Archive through July 05, 2015

Star Fleet Universe Discussion Board: Federation & Empire: F&E QUESTIONS: F&E Q&A: Archive through July 05, 2015
By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 01:17 pm: Edit

Q430.2:

A province contains a friendly planet that has 2 PDUs on it, and a single enemy ship. What is the status of the province? Is it Disrupted? Captured? Neither? It appears to me reading the rules that the province neither meets the criteria for being disrupted, nor the criteria for being captured, but clearly that single enemy ship should do something to the province.


Quote:

(430.21) DISRUPTED: If a province contains one or more enemy ships and at least one friendly ship or base, the province is considered "disrupted. A disrupted province produces only one Economic Point. For PDUs, see
(430.25).




Clearly in the example above there is an enemy ship present. However there is not either a friendly base or ship. And 430.25 clearly states that "A planetary defense unit does not affect the province that the planet is in."

So it appears inthe example above, the province does not meet the criteria for being Disrupted.


Quote:

(430.22) CAPTURED: If the province contains no friendly units, only enemy units, the province is deemed "captured".




So again, clearly the province contains an enemy ship. However in this case it does also contain a friendly unit, namely the planet itself. The PDUs and fighters may also count as units in this case since there is no rules reference to 430.25 in this section, but even if we assume PDUs do not count, the planet still does. Per 756.0 a planet is a non-ship unit. Prior to the 2010 rules update, a planet was NOT a non-ship unit.

So it also seems pretty clear that the province cannot be declared captured by the enemy, as again the criteria for capture has not been met.

By the old 2000 rules, since the planet did not count as a unit, the province would have been considered captured. But now in 2010, we seem to be in limbo. The province is neither Disrupted nor Captured, but there are enemy forces present in the province which should affect it in some way.

The same question would also apply to Auxiliary Warships and Monitors, as they are units but not ships.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 06:49 pm: Edit

Rob:

I'm really busy to do any extended research at this time -- did you guys also read this and does it change your questions?...


Quote:

(430.23) REOCCUPATION: If enemy forces in the province are
destroyed or forced to retreat out of the province, and it is reoccupied
by ships of the original owner or an ally, the province
resumes full production for the original owner.
Note that convoys and FRDs cannot be counted to garrison
or disrupt a province, so if the only enemy unit remaining in the
province is a convoy/FRD and a friendly ship enters the province,
it is recaptured. Bases can garrison or disrupt a province;
planetary defense units cannot.


(430.25) DISTINCTION: Planets and provinces are treated separately.
An enemy ship in a province that contains a planet (but
not in the planet hex) does not affect the planet even though it
does affect the province. A ship in a planet hex affects both the
planet and the province the planet is in. A planetary defense unit
does not affect the province that the planet is in. It would be
possible to capture a neutral zone hex without capturing the planet
in it.


By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 08:36 pm: Edit

Chuck,

Yes we read that. Sadly it does not resolve the ambiguous situation I described above. The problem isn't really the PDUs, it's the fact that the planet is now a unit, which prevents the capture criteria on a literal reading of the rule.

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 08:45 pm: Edit

Q411.0:

I have the following situation. The Hydrans have lost their capital and established the replacement Capital Offmap. The only on map provinces still under Hydran control are 0117 and 0118. However Coalition ships are in hexes 0117, 0118 and 0119.

Can the Hydrans claim the Disrupted income from provinces 0117 and 0118? I think they can per the Supply Route definition:


Quote:

411.1:The Supply Route is a chain of no more than six hexes, not including the hex the unit is in but including the hex containing the supply point (412.0).





Quote:

(430.12) GRID: Only those planets and colonies‡ (446.3) linked to a Supply Grid and provinces (including captured provinces) that have one or more of their hexes linked to a Supply Grid provide Economic Points.




Since provinces 0117 and 0118 are linked to the off-maps grid via these same respective hexes, the Hydran can claim disrupted income from only these provinces under (430.12) as enabled via (411.1).

FEDS SENDS

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Thursday, May 21, 2015 - 09:25 pm: Edit

Q302.742

Slow Unit Retreat questions:

1: "The pursuing player may divide plus/minus points from the original battle as he sees fit."

Is the slow unit battle limited to 3 minus points, like in a pursuit battle?

2: "All escorts can (but do not have to) stay with their charges, but each escort added to the slow unit retreat force allows the pursuer to add a ship."

Do ships towing FRDs (as allowed by this same rule) each allow the pursuing force to add a ship to the force?

3: "If the slow units survive the battle, they retreat one hex…"

Is "the battle" only a single round of combat? Or is it multiple rounds of combat with the slow units until the attacker decides to give up?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Thursday, May 21, 2015 - 11:07 pm: Edit

Follow up on Q411.0

What is the supply path to provinces 0117 and 0118 if 0117, 0118, and 0119 are occupied by coalition units?

411.2 says that a supply route does can not pass through a hex with enemy units if that hex does not also contain friendly units.

411.1 says not to include the hex a unit is in (for establishing supply) but I think that exception is just for establishing how many hexes are in the chain, not to provide an ability to ignore enemy units when their are no friendly units there.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Friday, May 22, 2015 - 04:28 am: Edit

Note that the rule DOES NOT read: Supply Routes cannot pass FROM a hex containing enemy units unless that hex also contains friendly units...

THROUGH: moving in one side and out of the other side of (an opening, channel, or location).

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Friday, May 22, 2015 - 05:29 am: Edit

Thank you Chuck.

By Rob Padilla (Zargan) on Friday, May 22, 2015 - 09:23 am: Edit

Q425.2:

Can Conversion During Repair (CDR) be used when converting a crippled ship (Hydran DD, Lyran CL or any DW) to a Heavy War Destroyer (HDW)? Rule 425.25 states:


Quote:

(425.25) HULL TYPES: Conversion during repair can produce a variant (e.g., DW to DWS) but cannot change the base hull type (e.g., Lyran FF to Lyran DW).




In the SITs, the HDW (or JGP/LNH) is not listed as a base hull type. So are they simply variants of their respective hulls, just listed in a separate section, or are they actually base hull types?

By Steve Cole (Stevecole) on Friday, May 22, 2015 - 10:12 am: Edit

HDWs are a hull type, not a variant.

By Guillaume Williams (Uioor1) on Tuesday, May 26, 2015 - 12:15 pm: Edit

If I wanted to update my F&E rulebook, would I have to update my countersheets as well to accommodate for the deletion of carrier group counters?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, May 26, 2015 - 12:56 pm: Edit

If you don't already have Fighter Operations I would say yes since you will need the individual counters for the carriers and their escorts. Otherwise no you don't have to, but in addition to all the carrier and escort counters we also updated the counters, mainly Hydran, to account for the 1/2 fighter factors introduced later in the game series.

Besides who doesn't need more cardboard (says the guy with 55k+ counters).

By Sebastian Palozzi (Sebastian) on Friday, May 29, 2015 - 03:17 pm: Edit

(507.22) tells me that a Reserve Fleet must have a
flagship capable of controlling the entire fleet as a battle force.
So, in the Count's Fleet or the Duke's Fleet as described in (705.0) both of which are marked as Reserve fleets, which is the flagship?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Friday, May 29, 2015 - 03:30 pm: Edit

They have reserve fleet markers. You can build Reserve Fleets from the ships in each of these Fleets and the newly created Reserve Fleet must have a ship capable of commanding it.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Tuesday, June 09, 2015 - 07:10 pm: Edit

(541.32) This states that engineer regiments cannot function in the capital hex of any race, including all three Gorn and both Romulan capitals.

QUESTION: If the capital has been relocated off map because the original capital hex has been lost can an engineer regiment no operate in the hex which used to be the capital?

I have checked the Q&A up through CL50 and cannot find an answer.

By Sebastian Palozzi (Sebastian) on Tuesday, June 09, 2015 - 09:46 pm: Edit

I remember reading recently a reference to a chart that had been developed to help F&E players set up more quickly. I've flipped through my CL 50 but I can't find the reference. Please can anybody point me in the right direction?

By Richard B. Eitzen (Rbeitzen) on Tuesday, June 09, 2015 - 09:56 pm: Edit

.

By Michael Oakland (Chimera245) on Sunday, June 21, 2015 - 05:54 am: Edit

QUESTION: With regard to Blockade Running for supply purposes, and the use of an LTT.

If an APT can normally carry 1 E.P., but can also provide supplies (no replacement fighters) for 2 ships for one turn (538.134), could an LTT - which can normally carry 7 E.P., do the same for 14 ships?

I believe this may be Mission V for Tugs/LTTs in the Warbook - but I couldn't really find any more detail than that in a Keyword Search.

By Ken Rotar (Sir_Krotar) on Saturday, June 27, 2015 - 04:27 pm: Edit

On April 21, I requested a ruling on a question, and I've not seen an answer yet. Hence I am asking again:

Can the Kzinti do a blockade run to pick up EP from the Federation from a stockpile set up for the Kzinti even if the Federation is at Limited War?

The Federation can set up EP stockpiles in both Federation and Kzinti territory for the use of the Kzinti:

(435.11) Any empire can transfer up to 20 EPs per turn to each allied empire provided that both are at War (including Limited War) and have become allies or co-belligerents.

(413.452) EPs delivered to another empire via (435.0) could be delivered to a satellite stockpile in that empire’s original territory. This could include a satellite stockpile established for that specific purpose by the arriving EPs.

The Kzinti can then pick up EP from the stockpiles in either Federation or Kzinti territory:

(413.453) EPs in a satellite stockpile cannot be moved [except by (435.0) by a tug (or other suitable cargo-carrying unit) of the same or an allied empire]; they cannot be transferred to the capital by (413.44).

And lastly, I do believe that the following specific rule regarding blockade running overrides the rule that a supported Empire cannot raid into territory of an ally that is in Limited War:

(320.511) The ship uses all of the raid rules, except that the target hex of the raid is a friendly or neutral hex within raiding range. The objective hex might be an off-map area.

The rules do allow the Federation to do blockade runs into Kzinti space and it makes sense that if the Federation can do so, so too should the Kzinti. In fact, our current situation is one of the best examples of a time that blockades would be used. The Kzinti cannot raid the Federation simply because it is a hostile act; however, a blockade run is not an hostile act.

By Chuck Strong (Raider) on Saturday, June 27, 2015 - 11:32 pm: Edit

"Can the Kzinti do a blockade run to pick up EP from the Federation from a stockpile set up for the Kzinti even if the Federation is at Limited War?"


FEDS: Yes - for the reasons stated above.

Also note the following for the empire at limited war:


Quote:

(314.111) Races at limited war can only assign ships from released fleets to the Raiding Pool, and can only conduct raids in areas in which they are authorized to operate.


By Ken Rotar (Sir_Krotar) on Sunday, June 28, 2015 - 01:16 pm: Edit

Thanks Chuck.

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, June 28, 2015 - 05:18 pm: Edit

(709.0) F&E 2K10 Fall Y168 should be DG, TR, 3xHN. not RN, HR, 3xHN. This was an update in AO which I missed in the 2K10 OB update. Placed here per FEAR request. Ryan J Opel 28 Jun 15

By Keith Plymale (Zaarin7) on Monday, June 29, 2015 - 10:41 am: Edit

I have an extension on the following Q&A from CL #45. If this should be in Q&A Discusion I apologise and please move it there.

"Q: Is a tug repairing a base (509.1-J1) required to be in any battle forces defending that base during the next turn?
Unlike base upgrades, base repairs are considered to take effect immediately, and (302.233) does not list them as a potential required unit. Due to the immediate turn-around of effect, I figured it kept a tug from performing any other function that turn, but that was about it. However, (509.1-J1) says a tug repairing a base is subject to (308.453), which itself mentions that a tug repairing a base is a non-slow unit treated as a slow unit for mauler Directed Damage purposes.
A: Rule (420.6) provides some guidance here even though it is not fully spelled out. Repairs of bases are in Step 2A3 of the SoP. As such, they are instantaneous and not a full turn activity like a conversion from a mobile base to a battle station for example. So, the reference in (509.1-J1) to (308.453) is inaccurate. The transport or set of transports performing the repair can move operationally on the turn of the repair, but do no other transport function that turn."

Should the phrase "...repairing a base..." in (308.453) also be removed? Thank you. Keith D Plymale 29 Jun 15

By Peter Bakija (Bakija) on Sunday, July 05, 2015 - 11:50 am: Edit

Can the Kzinti substitute a CC for a CV build, or do they have to substitute a BC (assuming pre-y180)?

By Ryan Opel (Ryan) on Sunday, July 05, 2015 - 03:52 pm: Edit

I think you would substitute a BC for a CV build based on the "CV for BC within carrier limits" statement in (705.221).

Ryan Opel
F&E OB Specialist

Administrator's Control Panel -- Board Moderators Only
Administer Page | Delete Conversation | Close Conversation | Move Conversation