can upgrade a BATS to SB under (509.1-J2) and (516.21-J).

A541.33D With the 2010 revision of the rules, base upgrades are done differently than in the past. You now have an expanded hierarchy of upgrades. They are MB/OPB to BS to BATS to STB to SB. Using an LTT or ENG you can get one level of movement. Using a Tug (509.1-J2) you can move two levels already. So, adding an ENG to a Tug you will still only get two levels of upgrade. If you added an ENG to a LTT and paid for the full upgrade, the ENG can help the LTT move two levels. If you want the ENG bonus you need to have it do it by itself and go one level at a time.

The discount for having the Eng help with a 2 step upgrade should be allowed. The ENG is helping to perform a construction task. In the case of a 2 step base upgrde your only saving 5 points as opposed to the 10 you would save by doing 1 step upgrades. (541.31) does not put any limitation on what project does not gain the cost benefit of the Eng unit.

By Michael dalton (Mjdalton1) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 05:31 pm: Edit

can tugs move friendly FRD, PDU, and MB?
I cant seem to find the rule in the book that says one way or another.
Thank You
Michael

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 06:18 pm: Edit

Q509.X can tugs move friendly FRD, PDU, and MB?

A509.X Move FRD 509.1-F; Move PDU/PGB 509.1K1; Move MB 509.1-C

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 06:27 pm: Edit

I don't understand if that is a yes or a no on those three items.

By Tim Losberg (Krager) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 06:48 pm: Edit

Police Ship question.
Force defending a BATs adjacent to a captured NZ planet has POLs and Fleet units defending.
Defending forces retreat and must retreat to the NZ planet as it is the closest supply point, what happens to the POLs?
Do they:
(a) ignore (531.211) and retreat with the fleet units?
(b) ignore (302.73) and split their retreat hexes?

FEDS: This is a case of involuntary movement so the POL must stay with the fleet and their retreat priorities. When the POL moves again it must follow the existing rules; it is not forced to move back.

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, July 14, 2013 - 07:03 pm: Edit

Richard, there was no yes or no, just rules references for you to look it up yourself. Tread carefully here...

By Tim Losberg (Krager) on Monday, July 22, 2013 - 03:41 pm: Edit

Stasis random ship selection issue
Situation, Klingon force including a D7A is facing a Kzinti DN 2x[CVS MEC 2xEFF] [CVS MEC EFF]
Klingons target each of the outer escorts (3 attempts) roll a random selection for the first ticket (on one of the over stuffed groups). What is available for selection, obviously th other 2 outer escorts but the 3rd choice is in question.
(312.236) states that individual fighters can only be selected by the attacker for a random target, does that mean if no other valid targets are available that they must select a fighter?

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, July 22, 2013 - 07:11 pm: Edit

No, the third should be the inner escort of the original carrier group (the outer can't be selected as it was the original target, since all three outer escorts are accounted for, the next target is an inner escort) although the Klingon could take a fighter factor if he wishes...

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Wednesday, July 24, 2013 - 08:38 pm: Edit

Couple of questions?

Q1. I captured a z-BC on T1C. The Lyrans are planning a conversion of it to their tech and then converting it to an SR. I read (305.45) the capture rules. Is there a ruling or restriction I am missing whether or not a captured ship can be converted to a survey ship?

Q2. The Lyrans T1C are converting their home world TGP to a Survey Ship as their Major Conversion and subbing a TGC for the CA...The SR did go to the Far Stars Area. Opponent challanged me on it but the SR construction rules (542.24) seem to say it should be fine. What say you oh wise one?

Q3. How about something on the D6N/D7N T1 unconversion question from 07/05/2013?

Thanks.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 01:46 am: Edit

My inclination on unconverting a Klingon diplomatic ships is that such an act causes the assigned diplomats to resign in protest over the prestige lost to the empire unless a equal or greater ship replaces the retired/unconverted ship.

If a replacement is not immediately produced then any assigned diplomats to the unconverted ship are lost but the DIPs can be replaced as if they were destroyed.

Rationale: ADB specifically put these ships into the game. Players unconverting these ships would be gaming the intent of these ships to gain fighting ships with no real loss of Diplomatic capability.

FEDS Sends

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 01:57 pm: Edit

(521.38) - The defending GCE can be given up in place of a DefBat or SIDS destroyed by (521.34)

(451.32) - A hospital ship can be held in the support echelon of a fleet. They are able to attempt to "heal" dead or wounded G factors.

Question then. Can a Hospital ship cure a GCE that has been given up in place of a successful assault? That would mean that the damage has been basically undone. It seems a bit much to me, but I eagerly await a ruling.

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 11:30 pm: Edit

Hey Mike,

Can a SR in the off-map that was crippled by High Risk Survey (lets say on T9) be field repaired in the offmap (on T9) and returned to survey duty and roll on the very next turn (T10)?

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 06:43 am: Edit

Question about Blockade Running and Wyn Trade.

My understanding is that it has been ruled that a blockade running ship cannot bring EPs into the cluster and then pick up EPs to bring back on the same blockade run.

However, The ISC War Sequence of Play - which is more current than either the blockade running rule or the Wyn Trade Rule - says:

3A-4H: Upon arrival at the target hex, a blockade runner may drop off and/or pick up suitable cargo (320.512)...

It seems clear to me that and/or means that it CAN both drop off and pick up in the same blockade run.

In light of that, I would like to appeal whatever previous ruling said that it could only pick up OR drop off. Sorry, I don't have that ruling available. I was told about it by people I was playing with.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 08:54 am: Edit

The following is added as a friend of the court. Not for comment or to be taken as one.

The ruling in question is here

The and/or statement in 3A-4H is a hold over from the Planetary Ops SOP and was not corrected in the ISC War SOP.

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 09:30 am: Edit

Just to be clear and with untold amounts of respect for the FEAR and the FEDS:

I am invoking appeal here because I specifically want this to be brought to Steve. In this case while I understand the previous ruling I am not sure of designer intent . However, even beyond the issue of intent I would argue that the rule as it currently stands makes Wyn trade unduly difficult for the Kzintis and the Klingons.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Monday, July 29, 2013 - 12:20 pm: Edit

Question on Fighting Retreats and Convoys (I don't have my rules on me, so I don't know numbers).

A Kzinti CC is at planet 1105, having just killed a Klingon FF in SSC. The Kzinti CC wants to retreat. The closest valid supply point is in planet 1504. Hex 1205 is empty. Hex 1204 contains a Klingon Convoy and no other units. Both are the same distance to hex 1504.

If the CC retreats onto the Convoy, does it count as a Fighting Retreat, or a non Fighting Retreat? (The convoy has no other ships in the hex with it).

If it does count as a Fighting Retreat, is the CC compelled to offer an Approach Battle (which the Convoy doesn't fight in) and then immediately retreat again?

Thanks!

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 06:47 pm: Edit

(205.32). if the approaching ships moved into the outer reactions zone the sixth pulse, The reacting ships can move two Hexes to intercept it.

Can a reacting ship use extended reaction to only react one hex that last pulse of movement?


Quote:

(205.33) PROCEDURE: Whenever an enemy unit enters a hex
of the defending ship’s Outer Reaction Zone, the defending ship
may move in Reaction Movement to a hex adjacent to the approaching
enemy unit. From that point, the ship is treated as a
ship with a standard one-hex-radius Reaction Zone (even if a
scout accompanied the ship on its move) and can react to the
original enemy ship even if it stopped its movement. See (203.64)
for data on skipping movement pulses.




FEDS: Yes -- Units may stop short of entering the hex if using extended reaction even on the last movement pulse.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 10:48 pm: Edit

PB: Fighting retreat...


Quote:

(302.734) PRIORITY 4: The player cannot select a hex containing
enemy units unless there is no available hex (note those eliminated
above) which does not contain enemy units. See (302.77).

===============

(302.775)-D: If the hex contains an enemy base or “base-like unit”, the
conditions of “fighting retreat” apply and ALL of the “fighting retreat”
ships would have to fight one round (an approach battle,
which the base-defending player might decline, since no base
ever has to accept an approach battle) under the penalty of
(302.77) and then continue retreating (effectively abandoning the
unplanned attack on the base). This could involve a separate
slow-unit retreat (302.742) by any units of that type. (Note that
units conducting a normal retreat would not disrupt the attack on
the enemy base. It may be possible in some situations provided
in the rules to enter the hex by either a fighting or normal retreat.)


By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 07:04 am: Edit

Q509.43 Do the fighters on the pod(s) of a crippled tug (509.1-B) still count for pinning puproses under (203.54)?

Q425.3 If a Tug that was carrying pods at the time it was crippled on a previous turn (509.1-I), (509.43) (509.1x) (where x is the original mission of the uncrippled tug) is repaired using rapid combat repair (RCR), what is the Tug's mission at the time of RCR?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 08:56 am: Edit

Q509.34 Do the fighters on the pod(s) of crippled tug (509.1-B), PFs (509.1-G), or both under (509.1-Q) still count for pinning purposes under (20.3.54)?

Note this question is more complete and replaces the one by By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 07:04 am: Edit

The rules as written are quite clear. Fighters and PFs on pods of a crippled tug cannot be used for pinning or employed directly into combat.


Quote:

(509.324) Crippled tugs cannot perform any mission except the
default mission (509.1-I).

===========

(509.43) CRIPPLED TUGS: On crippled tugs, the pods cease to
function
but are otherwise unharmed. Fighters and PFs on those
pods could be transferred to other carriers/tenders in the hex
between Combat Rounds and would be replaced normally. The
Command Rating drops to the tug’s original rating. If a tug becomes
crippled, the owning player may designate in the Retrograde
Phase that it has sent its pods back into the fleet pod pool,
or that it has kept its pods so that they will be available when it is
repaired. Pods are never crippled and never require repairs. Pods
which have defense factors add their defense factors to the tug
(making the tug harder to cripple) but cannot be attacked or
crippled separately. The pods on a Klingon CVT, being a permanent
conversion, continue to function even if the ship is crippled.



FEDS SENDS

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 12:00 pm: Edit

Can an FRD or PRD do repairs on the turn it is built?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 12:14 pm: Edit

Pete:

What did your research in the SoP (105.0) reveal about when repairs are done and when production occurs?

By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 02:48 pm: Edit

Production occurs after repairs, wise guy!

BUT

Ships can be converted during repair.
A newly built tug can repair a base, and that is out of sequence.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation