By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 02:23 am: Edit |
Apologies if this has been addressed already, but I wanted to clarify: does the Inter-Stellar Concordium have the same fifteen-unit strategic movement maximum given to the Federation and the Klingon Empire under (204.30), or does it have the same ten-unit limit as other Alpha Octant major empires instead?
Or, does the ability vary depending on era? As in, would there be a difference in this capability between the "early-modern" Concordium as portrayed in (624.0) Gathering Winds and its Pacification-era iteration from (625.0) Driving Winds, to reflect the gradual evolution of the ISC navy's degree of capabilities during the interim period?
I couldn't see this addressed in my copy of the ISC War rulebook, but I wasn't sure if I had missed anything or not.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 04:12 am: Edit |
FEDS: There should have been a note on page #2 of the ISC Rulebook stating:
(204.30) Add the ISC to the strategic movement limit list with the Federation and Klingons; these empires may each move 15 units via strategic movement per turn.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 10:51 am: Edit |
Hey Chuck,
Happy New Year!
I have a question, and it requires the FEDS intervention!
Here goes:
(310.52) Salvage (439.0) … and Depot Level Repair (424.0) are handled normally using those rules systems.
(439.16) Ships destroyed after single combat (310.0) count as salvage for the winning ship if it would otherwise qualify.
I emphasized the Single Combat because single combat is no longer in the game, although the rules reference is to (310.0), which is now a completely different rule.
So, the question: Considering that single combat is gone, I think that this rule reference may be incorrect. SSC is an alternate system of combat, as opposed to a single die roll resolution of the single combat.
So, as an example:
Force of 3 FFs is on one side. After taking 5 casualties, 2xFF are destroyed and the remaining FF retreats. Under the normal (non- SSC ) combat system the player owning the FFs gets the depot roll and the salvage proceeds. However, (439.15) says that the winner of the battle gets the salvage (although again single ship combat it refers to no longer exists).
I don’t think the winner of the combat would get the salvage. I think the owner of the ships would get the salvage, as per usual, since SSC simply resolves Combat in a different way than the normal system.
Please examine the issue and let me know what you think. I think that this is just a ghost of the salvage rule that was written well before the new SSC was brought into the game.
By Gary Carney (Nerroth) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 12:42 pm: Edit |
FEDS:
Thanks for the clarification.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 01:21 pm: Edit |
(310.52) OTHER: Salvage‡ (439.0), Capturing Ships (305.0), and Depot Level Repair‡ (424.0) die rolls are handled normally using those rule systems.
Quote:
The new (310.0) from F&E2KX trumps all older systems and follow-on modules as we normalized all other post-SSC procedures.
In the case you provided above the two destroyed FFs suffer a capture roll then roll for depot -- failing that they are salvaged normally by the owner.
FEDS SENDS
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 05:22 pm: Edit |
Thanks Chuck!
Happy New Year again!
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, January 03, 2014 - 12:53 am: Edit |
Ohhh Chucckkk...
(203.731) The moving Reserve Fleet could have as its objectivea hex which is not a Battle Hex, but which contains enemy units which are blocking a supply path [see (411.0) and (410.22)] to friendly units in combat, which otherwise would be out of supply during the ensuing Combat Phase. This exception is not allowed unless the actions of the Reserve Fleet or several Reserve Fleets (each going to a separate hex) will be necessary and sufficient to open the supply path.
Okay, so let me be specific with the situation. All of ships in combat are in the Marquis Province, which is currently a partial grid. In addition, all Kzinti ships are on the bases and planets in the Marquis, meaning that they will in fact be in supply for purposes of combat. However, they will not have a supply path to their main grid from the off-map area.
So, the question is:
Can the reserve go to a non-battle hex to open a supply path, even if the target ships in question will be in supply during the combat phase? They won't have a connection to the grid, meaning that salvage wouldn't make it back into the capital, and money from the grid couldn't be used for things like drone bombardment or rapid combat repair, but they won't be out of supply since they are on bases.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, January 03, 2014 - 01:16 am: Edit |
I prefer to pose the question a different way.
Q203.731. Isn't it true that the term "out of supply" in this rule refers to a supply path to the main grid - or at least can? To limit "supply" to the specific supply on a base or planet I believe limits the intent of the rule - which is to provide critical functions provided only by supply to the main grid, such as for example drone bombardment, salvage, and depot rolls.
As for the specific situation, Peter is correct. A line of Coalition ships not in the same hexes as enemy ships has completely cut off all Marquis provinces. Unless I can use 203.731 to send a reserve to one of these hexes (not currently a battle hex), then every friendly unit base and planet in the marquis province will not be in supply to the main grid - meaning that they would be unable to use depot, salvage, or drone bombardment.
It seems to me that 203.731 was designed specifically for his type of situation.
Finally, I'll point out that 203.731 refers to opening a supply path to friendly *units* in combat which would otherwise be out of supply. The bases are also out of supply to the main grid, even if they self supply for purposes of compot.
Ruling requested, thanks.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, January 03, 2014 - 03:16 am: Edit |
They aren't out of supply for salvage - the salvage is collected by the partial grid. (439.12)
Drone bombardment can also be paid for by the partial grid.
Even money can get to the grid for drone bombardment using Orion smuggling.
Units in partial grids aren't out of supply, that's why it's a grid.
It's really only the depot that wouldn't happen.
So the question is whether reserves can be used to connect the partial grid and the main grid.
Sorry, shutting up now.
Take it away Chuck.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, January 03, 2014 - 04:00 am: Edit |
Please no debating in this topic -- Thank you.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, January 04, 2014 - 11:35 am: Edit |
Q539.0 A player has an APT and an FF in a battle hex. The opposing player sends a large force to fight, and the defending player puts up the APT as the flagship and excludes the FF as the excluded flagship (302.32). The APT then proceeds to battle, where it is destroyed, and the FF retreats. A PTR (or FXP) could presumably be used in the same way. (539.12) OPERATION: Armed Priority Transports operate as ships with the following exceptions:…
Is this actually legal?
Quote:
There is nothing within the rules that precludes APTs (with CR=0) from the flagship selection selection process.
FEDS SENDS
FEDS would note that this can only happen in a few limited cases with a handful of ships available. Any three units with CR>0 would exclude a APT from flagship selection.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, January 04, 2014 - 01:42 pm: Edit |
Q433.11 The Federation begins building the DNG in the fall of Y175 as listed in their Order of Battle (702.0). The SIT lists the DNG being available in Y175. Can the Federation convert existing DN and DN+ units in the spring of Y175 provided they have an available starbase to make the conversion? Also, can they convert more than one DN or DN+ to a DNG subject to available conversion capacity and EPs?
Unless specifically stated within the rules otherwise conversions listed on the SIT are permitted for the year in service listed on the SIT.
FEDS SENDS
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, January 04, 2014 - 03:01 pm: Edit |
Q539.0 Continuation. I agree with Chuck that this is what the rules do say. I question whether this is what was intended when the rules were made, or was this a loophole that was unintended?
I wish to appeal this ruling with this in mind, with no offense intended towards FEDS.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 01:16 am: Edit |
FEDS CLARIFICATION ON THE EFFECTS CONVERSION DURING REPAIR EFFECT (425.21)
Unless overruled by ADB, the effect of CDR is to reduce the COST of the conversion; the conversion itself still uses the same amount of conversion CAPACITY. There is a typo in (425.21). The text of (425.23) supports this finding based upon the effects on MAJOR conversions.
Change to read: (425.21) EFFECT: If a ship under repair is converted to a variant at the same time, the cost of the conversion is reduced by one point (but never below a cost of 1 point) but still uses normal
repair conversion capacity….
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 01:35 am: Edit |
(433.19) FEDS Clarification: While Conversion During Repair (425.21) reduces the cost of such conversions, players must still use the un-discounted cost when calculating the use of SB conversion capacity.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 05:44 am: Edit |
FEDS INJUNCTION - SPECIAL MISSION SHIPS AS FLAGSHIPS
Until ADB makes a final ruling on this issue, the following interim rules shall stand:
Add to SO: (539.126) In the flagship selection process (302.32) APTs cannot be selected as a flagship if another warship, auxiliary warship or base would otherwise be eligible to serve as a flagship.
(539.226) In the flagship selection process (302.32) PTRs cannot be selected as a flagship if another warship, auxiliary warship or base would otherwise be eligible to serve as a flagship.
(539.327) In the flagship selection process (302.32) FXPs cannot be selected as a flagship if another warship, auxiliary warship or base would otherwise be eligible to serve as a flagship.
RATIONALE: Prevents the abuse of using special mission ships to screen warships from flagship and subsequent battle force selection to avoid combat. While these ships may have very limited facilities to command they don't carry the trained military personnel to enable proper flagship authority. Their flagship authority should be limited to only other special mission ships.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 09:27 am: Edit |
Ok
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 12:22 pm: Edit |
That was quick! Thank you Steve!
Turtle: Please note this ADB ruling in the SO update section.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 12:37 pm: Edit |
FEDS CORRECTIONS TO HURRICANE SET UP
(603.UC32) ADD to Fed GHQ F&E: NCL. This was an omission as the NCT line item in the same section has nothing to swap with.
(603.UE12) REMOVE from Fed OOB PO: MMG. This was an error as both Fed MMGs are active in sectors C & D.
By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 02:18 pm: Edit |
Make sure it gets into CL48.
By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 02:34 pm: Edit |
It will be in my emails this week.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Sunday, January 05, 2014 - 11:55 pm: Edit |
In reference to selection of a reserve fleet destination hex which is not a battle hex: (203.731) The moving Reserve Fleet could have as its objective a hex which is not a Battle Hex, but which contains enemy units which are blocking a supply path [see (411.0) and (410.22)] to friendly units in combat, which otherwise would be out of supply during the ensuing Combat Phase.
Quote:
This rule specifies that it may be used in the manner specified to unblock supply if that is the only way for friendly units to avoid being out of supply during combat. This rule does not specify if a main or partial grid supply point must provide the supply source.
FEDS RULING
A reserve fleet, in this specific case under (203.731), can only be used in an attempt to open a supply path for a unit which otherwise would be out of supply (regardless of the supply source’s grid connection status) during the ensuing combat phase.
By Tim Losberg (Krager) on Monday, January 06, 2014 - 01:20 am: Edit |
Q433.41 (433.41-B): During the time it is being upgraded, the base has the
What happens for a Base upgrade if the base is crippled during the upgrade? Is the upgraded base crippled?
FEDS: YES
Quote:
original factors. If destroyed during this turn, the points spent to
upgrade it are lost. If crippled during this turn, the upgrade is
completed after the Combat Phase and then the base is crippled
(based on the upgraded factors).
By Tim Losberg (Krager) on Monday, January 06, 2014 - 01:36 am: Edit |
Q424.1 (310.52) OTHER: Salvage‡ (439.0), Capturing Ships (305.0), and Depot Level Repair‡ (424.0) die rolls are handled normally using those rule systems.
Are ships killed in Small Scale Combat (310.0) eligible to roll for depot?
FEDS: YES
Quote:
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, January 09, 2014 - 12:58 pm: Edit |
Hurricane Scenario (603.0) Error Corrections
(603.UC32) CHANGE Fed OOB NSC to SC. Rationale: The Hurricane scenario starts in Y173S and Fed SIT list the NSC available date as Y175; this corrects the error.
(603.UD21) CHANGE Fed OOB NSC to SC. Rationale: The Hurricane scenario starts in Y173S and Fed SIT list the NSC available date as Y175; this corrects the error.
FEDS SENDS
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |