By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 10:55 am: Edit |
The escort can't use the GCE, and it will be crippled. The commando ship makes the raid... how is the GCE on the escort going to help? Am I missing something?
By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:04 am: Edit |
If you have 2 G's the odds go up a fair amount. And a PT or MMG can come along for the ride too.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:28 am: Edit |
You can manage a +2 to the roll fairly easily.
Question for Chuck: Do I read the clarification correctly in that you do NOT roll for VBIR? In other words, the adjustment to the G attack roll for VBIR is always "0"? The example simply states VBIR is 0 without clarification or reference to a roll.
Or do you roll for VBIR normally as part of the pre-G attack combat?
You might want to further clarify the clarification as to VBIR always being 0 or rolled normally.
Mike Parker and I have had discussions as to whether there is any VBIR roll at all.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:36 am: Edit |
VBIR is still rolled; its still needed as a ground combat (521.35) modifier.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:53 am: Edit |
you can get +1 for the Prime Team, yes. To get +2 you would have to use another G for supporting attack (meaning the ship has to have 2 Gs), and mathematically that's only a good idea if you have -2 on BIR.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:56 am: Edit |
Pete, the bonus provided by a PT and a supporting MMG are cumulative. So you could get to +2 without using a supporting G. A supporting G could get you +3, though the maximum bonus is +2 on the roll you can still overcome a -1 VBIR that way.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 01:03 pm: Edit |
So... you are sending:
a prime team
a marine major general
and escort ship
this will get you the +2 modifier, which will be +1 33% of the time and +0 33% of the time, meaning that the average is +1.
So an escort is crippled, you can kill the PDU on on 9 or better. That's a lot of resources to kill a PDU.
Not that there's anything wrong with it.
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 01:05 pm: Edit |
IF you send a Fed Tug with two troop pods (for four G factors), could you do four attacks? This makes destroying colonies more in the realm of possibility if so.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 01:15 pm: Edit |
Actually, you kill the PDU on an 7 or better with a +1 to the roll. Who cares of your own G is destroyed on a net roll of 8? That gives you about a 50% chance on the average.
Also with a supporting G your average bonus to the roll is closer to 2, as you can cancel out a -1 VBIR. So you can probably arrange to kill a PDU on (or score a SIDS) a 6 or greater, which is substantially greater than 50%.
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 01:37 pm: Edit |
Richard, I think your question is good enough that it should be formally added as a request for further clarification to the commando raid ruling.
More specifically, can a commando raider use multiple Gs to conduct multiple simultaneous attacks as part of the "one attack" - or is the raider limited to a single supported G attack?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 02:12 pm: Edit |
I'd please ask that you do your research of the rules before you ask for further clarification...
Quote:(320.43) If the commando ship has two or more G factors, it can attack two targets (maximum) and/or use the additional G factors to support the attack or attacks (521.35).
By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:44 pm: Edit |
Chuck, that statement is still unclear, especially in view of your clarification.
So, the rule you quote is clear enough at one level: you can attack two targets using multiple Gs or you can support the attack or attacks. Presumably "or attacks" means means the separate attacks.
However, in my game with Richard, he wants to use 4 Gs to conduct 4 separate attacks against a single target (or perhaps 2 supported attacks against a single target) in a commando raid - a colony.
I said you can't do that because it's a commando raid. You get one shot, one roll because of 320.43 you quoted. I said you cannot make two or more attacks against a *single* target during a commando raid - even if the Gs are available - because it's a raid.
Am I right or not?
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 03:58 pm: Edit |
Yeah, that's what I thought Chuck (I did research the rule), but my opponent thinks otherwise, so I suppose it needs clarification. He says that you can't do two attacks at one target (ie a colony in this specific case).
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 04:18 pm: Edit |
Quote:(521.324) A ship with two or more GCEs could attack two (or more) PDU/Battalions, or could use some of its GCEs to support the attacks of others. It could not make attacks on two bases, or attacks on both a base and a PDU. It cannot attack the same target twice in one round. It can make several attacks on a given base but (521.44) only one of those attacks can destroy a SIDS.
By Pete DiMitri (Petercool) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 04:34 pm: Edit |
Ted,
Yes, I meant 7. Typo there. I still say it's a lot of resources to send!
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 06:15 pm: Edit |
Ok, that's clear - thank you.
By Paul Edwards (Pablomatic) on Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:35 pm: Edit |
Thank you for the clarification Chuck.
Pete,
Just for the sake of discussion, the ship using the commando raid slot can still do a regular raid. Rather than use all the resources and get crippled each turn, the G ship mostly does regular raids until a target of opportunity presents itself. Then you can throw in an escort if necessary for the turn of an actual commando raid. MMGs are fairly cheap.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 07:55 am: Edit |
(506.5) Gorn Off Map Activation
Can the Gorns opt not to activate an off map ship on a given turn (delaying the activation till later when they can presumably afford it better), or is the activation die roll mandatory?
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 08:15 am: Edit |
Let us say for our game that it is activated, but cannot enter the map until you pay 2EP during an economic phase.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 08:30 am: Edit |
Oh, heh. I didn't post that in the actual rules question forum :-)
Yeah, that seems reasonable to me.
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 08:34 am: Edit |
Peter, thanks for pointing out something missing in the SOP.
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 11:28 am: Edit |
Answer posted in Q&A.
By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 12:51 pm: Edit |
Excellent. Thanks for the quick answer!
I mean, like, the fact that I need to know if I can avoid paying 2xEP for a ship this upcoming turn is certainly not a good sign, but still :-)
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 09:08 am: Edit |
My comments on recent Q&A posts:
Empires cannot sell/gift/exchange ships to their allies except as explicitly stated in the rules (ie 3 Romulan SP are exchanged with the 3 Klingon D5s later in the war).
The SIT for the Romulans says max one in service for the KRS. The OOB does not seem to have any comment on the matter - where is the reference to being able to convert only one KRS located?
By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 10:30 am: Edit |
Answers posted within the questions in Q&A.
Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation |