Archive through August 10, 2014

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through August 10, 2014
By Randy Blair (Randyblair) on Monday, July 14, 2014 - 08:30 am: Edit

"consolidated FAQ from CL21 forwards"?

By John de Michele (Jdemichele) on Monday, July 14, 2014 - 11:21 am: Edit

I think he means the archived Q&A rulings.

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Monday, July 14, 2014 - 12:49 pm: Edit

I did as well as the pdf you can get from the company site plus some I printed out several years ago.

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Monday, July 14, 2014 - 09:11 pm: Edit

Q534.224 How does a successful E&S mission to destroy half of a given carrier's fighters interact with
a) CVAs with 2 squadrons of 6 fighters? and
b) CVDs which operate their fighters under (318.8)? and
c) does a Prime Team (522.0) and (534.3) assigned to target ship in the previous combat phase modify the success roll of such a mission?

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Friday, July 18, 2014 - 10:52 am: Edit

Can a convoy that is alone at a base (i.e. no defending ships--the convoy is the only mobile unit that one side has) retreat from the base combat if it survives the first mandatory round of combat?

(i.e. One side attacks an undefended BATS with a convoy at it. If the convoy is still alive after the first round of combat, can the convoy retreat, or does it need to stay with the BATS until the BATS is dead).

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, July 18, 2014 - 03:40 pm: Edit

302.741 seems to be the relevant rule. Convoys are slow units. Therefore by that rule they cannot retreat before the base is destroyed (and then can perform a slow unit retreat).

By Jeffrey Tiel (Platoaquinas) on Saturday, July 19, 2014 - 09:22 pm: Edit

503.33 states that the Tholians may not move more than two hexes outside their territory "including neutral zone hexes." Does this inclusion mean that the neutral zone hexes are included in their territory (solely for this calculation) or are they part of the two hexes distance they may enter? e.g., can the bulk of Tholian ships attack the BATS at 2517?

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 01:07 am: Edit

That's the way I understand it.

By Ted Fay (Catwhoeatsphoto) on Sunday, July 20, 2014 - 11:49 am: Edit

Q503.33: Annihilation. In the past I've played in games where the Tholians were wiped out in a single Coalition turn. Well to be precise Tholia was captured and all Tholian bases destroyed in a single Coalition turn. The Tholian player had chosen to retain many of his ships to add to Alliance numbers. In the past, it's been noted (but not ruled on) during Q&A's regarding what happens in the event of Tholian Knockout that multiple empires could adopt the now homeless Tholian ships.

My question is this: Is this Tholian strategy forbidden by 503.33, but for the one allowed Detached Fleet under 503.331? This rule prevents the Tholians from moving more than two hexes outside their territory, but for the detached fleet. If so, then Tholians will have no choice but to fight to the death with most of their ships (but for the detached fleet), even if annihilation in a single turn is certain - as the survivors will be picked off as they remain within 2 hexes of original Tholian space. Or, is it the case that because there IS no more Tholian space that 503.33 no longer applies?

Ruling requested, thank you.

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Monday, July 21, 2014 - 07:48 pm: Edit

I saw in various places that a 'G' ship on a commando raid can be escorted. It refferences CL #26 and the compendium. Don't have and can't get either. So two questions.

Where does the escort come from? The raid pool?

If yes and once again this may have been clarified in what I don't have.

Is this an exception to (314.23) "LIMITS: No more than one raiding ship can be sent to any given provence."

Is that yes because it's an 'escort' and not a 'raiding' ship?

Thanks.

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 02:15 pm: Edit

I found this in reading this folder:

"Official ruling by SVC: All light escorts now cost 0.5 EPs to produce or convert as determined by staff and SVC. SIT’s to be adjusted at a later time to reflect this change. FCRs are not normal light escorts and do not count in this ruling."

Would a better way to represent this be to say:

"...All size class 4 escorts now cost 0.5 EP's less than currently stated to convert as determined by staff and SVC. SIT's to be adjusted at a later time to reflect this change. FCR's are not normal light escorts and do not count in this ruling."

Just trying to seek clarity in my understanding. Is the mention of "...produce..." not meant to mean what it literally says? And is light escort defined by doctrine or by hull size?

Thanks.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 02:27 pm: Edit

Not all SC4 escorts are light escorts.

Light/heavy escorts are defined by doctrine. (FEAR - For example, a HDWE (525.23E) is a SC4 hull, but is classified as a Heavy escort and can't be the outside escort to start with on a carrier group.)

By Mike Curtis (Fear) on Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 02:50 pm: Edit

What Ryan said, and that would have been better asked in the "Why" topic as it really isn't Q&A, more of seeking an explanation for something.

By Bill Steele (Bill83501) on Friday, July 25, 2014 - 06:41 pm: Edit

My question is about retrograde movement. Can Hydran ships supplied by the FCP use retrograde movement to move to a Kzinti retrograde point?

Example: 12 Hydran ships with the TUG+FCP and the diplomat come out of the center of Lyran space and meet up with a Kzinti fleet at Klingon Batt 0906. After flashing the appropriate gang signs and vaporizing the BATT together can the Hydrans follow their new friends back to a Kzinti base?

206.31 says units supplied by a tug can use retrograde movement; does that apply to the special Hydran expeditionary tug?

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Friday, July 25, 2014 - 07:54 pm: Edit

If the ships are in supply by the Tug then my read is yes however I'm not an expert. I looked at (206.0), (509.5) and (513.50).

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Friday, July 25, 2014 - 09:42 pm: Edit

Relevant rules to Bill Steele's Q&A July 25, 2014 - 06:41pm

(206.31), (410.24), (412.2), (509.1-O) and (509.5).

Information provided as friend of court only. No answer to the question is to be inferred.

By Mike Oliver (Mholiver) on Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 08:18 pm: Edit

hmmmmm ok I'm alittle loss on that ruling

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 09:24 am: Edit

A Fed force has a CVA (15 fighters; only relevant in that there are only 2 fighter squadrons in the force) and then a CVL (single ship medium carrier with 3 fighters) in the free scout position. Can the CVL use fighters to absorb damage, even though they aren't contributing to the compot of the force?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 02:56 pm: Edit

(308.533) may be relevant.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, August 03, 2014 - 07:13 pm: Edit

Can drone bombardment ships use drone bombardment when stacked with a starbase that is not connected to the main supply grid?

By Thomas Mathews (Turtle) on Thursday, August 07, 2014 - 09:04 am: Edit

Q305.41 If a captured mauler converted to your technology subsequently shocks, how is it handled for salvage (439.0) if you want to scrap it at that point? Scrapped captured ships have a higher value being 1/2 their crippled side compot under (305.22).

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, August 07, 2014 - 12:01 pm: Edit

Question on (410.4): "Units stacked on a friendly planet or base are always in supply."

If Federation ships are stacked with a Gorn base/planet that is not in range of the Federation supply grid it the present, are the Federation ships counted as being in supply at the start of the turn?

There is discussion about having a base in allied territory (see: 410.54) that is cut off not being able to provide supply, but this seems to indicate that ships stacked with an allied planet/base are in supply as long as the allied planet/base is in supply.

(of course, as soon as the ships *leave* the planet/base, they will no longer be in supply, but that is an issue to solve later).

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 03:10 pm: Edit

Question Fed CVL: Is it a "Light" carrier (that can have a single escort) or is it a "Medium" carrier than needs two escorts?

The general rule (515.23) says CVLs are "Light" carriers, and "Light" carriers ony need one escort (and specifically indicates that Lyran and Kzinti CVLs are, in fact, "Medium" carriers. But says nothing about the Fed CVL). The CVL is called a Light Carrier. The notation on the SIT says it is a Medium Carrier. Is this an error?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Saturday, August 09, 2014 - 04:12 pm: Edit

Medium carrier. Specific rule (the SIT) overrides the General rule.

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, August 10, 2014 - 03:43 pm: Edit

Question on re-devastating a previously devastated planet.

(508.211) says "...If the enemy returns before the planet recovers, the enemy need only destroy the three-point RDU to recapture the planet; he need not re-devasate it. If it were subsequently re-liberated, the RDU would reappear and the recovery period would begin again from zero."

Right. Then in (508.214) it says "A devastated planet can be devastated again (by the enemy), which would restart the time period required for recovery. A player cannot voluntarily re-devastate his own planet..."

(508.211) implies that if you simply kill the RDU on a devastated planet, it resets the recovery clock (i.e. killing the RDU re-devastates the planet, and you don't need to do 10 damage to the planet again); by "imply", I really mean "it say that is what happens", but specifically references actually capturing the planet, and is vague about what happens if you kill the RDU but leave the planet in the hands of its original owner. (508.214) indicates that you *do* need to do 10 damage to an already devastated planet to reset the recovery clock. This seems contradictory.

What is the actual thing you need to do to re-devastate a devastated planet and reset the recovery clock?

A) Simply kill the RDU.

B) Kill the RDU and do 10 points of damage to the planet again.

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation