Archive through June 08, 2014

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through June 08, 2014
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, April 28, 2014 - 07:48 pm: Edit

Pete, give me a couple of days to work something out with Ryan's help. Ryan is the OOB guy and we have to make sure we don't violate some existing precondition for the GW scenario.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 08:42 am: Edit

(303.5) War Cruiser Leaders: Do CWLs only exist in combat, or if you have 3 or more CWs in a given hex, can you assume one is a CWL for the purposes of its increased command rating even when they are not in combat?

(i.e. if you establish a reserve fleet made of exactly 8xCWs, is this a legal reserve fleet, as it requires the CWL command rating of 7 to exist?)

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 12:00 pm: Edit

I posted this question back in 11/13/13 and it's still waiting for a clarification:


Quote:



Quote:


May - June 2006 Archive

Q5) A 2006 ruling states that a ship making a commando raid (and coming within 5 SFB hexes of the planet or base by definition) cannot be intercepted or otherwise reacted to except by the planet or base itself, in contrast to a ship making a normal raid against the same target (perhaps at extreme weapons range) or a group launching fighters and/or drones at a presumably much greater distance. I believe this is counter-intuitive and not the intent of the rule, and I appeal this ruling. I suggest the commando raiders should face an interception combat as would any other special raider.

A5) Commando Raids: (320.42) looks specific in only allowing the fixed defenses to fight the commando ship. However, I think that the commando actually has to survive one round of combat in order to get that G attack, as (314.25) is referenced at it has one round of combat before the raider can do it's thing.





AND


Quote:


January - Feburary 2006 Archive

And when the combat does take place what units would the Kzinti use in any battle prior to the "G" attack? Would they only have the 6 fighters reacted from the base, OR would they have 18 fighter factors (6 ff's from the BATS plus the 12 ff's from the PDU's)? Or would the group fight one PDU as a whole unit (compot 9), then fight the other with a "G"? Or am I completed misunderstanding the intent of the rule and the combat is completely different...?

ANSWER: As per (320.42), only the fixed defenses fight. Thus it is sort of pointless to react something (or call up a police ship) to a commando raid as due to (320.42) you simply cannot stop them that way, such a unit cannot interact with the raiders. The way to block commando raids is with Monitors (320.46). Without a Monitor, IGCEs are great as they can affect the G attack roll and can be given up in place of damage.

The reason for the attacker to bring consorts is that with only a commando ship, it would be crippled or destroyed by the fixed defenses, degrading or eliminating the G factor prior to its ground combat roll (some crippled ships lose their G factor, and G attacks from crippled ships suffer a die roll penalty). With consorts, they can absorb the damage (barring the enemy having enough damage to direct on the commando ship) thus allowing the G factor to make its roll from an uncrippled troopship.

I know the rule can be confusing. Please note that (320.1) and (320.2) apply to special raids in general. Rule (320.3) applies ONLY to fighter/PF and Drone raids. Rule (320.4) is only for commando raids, and rule (320.5) is only for blockade running. Note that blockade running and fighter/PF/Drone raids have separate "interception" rules. Commando raids do not have interception at all, they only have to worry about surviving the fixed defenses or being blocked by the presence of a Monitor.

Consorts in fighter/pf and drone raids can contribute compot to and absorb damage in the interception battle, but have nothing to do with the attack on the "target" of the raid by PF/fighter/drone factors. Consorts in commando raids are there only to draw damage away from the commando ship. There is actually no "combat" roll for the attacker in a commando raid, only the fixed defenses get a combat roll vs. the commando ship and consorts, then (assuming the G factor survived), the raider rolls a G attack vs. the target. The real question not answered in the commando raid rule is what BIR do the fixed defenses roll at? The commando raid rule does not say, but presumably we are still using rule (521.0) when not modified by (320.4), so under (521.33) this would be BIR=5 plus or minus the variable BIR (troopship+consorts vs only fixed defenses, they pick both BIR numbers which must equal 5). Note that the variable BIR result would affect the combat roll of the fixed defenses and the ground attack roll of any surviving G factors.

It is actually much simpler than you are making out. The problem is that rule (320.3) should really be called "Conducting Fighter/PF and Drone Raids" instead of "Conducting Special Raids."

Also note that because of this, Commando Raids and Blockade runners must actually move into the "target hex", they cannot just move to an adjacent "attack hex" as such a concept ONLY applies to fighter-pf and drone raids.

Another fun question is can a commando raider use (521.39) to get the +1 on the G roll even knowing you are sacrificing the ship as you will not control the hex at then end of the raid? Can a troop tug dump its pods on the planet (ultimately sacrificing them and the marines on board) as it warps by? "Express elevator to hell!!!" Probably not allowed to do this though as (521.392) requires you to perform a normal commando operation while this is a special raid. Landing on the planet assumes you are trying to capture the planet, while you are definitely not doing this on a raid. But the troop tug pod thing would be pretty funny.





I bolded the parts that seem to conflict. So which is correct? Do the Commando Ships fight the reaction battle, or is it ignored?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 05:09 pm: Edit

FEDS Clarification on Commando Raids
Ref: (340.42)

When making a commando raid on a qualified target, the raiding player firsts declares the target of the commando raid after all defending forces have reacted to the raid. The defending player (ONLY) conducts one round of combat (or small scale combat, if eligible) using any mobile defenders in the hex and ONLY the fixed defenses at the specific target location (320.42) (i.e. one specific base OR one specific planet with all its PGB/PDU/colony base elements on that planet). The commando ship, instead of making its standard attack against defending forces has chosen to make a onetime commando raid attack on a qualified target. The commando raiders do not return fire during this one round of combat but instead make a commando raid attack on a qualified target after the results of the round of combat of determined and applied against the commando raid elements [the SoP (105.0) still applies]. The commando player is still obligated to select BIR-4 under (521.33) to conduct the commando raid even though the commando player is not “returning fire”. (The commando elements are maximizing speed, shield reinforcement, and ECM along with the element of surprise to quickly get to the specified target, hit it, and leave.)

FEDS wants to be very clear on the interpretation of (340.42) -- that only the fixed defenses of the target are used in combat against the raiding elements. What this means is that if a planet and base are in the same system then only the fixed elements of the target can participate in its defense ALONG with any other mobile defense elements in the hex. So if in this case of a commando raid, if the target is a co-system base then the planet-based elements cannot be used (but their assigned mobile attrition units can) OR if the target is on a planet then the co-system base cannot be used (but their assigned mobile attrition units can).

Bottomline: (340.42) limits only the fixed target location to participate in its defense but it does not limit other mobile forces in the hex for assisting in that defense. Remember that a commando raid is a still a subset of normal raids but in this special case the raider elements don’t return fire and only the fixed target itself can participate in it defense along with the mobile responders.

FEDS SENDS

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 05:30 pm: Edit

Q340.42. Would FEDS please provide an example of the operation of the FEDS clarification ruling by showing an example or two of a correctly performed commando raid?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 11:11 pm: Edit

Commando Raid Example:

The Klingon uses raid movement to move a D6G to a Fed planet; it has a 2xPDU assigned and the Feds have MB there also.
The Feds call-up a POL to defend the site.
The Klingon D6G declares a commando raid the planet with it PDU.
The regular raid combat sequence is followed but the D6G cannot return fire as it has chosen to make a “G” attack on the planet and its PDUs per (320.41).
The Feds form battle line with the POL and the planet’s 2xPDU and assigned fighters. Since the MB is not the target, (320.42) bars the fixed position MB from the battle force since “Only the fixed defenses at the target location (i.e. the planet in this case) are used in combat against the raiding ship”. The Feds compot is 22 and they choose BIR-4; the Klingon must chose BIR-4 because it is conducting a “G” attack; V-BIR is 0; Feds roll 35% damage (7.7 rounded to 8) crippling the D6G but since D6G has a “G” factor whist crippled the raid now proceeds to the marine combat segment. The D6G’s remaining factor conducts a commando raid where the defender takes a casualty (a PDU) and the “D6G’s “G” factor is destroyed as a result. The commando raid is over and the crippled D6G returns to the raid pool.

Any discussions of this ruling and example are to be conducted in the Q&A Discussions Topic.

FEDS SENDS

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 08:31 am: Edit

(506.5) Gorn Off Map Activation

Can the Gorns opt not to activate an off map ship on a given turn (delaying the activation till later when they can presumably afford it better), or is the activation die roll mandatory?

There is no requirement that the activation charge must be paid immediately but the Gorn player must pay the activation charge before the ship is allowed to be used on map. This activation charge could be paid on a later turn but since it is a refit it can only be paid for during the Gorn's production phase. Delaying the activation charge of released off-map Gorn ships does not prevent future activation die rolls for other ships on following turns.

FEDS SENDS

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 12:27 pm: Edit

Countersheet question:

Was the Lyran KVH pod ever printed? The SITs say it came out with CO (and I would assume Special Operations originally) but the pods are not present on the "H" countersheet (all of the other pods for all the other empires are there too, but I would note the Klingons are also short a set of VP2 pods).

I'm sorting counters and it's driving me crazy I can't find these pods. Thanks!

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 01:46 pm: Edit

No, the KVH was never printed but the staff has recommended that it be included with the updated 280 format reprint of AO sheet N&O.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 02:46 pm: Edit

Is it permissible when scuttling a carrier to transfer the fighters to another carrier as part of a new carrier build or a carrier conversion? For example, could one scuttle an FV and use its four fighter factors as part of the fighter factors necessary to convert a D6V to a D6U?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 03:09 pm: Edit

Scuttling is just another form of operational loss. There is no provision in F&E that permits any fighter factor annuity to be transferred to another carrier as part of a operational loss.

FEDS SENDS

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 08:08 pm: Edit

Thanks Chuck, I was going out of my mind looking for KVH's. Guess I'll sub the actual Klingon pods for them.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 07:17 am: Edit

Chuck, just to clarify, I meant "scrapping" as when a ship is scrapped in the scrap yard, not when parts of it are recovered operationally post-combat. I assume there is still no way to recover fighter factor annuities.

There is no provision in F&E that permits any fighter factor annuity to be transferred to another carrier.

FEDS SENDS

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 07:19 am: Edit

Are races other than the Klingons and Romulans permitted to sell/gift/exchange ships to their allies and then convert them for 3 EP (as happens with captured ship and Klingon/Romulan conversions)? For example, could the Lyrans sell DWEs to the Klingons, the Klingons then convert them for 3 EP each, to get a better small escort?

Other than provisions for Kestrel transfers, sale of ships to the WYN, and specified transfers of units to empires, there is no provision in F&E that permits any other units or equipment to be transferred to another empire.

FEDS SENDS

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 07:22 am: Edit

The OOB for the Romulans says that the Romulans are able to convert only one KRS. Does this mean to include additional D6Ss that the Klingons might sell to the Romulans where the conversion would not be from the KR to the KRS, but instead from Klingon to Romulan tech?

Rule (317.4) specifically limits the Romulans to one KRS: "Romulan KRS: One can be converted from a KR. No more than one can be in service at any given time."

FEDS SENDS

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Monday, May 26, 2014 - 11:31 am: Edit

Q451.31: Can a hospital ship spend EPs to finish devastation recovery so that a planet recovers and produces full income on the same turn? Here is the situation:

The Federation captures Walkuria (minor planet, hex 1716) on Alliance turn 7, and the Klingons liberate the planet on the same turn. Per 508.25 Walkuria is a supply point on Coalition turn 8, begins producing devastated income on Coalition turn 9, and recovers from devastation and produces full income on Coalition turn 12.

On Coalition turn 8 the Klingons move a hospital ship to Walkuria using strategic movement. On Coalition turn 9 the Klingons spend the required EP for the hospital ship to speed devastation recovery. Thus, should the hospital ship take no further action, the planet will now recover from devastation and produce full income on Coalition turn 11.

On Coalition turn 10 the Klingons would like to fund the hospital ship to operate again to further speed the recovery of Walkuria. However, recovery is already scheduled for Coalition turn 11. If the Klingons spend the required EPs on turn 10, does the planet still recover on turn 11, or does the planet recover on turn 10 and produce full income on turn 10? Obviously, spending 0.5 EPs to get an extra 2 EPs of income in the same turn is worth it (net +1.5 EPs) but does this action comply with the hospital ship and devastation recovery rules?

Thank you.

By Andrew Bruno (Admeeril) on Friday, May 30, 2014 - 04:33 pm: Edit

Q602.12- (point of clarification)
Scenario rules limit Kzinti deployment to Federation space to one Expeditionary Fleet (up to 12 ships, 1 base, and 1 FRD per 411.7) during turns 7-9. If allied supply path from the expeditionary ships to the main Kzinti grid is severed, may those ships still operate via 410.51 without being in violation of the scenario rules?
If the Feds can adopt the now homeless Kzinti expeditionary fleet and operate them per 410.51, does that mean the Kzinti have the option of sending another 12 ships as their only acting Expeditionary Fleet?

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Friday, May 30, 2014 - 08:11 pm: Edit

Q531.12:

Can a Police Ship be called up in captured territory as long as the hex in question is in supply from the Main Grid and was Original Territory?

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 12:46 am: Edit

From (531.12):


Quote:

Newly called-up police ships can be placed on the map in any hex that is in supply from the owning race's main grid and part of that race's original territory.




Note carefully that the HEX itself must be in supply BEFORE placement of any police ships is done. The placement of all police ships are done simultaneously; one cannot place a police ship to then open a wider supply path for another police ship during the same turn.

FEDS SENDS

By Lawrence Bergen (Lar) on Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 10:07 am: Edit

So your saying the supply for the 'target hexes intended to receive POLs' have their supply evaluated simultaneously prior to placing all of the POLs in that phase/step?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 02:06 pm: Edit

Lar, that is exactly what FEDS is saying and is consistent with a previous ruling on the subject. Sorry I don't remember the CL# off the top of my head.

(105.IW) 1A2 Evaluate Supply Status.
(105.IW) 2B3 Call up and place police ships (531.12)

There is no chance to reevaluate supply until (105.IW) 3B1.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Monday, June 02, 2014 - 12:11 pm: Edit

This is a pinning clarification question:

If a phasing enemy fleet is two hexes away from your Fleet Alpha and moves parallel to your position, and if your fleet Alpha contains a scout, then your fleet Alpha is permitted via reaction movement to move one hex toward the enemy fleet.

Let's suppose that you have another force, Fleet Beta, that is only one hex away from the enemy fleet's first movement hex and is capable of pinning some or all of that enemy force. If Beta can pin all of it and moves to do so, is Alpha permitted to move the additional hex of scout-borne reaction movement to enter the hex? If Beta can pin only some of it and the enemy fleet splits off the unpinned portion and moves away from Alpha, is Alpha permitted to enter the hex in which Beta pinned some of the enemy ships?

Finally, if we change the above scenario so that what was the enemy fleet's first movement is actually it's final movement pulse, then are both Alpha and Beta permitted to move two and one hexes respectively to enter the enemy hex?


Quote:

(205.33) PROCEDURE: Whenever an enemy unit enters a hex of the defending ship’s Outer Reaction Zone, the defending ship may move in Reaction Movement to a hex adjacent to the approaching enemy unit. From that point, the ship is treated as a ship with a standard one-hex-radius Reaction Zone (even if a scout accompanied the ship on its move) and can react to the original enemy ship even if it stopped its movement. See (203.64) for data on skipping movement pulses.



Regardless of how a unit comes stop in a hex, a force of eligible reacting units may use extended reaction movement to enter the hex of the now stopped unit.

FEDS SENDS

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Monday, June 02, 2014 - 07:20 pm: Edit

(531.122) An additional police vessel can be built 'counting them against frigate production'...

Is this 'normal' production (subbing for a production FF) or 'any' production [allowing a FF (min)yard to produce the POL as a FF variant]?


Quote:

(450.12) …. Police ships could be produced under the rule allowing them to be substituted for a frigate (532.122) but only if they are the same hull type as the yard is for.


FEDS SENDS

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, June 08, 2014 - 10:34 am: Edit

Q675.69 Can the Lyran Colony in 0610 actually be built there? (446.11) states that a colony may not be adjacent to a planet or other colony. The LDR capital planet is in hex 0711 which is adjacent to 0610.

By indiana_laform@yahoo.com (Jlaform) on Sunday, June 08, 2014 - 01:16 pm: Edit

Game situation. the Klinks own NZ planet 1506. If they react off the planet to help defend BATS at 1507 per rule 508.16 that should put an RDU on that NZ planet. Can the Kzinti's then do a fighting retreat (attacking the RDU) over NZ planet 1506 to then retreat to 1505?

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation