Archive through August 11, 2014

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A Discussions: Archive through August 11, 2014
By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 09:06 pm: Edit

Peter wrote:


Quote:

Can drone bombardment ships use drone bombardment when stacked with a starbase that is not connected to the main supply grid?




See (309.31) and (410.0) - (414.0). From what I see the answer is yes, but as the partial grid has a very limited econ, you are limited to deficit spending of the partial grid income under (430.62).

If playing with the expansions then (509.1-U) and (537.6) could be used to supply a number of drone bombardment factors via blockade running (320.5)

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 10:17 pm: Edit

Partial supply grids cannot use deficit spending.

You can probably use Orion smuggling though.

By Kevin Howard (Jarawara) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 11:21 pm: Edit

Wasn't there a provision somewhere (I don't have any rulebook handy) that allows you to collect salvage each round? If so, you could spend the salvage on drone bombardement.

Personally, I don't see how scrap metal and salvaged parts becomes shiny new drones so quickly, but we'd have to look at the actual rule/ruling to confirm.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 01:51 am: Edit

This is a basic game, so no salvage.

Otherwise it's possible that the rules allow it, I don't know 100%.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 06:33 am: Edit

I couldn't find anything about partial grids not being able to deficit spend other than (430.62) limiting the value to the income of the grid in question as it is based on total income.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 06:52 am: Edit

413.442 Second sentence. A partial grid cannot use deficit spending.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 06:54 am: Edit

Also, 430.62 makes reference to the treasury and does not mention partial grids in any way.

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 09:04 am: Edit

The "Treasury" is defined in 430.12 as "...stockpiled in the capitol..."

Also this is from CL #37:

"Q: Can Partial Grids use Deficit Spending (430.6)? After all, they may have their own Treasury (413.4), although they’d certainly be limited by (430.62). How about Advanced Deficit Spending (447.0)?
Ruling: Deficit Spending of any type is only allowed in the Main Supply Grid. This represents the central government location where they can obtain credit. Can you see a bank loaning money to a cutoff area and expecting that area to pay them back in a combat situation?"

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, August 04, 2014 - 08:02 pm: Edit

Richard, I missed the second part of (413.442). I wouldn't have replied had you included the rule number in your statement. But thank you for pointing out what rule I did miss.

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Friday, August 08, 2014 - 07:26 pm: Edit

is there any reason why the Lyrans cannot build a CA and then convert the CA to a DN on the fall Y168 turn?.
base 2010 rules being used.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, August 08, 2014 - 08:34 pm: Edit

The Lyrans can build a CA and convert it to a DN in FY168 in the base 2010 ruleset.

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 04:33 am: Edit

so the Lyran strategic dilema is wether to have a DN or a TGC on CT1 (FY168.).

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 05:17 am: Edit

if the Lyrans have built a DN in SY169 is there any reason they cannot build a CA in FY169 and then convert the CA to a DN?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 06:08 am: Edit

The Lyrans in scenarios such as The Wind can indeed build a DN in SY169 and also build and convert a CA to a DN in FY169

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 06:25 am: Edit

could the Lyrans build a DN in SY169 and also build a CA and convert that CA to a DN, then in FY169 build and convert a CA to a DN?

sorry, i know these are basic questions.

i know you can only have one conversion over 3 points per turn (with the exception of the feds and klingons iirc) so building as above precludes extra tugs (via conversion.).

i'm also trying to scare the bejesus out of paul howard :P

its the shipyard that does the major conversions but does your homeworld conversion capacity go up if you build a 2nd SB with your ship yard? (in this case in the Lyrantan system.). this is basic F&E2010 not including extra shipyards from other additional rules.

By Michael Alan Calhoon (Mcalhoon2) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 08:24 am: Edit

In 2K10 basic, you need a second starbase in the capital, and to pay a surcharge to do a second major conversion in a turn for the Lyran empire.

The Romulans can do a second major conversion at Remus.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 08:29 am: Edit

To scare the bejesus out of Paul, get Mr. Calhoon to be your partner in crime with the Lyrans.

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 02:08 am: Edit

could the Lyrans build a DN in SY169 and also build a CA and convert that CA to a DN, then in FY169 build a CA and then convert that CA to a DN?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 03:07 am: Edit

Yes, they can.

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 03:15 am: Edit

is there a set fee (surcharge.) for a 2nd major conversion (Lyran.)?.
my latest info says 5 ep's for a second major.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 03:22 am: Edit

That is correct (for F&E 2010 rules). You would need to build a second starbase at the capital to do this, however.

By jim howard (Noseybonk) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 08:47 am: Edit

am i right in thinking the kzinti do not get any reserve movement in the Lyran turn of FALL Y168, only reaction movement.
usually referred to as coalition turn one.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 09:26 am: Edit

You are incorrect.

The Kzinti have a reserve fleet set up on the Duke's SB (1304) and probably the Count's SB (0902). The Reserve on the Count's SB will probably be pinned. The reserve on the Duke's SB cannot possibly be pinned.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 05:59 pm: Edit

Peter as I understand your question about the RDF and redevastation, you only have to kill the RDF to recapture the planet if the RDF is the only enemy force in the hex in question. Redevastation is assumed to follow at that point.

If the enemy has non-retreating forces in the hex besides the RDF then you must first kill the RDF then devastate by directed damage to reset the recovery clock on a planet.

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Monday, August 11, 2014 - 12:40 am: Edit

That is not correct - you can redevastate the planet without first killing the RDF (20 points of directed damage) which also has the effect of killing the RDF. (508.161).


Essentially, all the RDF is is something the defender can be destroyed for 3 points of damage. It has no other effect on anything.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation