Archive through July 14, 2014

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through July 14, 2014
By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, June 22, 2014 - 07:05 pm: Edit

To be more clear, the fighters from FSDs went to the carriers/base in 1401, not directly to 1402 (which they cannot do).

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Monday, June 23, 2014 - 01:51 am: Edit

Ruling posted in original question above.

FEDS

By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Monday, June 23, 2014 - 11:12 am: Edit

Wow, that's a shocking ruling. VERY interesting...

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Tuesday, July 01, 2014 - 10:21 am: Edit

I'm trying to find the rule that permits free annualized fighter production to be redirected toward some free PF production. Can anyone tell me where that rule is?

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Tuesday, July 01, 2014 - 10:38 am: Edit

Jeff, that isn't a Q&A subject, put that in the General topic instead.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Wednesday, July 02, 2014 - 09:23 am: Edit

I just wanted to clarify that the Lyrans are permitted to build the SCS even though they are never permitted to build CVA, correct? But since the SCS counts against the CVA limit, what is the maximum number of SCS the Lyrans are permitted to build per year? Just one? (assuming that the SCS build already falls within PFT limitations per turn)

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Wednesday, July 02, 2014 - 10:53 am: Edit

SCS replace the CVA and are limited to one per year. See (502.72) and (701.0) which will refer to the empire specific carrier builds, but are universally limited to one per year.

By Stewart Frazier (Frazikar2) on Wednesday, July 02, 2014 - 07:18 pm: Edit

In the case of the Lyran SCS, it counts against their CV limits (which the Lyrans CAN convert into an SCS anyway)...

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 05:50 am: Edit

In the latter years of the General War, the Tholians briefly come out of the Holdfast in support of the Alliance. But they just as quickly rush back in to confront the Seltorians. Are Coalition forces permitted to be inside Tholian space on or after the Seltorian arrival date? If not, then if Tholian space were conquered prior to the date, do we assume the Seltorians never arrive? If Coalition forces are permitted to be in Tholian space on or after that date, then are Seltorian forces ignored within the F&E system even though they may also be present?

By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 08:42 am: Edit

Jeffrey - Do you mean Alliance forces? Coalition forces don't need permission to kick Tholian keesters!

By Nick Blank (Nickgb) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 09:54 am: Edit

If the Tholians are conquered before that date, the Selts are ignored. The Klingons killed them all when they showed up, as they had no need of their... services.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 10:20 am: Edit

I mean coalition forces, yes. Are Coalition forces allowed to be in Tholian space, assuming Tholians have not yet been conquered, once Seltorians arrive? If so, does Seltorian arrival have any impact on Klingon/Tholian battles?

By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 10:50 am: Edit

Well, I believe the Seltorians will be covered in Minor Empires someday.

(603.16) THOLIANS: The Coalition may not attack the Tholians before Turn #10.

Seltorians wouldn't arrive until around Turn #28 at the earliest, I would think.
If anything, I would think that they would simply be additional Coalition units in Tholian space.

EDIT
(604.152) This Limited Partner status ends on Turn #28 (due to Seltorian‡ arrival) and all Tholian ships must be back inside Tholian space by the end of this turn or the Alliance loses ten EPs per Tholian ship outside of Tholian territory per turn until this is done. (This penalty can be divided among the Alliance empires in whatever manner they decide. The EPs are simply lost and do not go to any player.) Thereafter, the Tholians are fighting only the Seltorians and take no further action in the war. They cannot be used to raid‡ Klingon or Romulan space, but will fight any ship from any empire that enters their territory. See Civil Wars‡.

This leads me to believe that although the Coalition can be in Tholian territory when the Seltorians arrive, why would they want to?

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 11:29 am: Edit

These discussions should be moved to Q&A discussions, as this topic is for the questions only.

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 02:16 pm: Edit

I'm interested in what is legal. Are coalition forces permitted in Tholian space after the Seltorians arrive? (The question of their interest in being there is different, but the economic value of Tholia and the way that the Tholians fight is relevant. If the Tholians know that the Klingons cannot invade their space after T28, then they can fight suicidally in game terms.) The excerpt from 604.152 seems to imply that it is legal.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 04:42 pm: Edit

>>These discussions should be moved to Q&A discussions, as this topic is for the questions only.>>

I tried that. Twice now.

By Jean Sexton (Jsexton) on Thursday, July 03, 2014 - 05:45 pm: Edit

* Looks at the posts above *
Please do not post any other discussion in this topic. Questions go in this topic. Answers from FEAR or FEDS or SVC go in this topic unless you are absolutely sure of your answer and can quote the rule.

Discussions about questions posed in this topic go here: http://www.starfleetgames.com/discus/messages/37/31586.html?1404422887

Questions about philosophy or why something is "this way" go here: http://www.starfleetgames.com/discus/messages/37/21304.html?1401906107

Please do not continue the chatter in here. It annoys FEAR and FEDS and they have far more dangerous allies and weapons than my alligators or frying pan.

Jean
WebMom

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 04, 2014 - 07:20 pm: Edit

Q302.564 Does a carrier with scout sensors get the +1 added to the group if the entire group is targeted under (308.101)? Other applicable rules include (308.52), (502.92), (515.16), (527.21), (532.226) and (440.6). A single ship carrier like a PFT or unescorted Federation NVH/NVA, or unescorted Romulan TH would automatically get the +1 under (308.52).

Edited to add additional required rule references.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 06, 2014 - 09:03 am: Edit

Q432.241 How are free fighter factors considered when using them to upgrade a hydran hybrid ship to a carrier, e.g. PAL to SD? (432.242) lets you use 1 FFF for every 2 fighter factors on a hybrid ship, but like the rest of (432.24) silent on said conversions.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, July 06, 2014 - 12:30 pm: Edit

Clarification request: Turtle, by UPGRADE do you mean CONVERSION?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, July 06, 2014 - 12:32 pm: Edit

Yes. upgrade should say convert.

By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Thursday, July 10, 2014 - 12:58 pm: Edit

Is there a FT generic unit in F&E?
If so, what are the factors?

By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Friday, July 11, 2014 - 10:04 am: Edit

What happens to the eastern neutral zone hexes (5301-5304, 5401-5403, 5501-5503, 5601-5602, 5701-5702, and 5801) after the General War?
Presumably, the Gorns annex them, but do they keep them afterwards?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 11, 2014 - 08:06 pm: Edit

Randy, see (625.Y21) and (625.Y423) in the ISC War rulebook.

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Monday, July 14, 2014 - 08:11 am: Edit

Q450.12

Coming back to this game after a decade+ and re-reading the rules. In PO Special Economic Rules it talks about minor shipyards and conversion facilities. 450.13 gives where you can put the minor shipyards but makes no mention of the conversion facilities in 450.12. Do the limits in 450.13 also apply to the two types of conversion facilities?

I did search for this answer on the BBS and in the consolidated FAQ from CL 21 forwards.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation